CTNF 18/817,617 CTNF 84323 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia 1. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. 2. This communication is in response to the Application No. 18/817,617 filed on 8/28/24. Claims 1 – 20 has been examined. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 3. In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA 4. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA 5. The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA 6. Claim (s) 1, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bian (CN 10701814, Bian hereafter) in further view of Liu et al. (CN 102546533, Liu hereafter) . Regarding claim 1, Bian teaches A communication method comprising: receiving a registration request from a read/write device, wherein the registration request comprises identification information of a terminal device and is used to request to register the identification information with a network ( S12. The gateway module forwards the registration request message to the communication adaptation module. S13. The communication adaptation module stores the registration request message in a database and creates a registration information table, page 2 ); and notifying the read/write device of a registration success ( The communication adaptation module returns to the terminal device whether the registration is successful or not through the gateway module, page 2 ). Even thought it is obvious and common technical solution to send a transmission request to an application network element, wherein the transmission request comprises the identification information and is used to request to transmit the identification information to the application network element. However, does not specifically taught and/or suggested by Bian. In the same field of endeavor, Liu teaches sending a transmission request to an application network element, wherein the transmission request comprises the identification information and is used to request to transmit the identification information to the application network element ( Step 203: After receiving the registration request sent by the resident gateway, the access server judges whether the registration information contained in it is registration information sent by a non-IoT gateway / device or registration information sent by the IoT gateway / device, when it is determined that it is an IoT gateway / When the registration information sent by the device, the registration information of the IoT gateway / device is sent to the IoT service server according to a predetermined strategy (such as black and white list items, etc.); Step 210: The Internet of Things service server sends an authentication success response to the access server, page 4 ). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art at the time of the filing to combine the teachings of Liu’s sending a request with the system of Bian. One would be motivated to combine these teachings because it can select a suitable target device for registration. Regarding claim 17, the communication apparatus substantially has same limitations as claim 1, thus the same rejection is applicable . 07-21-aia AIA 6. Claim (s) 2, 5 – 7, 18, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bian (CN 10701814, Bian hereafter) in further view of Liu et al. (CN 102546533, Liu hereafter) in further view of Jhonstone et al. (CN 101772979, Jhonstone hereafter) . Regarding claim 2, Bian with Liu teaches claim 1, however, does not specifically teach and/or suggest wherein notifying the read/write device of the registration success further comprises: in the case that a behavior statistics quantity of the terminal device is less than a behavior threshold, notifying the read/write device of the registration success, wherein the transmission success response indicates that the transmission request is successfully received and the behavior statistics quantity is determined based on the identification information. Jhonstone teaches wherein notifying the read/write device of the registration success further comprises: in the case that a behavior statistics quantity of the terminal device is less than a behavior threshold, notifying the read/write device of the registration success, wherein the transmission success response indicates that the transmission request is successfully received and the behavior statistics quantity is determined based on the identification information ( When the femtocell receives the first location update request from the unpreset UE, it will start a monitoring cycle (the duration of which may be set by the management system) and count the subsequent registration attempts for the UE. If the count exceeds a first threshold (also set by the management system) at the end of the monitoring cycle, the femtocell will provide a "Reject Loop Indication" (including the identity of the UE) to the management system. If the count then exceeds a higher second threshold, a further message is sent to the management system, page 5 ). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art at the time of the filing to combine the teachings of Jhonstone’s success or failure notification with the system of Bian with Liu. One would be motivated to combine these teachings because it can nofity user success or failure of the registration request; making the system user friendly. Regarding claim 5, Bian with Liu and Jhonstone teaches communication method of claim 2, Jhonston further teaches wherein sending the transmission request to the application network element further comprises: sending the transmission request to the application network element after the behavior statistics quantity of the terminal device is less than the behavior threshold and the behavior statistics quantity is determined based on the identification information ( When the femtocell receives the first location update request from the unpreset UE, it will start a monitoring cycle (the duration of which may be set by the management system) and count the subsequent registration attempts for the UE. If the count exceeds a first threshold (also set by the management system) at the end of the monitoring cycle, the femtocell will provide a "Reject Loop Indication" (including the identity of the UE) to the management system. If the count then exceeds a higher second threshold, a further message is sent to the management system, page 5 ). Regarding claim 6, Bian with Liu and Jhonstone teaches the communication method according to claim 2, Jhonstone further teaches wherein the behavior statistics quantity comprises one or more of the following : an owner enterprise registration quantity, a quantity of transmissions of signaling carrying the identification information, a quantity of times that the terminal device requests registration ( A first count of the total number of registration requests from the user equipment, page 1 ), a quantity of times that the terminal device succeeds in registration, a quantity of times that the terminal device requests data transmission, and a quantity of times that the terminal device succeeds in data transmission, wherein the owner enterprise registration quantity is a quantity of terminal devices that belong to the enterprise corresponding to the terminal device and that register with the network. Regarding claim 7, Bian with Liu and Jhonstone teaches The communication method according to claim 2, Jhonstone further teaches wherein the behavior threshold comprises one or more of the following: an owner enterprise registration threshold, a tag signaling interaction threshold, a threshold of the quantity of times that the terminal device requests registration ( When the femtocell receives the first location update request from the unpreset UE, it will start a monitoring cycle (the duration of which may be set by the management system) and count the subsequent registration attempts for the UE. If the count exceeds a first threshold (also set by the management system) at the end of the monitoring cycle, the femtocell will provide a "Reject Loop Indication" (including the identity of the UE) to the management system, page 5 ), a threshold of the quantity of times that the terminal device succeeds in registration, a threshold of the quantity of times that the terminal device requests data transmission, and a threshold of the quantity of times that the terminal device succeeds in data transmission. Regarding claim 18, the communication apparatus substantially has same limitations as claim 2, thus the same rejection is applicable. Regarding claim 20, the communication apparatus substantially has same limitations as claim 5, thus the same rejection is applicable . 07-21-aia AIA 7. Claim (s) 3 – 4, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bian (CN 10701814, Bian hereafter) in further view of Liu et al. (CN 102546533, Liu hereafter) in further view of Jhonstone et al. in further view of Chin (WO 2020/055574) . Regarding claim 3, Bian with Liu and Jhonstone teaches claim 2, however, does not septically teach and/or suggest wherein a transmission success response is received from the application network element after a registration timer does not expire and the registration timer started when the transmission request was sent. Chin teaches wherein a transmission success response is received from the application network element after a registration timer does not expire and the registration timer started when the transmission request was sent ( When the UE 104 starts 5G registration procedures, as part of the registration procedure, the NAS component 142 starts various timers (e.g., including one or more NAS registration timers) as specified in 3GPP standards, e.g., as specified in 3GPP TS 24.501. In an aspect, for example, the NAS component 142 may start one or more timers at 202 … EAP component 144 will only notify a success/failure result to the NAS component 142 after all the retries (e.g., a configured number of retries) are over. In the meantime, one or more NAS timers may expire, causing the NAS component 142 to abort the registration procedures to the NR cell (e.g., the gNB 180 in the access network 100). If the LIE 104 had waited additional time before aborting, the registration may have succeeded eventually, paragraph 53 ). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art at the time of the filing to combine the teachings of Chin’s timer and sending success/failure message with the combined system of Bian with Liu and Jhonstone. One would be motivated to combine these teachings because it can send message of success and/or failure before the timer expires; making the system more effective. Regarding claim 4, Bian with Liu with Jhonstone and Chin teaches communication method of claim 3, Bian further teaches wherein the transmission success response comprises the identification information of the terminal device and/or an identifier of an enterprise to which the terminal device belongs ( S12. The gateway module forwards the registration request message to the communication adaptation module. S13. The communication adaptation module stores the registration request message in a database and creates a registration information table, page 2 ). Regarding claim 19, the communication apparatus substantially has same limitations as claim 3, thus the same rejection is applicable . 07-21-aia AIA 7. Claim (s) 8 – 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bian (CN 10701814, Bian hereafter) in further view of Liu et al. (CN 102546533, Liu hereafter) in further view of in further view of Li (CN 104427484) . Regarding claim 8, Bian with Liu teaches claim 1, however does not specifically does not teach and/or suggest wherein the registration request further comprises data and/or authentication information, and the authentication information comprises information for authenticating the terminal device and/or information used by the terminal device for authentication. Li further teaches wherein the registration request further comprises data and/or authentication information, and the authentication information comprises information for authenticating the terminal device and/or information used by the terminal device for authentication ( The call control server S1 is a network element in the IMS core network, and performs registration authentication and other call control on the terminal accessing the IMS network. The data storage server S2 stores related information of the IMS user terminal. The application server S3 provides a corresponding application service for the IMS user terminal, page 3 ). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art at the time of the filing to combine the teachings of Li’s authentication information with the combined system of Bian and Liu. One would be motivated to combine these teachings because it can provide authentication information; which will make the system more effective and user friendly. Regarding claim 9, Bian and Liu with Li teaches The communication method according to claim 8, Li further teaches wherein the transmission request further comprises the data and/or the authentication information ( The call control server S1 is a network element in the IMS core network, and performs registration authentication and other call control on the terminal accessing the IMS network. The data storage server S2 stores related information of the IMS user terminal. The application server S3 provides a corresponding application service for the IMS user terminal, page 3 ) . 07-21-aia AIA 8. Claim (s) 10 – 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bian (CN 10701814, Bian hereafter) in further view of Jhonstone et al. (CN 101772979, Jhonstone hereafter) in further view of Chin (WO 2020/055574) . Regarding claim 10, A communication method comprising: receiving a registration request from a read/write device, wherein the registration request comprises identification information of a terminal device and is used to request to register the identification information with a network ( S12. The gateway module forwards the registration request message to the communication adaptation module. S13. The communication adaptation module stores the registration request message in a database and creates a registration information table, page 2 ); and notifying the read/write device of a registration failure, wherein the transmission failure response indicates that a transmission request is not successfully received, the transmission request comprises the identification information and is used to request to transmit the identification information to the application network element ( The communication adaptation module returns to the terminal device whether the registration is successful or not through the gateway module, page 2 ). However, does not specifically teach and/or suggest after a behavior statistics quantity of the terminal device is greater than or equal to a behavior threshold, a registration timer expires and a transmission failure response is received from an application network element. Jhonstone further teaches after a behavior statistics quantity of the terminal device is greater than or equal to a behavior threshold ( When the femtocell receives the first location update request from the unpreset UE, it will start a monitoring cycle (the duration of which may be set by the management system) and count the subsequent registration attempts for the UE. If the count exceeds a first threshold (also set by the management system) at the end of the monitoring cycle, the femtocell will provide a "Reject Loop Indication" (including the identity of the UE) to the management system. If the count then exceeds a higher second threshold, a further message is sent to the management system, page 5 ). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art at the time of the filing to combine the teachings of Jhonstone’s success or failure notification with the system of Bian. One would be motivated to combine these teachings because it can nofity user success or failure of the registration request; making the system user friendly. However, does not teach a registration timer expires and a transmission failure response is received from an application network element. Chin teaches wherein a transmission success response is received from the application network element after a registration timer does not expire and the registration timer started when the transmission request was sent ( When the UE 104 starts 5G registration procedures, as part of the registration procedure, the NAS component 142 starts various timers (e.g., including one or more NAS registration timers) as specified in 3GPP standards, e.g., as specified in 3GPP TS 24.501. In an aspect, for example, the NAS component 142 may start one or more timers at 202 … EAP component 144 will only notify a success/failure result to the NAS component 142 after all the retries (e.g., a configured number of retries) are over. In the meantime, one or more NAS timers may expire, causing the NAS component 142 to abort the registration procedures to the NR cell (e.g., the gNB 180 in the access network 100). If the LIE 104 had waited additional time before aborting, the registration may have succeeded eventually, page 5 ). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art at the time of the filing to combine the teachings of Chin’s timer and sending success/failure message with the combined system of Bian with Liu and Jhonstone. One would be motivated to combine these teachings because it can send message of success and/or failure before the timer expires; making the system more effective. Regarding claim 11, Bian with Jhonstone with Chin teaches The communication method according to claim 10, Chin further teaches wherein the transmission failure response is received from the application network element after the registration timer does not expire ( When the UE 104 starts 5G registration procedures, as part of the registration procedure, the NAS component 142 starts various timers (e.g., including one or more NAS registration timers) as specified in 3GPP standards, e.g., as specified in 3GPP TS 24.501. In an aspect, for example, the NAS component 142 may start one or more timers at 202 … EAP component 144 will only notify a success/failure result to the NAS component 142 after all the retries (e.g., a configured number of retries) are over. In the meantime, one or more NAS timers may expire, causing the NAS component 142 to abort the registration procedures to the NR cell (e.g., the gNB 180 in the access network 100). If the LIE 104 had waited additional time before aborting, the registration may have succeeded eventually, page 5 ). Regarding claim 12, Bian with Jhonstone and Chin teaches communication method of claim 3, Bian further teaches wherein the transmission failure response comprises the identification information of the terminal device and/or an identifier of an enterprise to which the terminal device belongs ( S12. The gateway module forwards the registration request message to the communication adaptation module. S13. The communication adaptation module stores the registration request message in a database and creates a registration information table, page 2 ). Regarding claim 13, Bian with Jhonstone and Chin teaches The communication method according to claim 10, Jhonston further teaches wherein the registration timer is a timer started when the transmission request is sent ( When the UE 104 starts 5G registration procedures, as part of the registration procedure, the NAS component 142 starts various timers (e.g., including one or more NAS registration timers) as specified in 3GPP standards, e.g., as specified in 3GPP TS 24.501. In an aspect, for example, the NAS component 142 may start one or more timers at 202 … EAP component 144 will only notify a success/failure result to the NAS component 142 after all the retries (e.g., a configured number of retries) are over. In the meantime, one or more NAS timers may expire, causing the NAS component 142 to abort the registration procedures to the NR cell (e.g., the gNB 180 in the access network 100). If the LIE 104 had waited additional time before aborting, the registration may have succeeded eventually, paragraph 53 ). Regarding claim 14, Bian with Jhonstone and Chin teaches, Chin further teaches the communication method according to claim 10, Jhonston further comprising: determining the behavior statistics quantity based on the identification information ( It adds a Location Area Identification (LAI) value to the LAI forbidden directory of the UE, which will immediately stop making a re-location registration attempt. This may incur the risk of “home lock” taking place, and thus this approach may be selectively used in a controlled manner, page 4 ) . 07-21-aia AIA 9. Claim (s) 15, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bian (CN 10701814, Bian hereafter) Jhonstone et al. (CN 101772979, Jhonstone hereafter) in further view of Chin (WO 2020/055574) in further view of in further view of Li (CN 104427484) . Regarding claim 15, Bian with Liu with Jhonstone teaches claim 1, however does not specifically does not teach and/or suggest wherein the registration request further comprises data and/or authentication information, and the authentication information comprises information for authenticating the terminal device and/or information used by the terminal device for authentication. Li further teaches wherein the registration request further comprises data and/or authentication information, and the authentication information comprises information for authenticating the terminal device and/or information used by the terminal device for authentication ( The call control server S1 is a network element in the IMS core network, and performs registration authentication and other call control on the terminal accessing the IMS network. The data storage server S2 stores related information of the IMS user terminal. The application server S3 provides a corresponding application service for the IMS user terminal, page 3 ). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art at the time of the filing to combine the teachings of Li’s authentication information with the combined system of Bian and Liu with Jhonstone. One would be motivated to combine these teachings because it can provide authentication information; which will make the system more effective and user friendly. Regarding claim 20, Bian and Liu and Jhonstone with Li teaches The communication method according to claim 8, Li further teaches wherein the transmission request further comprises the data and/or the authentication information ( The call control server S1 is a network element in the IMS core network, and performs registration authentication and other call control on the terminal accessing the IMS network. The data storage server S2 stores related information of the IMS user terminal. The application server S3 provides a corresponding application service for the IMS user terminal, page 3 ). Conclusion 9. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to TANMAY K SHAH whose telephone number is (571)270-3624. The examiner can normally be reached Mon - Fri - 8:00 - 5:00. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Chieh Fan can be reached at 571-272-3042. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. TANMAY K. SHAH Primary Examiner Art Unit 2632 /TANMAY K SHAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2632 Application/Control Number: 18/817,617 Page 2 Art Unit: 2632 Application/Control Number: 18/817,617 Page 3 Art Unit: 2632 Application/Control Number: 18/817,617 Page 4 Art Unit: 2632 Application/Control Number: 18/817,617 Page 5 Art Unit: 2632 Application/Control Number: 18/817,617 Page 6 Art Unit: 2632 Application/Control Number: 18/817,617 Page 7 Art Unit: 2632 Application/Control Number: 18/817,617 Page 8 Art Unit: 2632 Application/Control Number: 18/817,617 Page 9 Art Unit: 2632 Application/Control Number: 18/817,617 Page 10 Art Unit: 2632 Application/Control Number: 18/817,617 Page 11 Art Unit: 2632 Application/Control Number: 18/817,617 Page 12 Art Unit: 2632 Application/Control Number: 18/817,617 Page 13 Art Unit: 2632 Application/Control Number: 18/817,617 Page 14 Art Unit: 2632 Application/Control Number: 18/817,617 Page 15 Art Unit: 2632 Application/Control Number: 18/817,617 Page 16 Art Unit: 2632 Application/Control Number: 18/817,617 Page 17 Art Unit: 2632 Application/Control Number: 18/817,617 Page 18 Art Unit: 2632 Application/Control Number: 18/817,617 Page 19 Art Unit: 2632 Application/Control Number: 18/817,617 Page 20 Art Unit: 2632