DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-4 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tian et al. (US 2024/0430471 A1) in view of Filippov et al. (US 2026/0006260 A1).
Consider claim 1, Tian teaches a 3D data decoding apparatus for decoding encoded data, the 3D data decoding apparatus comprising: a mesh prediction unit configured to derive a prediction position of a base mesh vertex position from the encoded data ([0134] – [0139]); and an arithmetic decoder configured to arithmetically decode a prediction residual ([0134] – [0139]), adds a value of the prediction residual to the prediction position to derive the base mesh vertex position ([0134] – [0147]).
However, Tian does not explicitly teach the arithmetic decoder decodes a part of suffix bins of a syntax element related to the prediction residual by using one of a context and a bypass according to a value of a suffix bin index.
Filippov teaches the arithmetic decoder decodes a part of suffix bins of a syntax element related to the prediction residual by using one of a context and a bypass according to a value of a suffix bin index ([0230] – [0238], [0251] – [0266]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the known technique of decoding a part of suffix bins of a syntax element by using one of a context and a bypass according to a value of a suffix bin index because such incorporation would help control computational costs. [0232].
Consider claim 3, Tian teaches a 3D data encoding apparatus for encoding 3D data, the 3D data encoding apparatus comprising: a mesh prediction unit configured to derive a prediction position of a base mesh vertex position ([0150] – [0160]); and an arithmetic encoder configured to arithmetically encode a prediction residual ([0150] – [0160]); and a base mesh encoder configured to encode the base mesh vertex position ([0150] – [0160]).
However, Tian does not explicitly teach the arithmetic decoder decodes a part of suffix bins of a syntax element related to the prediction residual by using one of a context and a bypass according to a value of a suffix bin index.
Filippov teaches the arithmetic decoder decodes a part of suffix bins of a syntax element related to the prediction residual by using one of a context and a bypass according to a value of a suffix bin index ([0230] – [0238], [0251] – [0266]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the known technique of decoding a part of suffix bins of a syntax element by using one of a context and a bypass according to a value of a suffix bin index because such incorporation would help control computational costs. [0232].
Consider claim 2, the combination of Tian and Nishimura teaches all the limitations in claim 1 but does not explicitly teach the arithmetic decoder counts a number of the suffix bins decoded using the context for each prescribed number of vertices, and switches from decoding the prefix bins using the context to decoding the suffix bins without using the context in a case that the number of the suffix bins is equal to or greater than a prescribed value
Filippov teaches the arithmetic decoder counts a number of the suffix bins decoded using the context for each prescribed number of vertices, and switches from decoding the prefix bins using the context to decoding the suffix bins without using the context in a case that the number of the suffix bins is equal to or greater than a prescribed value ([0230] – [0238], [0251] – [0266]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the known technique of decoding a part of suffix bins of a syntax element by using one of a context and a bypass according to a value of a suffix bin index because such incorporation would help control computational costs. [0232].
Consider claim 4, Budagavi teaches the arithmetic encoder counts a number of the suffix bins encoded using the context for each prescribed number of vertices, and switches from decoding the suffix bins using the context to encoding the prefix bins without using the context in a case that the number of the suffix bins is equal to or greater than a prescribed value. ([0230] – [0238], [0251] – [0266]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the known technique of decoding a part of suffix bins of a syntax element by using one of a context and a bypass according to a value of a suffix bin index because such incorporation would help control computational costs. [0232].
Conclusion
/TAT C CHIO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2486