DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 12, 18, and 20-24 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on June 24, 2026.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it exceeds 150 words in length. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 30 and 32 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, and 3 respectively of U.S. Patent No. 12,104,000. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because in the patent the urethane component is optional while the urethane is required in the current application. However, claim 20 of the patent requires the addition of the urethane.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 24-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujimoto et al (JP 2005068331) in view of Cho et al (JP 2011221256).
With regards to claims 1, 24-25, 30, and 33, Fujimoto teaches an energy curable composition (title) that contains the following urethane (meth)acrylate:
(0011) wherein
(0011) at a concentration of 30% (0052 table 1), another urethane compound at a concentration of 45% (0052 table 1), a diacrylate (0052 table 1), a photopolymerization initiator (0030) in an amount of 0.001 to 10 parts per 100 parts of A, B, or C (0031) with a preferred amount of 3% (0052 table 1), and an inhibitor (0033).
Fujimoto does not teach the urethane compound to be one of the claimed structures.
Cho teaches a photosensitive composition (0002) that contains the following compound:
(0011) wherein
(0011). Cho teaches the motivation for using the above compound because it can crosslink and polymerize by light exposure (0061). Cho and Fujimoto are analogous in photosensitive compositions. In light of the benefit above, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present invention to use the compound of Cho as the urethane of Fujimoto, thereby obtaining the present invention.
With regards to claim 26, Fujimoto teaches the ratio of the urethane compounds to be 6:4 (0052 table 1).
With regards to claim 27, Fujimoto teaches the addition of tetrahydrofurfurylacrylate (THFA) (0053 and 0052) reading on a monofunctional acrylate.
With regards to claim 28, Fujimoto teaches the amount of the THFA to be 25% and the amount of the urethane to be 20% (0052 example 1).
With regards to claim 29, Fujimoto teaches the addition of 2-hydroxyethyl (meth)acrylate (0013).
With regards to claim 31, Fujimoto teaches the multifunctional monomer to be from 10 to 25% by mass (0022).
With regards to claims 34 and 35, Fujimoto teaches the elongation at break to be 90% (0052) and the tensile modulus to be 520 to 7500 (0052).
Conclusion
/JESSICA WHITELEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1763