CTNF 18/817,683 CTNF 88559 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1-4 & 7-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1) & (a)(2 ) as being anticipated by Findeklee (U.S. PGPub # 2013/0063147) . Regarding Independent claim 1, Findeklee teaches: A coil assembly, comprising: a flexible radio frequency (RF) receiving coil element (See Fig. 1 & 4 Elements 18 n . See paragraphs 0038-0039.) comprising a variable capacitor (See paragraph 0041.); and a tuning controller (Fig. 1 Element 45. See paragraph 0041.) configured to adjust a capacitance of the variable capacitor (Fig. 1 & 4 Element 40. See paragraph 0041.) of the flexible RF receiving coil element to thereby adjust a resonant frequency of the flexible RF receiving coil element to within a preset resonant frequency range (See paragraphs 0038-0041.). PNG media_image1.png 454 680 media_image1.png Greyscale PNG media_image2.png 468 700 media_image2.png Greyscale Regarding claim 2, Findeklee teaches all elements of claim 1, upon which this claim depends. Findeklee teaches the tuning controller is further configured to transmit a first signal having a magnetic resonance frequency (Fig. 1 & 4 Elements 40, 80 n , 86 n , & 88 n . See paragraphs 0040-0043.), the flexible RF receiving coil element (See Fig. 4 Elements 18 n . See paragraphs 0038-0039.) further comprises a directional coupler connected to the tuning controller (See Fig. 4 Elements 18 n & 18 x . See paragraphs 0038-0039.), the directional coupler configured to transmit the first signal to the flexible RF receiving coil element (See Fig. 4 Elements 18 n & 18 x . See paragraphs 0038-0039 wherein all of these elements share a mutual directional coupling.), and to transmit a second signal, which is returned by the flexible RF receiving coil element after the first signal has passed through the flexible RF receiving coil element (Fig. 1 Element 26 n .), to the tuning controller (Fig. 1 Element 45. See paragraph 0041.). PNG media_image1.png 454 680 media_image1.png Greyscale Regarding claim 3, Findeklee teaches all elements of claim 2, upon which this claim depends. Findeklee teaches the tuning controller (Fig. 1 Element 45. See paragraph 0041.) is configured to determine whether to adjust the capacitance of the variable capacitor (Fig. 1 & 4 Element 40. See paragraph 0041.) based upon the second signal being within a preset second signal range (Fig. 1 Element 45. See paragraph 0041 wherein any signal can be arbitrarily labeled as a second signal.). Regarding claim 4, Findeklee teaches all elements of claim 1, upon which this claim depends. Findeklee teaches the coil assembly is configured as part of an MRI system (See Fig. 1 & 4 Elements 18 n . See paragraphs 0038-0039.), which comprises a body coil and a measurement reconstruction system (See Fig. 1 Elements 16 & 18 n . See paragraphs 0024-0026.), the body coil is configured to transmit a first signal to the flexible RF receiving coil element (See Fig. 1 & 4 Elements 18 n . See paragraphs 0038-0039.), the measurement reconstruction system is configured to receive a second signal from the flexible RF receiving coil element (See Fig. 1 Element 32. See paragraph 0027.), the second signal comprises a signal returned after the first signal has passed through the flexible RF receiving coil element (Fig. 1 Element 26 n . See paragraph 0026.), and the tuning controller is configured to be in communicative connection with the measurement reconstruction system so as to receive the second signal or a control signal transmitted by the measurement reconstruction system that indicates whether to adjust the capacitance of the variable capacitor (Fig. 1 Element 45. See paragraph 0041.). Regarding claim 7, Findeklee teaches all elements of claim 1, upon which this claim depends. Findeklee teaches a fixed capacitor connected in parallel with the variable capacitor (Fig. 1 & 4 Elements 40 & 86. See paragraphs 0040-0042.). Regarding claim 8, Findeklee teaches all elements of claim 2, upon which this claim depends. Findeklee teaches the tuning controller (Fig. 1 Element 45. See paragraph 0041.) is configured to: generate the first signal (Fig. 1 Element 45. See paragraph 0041 wherein to control the capacitor it necessarily generates a signal.); receive the second signal (Fig. 1 Element 45. See paragraph 0041 wherein to control the capacitor it necessarily receives feedback or another signal.); generate a control instruction (Fig. 1 Element 45. See paragraph 0041.); and generate a control signal for controlling a voltage of the variable capacitor (See paragraph 0041 wherein the variations in the signals are continuously addressed.). Regarding claim 9, Findeklee teaches all elements of claim 1, upon which this claim depends. Findeklee teaches the coil assembly is coupled to a magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) system (Fig. 1 Elements 16, 18, & 10. See paragraphs 0024 & 0041.). Regarding Independent claim 10, A tuning method for a magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) system, comprising: transmitting a first signal to a flexible radio frequency (RF) receiving coil element (See Fig. 4 Elements 18 n . See paragraphs 0038-0039.) that is part of a coil assembly (See Fig. 4 Elements 18. See paragraphs 0038-0039.); receiving a second signal from the flexible RF receiving coil element (See Fig. 4 Elements 18 n . See paragraphs 0038-0039.), wherein the second signal comprises a signal returned after the first signal has passed through the flexible RF receiving coil element (See Fig. 4 Elements 18. See paragraphs 0038-0039.); and adjusting, via a tuning controller (Fig. 1 & 4 Elements 44 & 45.), a capacitance of a variable capacitor (See paragraph 0041.) of the flexible RF receiving coil element according to the second signal to thereby adjust a resonant frequency of the flexible RF receiving coil element to within a preset resonant frequency range (See paragraphs 0038-0041.). PNG media_image1.png 454 680 media_image1.png Greyscale PNG media_image2.png 468 700 media_image2.png Greyscale Regarding claim 11, Findeklee teaches all elements of claim 10, upon which this claim depends. Findeklee teaches after the flexible RF receiving coil element (See Fig. 1 & 4 Elements 18 n . See paragraphs 0038-0039.) has been placed on a test subject and the test subject is at a scanning position (See Fig. 1 & 4 Elements 18 n & the human patient. See paragraphs 0038-0039.), transmitting, via the tuning controller (Fig. 1 & 4 Elements 44 & 45.), the first signal to the flexible RF receiving coil element (See Fig. 1 & 4 Elements 18 n . See paragraphs 0038-0039.); receiving, via the tuning controller (Fig. 1 & 4 Elements 44 & 45.), the second signal from the flexible RF receiving coil element (See Fig. 1 & 4 Elements 18 n . See paragraphs 0038-0039.); and determining, via the tuning controller, whether to adjust the capacitance of the variable capacitor based upon the second signal being within a preset second signal range (Fig. 1 & 4 Elements 44 & 45. See paragraph 0041.). Regarding claim 12, Findeklee teaches all elements of claim 10, upon which this claim depends. Findeklee teaches the coil assembly is coupled to the MRI system (See Fig. 1 & 4 Elements 16 & 18 n . See paragraphs 0024-0026 & 0038-0039.), which comprises a body coil and a measurement reconstruction system (See Fig. 1 & 4 Elements 16, 18 n , & 32. See paragraphs 0024-0026 & 0038-0039.), the body coil being configured to transmit the first signal to the flexible RF receiving coil element (See Fig. 1 & 4 Elements 16 & 18 n . See paragraphs 0024-0026 & 0038-0039.), and the measurement reconstruction system being configured to receive the second signal from the flexible RF receiving coil element (Fig. 1 Element 32.), and wherein the method further comprises: receiving, via the tuning controller (Fig. 1 & 4 Elements 44 & 45.), the second signal from the measurement reconstruction system or a control signal transmitted by the measurement reconstruction system based upon the second signal (See Fig. 1 & 4 Elements 16, 18 n , & 32. See paragraphs 0024-0026 & 0038-0039.), the control signal indicating whether to adjust the capacitance of the variable capacitor (Fig. 1 & 4 Elements 44 & 45.) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Findeklee (U.S. PGPub # 2013/0063147) . Regarding claim 6, Findeklee teaches all elements of claim 1, upon which this claim depends. Findeklee does not explicitly teach the variable capacitor comprises a voltage-controlled capacitor, and wherein the tuning controller is configured to adjust a control voltage applied to the voltage-controlled capacitor. But it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to have the variable capacitor comprises a voltage-controlled capacitor, and wherein the tuning controller is configured to adjust a control voltage applied to the voltage-controlled capacitor because the provides a simple, cheap, effective, and reliable means of impedance matching disclosed in paragraph 0041 of Findeklee . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim 5 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. 13-03-01 AIA The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art listed does not anticipate alone or combine in an obvious manner to teach the invention claimed by applicant . Regarding claim 5, Findeklee teaches all elements of claim 4, upon which this claim depends. Findeklee teaches an amplitude of the first signal is selected to be lower than a signal amplitude capable of activating passive detuning of the flexible RF receiving coil . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The prior art listed but not cited represents the previous state of the art and analogous art that teaches some of the limitations claimed by applicant . Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to CHRISTOPHER P MCANDREW whose telephone number is (469)295-9025. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Thursday 6-4:30. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Lee Rodak can be reached on 571-270-5628. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /CHRISTOPHER P MCANDREW/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858 Application/Control Number: 18/817,683 Page 2 Art Unit: 2858 Application/Control Number: 18/817,683 Page 3 Art Unit: 2858 Application/Control Number: 18/817,683 Page 4 Art Unit: 2858 Application/Control Number: 18/817,683 Page 5 Art Unit: 2858 Application/Control Number: 18/817,683 Page 6 Art Unit: 2858 Application/Control Number: 18/817,683 Page 7 Art Unit: 2858 Application/Control Number: 18/817,683 Page 8 Art Unit: 2858 Application/Control Number: 18/817,683 Page 9 Art Unit: 2858 Application/Control Number: 18/817,683 Page 10 Art Unit: 2858 Application/Control Number: 18/817,683 Page 11 Art Unit: 2858 Application/Control Number: 18/817,683 Page 12 Art Unit: 2858