DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the Amendments and Remarks received 01/15/2026 in which claims 4–7 and 12–15 are cancelled, claims 1–3, 8, 11, and 16–19 are amended, and no claims are added as new claims.
Response to Arguments
In view of the amendment to claim 19, the rejection of claim 19 under 35 U.S.C. 102 is withdrawn. Claim 19 is now rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103. Remarks, 5.
On page 6 of the Remarks, Applicant contends that the conversion information and conversion relationship is only for two chroma components (Cb and Cr) and not for all color components (luma, Cb, and Cr) such that the luma component is excluded. Examiner disagrees. First, there is no negative limitation in the claim excluding luma and the claim language indicates an open-ended format utilizing the term, “comprising,” rather than “consisting of” or some other indicator of close-ended language. Furthermore, the skilled artisan knows that a color conversion can relate any first color to any second color such that there is no requirement in the prior art that the conversion take place on all color channels. The conversion is mathematical so one can ignore or omit calculations to color space components not desired to be modified. While it is true that in some circumstances it is advantageous to incorporate into the conversion the luma component, especially when the color spaces do not represent decoupled luma (constant luminance; luma-invariant) color spaces, modern HDR color spaces, such as ICtCp, represent color spaces where a change in luminance does not affect the hue. Traditionally, in some color spaces, like YCbCr, if the luminance of a blue pixel were lowered, the pixel would look more and more purple. Thus, the skilled artisan knows that the luma channel is an intensity channel and has no color represented therein such that converting from a first luminance channel to a second luminance channel is often unnecessary in modern HDR color spaces. Further still, while Applicant’s argument argues a limitation absent from the claim, Examiner cites, under the Conclusion Section of this Office Action two references that are highly relevant to Applicant’s averred distinction. Chiu teaches flexible (as opposed to fixed) chroma-only enhancement matrices wherein the chroma channels are converted from a first chroma to a second chroma utilizing only the lower 2x2 matrix coefficients (e.g. ¶ 0067 et seq.). He teaches chroma enhancement filter parameters, such as filter coefficients, being transmitted in the bitstream (e.g. ¶ 0050). Therefore, should a future version of the claims require the exclusion of luma, cited prior art on this record reflects the fact that these features were prior art already possessed by the skilled artisan. Finally, it is noted that Zhao is cited for the rejection of claim 1 and clearly teaches joint chroma mode without regard to luma. Applicant’s argument is trying to create a false distinction that does not exist in the art in the way Applicant suggests. Attorney arguments and conclusory statements unsupported by factual evidence are entitled to little probative value. In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1470 (Fed. Cir. 1997); see also In re Pearson, 494 F.2d 1399, 1405 (CCPA 1974) (indicating attorney argument is not evidence). Applicant must furnish evidence, not mere argument, to support that the prior art is deficient in the manner averred. Accordingly, for all the foregoing reasons, Examiner is unpersuaded of error.
On page 6 of the Remarks, Applicant contends the prior art is deficient for failing to teach or suggest transmitting coefficient values of the correlation matrix in the bitstream. Examiner finds the argument moot in view of the new grounds of rejection necessitated by amendment. Specifically, the rejection now relies on the additional teachings of He, which teaches explicitly signaling chroma enhancement filter coefficients in the bitstream. Therefore, the rejection of claim 1, under 35 U.S.C. 103, is sustained.
Other claims are not argued separately. Remarks, 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1–3 and 16–19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao (US 2021/0377567 A1), Zhang (US 2022/0159301 A1), Stauder (US 2015/0139544 A1) and He (US 2018/0124400 A1).
Examiner notes the problem, according to the inventors in paragraphs [0007] and [0119] of the published Specification, is that there is “a significant degree of correlation between the Cb and Cr components” and that the prior art joint chroma technique, JCCR (Joint Coding for Chroma Residual), significantly simplifies the correlation between Cb and Cr and does not take full advantage, i.e. fully exploit, the correlation that may exist sometimes between Cb and Cr. The solution, according to the inventors, is to go above and beyond the “simplified proportional relationships” of JCCR in favor of “applying an adaptive chrominance space conversion.” Identically, Zhao teaches in paragraph [0018] that the prior art fixed (as opposed to adaptive) joint chroma component transform may be sub-optimal for all situations and that an adaptive color transform can better reduce redundancy between the highly correlated chroma channels Cb and Cr. Thus, Zhao teaches or suggests the same problem is that prior art joint chroma component transform is sub-optimal and the same adaptive solution to improve coding efficiency between the chrominance channels. Accordingly, Zhao teaches Applicant’s invention is obvious under 35 U.S.C. 103. Specifically claim mapping is included, infra.
Regarding claim 1, the combination of Zhao, Zhang, Stauder, and He teaches or suggests a method performed by a video decoding device for inversely converting a current chroma block, the method comprising: obtaining two converted signals of the current chroma block (Examiner interprets the two converted signals are the two chroma channels; Zhao, ¶¶ 0018 and 0032: teaches chroma channels Cb and Cr having redundancy being subjected to a chrominance space forward transform at the encoder and an inverse chrominance space transform (i.e. conversion) at the decoder; see also Zhao, Figs. 2A and 2B); obtaining, from a bitstream, inverse conversion information representing a chroma-to-chroma relationship between the two converted chroma signals and two chroma signals (Zhao, ¶ 0033: teaches received prediction mode information can inform the transform kernel; Zhang, ¶ 0043: teaches that adaptive color transforms (ACT) can be utilized to convert from one color space to another and that although the HEVC standard uses only one additional color space for simplicity, obviously more transforms were contemplated such that if more possibilities were implemented within the standard, additional signaling in the form of color transform indexes, would have been necessary; As evidence of the foregoing, Stauder, ¶ 0006: explains that it would have been obvious to use an index to signal to the decoder which of the chosen color transforms was used during encoding); performing inverse conversion on the two converted chroma signals using the inverse conversion information to obtain the two chroma signals (Zhang, ¶ 0043: teaches that adaptive color transforms (ACT) can be utilized to convert from one color space to another; Zhao, ¶¶ 0018 and 0032: teaches chroma channels Cb and Cr having redundancy being subjected to a chrominance space forward transform at the encoder and an inverse chrominance space transform (i.e. conversion) at the decoder; see also Zhao, Figs. 2A and 2B); wherein the inverse conversion information comprises coefficients of a correlation matrix between the two converted chroma signals and the two chroma signals (Zhang, ¶ 0045: teaches forward and inverse color transform matrices wherein the matrices have coefficients; While it is noted that Stauder teaches defining a set of alternative transform kernels (conversion matrices) and signaling the chosen matrix (coefficients) utilizing an index value in the bitstream, the skilled artisan had in their possession the ability to explicitly signal the filter properties, such as the filter (matrix) coefficients, in the bitstream; He, ¶ 0050: teaches that the skilled artisan had in their possession the ability to signal in the encoded bitstream chroma enhancement filter information such as filter coefficients).
One of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to combine the elements taught by Zhao, with those of Zhang, because both references are drawn to the same field of endeavor such that one wishing to practice the art of decorrelating color channels by use of adaptive color transforms would be led to their relevant teachings and because combining Zhao’s teachings regarding improving decorrelation among chroma channels with Zhang’s teaching of adaptive color space conversion to reduce correlation using one of a number of available color spaces represents a mere combination of prior art elements, according to known methods, to yield a predictable result. This rationale applies to all combinations of Zhao and Zhang used in this Office Action unless otherwise noted.
One of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to combine the elements taught by Zhao and Zhang, with those of Stauder, because all three references are drawn to the same field of endeavor such that one wishing to practice the art of decorrelating color channels by use of adaptive color transforms would be led to their relevant teachings and because combining Zhao’s and Zhang’s teachings regarding improving decorrelation among chroma channels with Stauder’s teaching of signaling relevant adaptive color space conversion information from encoder to decoder represents a mere combination of prior art elements, according to known methods, to yield a predictable result. This rationale applies to all combinations of Zhao, Zhang, and Stauder used in this Office Action unless otherwise noted.
One of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to combine the elements taught by Zhao, Zhang, and Stauder, with those of He, because all four references are drawn to the same field of endeavor such that one wishing to practice the art of modifying chroma channel values using filters (matrix coefficients) would be led to their relevant teachings and because combining Stauder’s teaching of signaling relevant adaptive chroma filtering information from encoder to decoder using index information with He’s teaching of signaling relevant adaptive chroma filtering information using explicit filter coefficients represents a mere combination of prior art elements, according to known methods, to yield a predictable result. This rationale applies to all combinations of Zhao, Zhang, Stauder, and He used in this Office Action unless otherwise noted.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Zhao, Zhang, Stauder, and He teaches or suggests the method of claim 1, wherein the two chroma signals include: original signals of the current chroma block, predictors of the current chroma block, or residual signals of the current chroma block (Zhang, ¶ 0043: teaches ACT is performed typically on prediction residuals; Examiner notes Stauder’s citation to Marpe’s publication, the Marpe publication teaching it does not matter when during the coding loop the color transform takes place; Examiner further notes that lossless color transforms like the reversible YCoCg ensures it does not matter when, in the coding loop, the transform takes place).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Zhao, Zhang, Stauder, and He teaches or suggests the method of claim 1, wherein the correlation matrix is an inverse matrix of a combination matrix utilized for the inverse conversion (Zhang, ¶ 0045: teaches forward and inverse color transform matrices; Zhang, ¶ 0043: teaches that adaptive color transforms (ACT) can be utilized to convert from one color space to another and that although the HEVC standard uses only one additional color space for simplicity, obviously more transforms were contemplated such that if more possibilities were implemented within the standard, additional signaling in the form of color transform indexes, would have been necessary; As evidence of the foregoing, Stauder, ¶ 0006: explains that it would have been obvious to use an index to signal to the decoder which of the chosen color transforms was used during encoding; Examiner notes Stauder cites to a publication of Marpe, which explains the transform matrices are generalized for a plurality of transform matrices).
Claim 16 lists the same elements as claim 1, but is drawn to the corresponding encoding method rather than the decoding method. Therefore, the rationale for the rejection of claim 1 applies to the instant claim.
Claim 17 lists the same elements as claim 2, but is drawn to the corresponding encoding method rather than the decoding method. Therefore, the rationale for the rejection of claim 2 applies to the instant claim.
Claim 19 lists the same elements as claim 1, but is drawn to a method of transmitting the encoded information corresponding encoding and decoding methods. Therefore, the rationale for the rejection of claim 1 applies to the instant claim.
Claims 8–15 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao, Zhang, Stauder, He, and Su (US 2023/0368344 A1).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Zhao, Zhang, Stauder, He, and Su teaches or suggests the method of claim 1, wherein the inverse conversion information further comprises an offset matrix utilized for the inverse conversion (Zhang, ¶ 0043: teaches that adaptive color transforms (ACT) can be utilized to convert from one color space to another and that although the HEVC standard uses only one additional color space for simplicity, obviously more transforms were contemplated such that if more possibilities were implemented within the standard, additional signaling in the form of color transform indexes, would have been necessary; As evidence of the foregoing, Stauder, ¶ 0006: explains that it would have been obvious to use an index to signal to the decoder which of the chosen color transforms was used during encoding; Examiner notes Stauder cites to a publication of Marpe, which explains the transform matrices are generalized for a plurality of transform matrices; Su, ¶ 0037: teaches that for any number of color transforms, including proprietary color transforms, matrices and offset vectors can be used to convert from RGB to a generic YCC color space; Su, ¶ 0053: teaching coefficients in the color transform matrix are used for color transformation; Examiner further notes that the recited features are nothing more than generic, obvious software tools possessed by the skilled artisan for carrying out the functions described in the prior art; see also Zhang, ¶ 0046: teaches that the inverse color transform utilizes an offset for the second chroma channel).
One of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to combine the elements taught by Zhao, Zhang, Stauder, and He, with those of Su, because all five references are drawn to the same field of endeavor such that one wishing to practice the art of decorrelating color channels by use of adaptive color transforms would be led to their relevant teachings and because combining Zhang’s and Stauder’s teachings regarding multiple possible color transforms for improving decorrelation among chroma channels with Su’s teaching of utilizing matrix and offset vectors for adaptive color space conversion represents a mere combination of prior art elements, according to known methods, to yield a predictable result. This rationale applies to all combinations of Zhao, Zhang, Stauder, He, and Su used in this Office Action unless otherwise noted.
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Zhao, Zhang, Stauder, He, and Su teaches or suggests the method of claim 8, wherein obtaining the inverse conversion information includes: decoding, from a bitstream, an index indicative of the offset matrix; and obtaining, by using the index, values of the offset matrix from a preset list (Zhang, ¶ 0043: teaches that adaptive color transforms (ACT) can be utilized to convert from one color space to another and that although the HEVC standard uses only one additional color space for simplicity, obviously more transforms were contemplated such that if more possibilities were implemented within the standard, additional signaling in the form of color transform indexes, would have been necessary; As evidence of the foregoing, Stauder, ¶ 0006: explains that it would have been obvious to use an index to signal to the decoder which of the chosen color transforms was used during encoding; Examiner notes Stauder cites to a publication of Marpe, which explains the transform matrices are generalized for a plurality of transform matrices; Su, ¶ 0037: teaches that for any number of color transforms, including proprietary color transforms, matrices and offset vectors can be used to convert from RGB to a generic YCC color space; Examiner further notes that the recited features are nothing more than generic, obvious software tools possessed by the skilled artisan for carrying out the functions described in the prior art).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Zhao, Zhang, Stauder, He, and Su teaches or suggests the method of claim 8, wherein obtaining the inverse conversion information includes: decoding, from a bitstream, values of the offset matrix (Zhang, ¶ 0043: teaches that adaptive color transforms (ACT) can be utilized to convert from one color space to another and that although the HEVC standard uses only one additional color space for simplicity, obviously more transforms were contemplated such that if more possibilities were implemented within the standard, additional signaling in the form of color transform indexes, would have been necessary; As evidence of the foregoing, Stauder, ¶ 0006: explains that it would have been obvious to use an index to signal to the decoder which of the chosen color transforms was used during encoding; Examiner notes Stauder cites to a publication of Marpe, which explains the transform matrices are generalized for a plurality of transform matrices; Su, ¶ 0037: teaches that for any number of color transforms, including proprietary color transforms, matrices and offset vectors can be used to convert from RGB to a generic YCC color space; Examiner further notes that the recited features are nothing more than generic, obvious software tools possessed by the skilled artisan for carrying out the functions described in the prior art).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Zhao, Zhang, Stauder, He, and Su teaches or suggests the method of claim 8, wherein performing inverse conversion includes: multiplying the two converted chroma signals by the correlation matrix and adding the offset matrix to generate the chroma signals (Su, ¶ 0113: teaches that, of course, you add the offset vector; Examiner further notes that the recited features are nothing more than generic, obvious software tools possessed by the skilled artisan for carrying out the functions described in the prior art).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Zhao, Zhang, Stauder, He, and Su teaches or suggests the method of claim 16, wherein the conversion information further comprises: an offset matrix utilized for performing the conversion (Zhang, ¶ 0043: teaches that adaptive color transforms (ACT) can be utilized to convert from one color space to another and that although the HEVC standard uses only one additional color space for simplicity, obviously more transforms were contemplated such that if more possibilities were implemented within the standard, additional signaling in the form of color transform indexes, would have been necessary; As evidence of the foregoing, Stauder, ¶ 0006: explains that it would have been obvious to use an index to signal to the decoder which of the chosen color transforms was used during encoding; Examiner notes Stauder cites to a publication of Marpe, which explains the transform matrices are generalized for a plurality of transform matrices; Su, ¶ 0037: teaches that for any number of color transforms, including proprietary color transforms, matrices and offset vectors can be used to convert from RGB to a generic YCC color space; Su, ¶ 0113: teaches that, of course, you add the offset vector; Examiner notes, of course, matrix multiplication information for a color transform means the coefficients represented in the matrix; see e.g. Su, ¶ 0053: teaching coefficients in the color transform matrix are used for color transformation; Examiner further notes that the recited features are nothing more than generic, obvious software tools possessed by the skilled artisan for carrying out the functions described in the prior art).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kang (US 2023/0130958 A1) teaches using both ACT and JCCR together (¶ 0106).
Zhou (US 2017/0054966 A1) teaches an example of chrominance space conversion is RGB converted to YUV (¶ 0067).
Xiu (US 2022/0201301 A1) teaches adaptive color-space transform (ACT) is a tool used to reduce correlations among color channels (¶ 0007).
Zhang (US 2016/0105657 A1) teaches the YCgCo color space may, in some instances, achieve a better decorrelation between chroma channels than YCbCr (¶ 0071).
Marpe et al., “AN ADAPTIVE COLOR TRANSFORM APPROACH AND ITS APPLICATION IN 4:4:4 VIDEO CODING,” Proc. 14th European Signal Processing Conference (EUSIPCO 2006), Florence, Italy, September 2006.
Wang (US 8,922,835 B1) teaches YCbCr color space conversion accomplished with coefficients of a converting matrix (col. 1, ll. 45–55).
He (US 2018/0124400 A1) teaches chroma enhancement filters having filter information/parameters, like filter coefficients, encoded in a bitstream (¶ 0050).
Chiu (US 2005/0275736 A1) teaches a chroma-only 2x2 chroma enhancement matrix (lower right 2x2 of the 3x3 matrix where Y is treated as essentially identity)) that excludes the luminance signal from the conversion from one chroma space to an enhanced chroma space (e.g. ¶ 0063 et seq. Eq. 3–5).
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL J HESS/Examiner, Art Unit 2481