DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO18/039207.
The claims of the present application are drawn to methods of treating depression and/or anxiety related to Parkinsonism comprising administering various nicotinamide derivatives or compositions comprising the same. Dependent claims limit the drug administered, provide the Parkinsonism is various diseases including Parkinson’s disease, and to also administer an additional Parkinson’s disease treating drug.
‘207 teaches methods of treating Parkinson’s disease with the same nicotinamide compounds claimed herein (see page 3, lines 11-14). ‘207 also teaches methods of treating, reducing the risk of, and/or reducing the prevalence of indicia of Parkinson’s disease wherein the indicia may be depression (see page 3, lines 15-29). ‘207 teaches their formula I is the same as compound I-G herein (see pages 21-23) and also teaches to optionally administer nicotinamide mononucleotide, which is the same as formula I-A herein (see pages 24-27 – it is noted that the structure on the top of page 25 should have hydroxy groups at the 2’ and 3’-position of the sugar). ‘207 teaches that NMN will be given to patients having Parkinson’s disease and the symptoms will be monitored and their indicia, such as depression, will be improved (see example 4).
Thus, while ‘207 did not specifically administer their compositions to patients having Parkinson’s disease wherein the results of decreased depression were shown, the art clearly suggest this is an event to happen and it would at the minimum be an “obvious to try” situation. That is, it would be prima facia obvious to administer the same drugs as in ‘207 to patients having Parkinson’s disease as in ‘207 and arrive at the present results of treating depression with NMN-drugs in Parkinson’s patients because ‘207 clearly states this as a result of their methods of administering the same. Applicants have shown one example in which a single patient was administered NMN (beta) (compound IA of the present claims and also disclosed as applicable in ‘207), for 6 months wherein their UMSARS questionary before and after the six months showed a score changing from “Often” to “sometimes” for question 19 which is “Do you feel depressed”. This showing of administering 1 of the compounds claimed herein, in one study, on one patient, which changed their results from “often” to “sometimes” cannot be construed as unexpected or surprising results for the entirety of the scope claimed herein, if for any portion at all. One patients’ result is not necessarily effective to prove the clinical effectiveness of the entirety of the scope being claimed herein, and certainly cannot be considered to be sufficient to show any form of unexpected properties when the art actually suggests the properties claimed to occur upon administration of the same drug to the same patient population. Regarding the claimed combination therapy, it is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose. The idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art. In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980). (Claims to a process of preparing a spray-dried detergent by mixing together two conventional spray-dried detergents were held to be prima facie obvious.). See also In re Crockett, 279 F.2d 274, 126 USPQ 186 (CCPA 1960) (Claims directed to a method and material for treating cast iron using a mixture comprising calcium carbide and magnesium oxide were held unpatentable over prior art disclosures that the aforementioned components individually promote the formation of a nodular structure in cast iron.); and Ex parte Quadranti, 25 USPQ2d 1071 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1992) (mixture of two known herbicides held prima facie obvious). The additional agents claimed herein such as levodopa have been known to be anti-Parkinson’s drugs for years and combination therapy with the same is also known (see US 4,190,672 for example).
Conclusion
/TRAVISS C MCINTOSH III/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1693