DETAILED ACTION
Application Status
Claims 1-15 are pending;
Claim 15 is withdrawn;
Claims 1-14 are rejected herein.
Information Disclosure Statement
As of the date of this action, an information disclosure statement (IDS) has been filed on 10/15/2024 and reviewed by the Examiner.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I (claims 1-14) in the reply filed on 03/12/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that a thorough search for the subject matter of any one group would encompass a search for the subject matter of the remaining group. Thus, the search and examination of the entire application could be made without the search burden. This is not found persuasive because the method as claimed is a computer-implemented design/simulation process, which is conceptually and technically distinct. The search required for the respective groups would not overlap because apparatus claims require mechanical structures, physical configuration of support assemblies and structural features and relationships. However, the computer-implemented method claims require searching the simulation algorithms, finite element analysis software base design tools/steps and computational modeling technique. These searches fall into different art units, different CPC classifications and different field of prior art, thereby imposing a serious search burden. Thus, a search of one group would not reasonably encompass the other.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ni (U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 20210255262 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Ni teaches a support assembly (220) for supporting a cold mass of a magnetic resonance device, the support assembly comprising:
an attachment point (212);
a plurality of displaceable sections (211); and
a plurality of fixed sections (sections of 213),
wherein each one of the plurality of displaceable sections is configured to be reversibly displaced relative to ones of the plurality of fixed sections when a predefined force is applied to the attachment point [capable/intended use], and
wherein each one of the plurality of fixed sections is configured to remain in a predefined spatial arrangement relative to each other when the predefined force is applied to the attachment point (see Fig. 2-4 for configuration).
Regarding claim 2, Ni teaches the support assembly (220) comprises a shape of a ring, a hollow cylinder, a hollow prism, a tube, or a disc.
Regarding claim 3, Ni teaches the attachment point (212) is arranged at and is mechanically connected to a displaceable section of the plurality of displaceable sections (211).
Note: In light of the disclosure the examiner has interpreted the term “attachment point” as a physical structural element.
Regarding claim 4, Ni teaches a connector (213) configured to mechanically connect to an inert mass, wherein the connector is arranged at and is mechanically connected to a fixed section of the plurality of fixed sections (sections of 213).
Regarding claim 6, Ni teaches the plurality of displaceable sections comprises at least three displaceable sections (top section, side section and section of 211 above 212), and
wherein the plurality of fixed sections comprises at least three fixed sections (223, 221, and wall side wall defined near annotation 223).
Regarding claim 7, Ni teaches the support assembly (220) comprises a shape of a tube, a ring, or a disc, and
wherein the attachment point (212) protrudes from a lateral surface of the support assembly.
Regarding claim 8, Ni teaches a further attachment point (point at 221 oppsite of point at 212), wherein the attachment point and the further attachment point are arranged at opposing sides of the support assembly.
Regarding claim 9, Ni teaches a vector (downward vector of the force rotating 211) of the predefined force is oriented parallel to a vector of gravitational force (vector downward force of 220 caused by weight of 220), the support assembly comprises a shape of a tube or a ring, and each one of the plurality of displaceable sections is configured to be displaced along a radial direction of the support assembly as the predefined force is applied to the attachment point.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 10-11 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ni (U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 20210255262 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Ni teaches the plurality of displaceable sections comprises a first displaceable section (portion of 211/514) and a second displaceable section (section of 211/511 above 212 as shown in Fig. 5), and wherein the first displaceable section and the second displaceable section are separated by a fixed section (section of 221/521 as disclosed in Fig. 5) of the plurality of fixed sections. Ni teaches various embodiments. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the invention of Li having first and second displaceable sections separated by a fixed section. The motivation would have been to increase the stability of the support assembly.
Regarding claim 10, Ni teaches a magnet support structure, comprising:
an outer vacuum chamber [0074; lines 12-13];
a cold mass [0089]; and
a support assembly (220), comprising:
an attachment point (point at 212);
a plurality of displaceable sections (sections of 211); and
a plurality of fixed sections (221, 223), wherein:
each one of the plurality of displaceable sections is configured to be reversibly displaced relative to ones of the plurality of fixed sections when a predefined force is applied to the attachment point [capable/intended use], and wherein each one of the plurality of fixed sections is configured to remain in a predefined spatial arrangement relative to each other when the predefined force is applied to the attachment point, wherein the attachment point is mechanically connected to the outer vacuum chamber, wherein the plurality of fixed sections are mechanically connected to the cold mass, and wherein the cold mass is spaced apart from the plurality of displaceable sections. Ni teaches various embodiments. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the embodiment disclosed in Fig. 2 having the outer vacuum chamber disclosed in embodiment described in [0074/Fig. 5] and having a cold mass as described in paragraph [0089]. The motivation would have been to thermally isolate and maintain the superconducting state of the magnet, thereby, improving efficiency, stability and operational lifespan.
Regarding claim 11, Ni teaches the attachment point (point at 212) is mechanically connected to the outer vacuum chamber via a suspension element (elongated body connecting 212 to 211).
Regarding claim 14, Ni teaches the magnet support structure is part of a magnetic resonance device configured to acquire magnetic resonance data of an object positioned within an imaging region of the magnetic resonance device [0023, 0044-0049].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached PTO-892.
MUHAMMAD IJAZ
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3631
/Muhammad Ijaz/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3631