DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of claims 1 – 7 and 15 in the reply filed on 8/6/26 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that claims 8 – 14 are amended to depend upon claim 1. This is found persuasive and all claims, 1 – 15, will be examined.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: In line 5, “the sealing device” should be “the adjustable sealing device”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: In line 2, “the sealing device” should be “the adjustable sealing device”.
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities: In lines 3 and 4, “the sealing device” should be “the adjustable sealing device”.
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities: In line 6, “the sealing device” should be “the adjustable sealing device”.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a docking portion, a passage portion, sealing device, flexible connecting element, emptying device, sealing portion, fixing portion, cutting portion, adapter piece in claims 1-15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the flexible connecting element" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 7 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Charlebois et al. (12454100).
Regarding claims 1 and 15, the Charlebois et al. reference discloses an emptying device (10) for emptying a container containing a product (i.e., powder), comprising: a docking portion (12) for docking to a rigid container (14) to be emptied, comprising a drum, wherein in the docking portion a passage is formed by an adjustable sealing device (44), wherein the passage can be adjusted via the sealing device in such a way that an adapter piece (46) being fixed to a flexible container (20) enclosing the product, comprising a liner or a film bag, inside the rigid container (see Figure 2), can be fastened within the passage in such a way that an enclosed inner space defined by the docking portion and the rigid container is sealed off from an external environment.
Regarding claim 3, wherein a suction device (11) is provided to the docking portion, being configured to lower an ambient pressure (i.e., suction) within the enclosed inner space in such a way that the flexible container abuts against an inner wall of the rigid container at least partially.
Regarding claim 4, wherein the emptying device further comprises a conveying line (18) being insertable through the passage of the docking portion (12) and through the adapter piece (46) into the flexible container enclosing the product in order to remove the product.
Regarding claim 7, the Charlebois et al. reference further discloses wherein the emptying device (49) comprises a holding frame (unlabeled) wherein a movement device is provided to the holding frame, being configured to move the docking portion along a longitudinal axis of the rigid container relative to the rigid container in such a way that the docking portion is in an open state or a docked state. See column 7, lines 23 – 29.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Charlebois et al. (discusses supra) in view of Hardee et al. (4469152).
Regarding claim 2, the Charlebois et al. reference discloses the invention (discussed supra), but doesn’t disclose wherein the sealing device is formed by an inflatable seal surrounding the passage. However, the Hardee et al. reference discloses another material transfer device (12) having a docking portion (10) with inflatable seal (15) to form a dust tight seal when pressurized. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify the Charlebois et al. seal (44) to be inflatable as, for example, taught by the Hardee et al. reference in order to further form a dust tight seal.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 and 6 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 8 – 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The Rubitschung (11932439) and Dietrich et al. references (7168460) disclose material transfer devices having inner liners and seals.
Dietrich et al. further disclose a holding frame and moving device (Fig. 20).
The Kraehn reference (5074342) discloses a material transfer system (Fig. 3) having a frame (19), adjustable sealing device (28), suction pipe (18) and seal (30).
/TIMOTHY L MAUST/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753