DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 5 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP H11194724 to Ozaki et al. (hereinafter “Ozaki”).
Regarding claim 1, Ozaki teaches a display board comprising: a first decorative layer (light- non-transmissive layer/ light opaque layer 4) representing a decorative pattern; a light transmitting region (opening 6) provided in the first decorative layer (4), the light transmitting region (6) being configured to transmit light; a scattering layer (transparent dial 1) disposed below the first decorative layer (4), the scattering layer (1) being configured to scatter the light; a light source (warning lamp (not shown)) disposed at a side of the scattering layer (1), the light source being configured to emit light toward the scattering layer (1); and a second decorative layer (warning display layer 2) disposed below the scattering layer (1) and at a position overlapping the light transmitting region (6), the second decorative layer (2) representing the decorative pattern.
Regarding claim 5, Ozaki teaches a pattern of the decorative pattern of the second decorative layer (2) is larger than a pattern of the decorative pattern of the first decorative layer (6).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-7 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 2, Ozaki does not teaches a display device comprising in combination with all the other claimed limitations the scattering layer formed of a transparent material, the transparent material containing scattering fine particles with light scattering properties.
Regarding claim 3, Ozaki does not teaches a display device comprising in combination with all the other claimed limitations the second decorative layer having the decorative pattern having a brightness different from that of the first decorative layer.
Regarding claim 4, Ozaki teaches the light- non-transmissive layer/ light opaque layer 4 has black pigment. Ozaki does not teach a display device comprising in combination with all the other claimed limitations both the first decorative layer and the second decorative layer represent a black-based decorative pattern.
Regarding claim 6, Ozaki does not teaches a display device comprising in combination with all the other claimed limitations the scattering layer having a reflective finish for reflecting the light on a surface orthogonal to and/or a surface opposite to an incident surface of the light emitted from the light source.
Regarding claim 7, Ozaki does not teaches the scattering layer having an absorption finish for absorbing the light on a surface orthogonal to and/or a surface opposite to the incident surface of the light emitted from the light source.
Conclusion
/CASSANDRA DAVIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3631