DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 17 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wdowiak et al. (Bioconjugate Chemistry, 2021) (Wdowiak).
Regarding claim 17, Wdowiak teaches a method for characterizing a protein of interest in a first sample (abstract), the method comprising:
forming an alkylated product by either: alkylating the protein of interest with a carbon 13 substituted NEM analog to form a 13C-NEM analog alkylated protein of interest (page 1663, par 6) or alkylating a peptide digest of the protein of interest with a carbon 13 substituted NEM analog to form a 13CNEM analog alkylated peptide digest.
Since claim 17 recites alternative alkylation methods connected by “or,” disclosure of the first alternative is sufficient to satisfy the claimed limitation. Wdowiak expressly teaches alkylating a protein with the carbon-13 substituted ICMAT-3 (16*) to form an alkylated protein product.
Regarding claim 19, Wdowiak teaches further comprising: subjecting the alkylated product to analysis using liquid chromatography-mass spectrometry to characterize the protein of interest (page 1664. par 2),
Regarding claim 20, Wdowiak teaches the alkylated product obtained by the method of claim 17 (page 1663, par 6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wdowiak et al. (Bioconjugate Chemistry, 2021) (Wdowiak) in view of Schueffl et al. (Chemical Science, 2021) (Schueffl).
Regarding claim 18, Wdowiak teaches alkylating proteins with carbon-13-labeled ICMAT-3 (16*) (page 1663, “Labeling of Lysozyme Standards”: “DMSO solutions of ICMATs (5 mM) (7, 7*, 16, and 16*) were stored at −20 °C. Aliquots of reduced lysozyme solution (400 μL, containing 40 μg lysozyme) were alkylated by the addition of 16 μL of 5 mM ICMAT solution (i.e., each ICMAT was added to a separate aliquot of reduced lysozyme at a ratio of 2 nmol ICMAT/μg lysozyme), followed by vigorous vortexing at room temperature for 1 h.”).
However, Wdowiak does not expressly disclose wherein the carbon 13 substituted NEM analog comprises ¹³C₄-maleimide, because Wdowiak's ICMAT-3 (16*) contains a ¹³C₆-labeled phenylene linker rather than a ¹³C₄-labeled maleimide ring (page 1655, Scheme 2).
Schueffl teaches carbon-13 labeling of all four carbon atoms of a maleimide ring (page 12595: “To this end, the maleimide moiety and the diaminocyclohexane (DACH) ligand were ¹³C- and ²H-labeled, respectively (Fig. 5A). In more detail, ¹³C₇,¹⁵N-labelled maleimidopropionic acid was synthesized from β-alanine–¹³C₃,¹⁵N and maleic anhydride-¹³C₄, while the deuterium-labelled oxaliplatin was synthesized in six steps starting from D10-cyclohexene based on a protocol for similar compounds.”; see also Figure 5A, page 12596) (Schueffl's labeled maleimide derivative contains four carbon-13 atoms in its maleimide ring).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Wdowiak's carbon-13-labeled ICMAT-3 by incorporating the ¹³C₄-labeled maleimide ring taught by Schueffl, motivated to improve mass-spectrometric discrimination of isotope-labeled peptides by providing additional mass separation while retaining the thiol-reactive maleimide functionality. Wdowiak teaches that carbon-13 labeling provides favorable chromatographic coelution of corresponding light- and heavy-labeled peptides (page 1657, “Evaluation of 12C/13C-Labeled ICMAT-3”). Schueffl demonstrates that carbon-13 atoms can be incorporated into the maleimide ring itself (page 12595 and Figure 5A). A skilled artisan would have reasonably expected that substituting carbon-13 for naturally occurring carbon in Wdowiak's maleimide ring would preserve its chemical connectivity and thiol-alkylating functionality while increasing the mass difference detectable by mass spectrometry.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 1-16 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: While Robotham et al. and Pu et al. disclose differential labeling of free thiols using paired light and heavy isotope-labeled NEM reagents followed by enzymatic digestion and LC-MS analysis, Wdowiak et al. disclose corresponding light and heavy isotope-labeled maleimide analogs, and Gao et al. disclose isotope labeling of peptides after enzymatic digestion, the prior art of record, either alone or in combination, fails to teach or suggest alkylating a protein of interest with a NEM analog or its heavy isotope-substituted form, digesting the alkylated protein with at least one digestive enzyme to form a peptide digest, and subsequently alkylating the peptide digest with the corresponding differential alkylating agent, followed by LC-MS analysis to quantify site-specific free thiols in the original sample. In particular, the prior art does not teach or suggest separating the paired differential alkylation steps by enzymatic digestion in the claimed sequence.
Conclusion
/XIAOYUN R XU, Ph.D./ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1797