2. This communication is in response to the Application No. 18/817,715 filed on 8/28/24. Claims 1 – 20 has been examined.
Double Patenting
4. Claim 1 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/817,792 in view of 10,404,847. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Please see below:
Regarding claim 1, See the table below:
Instant Application
Application # 18/715,792
An apparatus comprising processing circuitry configured to:
enable, based on user input, a call forwarding functionality for voice calls;
process, based on user input, an identification of a communication device to which voice calls are to be forwarded;
generate, for transmission to the communication device via a network service, a forwarding request; and
process, based on signaling received from the communication device via the network service, a forwarding response indicating whether the communication device has accepted the forwarding request.
An apparatus comprising processing circuitry configured to:
enable, based on user input, a call forwarding functionality for voice calls;
process, based on user input, an identification of a communication device to which voice calls are to be forwarded;
generate, for transmission to the communication device via a short-range connection, a forwarding request; and
process, based on signaling received from the communication device via the short-range connection, a forwarding response indicating whether the communication device has accepted the forwarding request.
As shown in the table above, the instant application differs from the co-pending application 18/817,792 as instant application does not teach communicating via a short-range connection.
Pat # 10,404,847 teaches having a short-range communication (short-range wireless communication, Abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art at the time of the filing to combine the teachings of Instant application with the Pat # 10,404,847. One would be motivated to combine these teachings because it can forward call to a different device using short-range communication for user convenience.
Regarding claim 3, claim is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 3 of copending Application No. 18/817,792 in view of 10,404,847.
Please see below:
Instant application
Application # 18/715,792
The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: generate, for transmission to the communication device, an acknowledgement corresponding to the forwarding response.
The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: generate, for transmission to the communication device via the short-range connection, an acknowledgement corresponding to the forwarding response.
As shown in the table above, the instant application differs from the co-pending application 18/817,792 as instant application does not teach communicating via a short-range connection.
Pat # 10,404,847 teaches having a short-range communication (short-range wireless communication, Abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art at the time of the filing to combine the teachings of Instant application with the Pat # 10,404,847. One would be motivated to combine these teachings because it can forward call to a different device using short-range communication for user convenience.
Regarding claim 4, Claim is further rejected under claim 4 of copending application 18/817,792. Please see below:
Instant application
Application # 18/715,792
The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: determine the forwarding response indicates the communication device has accepted the forwarding request; and in response to the determination that the communication device has accepted the forwarding request, generate, for transmission to a network, a request to forward calls to the communication device.
The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: determine the forwarding response indicates the communication device has accepted the forwarding request; and in response to the determination that the second communication device has accepted the forwarding request, generate, for transmission to a network, a request to forward calls to the communication device.
Regarding claim 5, Claim is further rejected under claim 5 of copending application 18/817,792. Please see below:
Instant Application
Application # 18/715,792
The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: determine the forwarding response indicates the communication device has not accepted the forwarding request; and in response to the determination that the communication device has not accepted the forwarding request, disable the call forwarding functionality.
The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: determine the forwarding response indicates the communication device has not accepted the forwarding request; and in response to the determination that the communication device has not accepted the forwarding request, disable the call forwarding functionality.
Regarding claim 6, Claim is further rejected under claim 6 of copending application 18/817,792. Please see below:
Instant Application
Application # 18/715,792
The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: determine the forwarding response indicates the communication device has conditionally accepted the forwarding request.
The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: determine the forwarding response indicates the communication device has conditionally accepted the forwarding request.
Regarding claim 7, Claim is further rejected under claim 7 of copending application 18/817,792. Please see below:
Instant Application
Application # 18/715,792
The apparatus of claim 6, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: in response to the determination that the communication device has conditionally accepted the forwarding request, generate, for transmission to a network, a request to forward calls to the communication device.
The apparatus of claim 6, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: in response to the determination that the communication device has conditionally accepted the forwarding request, generate, for transmission to a network, a request to forward calls to the communication device.
Regarding claim 8, Claim is further rejected under claim 8 of copending application 18/817,792. Please see below:
Instant Application
Application # 18/715,792
The apparatus of claim 6, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: generate, for transmission to the communication device via the network service, a further forwarding request comprising information related to the conditionally accepted forwarding request.
The apparatus of claim 6, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: generate, for transmission to the communication device, a further forwarding request comprising information related to the conditionally accepted forwarding request.
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art to perform the same steps with or without use of the specific network service(s).
Regarding claim 9, Claim is further rejected under claim 9 of copending application 18/817,792. Please see below:
Instant Application
Application # 18/715,792
The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the identification comprises a phone number of the communication device.
The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the identification comprises a phone number of the communication device.
Regarding claim 10, Claim is further rejected under claim 10 of copending application 18/817,792. Please see below:
Instant Application
Application # 18/715,792
The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the forwarding request comprises (i) a header identifying the communication device and (ii) a body comprising a bitmap indicating the forwarding request to forward voice calls to the communication device.
The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the forwarding request comprises (i) a header identifying the communication device and (ii) a body comprising a bitmap indicating the forwarding request to forward voice calls to the communication device.
Regarding claim 11, Claim is further rejected under claim 11 of copending application 18/817,792. Please see below:
Instant Application
Application # 18/715,792
The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the forwarding response comprises (i) a header identifying the second communication device and (ii) a body comprising a bitmap indicating the communication device accepted the forwarding request, did not accept the forwarding request or conditionally accepted the forwarding request.
The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the forwarding response comprises (i) a header identifying the communication device and (ii) a body comprising a bitmap indicating the communication device accepted the forwarding request, did not accept the forwarding request or conditionally accepted the forwarding request.
Regarding claim 14, Claim 14 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 12 of copending Application No. 18/817,792 in view of 10,404,847. See below:
Instant Application
Application # 18/715,792
An apparatus comprising processing circuitry configured to:
process a forwarding request received from a communication device via a network service, the forwarding request indicating voice calls destined for the communication device are to be forwarded to the apparatus;
configure a user interface (UI) to display the forwarding request;
process, based on user input, a response indicating whether a user has accepted the forwarding request; and
generate, for transmission to the communication device via the network service, a forwarding response indicating whether the forwarding request has been accepted.
An apparatus comprising processing circuitry configured to:
process, based on signaling received from a communication device via a short-range connection, a forwarding request indicating voice calls destined for the communication device are to be forwarded;
configure a user interface (UI) to display the forwarding request;
process, based on user input, a response indicating whether a user has accepted the forwarding request; and
generate, for transmission to the communication device via the short-range connection, a forwarding response indicating whether the forwarding request has been accepted.
As shown in the table above, the instant application differs from the co-pending application 18/817,792 as instant application does not teach communicating via a short-range connection.
Pat # 10,404,847 teaches having a short-range communication (short-range wireless communication, Abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art at the time of the filing to combine the teachings of Instant application with the Pat # 10,404,847. One would be motivated to combine these teachings because it can forward call to a different device using short-range communication for user convenience.
Regarding claim 16, the apparatus substantially has same limitations as claim 3, thus the same rejection is applicable.
Regarding claim 17, the apparatus substantially has same limitations as claim 10, thus the same rejection is applicable.
Regarding claim 18, the apparatus substantially has same limitations as claim 11, thus the same rejection is applicable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
6. Claim(s) 1, 4 – 5, 9, 12, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim (US 6,968,182).
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches An apparatus comprising processing circuitry configured to:
enable, based on user input, a call forwarding functionality for voice calls (step 500 of Fig. 5, request for call forwarding, col 4, lines 30 – 47; as mentioned requested by the subscriber or user);
process, based on user input, an identification of a communication device to which voice calls are to be forwarded (step 510 of Fig. 5; step 510 is performed to detect the intended telephone number; col 4, lines 47 - 49);
generate, for transmission to the communication device via a network service, a forwarding request (In step 520, the network checks whether or not the detected telephone number is set to call forwarded to another number; col 4, lines 47 - 49); and
process, based on signaling received from the communication device via the network service, a forwarding response indicating whether the communication device has accepted the forwarding request (step 530, 540, 550; has the caller and receiver approved the call forwarding and based on the response connection to the call proceeded; In step 530, the network reads out a pre-set value to determine whether or not the caller has agreed or allowed to benefit the call forwarding service when establishing a call connection to the non-intended telephone number. If affirmative, step 540 is performed; If affirmative, step 550 is performed, and the network connects the speech path between the subscribers A and C; col 4, lines 54 – col 5 line 9).
Regarding claim 4, The apparatus of claim 1, Kim further teaches wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to:
determine the forwarding response indicates the communication device has accepted the forwarding request (step 530 or step 540; In step 530, the network reads out a pre-set value to determine whether or not the caller has agreed or allowed to benefit the call forwarding service when establishing a call connection to the non-intended telephone number. If affirmative, step 540 is performed; col 4, lines 54 – col 5 line 9;); and
in response to the determination that the communication device has accepted the forwarding request, generate, for transmission to a network, a request to forward calls to the communication device (If response to step 530 and 540 is yes then proceed with the connection to the call, step 550, lines 54 – col 5 line 9).
Regarding claim 5, The apparatus of claim 1, Kim further teaches wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to:
determine the forwarding response indicates the communication device has not accepted the forwarding request (step 530 or step 540; In step 530, the network reads out a pre-set value to determine whether or not the caller has agreed or allowed to benefit the call forwarding service when establishing a call connection to the non-intended telephone number. If affirmative, step 540 is performed; col 4, lines 54 – col 5 line 9); and
in response to the determination that the communication device has not accepted the forwarding request, disable the call forwarding functionality (If response to either step 530 or 540 is negative then send interrupt or terminate the call connection, col 4, lines 54 – col 5 line 9).
Regarding claim 9, the apparatus of claim 1, Kim further teaches wherein the identification comprises a hone number of the communication device (detection of a telephone number, step 510 of Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 12, The apparatus of claim 1, Kim further teaches wherein the forwarding request comprises information related to forwarding of the voice calls (call, Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 14, An apparatus comprising processing circuitry configured to:
process a forwarding request received from a communication device via a network service, the forwarding request indicating voice calls destined for the communication device are to be forwarded to the apparatus (step 500 of Fig. 5, request for call forwarding, col 4, lines 30 – 47; as mentioned requested by the subscriber or user; step 510 of Fig. 5; step 510 is performed to detect the intended telephone number; col 4, lines 47 - 49);
configure a user interface (UI) to display the forwarding request (A display section 130 displays various information which includes the data display, operating status, etc. as inputted from the key input section 140, Fig. 2, col 3, lines 4 - 6);
process, based on user input, a response indicating whether a user has accepted the forwarding request (step 530, 540, 550; has the caller and receiver approved the call forwarding and based on the response connection to the call proceeded; In step 530, the network reads out a pre-set value to determine whether or not the caller has agreed or allowed to benefit the call forwarding service when establishing a call connection to the non-intended telephone number; col 4, lines 54 – col 5 line 9); and
generate, for transmission to the communication device via the network service, a forwarding response indicating whether the forwarding request has been accepted (If affirmative, step 550 is performed, and the network connects the speech path between the subscribers A and C; col 4, lines 54 – col 5 line 9).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
11. Claim(s) 2, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 6,968,182) in further view of Miller, II et al. (US 2015/0312411, Miller hereafter).
Regarding claim 2, Kim teaches claim 1, Kim discloses a message announcement when the call is forwarded (col 3, lines 28 - 30); does not specifically disclose either messaging service providing end-to-end encryption of message, SMS or MMS.
In the same field of endeavor, Miller teaches wherein the network service is one of a messaging service providing end-to-end encryption of messages, a short messaging service (SMS) or a multimedia messaging service (MMS). (At 308, the PTAP 106 receives the call forwarded by the IVR 102. According to certain aspects, upon receiving the forwarded call, the PTAP 106 sends a notification (e.g., an SMS text message, a push notification, an email, etc.) to the caller 112, paragraph 41).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art at the time of the filing to combine the teachings of Miller’s SMS notification of call forwarding with the system of Kim. One would be motivated to combine these teachings because it will provide user a notification; making the system user friendly.
Regarding claim 15, the apparatus substantially has same limitations as claim 2, thus the same rejection is applicable.
12. Claim(s) 3, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 6,968,182) in further view of Ring et al. (US 2012/0033610, Ring hereafter).
Regarding claim 3, Kim teaches claim 1, however, does not specifically disclose wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: generate, for transmission to the communication device, an acknowledgement corresponding to the forwarding response.
In the same field of endeavor, Ring teaches wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: generate, for transmission to the communication device, an acknowledgement corresponding to the forwarding response (This "accept" response traverses the network elements in steps S567-S569 and reaches remote device 541. Remote device 541 acknowledges the response S571, and the acknowledgement is transmitted from gateway 529 to server 527, paragraph 51).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art at the time of the filing to combine the teachings of Ring’s acknowledgement of call forwarding accept with the system of Kim. One would be motivated to combine these teachings because it will provide user a successful call forwarding request.
Regarding claim 16, the apparatus substantially has same limitations as claim 3, thus the same rejection is applicable.
14. Claim(s) 6 – 8, 13, 19 – 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 6,968,182) in further view of Barkan (US 2016/0072955, Barkan hereafter).
Regarding claim 6, Kim teaches claim 1, however, does not specifically teach and/or suggest wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: determine the forwarding response indicates the communication device has conditionally accepted the forwarding request.
Barkan teaches wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: determine the forwarding response indicates the communication device has conditionally accepted the forwarding request (wherein the registration of the conditional call forwarding is performed prior to the rejection of the primary incoming call. The instruction to perform one or more operations is sent to an application on the user device, and wherein the instruction to perform one or more operations instructs the application to reject the primary incoming call in response to receiving the instruction to perform one or more operations, wherein rejecting the primary incoming call triggers the conditional call forwarding on busy. The registration of conditional call forwarding on busy can be requested by the server system to a server managing the subscription associated with the subscriber telephone number. The request to register the conditional call forwarding on busy can be requested from the application on the user device. In some instances, an instruction is sent from the server system to the application on the user device requesting the application to trigger conditional call forwarding, paragraph 13).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art at the time of the filing to combine the teachings of Barkan’s conditionally accepting of a call forwarding request with the system of Kim. One would be motivated to combine these teachings because it can be forwarded to another user or voicemail if the user is busy.
Regarding claim 7, Kim with Barkan teaches The apparatus of claim 6, Barkan further teaches wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: in response to the determination that the communication device has conditionally accepted the forwarding request, generate, for transmission to a network, a request to forward calls to the communication device (In some implementations, a calling party identifier is associated with the primary incoming call, wherein the server system generates a voice message associated with the calling party identifier, and wherein the server system plays the generated voice message at the particular secondary location in response to a request to answer the forwarded incoming call, paragraph 13 - 15).
Regarding claim 8, Kim with Barkan teaches The apparatus of claim 6, Barkan further teaches wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: generate, for transmission to the communication device via the network service, a further forwarding request comprising information related to the conditionally accepted forwarding request (the method further comprises registering conditional call forwarding for the subscriber telephone number to the telephone number associated with the server system based on one or more parameters for the user device or the one or more destinations, with the parameters selected from the group consisting of location of the user device or other device, time of day, date, proximity of the user device to another device, paragraph 16).
Regarding claim 13, Kim teaches claim 12, however, does not specifically teach and/or suggest wherein the information comprises a duration of the call forwarding, a start time of the call forwarding or an end time of the call forwarding.
Barkan teaches wherein the information comprises a duration of the call forwarding, a start time of the call forwarding or an end time of the call forwarding (A time difference exists between the time the user answers the call on a secondary destination until the incoming call is actually forwarded and bridged to the answered call, paragraph 60; The In-Call Screen can display call-related information such as the time of the call, the caller ID, and the identification of the secondary destination in which the call has been answered, among others. Further, the In-Call Screen can allow user interactions to be performed with the current call, such as allowing the user to end the call or pull the call from the secondary destination back to the primary destination at the primary device, paragraph 89).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art at the time of the filing to combine the teachings of Barkan’s call details information such as start, end or duration of the call with the system of Kim. One would be motivated to combine these teachings because it can provide the user the details of the call for future record.
Regarding claim 19, the apparatus substantially has same limitations as claim 6, thus the same rejection is applicable.
Regarding claim 20, the apparatus substantially has same limitations as claim 13, thus the same rejection is applicable.
15. Claim(s) 10 – 11, 17 – 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 6,968,182) in further view of Tu et al. (CN101115099, Tu hereafter).
Regarding claim 10, Kim teaches claim 1, however, does not specifically teach and/or suggest wherein the forwarding request comprises (i) a header identifying the communication device and (ii) a body comprising a bitmap indicating the forwarding request to forward voice calls to the communication device.
Tu teaches wherein the forwarding request comprises (i) a header identifying the communication device (extracting the main control mobile phone number information from the message header information, See technical field) and (ii) a body comprising a bitmap indicating the forwarding request to forward voice calls to the communication device (extracting calling transfer according to the character from the message body information of the operation mode information and the authentication information, (3) the authentication information of the authentication information matching and comparing with the preset by the system, (4) if the matching is failed, authentication failure of sending short message to master control mobile phone according to master control mobile phone number information. and ending, (5) if the matching is successful, it returns the analyzing the successful authentication result. the call forwarding according to the operation instruction information to the corresponding call forwarding setting operation comprises the following steps: (1) system judging whether the call transfer of the operation mode information is a starting call forwarding function or the call forwarding function; See Technical field).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art at the time of the filing to combine the teachings of Tu’s header and body contents with the system of Kim. One would be motivated to combine these teachings because it can transfer the information to the device in a transmit frame header and body.
Regarding claim 11, Kim teaches claim 1, however, does not specifically teach and/or suggest wherein the forwarding response comprises (i) a header identifying the second communication device and (ii) a body comprising a bitmap indicating the communication device accepted the forwarding request, did not accept the forwarding request or conditionally accepted the forwarding request.
In the same field of endeavor, Tu teaches wherein the forwarding request comprises (i) a header identifying the communication device (extracting the main control mobile phone number information from the message header information, See technical field) and (ii) a body comprising a bitmap indicating the communication device accepted the forwarding request, did not accept the forwarding request or conditionally accepted the forwarding request (extracting calling transfer according to the character from the message body information of the operation mode information and the authentication information, (3) the authentication information of the authentication information matching and comparing with the preset by the system, (4) if the matching is failed, authentication failure of sending short message to master control mobile phone according to master control mobile phone number information. and ending, (5) if the matching is successful, it returns the analyzing the successful authentication result. the call forwarding according to the operation instruction information to the corresponding call forwarding setting operation comprises the following steps: (1) system judging whether the call transfer of the operation mode information is a starting call forwarding function or the call forwarding function; if setting is successful, the short message of successful is sending starting calling transferring operation according to master control mobile phone number information to master control mobile phone; (3) if the setting is failed, sending starting calling transferring operation failure message to the main control mobile phone according to master control mobile phone number information. the step of setting call transfer processing operation to the main control mobile phone number comprises the following steps: (1) the calling transfer function is started, and setting the forwarding number to the main control mobile phone number, (2) if the setting is successful, the short message is based on master control mobile phone number information to master control mobile phone sends the starting calling transferring operation successfully; See Technical field).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art at the time of the filing to combine the teachings of Tu’s header and body contents with the system of Kim. One would be motivated to combine these teachings because it can transfer the information to the device in a transmit frame header and body.
Regarding claim 17, the apparatus substantially has same limitations as claim 10, thus the same rejection is applicable.
Regarding claim 18, the apparatus substantially has same limitations as claim 11, thus the same rejection is applicable.
Conclusion
TANMAY K. SHAH
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2632
/TANMAY K SHAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2632