Detailed Action
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/28/2024 and 12/20/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Breazeal et al. (US Pre-Granted Publication No. US 2017/0206064 A1 hereinafter “Breazeal”).
Regarding claim 21 Breazeal discloses:
A system for personalizing robotic interactions, the system comprising at least one processing unit configured to perform operations, the operations comprise: (Breazeal [0009-0010] [0081] wherein the system includes a processor to operate a personalized robot) accessing a first digital data record associated with a relation between a specific digital character and a first character; (Breazeal [0182] [0185] [0503-0505] [0522] wherein the robot and the user can have a recognized relationship, recognizing which person is being addressed or identified) receiving from the first character a first input in a natural language; (Breazeal [0100-0101] [0215] wherein the user and robot communicate using a natural language) using a conversational artificial intelligence model to analyze the first digital data record and the first input to determine a first desired movement for a first portion of a specific body, (Breazeal [0090] [0110] [0116] [0183] wherein artificial intelligence or machine learning is used by the robot to allow for natural conversations and cue recognition, and display emotions or a personally through facial and expressive movements) the specific body is associated with the specific digital character; (Breazeal [0470] [0493] wherein the robot can take on specific personalities that guide the expression towards personalized individuals) generating first digital signals, the first digital signals are configured to cause the first portion of the specific body to undergo the first desired movement during an interaction of the specific digital character with the first character; (Breazeal [0012] [0180] [0090] [0110] [0116] [0182-0183] wherein the robot includes various personalities or characters in a digital space, such as through a virtual mode of the robot or the robot face to interact with users) accessing a second digital data record associated with a relation between the specific digital character and a second character, the second character differs from the first character; (Breazeal [0352] [0537] wherein the robot can include various distinct personal personas or interactions based on the user the robot interacts with) receiving from the second character a second input in the natural language, (Breazeal [0100-0101] [0366] [0537]] wherein the interactions include natural language conversations with the robot) the second input conveys a substantially same meaning as the first input; (Breazeal [0537] wherein the robot can interact with different users for the same tasks or in the same situation but with different personalities) using the conversational artificial intelligence model to analyze the second digital data record and the second input to determine a second desired movement for a second portion of the specific body, the second desired movement differs from the first desired movement; (Breazeal [0090] [0110] [0116] [0183] [0537] wherein artificial intelligence or machine learning is used by the robot to allow for natural conversations and cue recognition, and display emotions or a personally through facial and expressive movements which may differ for different persons or situations) and generating second digital signals, (Breazeal [0012] [0180] [0090] [0110] [0116] [0182-0183] wherein the robot includes various personalities or characters in a digital space, such as through a virtual mode of the robot or the robot face to interact with users) the second digital signals are configured to cause the second portion of the specific body to undergo the second desired movement during an interaction of the specific digital character with the second character. (Breazeal [0082] [0537] wherein the robot changes operations based on the user, such as interacting in one manner with an adult and in a different way with a child using different communication styles).
Regarding claim 22 Breazeal discloses:
A method for personalizing robotic interactions, the method comprising: accessing a first digital data record associated with a relation between a specific digital character and a first character; (Breazeal [0182] [0185] [0503-0505] [0522] wherein the robot and the user can have a recognized relationship, recognizing which person is being addressed or identified) receiving from the first character a first input in a natural language; (Breazeal [0100-0101] [0215] wherein the user and robot communicate using a natural language) using a conversational artificial intelligence model to analyze the first digital data record and the first input to determine a first desired movement for a first portion of a specific body, (Breazeal [0090] [0110] [0116] [0183] wherein artificial intelligence or machine learning is used by the robot to allow for natural conversations and cue recognition, and display emotions or a personally through facial and expressive movements) the specific body is associated with the specific digital character; (Breazeal [0470] [0493] wherein the robot can take on specific personalities that guide the expression towards personalized individuals) generating first digital signals, the first digital signals are configured to cause the first portion of the specific body to undergo the first desired movement during an interaction of the specific digital character with the first character; (Breazeal [0012] [0180] [0090] [0110] [0116] [0182-0183] wherein the robot includes various personalities or characters in a digital space, such as through a virtual mode of the robot or the robot face to interact with users) accessing a second digital data record associated with a relation between the specific digital character and a second character, the second character differs from the first character; (Breazeal [0352] [0537] wherein the robot can include various distinct personal personas or interactions based on the user the robot interacts with) receiving from the second character a second input in the natural language, (Breazeal [0100-0101] [0366] [0537]] wherein the interactions include natural language conversations with the robot) the second input conveys a substantially same meaning as the first input; (Breazeal [0537] wherein the robot can interact with different users for the same tasks or in the same situation but with different personalities) using the conversational artificial intelligence model to analyze the second digital data record and the second input to determine a second desired movement for a second portion of the specific body, the second desired movement differs from the first desired movement; (Breazeal [0090] [0110] [0116] [0183] [0537] wherein artificial intelligence or machine learning is used by the robot to allow for natural conversations and cue recognition, and display emotions or a personally through facial and expressive movements which may differ for different persons or situations) and generating second digital signals, (Breazeal [0012] [0180] [0090] [0110] [0116] [0182-0183] wherein the robot includes various personalities or characters in a digital space, such as through a virtual mode of the robot or the robot face to interact with users) the second digital signals are configured to cause the second portion of the specific body to undergo the second desired movement during an interaction of the specific digital character with the second character. (Breazeal [0082] [0537] wherein the robot changes operations based on the user, such as interacting in one manner with an adult and in a different way with a child using different communication styles).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Breazeal et al. (US Pre-Granted Publication No. US 2017/0206064 A1 hereinafter “Breazeal”) in view of Emma et al. (US Patent No. US 11,663,182 B2 hereinafter “Emma”).
Regarding claim 1 Breazeal discloses:
A … computer readable medium storing computer implementable instructions that when executed by at least one processor cause the at least one processor to perform operations for personalizing robotic interactions, the operations comprising: (Breazeal [0009-0010] [0081] wherein the system includes a processor to operate a personalized robot) accessing a first digital data record associated with a relation between a specific digital character and a first character; (Breazeal [0182] [0185] [0503-0505] [0522] wherein the robot and the user can have a recognized relationship, recognizing which person is being addressed or identified) receiving from the first character a first input in a natural language; (Breazeal [0100-0101] [0215] wherein the user and robot communicate using a natural language) using a conversational artificial intelligence model to analyze the first digital data record and the first input to determine a first desired movement for a first portion of a specific body, (Breazeal [0090] [0110] [0116] [0183] wherein artificial intelligence or machine learning is used by the robot to allow for natural conversations and cue recognition, and display emotions or a personally through facial and expressive movements) the specific body is associated with the specific digital character; (Breazeal [0470] [0493] wherein the robot can take on specific personalities that guide the expression towards personalized individuals) generating first digital signals, the first digital signals are configured to cause the first portion of the specific body to undergo the first desired movement during an interaction of the specific digital character with the first character; (Breazeal [0012] [0180] [0090] [0110] [0116] [0182-0183] wherein the robot includes various personalities or characters in a digital space, such as through a virtual mode of the robot or the robot face to interact with users) accessing a second digital data record associated with a relation between the specific digital character and a second character, the second character differs from the first character; (Breazeal [0352] [0537] wherein the robot can include various distinct personal personas or interactions based on the user the robot interacts with) receiving from the second character a second input in the natural language, (Breazeal [0100-0101] [0366] [0537]] wherein the interactions include natural language conversations with the robot) the second input conveys a substantially same meaning as the first input; (Breazeal [0537] wherein the robot can interact with different users for the same tasks or in the same situation but with different personalities) using the conversational artificial intelligence model to analyze the second digital data record and the second input to determine a second desired movement for a second portion of the specific body, the second desired movement differs from the first desired movement; (Breazeal [0090] [0110] [0116] [0183] [0537] wherein artificial intelligence or machine learning is used by the robot to allow for natural conversations and cue recognition, and display emotions or a personally through facial and expressive movements which may differ for different persons or situations) and generating second digital signals, (Breazeal [0012] [0180] [0090] [0110] [0116] [0182-0183] wherein the robot includes various personalities or characters in a digital space, such as through a virtual mode of the robot or the robot face to interact with users) the second digital signals are configured to cause the second portion of the specific body to undergo the second desired movement during an interaction of the specific digital character with the second character. (Breazeal [0082] [0537] wherein the robot changes operations based on the user, such as interacting in one manner with an adult and in a different way with a child using different communication styles).
Breazeal does not appear to explicitly disclose:
… non-transitory computer readable medium
However, in the same field of endeavor of robotic controls Emma discloses:
“non-transitory computer readable medium” (Emma col. 24 lines 30-51 wherein the system uses a non-transitory computer readable media)
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to combine the non-transitory medium of Emma with the robotic system of Breazeal with a reasonable expectation of success because one of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification in order to provide a known, versatile memory storage system either onboard or through a network to implement the robotic system and in turn control the robot (Emma col. 24 lines 30-51).
Regarding claim 2 Breazeal in view of Emma disclose all of the limitations of claim 1 and Breazeal further discloses:
The … computer readable medium of claim 1, wherein the first desired movement is configured to cause the specific body to perform a first gesture, (Breazeal [0351-0352] [0370] wherein the robot operates or moves in response to a user) and wherein the second desired movement is configured to cause the specific body to perform a second gesture, the second gesture differs from the first gesture. (Breazeal [0351-0352] [0370] wherein the robot operates or moves in response to a user in a group, allowing for differing movements based on the different persons).
Breazeal does not appear to explicitly disclose:
… non-transitory computer readable medium
However, in the same field of endeavor of robotic controls Emma discloses:
“non-transitory computer readable medium” (Emma col. 24 lines 30-51 wherein the system uses a non-transitory computer readable media)
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to combine the non-transitory medium of Emma with the robotic system of Breazeal with a reasonable expectation of success because one of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification in order to provide a known, versatile memory storage system either onboard or through a network to implement the robotic system and in turn control the robot (Emma col. 24 lines 30-51).
Regarding claim 3 Breazeal in view of Emma disclose all of the limitations of claim 1 and Breazeal further discloses:
The … computer readable medium of claim 1, wherein the first desired movement is configured to cause the specific body to produce a first facial expression, (Breazeal [0082] [0352] wherein the robot expresses facial expressions) and wherein the second desired movement is configured to cause the specific body to produce a second facial expression, the second facial expression differs from the first facial expression. (Breazeal [0082] [0352] [0370] wherein the robot is able to display different facial expressions for different users).
Breazeal does not appear to explicitly disclose:
… non-transitory computer readable medium
However, in the same field of endeavor of robotic controls Emma discloses:
“non-transitory computer readable medium” (Emma col. 24 lines 30-51 wherein the system uses a non-transitory computer readable media)
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to combine the non-transitory medium of Emma with the robotic system of Breazeal with a reasonable expectation of success because one of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification in order to provide a known, versatile memory storage system either onboard or through a network to implement the robotic system and in turn control the robot (Emma col. 24 lines 30-51).
Regarding claim 4 Breazeal in view of Emma disclose all of the limitations of claim 1 and Breazeal further discloses:
The … computer readable medium of claim 1, wherein the operations further comprise: using the conversational artificial intelligence model to analyze the first digital data record and the first input to determine the first portion of the specific body; (Breazeal [0090] [0110] [0116] [0183] wherein artificial intelligence or machine learning is used by the robot to allow for natural conversations and cue recognition, and display emotions or a personally through facial and expressive movements) and using the conversational artificial intelligence model to analyze the second digital data record and the second input to determine the second portion of the specific body. (Breazeal [0090] [0110] [0116] [0183] [0537] wherein artificial intelligence or machine learning is used by the robot to allow for natural conversations and cue recognition, and display emotions or a personally through facial and expressive movements which may differ for different persons or situations)
Breazeal does not appear to explicitly disclose:
… non-transitory computer readable medium
However, in the same field of endeavor of robotic controls Emma discloses:
“non-transitory computer readable medium” (Emma col. 24 lines 30-51 wherein the system uses a non-transitory computer readable media)
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to combine the non-transitory medium of Emma with the robotic system of Breazeal with a reasonable expectation of success because one of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification in order to provide a known, versatile memory storage system either onboard or through a network to implement the robotic system and in turn control the robot (Emma col. 24 lines 30-51).
Regarding claim 5 Breazeal in view of Emma disclose all of the limitations of claim 1 and Breazeal further discloses:
The … computer readable medium of claim 1, wherein the specific digital character is associated with a specific human individual, (Breazeal [0493] wherein the robot personalizes behaviors based on specific users) the first digital data record is associated with a relation between the specific human individual and the first character, (Breazeal [0493] wherein the robot personalizes behaviors based on specific users) and the second digital data record is associated with a relation between the specific human individual and the second character. (Breazeal [0493] [0380] wherein the robot can be personalized to one or more users).
Breazeal does not appear to explicitly disclose:
… non-transitory computer readable medium
However, in the same field of endeavor of robotic controls Emma discloses:
“non-transitory computer readable medium” (Emma col. 24 lines 30-51 wherein the system uses a non-transitory computer readable media)
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to combine the non-transitory medium of Emma with the robotic system of Breazeal with a reasonable expectation of success because one of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification in order to provide a known, versatile memory storage system either onboard or through a network to implement the robotic system and in turn control the robot (Emma col. 24 lines 30-51).
Regarding claim 6 Breazeal in view of Emma disclose all of the limitations of claim 1 and Breazeal further discloses:
The … computer readable medium of claim 1, wherein the operations further comprise generating audible speech output during the interaction of the specific digital character with the first character, (Breazeal [0097] [0183] [0332] wherein the robot speaks with the user and changes based on the person being interacted with or the character the robot is portraying) wherein the generated audible speech output includes an articulation of a first part and an articulation of a second part, (Breazeal [0352] wherein the robot operates a face, jaw, or other movement based on the robot speech) wherein the first desired movement includes a first sub-movement and a second sub-movement, (Breazeal [0352] wherein the robot operates a face, jaw, or other movement based on the robot speech including for example a jaw and eye movement for the facial features) and wherein the first digital signals are configured to cause the first portion of the specific body to undergo the first sub-movement simultaneously with the articulation of the first part, and to cause the first portion of the specific body to undergo the second sub-movement simultaneously with the articulation of the second part. (Breazeal [0352] wherein the robot operates a face, jaw, or other movement based on the robot speech including for example a jaw and eye movement for the facial features).
Breazeal does not appear to explicitly disclose:
… non-transitory computer readable medium
However, in the same field of endeavor of robotic controls Emma discloses:
“non-transitory computer readable medium” (Emma col. 24 lines 30-51 wherein the system uses a non-transitory computer readable media)
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to combine the non-transitory medium of Emma with the robotic system of Breazeal with a reasonable expectation of success because one of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification in order to provide a known, versatile memory storage system either onboard or through a network to implement the robotic system and in turn control the robot (Emma col. 24 lines 30-51).
Regarding claim 7 Breazeal in view of Emma disclose all of the limitations of claim 1 and Breazeal further discloses:
The … computer readable medium of claim 1, wherein the first digital data record is based on at least one historic conversation between the specific digital character and the first character, (Breazeal [0470] [0360] wherein the robot includes past interactions or historical moments to operate in certain situations) and the second digital data record is based on at least one historic conversation between the specific digital character and the second character. (Breazeal [0470] [0360] wherein the robot includes past interactions or historical moments to operate in certain situations).
Breazeal does not appear to explicitly disclose:
… non-transitory computer readable medium
However, in the same field of endeavor of robotic controls Emma discloses:
“non-transitory computer readable medium” (Emma col. 24 lines 30-51 wherein the system uses a non-transitory computer readable media)
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to combine the non-transitory medium of Emma with the robotic system of Breazeal with a reasonable expectation of success because one of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification in order to provide a known, versatile memory storage system either onboard or through a network to implement the robotic system and in turn control the robot (Emma col. 24 lines 30-51).
Regarding claim 8 Breazeal in view of Emma disclose all of the limitations of claim 1 and Breazeal further discloses:
The … computer readable medium of claim 1, wherein the first digital data record is indicative of a first type of relation, the first type of relation is associated with the relation between the specific digital character and the first character, (Breazeal [0182] [0185] [0503-0505] [0522] wherein the robot and the user can have a recognized relationship, recognizing which person is being addressed or identified) the second digital data record is indicative of a second type of relation, the second type of relation is associated with the relation between the specific digital character and the second character, (Breazeal [0352] [0537] wherein the robot can include various distinct personal personas or interactions based on the user the robot interacts with) the second type of relation differs from the first type of relation, (Breazeal [0332] [0537] wherein the robot interacts differently based on the different persons or relations) the determination of the first desired movement is based on the first type of relation, (Breazeal [0090] [0110] [0116] [0183] wherein artificial intelligence or machine learning is used by the robot to allow for natural conversations and cue recognition, and display emotions or a personally through facial and expressive movements) the determination of the second desired movement is based on the second type of relation, and the second desired movement differs from the first desired movement based on the second type of relation being different from the first type of relation. (Breazeal [0090] [0110] [0116] [0183] [0537] wherein artificial intelligence or machine learning is used by the robot to allow for natural conversations and cue recognition, and display emotions or a personally through facial and expressive movements which may differ for different persons or situations).
Breazeal does not appear to explicitly disclose:
… non-transitory computer readable medium
However, in the same field of endeavor of robotic controls Emma discloses:
“non-transitory computer readable medium” (Emma col. 24 lines 30-51 wherein the system uses a non-transitory computer readable media)
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to combine the non-transitory medium of Emma with the robotic system of Breazeal with a reasonable expectation of success because one of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification in order to provide a known, versatile memory storage system either onboard or through a network to implement the robotic system and in turn control the robot (Emma col. 24 lines 30-51).
Regarding claim 9 Breazeal in view of Emma disclose all of the limitations of claim 1 and Breazeal further discloses:
The non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 1, wherein the first digital data record is indicative of a first degree of relation, the first degree of relation is associated with the relation between the specific digital character and the first character, (Breazeal [0182] [0185] [0503-0505] [0522] wherein the robot and the user can have a recognized relationship, recognizing which person is being addressed or identified) the second digital data record is indicative of a second degree of relation, the second degree of relation is associated with the relation between the specific digital character and the second character, (Breazeal [0352] [0537] wherein the robot can include various distinct personal personas or interactions based on the user the robot interacts with) the second degree of relation differs from the first degree of relation, (Breazeal [0332] [0537] wherein the robot interacts differently based on the different persons or relations) the determination of the first desired movement is based on the first degree of relation, (Breazeal [0090] [0110] [0116] [0183] wherein artificial intelligence or machine learning is used by the robot to allow for natural conversations and cue recognition, and display emotions or a personally through facial and expressive movements including a first movement or ) the determination of the second desired movement is based on the second degree of relation, and the second desired movement differs from the first desired movement based on the second degree of relation being different from the first degree of relation. (Breazeal [0090] [0110] [0116] [0183] [0537] wherein artificial intelligence or machine learning is used by the robot to allow for natural conversations and cue recognition, and display emotions or a personally through facial and expressive movements which may differ for different persons or situations).
Breazeal does not appear to explicitly disclose:
… non-transitory computer readable medium
However, in the same field of endeavor of robotic controls Emma discloses:
“non-transitory computer readable medium” (Emma col. 24 lines 30-51 wherein the system uses a non-transitory computer readable media)
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to combine the non-transitory medium of Emma with the robotic system of Breazeal with a reasonable expectation of success because one of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification in order to provide a known, versatile memory storage system either onboard or through a network to implement the robotic system and in turn control the robot (Emma col. 24 lines 30-51).
Regarding claim 10 Breazeal in view of Emma disclose all of the limitations of claim 1 and Breazeal further discloses:
The … computer readable medium of claim 1, wherein the second desired movement is associated with a different level of formality than the first desired movement based on the second digital data record being different from the first digital data record. (Breazeal [0195-0196] [0337] [0537] wherein the robot can operate at different levels of formality, such as casual interaction or a more formal interaction such as acting as an assistant).
Breazeal does not appear to explicitly disclose:
… non-transitory computer readable medium
However, in the same field of endeavor of robotic controls Emma discloses:
“non-transitory computer readable medium” (Emma col. 24 lines 30-51 wherein the system uses a non-transitory computer readable media)
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to combine the non-transitory medium of Emma with the robotic system of Breazeal with a reasonable expectation of success because one of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification in order to provide a known, versatile memory storage system either onboard or through a network to implement the robotic system and in turn control the robot (Emma col. 24 lines 30-51).
Regarding claim 11 Breazeal in view of Emma disclose all of the limitations of claim 1 and Breazeal further discloses:
The … computer readable medium of claim 1, wherein the second desired movement is associated with a different level of empathy than the first desired movement based on the second digital data record being different from the first digital data record. (Breazeal [0332] [0537] wherein the robot operates or communicates differently).
Breazeal does not appear to explicitly disclose:
… non-transitory computer readable medium
However, in the same field of endeavor of robotic controls Emma discloses:
“non-transitory computer readable medium” (Emma col. 24 lines 30-51 wherein the system uses a non-transitory computer readable media)
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to combine the non-transitory medium of Emma with the robotic system of Breazeal with a reasonable expectation of success because one of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification in order to provide a known, versatile memory storage system either onboard or through a network to implement the robotic system and in turn control the robot (Emma col. 24 lines 30-51).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Breazeal in view of Emma as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (US Pre-Granted Publication No. US 2020/0285248 A1 hereinafter “Kim”).
Regarding claim 13 Breazeal in view of Emma discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 and Breazeal further discloses:
The … computer readable medium of claim 1, wherein, based on the first digital data record, the first desired movement is configured to cause a physical contact between the specific body and the first character, (Breazeal [0318] wherein the robot contacts the user for a purpose such as to be pet or hugged) …
Breazeal does not appear to disclose:
… non-transitory computer readable medium… and wherein, based on the second digital data record, the second desired movement is configured not to cause a physical contact between the specific body and the second character.
However, in the same field of endeavor of robotic controls Emma discloses:
“non-transitory computer readable medium” (Emma col. 24 lines 30-51 wherein the system uses a non-transitory computer readable media)
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to combine the non-transitory medium of Emma with the robotic system of Breazeal with a reasonable expectation of success because one of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification in order to provide a known, versatile memory storage system either onboard or through a network to implement the robotic system and in turn control the robot (Emma col. 24 lines 30-51).
Additionally, Breazeal in view of Emma does not appear to disclose:
… and wherein, based on the second digital data record, the second desired movement is configured not to cause a physical contact between the specific body and the second character.
However, in the same field of endeavor of robotic controls Kim discloses:
“and wherein, based on the second digital data record, the second desired movement is configured not to cause a physical contact between the specific body and the second character.” (Kim [0116] [0202] wherein the robot determines the user, an object, and determines when to avoid colliding with the user or object).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to combine the object avoidance of Kim with the robotic system of Breazeal with a reasonable expectation of success because one of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification in order to prevent collisions of the robot and person, even in unexpected circumstances to prevent danger or reduce the chance of damage to the robot or user (Kim [0202] [0209] [0244]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12 and 14-20 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claims 12 and 14-20 the relevant art Breazeal et al. (US Pre-Granted Publication No. US 2017/0206064 A1 hereinafter “Breazeal”) in view of Emma et al. (US Patent No. US 11,663,182 B2 hereinafter “Emma”) further in view of Kim et al. (US Pre-Granted Publication No. US 2020/0285248 A1 hereinafter “Kim”) discloses a robotic system with a digital component (Breazeal [0009-0010] [0081] [0182] [0185] [0503-0505] [0522]) determining what movements or interactions a user will like (Breazeal [0090] [0110] [0116] [0183]) but fails to disclose determining a movement of the character with distinct goals, accomplishing both goals simultaneously, or manipulation of an object based on the desires of different persons, or determining an object in a mathematical space. Specifically, the relevant art fails to disclose “wherein the first desired movement serves a first goal of the specific digital character, the first desired movement serves a second goal of the specific digital character, and the second goal differs from the first goal based on a difference between the second digital data record and the first digital data record” or “wherein the first input is indicative of a desire of the first character for the specific digital character to perform a first manipulation of a particular object, the second input is indicative of a desire of the second character for the specific digital character to perform a second manipulation of the particular object, the first desired movement is configured to cause the first manipulation of the particular object, the second desired movement is not configured to cause the second manipulation of the particular object, and the operations further comprise: based on the first digital data record and the first input, determining to perform the first manipulation of the particular object; and based on the second digital data record and the second input, determining not to perform the second manipulation of the particular object” or “The non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 1, wherein the operations further comprise: analyzing the first digital data record to identify a first mathematical object in a mathematical space; analyzing the second digital data record to identify a second mathematical object in the mathematical space; calculating a convolution of a fragment of the first input to obtain a first numerical result value; calculating a convolution of a fragment of the second input to obtain a second numerical result value; calculating a function of the first numerical result value and the first mathematical object to obtain a third mathematical object in the mathematical space; basing the determination of the first desired movement on the third mathematical object; calculating a function of the second numerical result value and the second mathematical object to obtain a fourth mathematical object in the mathematical space; and basing the determination of the second desired movement on the fourth mathematical object.”
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2022/0355487 A1 discloses a robot system based on operator specific identification and feedback to update the control paradigm
US 2021/0043208 A1 discloses a response generator for a robot communication
US 2020/0382451 A1 discloses a user emotion and psychological state determination and adjust the conversation based on the detected state
US 2020/0039080 A1 discloses a robot controller based on the utterance content
US 2017/0011745 A1 discloses a digital actor for communicating with a user
US 2005/0246165 A1 discloses a natural language model used to determine a target based on verbal and non-verbal communication
/KYLE T JOHNSON/Examiner, Art Unit 3656