DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a determination unit configured to determine whether a vehicle is on a conveyor..”
“ a conveyance velocity acquisition unit configured to acquire a conveyance velocity of the conveyor;”
“a decision unit configured to decide a target vehicle velocity of the vehicle…determines that the vehicle is on the conveyor”
“a target velocity acquisition unit configured to acquire a first target velocity…”
“the decision unit is configured to calculate a second target velocity…”
“the decision unit is configured to decide… calculate the second target velocity…”
in claims 1-4.
A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure for the above limitation described in the specification: (see at least Applicant Specification, para. [0028]: The processor 201 executes the program PG2 stored in the memory 202, and thereby, realizes various functions including functions as a remote control unit 210, a determination unit 215, a target velocity acquisition unit 220, a conveyance velocity acquisition unit 230, a decision unit 240, and an instruction unit 250.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
A claim that recites an abstract idea, a law of nature, or a natural phenomenon is directed to a judicial exception. Abstract ideas include the following groupings of subject matter, when recited as such in a claim limitation: (a) Mathematical concepts – mathematical relationships, mathematical formulas or equations, mathematical calculations; (b) Certain methods of organizing human activity – fundamental economic principles or practices (including hedging, insurance, mitigating risk); commercial or legal interactions (including agreements in the form of contracts; legal obligations; advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; business relations); managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions); and (c) Mental processes – concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion). See the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance.
Even when a judicial element is recited in the claim, an additional claim element(s) that integrates the judicial exception into a practical application of that exception renders the claim eligible under §101. A claim that integrates a judicial exception into a practical application will apply, rely on, or use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception, such that the claim is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the judicial exception. The following examples are indicative that an additional element or combination of elements may integrate the judicial exception into a practical application:
the additional element(s) reflects an improvement in the functioning of a computer, or an improvement to other technology or technical field;
the additional element(s) that applies or uses a judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition;
the additional element(s) implements a judicial exception with, or uses a judicial exception in conjunction with, a particular machine or manufacture that is integral to the claim;
the additional element(s) effects a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing; and
the additional element(s) applies or uses the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception.
Examples in which the judicial exception has not been integrated into a practical application include:
the additional element(s) merely recites the words ‘‘apply it’’ (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely includes instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea;
the additional element(s) adds insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception; and
the additional element does no more than generally link the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use.
See the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance.
Claims 1 & 5-6 recite determine whether a vehicle is on a conveyor, the vehicle being capable of traveling by unmanned driving, acquire a conveyance velocity of the conveyor, decide a target vehicle velocity of the vehicle based on the acquired conveyance velocity, as drafted, is a device & process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer elements. The claim is practically able to be performed in the mind. For example, but for the “A device comprising, a determination unit, a conveyance velocity acquisition unit, a decision unit, a target velocity acquisition unit, A control method for a vehicle, comprising, a device comprising a processor, wherein the processor is configured to execute,” language, “determine whether a vehicle is on a conveyor, the vehicle being capable of traveling by unmanned driving, acquire a conveyance velocity of the conveyor, decide a target vehicle velocity of the vehicle based on the acquired conveyance velocity” in the context of this claim encompasses the user discerning a speed of a conveyor and calculating the speed required for the vehicle to imitate the speed of the conveyor. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim only recites additional elements – using “A device comprising, a determination unit, a conveyance velocity acquisition unit, a decision unit, a target velocity acquisition unit, A control method for a vehicle, comprising, a device comprising a processor, wherein the processor is configured to execute,”. The devices are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., device configured to detect the target speed of the vehicle) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
The claim(s) do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional elements, as discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements of using “A device comprising, a determination unit, a conveyance velocity acquisition unit, a decision unit, a target velocity acquisition unit, an instruction unit, A control method for a vehicle, comprising, a device comprising a processor, wherein the processor is configured to execute,”, amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Mere instructions to apply an exception using generic computer components cannot provide an inventive concept. The claim is not patent eligible.
Similarly for claims 2-3, acquire a first target velocity of the vehicle, calculate a second target velocity based on the acquired first target velocity and the acquired conveyance velocity, decide that the target vehicle velocity is the calculated second target velocity, calculate the second target velocity by subtracting the conveyance velocity from the first target velocity, is a device that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components. For example, “acquire a first target velocity of the vehicle, calculate a second target velocity based on the acquired first target velocity and the acquired conveyance velocity, decide that the target vehicle velocity is the calculated second target velocity, calculate the second target velocity by subtracting the conveyance velocity from the first target velocity” in the context of this claim encompasses the user calculating the target speed of the vehicle based on the speed of the conveyor. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim only recites additional elements. The claim(s) do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The devices are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., device configured to detect the target speed of the vehicle) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Mere instructions to apply an exception using generic computer components cannot provide an inventive concept. The claim is not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2020/0047627A1 (“Moon”).
As per claim 1 Moon discloses
A device comprising (see at least Moon, para. [0151]: An example of the controller may include a processor 180 installed in the mobile robot 200 to control the mobile robot 200 and, more particularly, the driving motor 202.):
a determination unit configured to determine whether a vehicle is on a conveyor, the vehicle being capable of traveling by unmanned driving (see at least Moon, para. [0157-0158]: The controller 180 may change the speed of the driving motor 202 according to the sensing value of the auxiliary wheel sensor 220 and, more particularly, the load cell 230…When the mobile robot 200 travels, the auxiliary wheel 210 may enter the moving walkway MW earlier than the driving wheel 201, and the auxiliary wheel 210 may move along the moving walkway MW after entering the moving walkway MW.);
a conveyance velocity acquisition unit configured to acquire a conveyance velocity of the conveyor (see at least Moon, para. [0162-0163]: The mobile robot 200 may enter the moving walkway MW at a higher or lower moving speed than the moving walkway MW…The "movement speed of the moving walkway MW" described in this specification may be defined as a speed at which the moving body MB moves in a straight line between the pair of fixed bodies FB.); and
a decision unit configured to decide a target vehicle velocity of the vehicle based on the acquired conveyance velocity, when the determination unit determines that the vehicle is on the conveyor (see at least Moon, para. [0167-0170]: When the movement speed of the moving walkway MW is higher than that of the mobile robot 200, the auxiliary wheel 210 may move at a higher speed than the mobile robot 200 when moving along the moving body MB of the moving walkway MW after entering the moving walkway MW…When the length of the spring 240 increases, the movement speed of the auxiliary wheel 210 is higher than the movement speed of the mobile robot 200 and the controller 180 may control the driving motor 202 such that the movement speed Va of the mobile robot 200 is similar or equal to the movement speed Vb of the auxiliary wheel 210. To this end, the controller 180 may accelerate the driving motor 202 as compared to before the auxiliary wheel 210 enters the moving walkway MW.).
As per claim 2 Moon discloses
further comprising a target velocity acquisition unit configured to acquire a first target velocity of the vehicle (see at least Moon, para. [0181]: The method of controlling the robot system may include a sensing step Sl in which the auxiliary wheel sensor 220 senses the movement speed Vb of the auxiliary wheel 210;), wherein:
the decision unit is configured to calculate a second target velocity based on the acquired first target velocity and the acquired conveyance velocity (see at least Moon, para. [0196]: The controller 180 may compare the movement speed Vb of the auxiliary wheel 201 sensed by the auxiliary wheel sensor 220 with the movement speed Va of the mobile robot 200 after the auxiliary wheel 201 enters the moving walkway MW, determine that the movement speed Vb of the auxiliary wheel 201 is higher than the movement speed Va of the mobile robot 200, and accelerate the driving motor 202 (S3 and S4).); and
the decision unit is configured to decide that the target vehicle velocity is the calculated second target velocity (see at least Moon, para. [0198-0199]: During the acceleration processes S3 and S4, the controller 180 may accelerate the driving motor 202 at a positive first acceleration Accl….The acceleration processes S3 and S4 may be finished when the driving wheel 201 enters the moving walkway MW.).
As per claim 3 Moon discloses
wherein the decision unit is configured to calculate the second target velocity by subtracting the conveyance velocity from the first target velocity (see at least Moon, para. [0195-0197]: Referring to FIG. 9, when the movement speed Vb of the auxiliary wheel 201 is higher than the movement speed Va of the mobile robot 200 after the auxiliary wheel 201 enters the moving walkway MW, the length x of the spring 240 may gradually increase by the difference Vb-Va of the speeds of the auxiliary wheel 201 and the mobile robot 200 as time elapses, and pressure applied to the auxiliary wheel sensor 220 and, more particularly, the load cell 230 may gradually decrease…The controller 180 may compare the movement speed Vb of the auxiliary wheel 201 sensed by the auxiliary wheel sensor 220 with the movement speed Va of the mobile robot 200 after the auxiliary wheel 201 enters the moving walkway MW, determine that the movement speed Vb of the auxiliary wheel 201 is higher than the movement speed Va of the mobile robot 200, and accelerate the driving motor 202 (S3 and S4).).
As per claim 4 Moon discloses
further comprising an instruction unit configured to instruct the vehicle such that a vehicle velocity of the vehicle becomes the target vehicle velocity, when the vehicle is on the conveyor (see at least Moon, para. [0166-0168]: When the movement speed Vb of the auxiliary wheel 210 is higher than the movement speed Va of the mobile robot 200 after the auxiliary wheel 210 enters the moving walkway MW, the controller 180 may accelerate the driving motor 202…When the length of the spring 240 increases, the movement speed of the auxiliary wheel 210 is higher than the movement speed of the mobile robot 200 and the controller 180 may control the driving motor 202 such that the movement speed Va of the mobile robot 200 is similar or equal to the movement speed Vb of the auxiliary wheel 210. To this end, the controller 180 may accelerate the driving motor 202 as compared to before the auxiliary wheel 210 enters the moving walkway MW..
As per claim 5 Moon discloses
A control method for a vehicle (see at least Moon, para. [0176]: FIG. 8 is a flowchart illustrating a method of controlling a robot system..), comprising:
determining whether the vehicle is on a conveyor, the vehicle being capable of traveling by unmanned driving (see at least Moon, para. [0157-0158]: The controller 180 may change the speed of the driving motor 202 according to the sensing value of the auxiliary wheel sensor 220 and, more particularly, the load cell 230…When the mobile robot 200 travels, the auxiliary wheel 210 may enter the moving walkway MW earlier than the driving wheel 201, and the auxiliary wheel 210 may move along the moving walkway MW after entering the moving walkway MW.);
acquiring a conveyance velocity of the conveyor (see at least Moon, para. [0162-0163]: The mobile robot 200 may enter the moving walkway MW at a higher or lower moving speed than the moving walkway MW…The "movement speed of the moving walkway MW" described in this specification may be defined as a speed at which the moving body MB moves in a straight line between the pair of fixed bodies FB.); and
deciding a target vehicle velocity of the vehicle based on the acquired conveyance velocity, when a determination unit determines that the vehicle is on the conveyor (see at least Moon, para. [0167-0170]: When the movement speed of the moving walkway MW is higher than that of the mobile robot 200, the auxiliary wheel 210 may move at a higher speed than the mobile robot 200 when moving along the moving body MB of the moving walkway MW after entering the moving walkway MW…When the length of the spring 240 increases, the movement speed of the auxiliary wheel 210 is higher than the movement speed of the mobile robot 200 and the controller 180 may control the driving motor 202 such that the movement speed Va of the mobile robot 200 is similar or equal to the movement speed Vb of the auxiliary wheel 210. To this end, the controller 180 may accelerate the driving motor 202 as compared to before the auxiliary wheel 210 enters the moving walkway MW.).
As per claim 6 Moon discloses
A device comprising a processor, wherein the processor is configured to execute (see at least Moon, para. [0151]: An example of the controller may include a processor 180 installed in the mobile robot 200 to control the mobile robot 200 and, more particularly, the driving motor 202.):
determining whether a vehicle is on a conveyor, the vehicle being capable of traveling by unmanned driving (see at least Moon, para. [0157-0158]: The controller 180 may change the speed of the driving motor 202 according to the sensing value of the auxiliary wheel sensor 220 and, more particularly, the load cell 230…When the mobile robot 200 travels, the auxiliary wheel 210 may enter the moving walkway MW earlier than the driving wheel 201, and the auxiliary wheel 210 may move along the moving walkway MW after entering the moving walkway MW.);
acquiring a conveyance velocity of the conveyor (see at least Moon, para. [0162-0163]: The mobile robot 200 may enter the moving walkway MW at a higher or lower moving speed than the moving walkway MW…The "movement speed of the moving walkway MW" described in this specification may be defined as a speed at which the moving body MB moves in a straight line between the pair of fixed bodies FB.); and
deciding a target vehicle velocity of the vehicle based on the acquired conveyance velocity, when determining that the vehicle is on the conveyor (see at least Moon, para. [0167-0170]: When the movement speed of the moving walkway MW is higher than that of the mobile robot 200, the auxiliary wheel 210 may move at a higher speed than the mobile robot 200 when moving along the moving body MB of the moving walkway MW after entering the moving walkway MW…When the length of the spring 240 increases, the movement speed of the auxiliary wheel 210 is higher than the movement speed of the mobile robot 200 and the controller 180 may control the driving motor 202 such that the movement speed Va of the mobile robot 200 is similar or equal to the movement speed Vb of the auxiliary wheel 210. To this end, the controller 180 may accelerate the driving motor 202 as compared to before the auxiliary wheel 210 enters the moving walkway MW.).
Conclusion
/MOHAMED ABDO ALGEHAIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3668