DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 08/28/2024, 04/24/2025, and 10/03/2025 have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 13-18 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 13, lines 3-4, “the information processing method comprising the steps of: acquiring the medical image…” should read “the information processing method comprising
In claim 14, lines 1-5, “further comprising the step of activating the application if the notification is transmitted before activation of the application, wherein the step of acquiring the medical image and the step of causing the display device to display.…” should read “further comprising:
In claim 15, lines 2-6, “further comprising the step of displaying, on the display device, options as to whether or not to execute the image acquisition process and the image display process if the notification is transmitted after activation of the application, and the step of acquiring the medical image and the step of causing the display device to display.…” should read “further comprising:
In claim 16, line 2, “wherein the step of causing the display device to display…” should read “wherein
In claim 17, line 2, “wherein the step of causing the display device to display…” should read “wherein
In claim 18, line 2, “further comprising the step of closing all tabs…” should read “further comprising
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Claims 1, 3-5, 7, 9-11, and 13-17 recite limitations that use words like “means” (or “step”) or similar terms with functional language and do invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f):
Claim 1, 7, 13; recites the limitation, “causing a display device to display …” [Lines 9, 10, 9 respectively].
Claim 3, 9, 15; recites the limitation, “displaying, on the display device,…” [Line 3].
Claims 4, 5, 10, 11, 14-17; recite the limitation, “causing the display device to display …” [Lines 2, 2, 2, 2, 5, 6, 2, 2 respectively].
After a careful analysis, as disclosed above, and a careful review of the specification the following limitations in claims 1, 3-5, 7, 9-11, and 13-17:
“display device” (Fig. 1, #10 called client terminal, Page 17, Line 9, – “The display device may be the display device included in the client terminal 10.” Page 4, Lines 17-20, - “The client terminal 10 is, for example, a device directly operated by a doctor or the like, and is an example of the information processing device of the present disclosure. The client terminal 10 is, for example, any information processing device such as a general-purpose computer, a tablet terminal, or a smartphone.” Thus, the display device does have sufficient structure associated with it wherein it is a screen of a computing device.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 7, 8, 10, 11, 13, 14, 16, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by TAYLOR et al. (US 20170186161 A1), hereinafter referenced as TAYLOR.
Regarding claim 1, TAYLOR teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (Fig. 11, Paragraph [0109] – TAYLOR discloses techniques shown in the figures can be implemented using code and data stored and executed on one or more electronic devices. Such electronic devices store and communicate (internally and/or with other electronic devices over a network) code and data using computer-readable media, such as non-transitory computer-readable storage media (e.g., magnetic disks; optical disks; random access memory; read only memory; flash memory devices; phase-change memory).)
comprising a program of an application of an image management system (Fig. 1, #121 called medical imaging processing client, Paragraph [0028] – TAYLOR discloses imaging processing function may be implemented as a medical imaging processing client 121 communicatively coupled to image processing server 110 over network 101.)
that manages a medical image, stored thereon (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0028] – TAYLOR discloses imaging processing function may be implemented as a medical imaging processing client 121 communicatively coupled to image processing server 110 over network 101. Paragraph [0027] – TAYLOR further discloses the medical imaging processing server 110 also includes an image store 108 to store medical data such as digital imaging and communications in medicine (DICOM) compatible data or other image data, including jpeg, TIFF, video, EKG, laboratory images, pdf, sound, and other files. In one embodiment, the medical imaging processing server 110 includes an access control system 106 to control access, by the client 105, of resources (e.g., image processing tools) and/or medical data stored in image store.),
which, when executed on at least one processor (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0110] – TAYLOR discloses processes or methods depicted in the preceding figures may be performed by processing logic that comprises hardware (e.g. circuitry, dedicated logic, etc.), firmware, software (e.g., embodied on a non-transitory computer readable medium), or a combination of both.),
causes a computer (Fig. 11, #1100 called computer system, Paragraph [0104]) to execute:
an image acquisition process of acquiring the medical image of a patient identified by identification information (Fig. 3, Paragraph [0047] – TAYLOR discloses the user would provide the server with information pertaining to the images that he or she chooses to view. For instance, if the user chooses to view images associated with a particular EMR record, the MRCS would provide the medical imaging processing server 110 with information pertaining to the patient.)
based on the identification information of the patient (Fig. 3, Paragraph [0047] – TAYLOR discloses in one embodiment, the information includes the patient ID and/or medical treatment.)
included in a notification from a medical application (Fig. 3, #107 called MRCS, Paragraph [0047] – TAYLOR discloses the user would provide the server with information pertaining to the images that he or she chooses to view. For instance, if the user chooses to view images associated with a particular EMR record, the MRCS would provide the medical imaging processing server 110 with information pertaining to the patient. See also Paragraph [0028].)
that displays information of the patient (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0031] – TAYLOR discloses the MRCS 107 of the integrated medical software executed within the client 105 displays medical information 122 of a patient, including, e.g., the medical treatment history of a patient, which may be part of a medical record and/or trial record 120 of the patient. Such records 120 may be downloaded from medical data server 115 in response to a user request.),
the medical application being different from the application of the image management system (Fig. 3, Paragraph [0028] – TAYLOR discloses imaging processing client 121 may be linked to medical software 107 [wherein linked to implies the imaging processing client 121 as being separate from medical software 107.].);
and an image display process of causing a display device to display the acquired medical image of the patient identified by the identification information (Fig. 3, Paragraph [0049] – TAYLOR discloses upon receiving all the necessary information from the client 105, at step (4), images associated with the information provided by the user are displayed by medical imaging processing server 110 to the client 105. See also Fig. 11, #1108 called display device, Paragraph [0103-0104].).
Regarding claim 2, TAYLOR teaches the storage medium according to claim 1, TAYLOR further teaches wherein the program causes the computer to further execute an activation process of the application if the notification is transmitted before activation of the application (Fig. 3, Paragraph [0047] – TAYLOR discloses the authentication process [wherein authentication process is an activation process] may be synchronized between access control system 116 and access control system 106, such that once the user has been successfully authenticated by one, i.e., access control system 116, the user is also automatically authenticated by the other, i.e., access control system 106. Alternatively, MRCS 107 may cache the login credentials (e.g., usernames and passwords) locally and when the user access either of systems 115 and 110, MRCS 107 may automatically log into the systems without having to prompt the user for the same.),
and the computer (Fig. 11, #1100 called computer system, Paragraph [0104]) is caused to execute the image acquisition process (Fig. 3, Paragraph [0047] – TAYLOR discloses upon successfully being authenticated by the remote medical imaging processing server 110, the user would provide the server with information pertaining to the images that he or she chooses to view.)
and the image display process during the activation process or subsequent to the activation process (Fig. 3, Paragraph [0049] – TAYLOR discloses upon receiving all the necessary information from the client 105, at step (4), images associated with the information provided by the user are displayed by medical imaging processing server 110 to the client 105.).
Regarding claim 4, TAYLOR teaches the storage medium according to claim 1,
TAYLOR further teaches wherein the image display process (Fig. 3, Paragraph [0049] – TAYLOR discloses upon receiving all the necessary information from the client 105, at step (4), images associated with the information provided by the user are displayed by medical imaging processing server 110 to the client 105.)
includes a process of causing the display device (Fig. 11, #1108 called display device, Paragraph [0103-0104]) to display an application screen in which a tab is made active (Figs. 4A-4C, Paragraph [0052] – TAYLOR discloses there are several tabs across the top which may include, for example, appointments, referrals, insurance claims, notes, prescription drugs (Rx), labs/tests, and reports.),
the tab including the medical image of the patient (Fig. 4C, Paragraph [0053] – TAYLOR discloses referring now to FIG. 4C, it is assumed the third thumbnail 431 from the top (e.g., highlighted image from display area 403), the image of the colon, was clicked. In response to such an action, a larger version of the selected image(s) is displayed in display area 405, which may be displayed within the same window as, or a separate window than, the GUI.)
and a header (Fig. 4A-4C, #410 called patient ID, Paragraph [0051]) on which the identification information of the patient is displayed (Fig. 4A-4C, Paragraph [0051] – TAYLOR discloses the information displayed is related to a particular patient Alfred, who is identified by a patient ID 410 (e.g., 19863-1).).
Regarding claim 5, TAYLOR teaches the storage medium according to claim 4,
TAYLOR further teaches wherein the image display process (Fig. 3, Paragraph [0049] – TAYLOR discloses upon receiving all the necessary information from the client 105, at step (4), images associated with the information provided by the user are displayed by medical imaging processing server 110 to the client 105.)
includes a process of causing the display device (Fig. 11, #1108 called display device, Paragraph [0103-0104]) to display an application screen including a plurality of tabs corresponding to a plurality of pieces of identification information (Figs. 4A-4C, Paragraph [0052] – TAYLOR discloses there are several tabs across the top which may include, for example, appointments, referrals, insurance claims, notes, prescription drugs (Rx), labs/tests, and reports.)
in a case where the notification includes the plurality of pieces of identification information (Fig. 3, Paragraph [0047] – TAYLOR discloses the user of the integrated medical software executes step (3) by accessing the remote medical imaging processing server 110. Upon successfully being authenticated by the remote medical imaging processing server 110, the user would provide the server with information pertaining to the images that he or she chooses to view.),
the application screen having any one of the plurality of tabs made active (Fig. 4A-4C, Paragraph [0051] – TAYLOR discloses GUI includes a variety of pages such as patient information page 421 having display areas 401-403 [wherein page 421 is shown as active, see Fig. 4A.]. Paragraph [0052] – TAYLOR further discloses there are several tabs across the top which may include, for example, appointments, referrals, insurance claims, notes, prescription drugs (Rx), labs/tests, and reports.).
Regarding claim 7, TAYLOR teaches an information processing device (Fig. 11, #1100 called computer system, Paragraph [0103] – TAYLOR discloses FIG. 11 is a block diagram of a data processing system, which may be used with one embodiment of the invention. For example, the system 1100 may be used as part of a server or a client as shown in FIG. 1. It will also be appreciated that network computers, handheld computers, cell phones and other data processing systems which have fewer components or perhaps more components may also be used with the present invention. See also Paragraph [0104].)
in which a program of an application of an image management system (Fig. 1, #121 called medical imaging processing client, Paragraph [0028] – TAYLOR discloses imaging processing function may be implemented as a medical imaging processing client 121 communicatively coupled to image processing server 110 over network 101.)
that manages a medical image is installed (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0028] – TAYLOR discloses imaging processing function may be implemented as a medical imaging processing client 121 communicatively coupled to image processing server 110 over network 101. Paragraph [0027] – TAYLOR further discloses the medical imaging processing server 110 also includes an image store 108 to store medical data such as digital imaging and communications in medicine (DICOM) compatible data or other image data, including jpeg, TIFF, video, EKG, laboratory images, pdf, sound, and other files. In one embodiment, the medical imaging processing server 110 includes an access control system 106 to control access, by the client 105, of resources (e.g., image processing tools) and/or medical data stored in image store.),
the information processing device (Fig. 11, #1100 called computer system, Paragraph [0103]) comprising at least one processor (Fig. 11, Paragraph [0110] – TAYLOR discloses processes or methods depicted in the preceding figures may be performed by processing logic that comprises hardware (e.g. circuitry, dedicated logic, etc.), firmware, software (e.g., embodied on a non-transitory computer readable medium), or a combination of both. See also Paragraph [0104].),
wherein the processor is configured to execute (Fig. 11, Paragraph [0110]): an image acquisition process of acquiring the medical image of a patient identified by identification information (Fig. 3, Paragraph [0047] – TAYLOR discloses the user would provide the server with information pertaining to the images that he or she chooses to view. For instance, if the user chooses to view images associated with a particular EMR record, the MRCS would provide the medical imaging processing server 110 with information pertaining to the patient.)
based on the identification information of the patient (Fig. 3, Paragraph [0047] – TAYLOR discloses in one embodiment, the information includes the patient ID and/or medical treatment.)
included in a notification from a medical application (Fig. 3, #107 called MRCS, Paragraph [0047] – TAYLOR discloses the user would provide the server with information pertaining to the images that he or she chooses to view. For instance, if the user chooses to view images associated with a particular EMR record, the MRCS would provide the medical imaging processing server 110 with information pertaining to the patient. See also Paragraph [0028].)
that displays information of the patient (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0031] – TAYLOR discloses the MRCS 107 of the integrated medical software executed within the client 105 displays medical information 122 of a patient, including, e.g., the medical treatment history of a patient, which may be part of a medical record and/or trial record 120 of the patient. Such records 120 may be downloaded from medical data server 115 in response to a user request.),
the medical application being different from the application of the image management system (Fig. 3, Paragraph [0028] – TAYLOR discloses imaging processing client 121 may be linked to medical software 107 [wherein linked to implies the imaging processing client 121 as being separate from medical software 107.].);
and an image display process of causing a display device to display the acquired medical image of the patient identified by the identification information (Fig. 3, Paragraph [0049] – TAYLOR discloses upon receiving all the necessary information from the client 105, at step (4), images associated with the information provided by the user are displayed by medical imaging processing server 110 to the client 105. See also Fig. 11, #1108 called display device, Paragraph [0103-0104].).
Regarding claim 8, TAYLOR teaches the information processing device according to claim 7,
TAYLOR further teaches wherein the processor (Fig. 11, Paragraph [0110]) is configured to further execute an activation process of the application if the notification is transmitted before activation of the application (Fig. 3, Paragraph [0047] – TAYLOR discloses the authentication process [wherein authentication process is an activation process] may be synchronized between access control system 116 and access control system 106, such that once the user has been successfully authenticated by one, i.e., access control system 116, the user is also automatically authenticated by the other, i.e., access control system 106. Alternatively, MRCS 107 may cache the login credentials (e.g., usernames and passwords) locally and when the user access either of systems 115 and 110, MRCS 107 may automatically log into the systems without having to prompt the user for the same.),
and the processor (Fig. 11, Paragraph [0110]) is configured to execute the image acquisition process (Fig. 3, Paragraph [0047] – TAYLOR discloses upon successfully being authenticated by the remote medical imaging processing server 110, the user would provide the server with information pertaining to the images that he or she chooses to view.)
and the image display process during the activation process or subsequent to the activation process (Fig. 3, Paragraph [0049] – TAYLOR discloses upon receiving all the necessary information from the client 105, at step (4), images associated with the information provided by the user are displayed by medical imaging processing server 110 to the client 105.).
Regarding claim 10, TAYLOR teaches the information processing device according to claim 7,
TAYLOR further teaches wherein the image display process (Fig. 3, Paragraph [0049] – TAYLOR discloses upon receiving all the necessary information from the client 105, at step (4), images associated with the information provided by the user are displayed by medical imaging processing server 110 to the client 105.)
includes a process of causing the display device (Fig. 11, #1108 called display device, Paragraph [0103-0104]) to display an application screen in which a tab is made active (Figs. 4A-4C, Paragraph [0052] – TAYLOR discloses there are several tabs across the top which may include, for example, appointments, referrals, insurance claims, notes, prescription drugs (Rx), labs/tests, and reports.),
the tab including the medical image of the patient (Fig. 4C, Paragraph [0053] – TAYLOR discloses referring now to FIG. 4C, it is assumed the third thumbnail 431 from the top (e.g., highlighted image from display area 403), the image of the colon, was clicked. In response to such an action, a larger version of the selected image(s) is displayed in display area 405, which may be displayed within the same window as, or a separate window than, the GUI.)
and a header (Fig. 4A-4C, #410 called patient ID, Paragraph [0051]) on which the identification information of the patient is displayed (Fig. 4A-4C, Paragraph [0051] – TAYLOR discloses the information displayed is related to a particular patient Alfred, who is identified by a patient ID 410 (e.g., 19863-1).).
Regarding claim 11, TAYLOR teaches the information processing device according to claim 10,
TAYLOR further teaches wherein the image display process (Fig. 3, Paragraph [0049] – TAYLOR discloses upon receiving all the necessary information from the client 105, at step (4), images associated with the information provided by the user are displayed by medical imaging processing server 110 to the client 105.)
includes a process of causing the display device (Fig. 11, #1108 called display device, Paragraph [0103-0104]) to display an application screen including a plurality of tabs corresponding to a plurality of pieces of identification information (Figs. 4A-4C, Paragraph [0052] – TAYLOR discloses there are several tabs across the top which may include, for example, appointments, referrals, insurance claims, notes, prescription drugs (Rx), labs/tests, and reports.)
in a case where the notification includes the plurality of pieces of identification information (Fig. 3, Paragraph [0047] – TAYLOR discloses the user of the integrated medical software executes step (3) by accessing the remote medical imaging processing server 110. Upon successfully being authenticated by the remote medical imaging processing server 110, the user would provide the server with information pertaining to the images that he or she chooses to view.),
the application screen having any one of the plurality of tabs made active (Fig. 4A-4C, Paragraph [0051] – TAYLOR discloses GUI includes a variety of pages such as patient information page 421 having display areas 401-403 [wherein page 421 is shown as active, see Fig. 4A.]. Paragraph [0052] – TAYLOR further discloses there are several tabs across the top which may include, for example, appointments, referrals, insurance claims, notes, prescription drugs (Rx), labs/tests, and reports.).
Regarding claim 13, TAYLOR teaches an information processing method (Fig. 11, #1000 called method, Paragraph [0100] – TAYLOR discloses FIG. 10 is a flow diagram that illustrates a method of displaying within the MRCS, both the patient information and associated image(s) according to one embodiment.)
performed by at least one processor (Fig. 11, Paragraph [0110] – TAYLOR discloses processes or methods depicted in the preceding figures may be performed by processing logic that comprises hardware (e.g. circuitry, dedicated logic, etc.), firmware, software (e.g., embodied on a non-transitory computer readable medium), or a combination of both.)
of an information processing device (Fig. 11, #1100 called computer system, Paragraph [0103] – TAYLOR discloses FIG. 11 is a block diagram of a data processing system, which may be used with one embodiment of the invention. For example, the system 1100 may be used as part of a server or a client as shown in FIG. 1. It will also be appreciated that network computers, handheld computers, cell phones and other data processing systems which have fewer components or perhaps more components may also be used with the present invention. See also Paragraph [0104].)
in which a program of an application of an image management system that manages a medical image is installed (Fig. 1, #121 called medical imaging processing client, Paragraph [0028] – TAYLOR discloses imaging processing function may be implemented as a medical imaging processing client 121 communicatively coupled to image processing server 110 over network 101. Paragraph [0027] – TAYLOR further discloses the medical imaging processing server 110 also includes an image store 108 to store medical data such as digital imaging and communications in medicine (DICOM) compatible data or other image data, including jpeg, TIFF, video, EKG, laboratory images, pdf, sound, and other files. In one embodiment, the medical imaging processing server 110 includes an access control system 106 to control access, by the client 105, of resources (e.g., image processing tools) and/or medical data stored in image store.),
the information processing method (Fig. 10, #1000 called method, Paragraph [0100]) comprising the steps of:
acquiring the medical image of a patient identified by identification information (Fig. 11, Paragraph [0101] – TAYLOR discloses at block 1015, one or more medical images associated with the patient ID is made visible within the integrated MRCS. In one embodiment, the medical images that are associated with the patient ID are identified by the remote medical imaging processing server. See also Fig. 3, Paragraph [0047].)
based on the identification information of the patient (Fig. 3, Paragraph [0047] – TAYLOR discloses in one embodiment, the information includes the patient ID and/or medical treatment.)
included in a notification from a medical application (Fig. 3, #107 called MRCS, Paragraph [0047] – TAYLOR discloses the user would provide the server with information pertaining to the images that he or she chooses to view. For instance, if the user chooses to view images associated with a particular EMR record, the MRCS would provide the medical imaging processing server 110 with information pertaining to the patient. See also Fig. 10, Paragraph [0101].)
that displays information of the patient (Fig. 11, Paragraph [0102] – TAYLOR discloses block 1020, the integrated medical software displays within its GUI both the patient medical information and the one or more medical images.),
the medical application being different from the application of the image management system (Fig. 3, Paragraph [0028] – TAYLOR discloses imaging processing client 121 may be linked to medical software 107 [wherein linked to implies the imaging processing client 121 as being separate from medical software 107.].);
and causing a display device to display the acquired medical image of the patient identified by the identification information (Fig. 11, Paragraph [0102] – TAYLOR discloses block 1020, the integrated medical software displays within its GUI both the patient medical information and the one or more medical images. See also Fig. 11, #1108 called display device, Paragraph [0103-0104].)
Regarding claim 14, TAYLOR teaches the information processing method according to claim 13, TAYLOR further teaches further comprising the step of activating the application if the notification is transmitted before activation of the application (Fig. 3, Paragraph [0047] – TAYLOR discloses the authentication process [wherein authentication process is an activation] may be synchronized between access control system 116 and access control system 106, such that once the user has been successfully authenticated by one, i.e., access control system 116, the user is also automatically authenticated by the other, i.e., access control system 106. Alternatively, MRCS 107 may cache the login credentials (e.g., usernames and passwords) locally and when the user access either of systems 115 and 110, MRCS 107 may automatically log into the systems without having to prompt the user for the same.),
wherein the step of acquiring the medical image (Fig. 3, Paragraph [0047] – TAYLOR discloses upon successfully being authenticated by the remote medical imaging processing server 110, the user would provide the server with information pertaining to the images that he or she chooses to view.)
and the step of causing the display device to display the acquired medical image are performed during the activation process or subsequent to the activation process (Fig. 3, Paragraph [0049] – TAYLOR discloses upon receiving all the necessary information from the client 105, at step (4), images associated with the information provided by the user are displayed by medical imaging processing server 110 to the client 105.).
Regarding claim 16, TAYLOR teaches the information processing method according to claim 13, TAYLOR further teaches wherein the step of causing the display device to display the acquired medical image (Fig. 11, Paragraph [0102] – TAYLOR discloses block 1020, the integrated medical software displays within its GUI both the patient medical information and the one or more medical images.)
includes a process of causing the display device to display an application screen in which a tab is made active (Figs. 4A-4C, Paragraph [0052] – TAYLOR discloses there are several tabs across the top which may include, for example, appointments, referrals, insurance claims, notes, prescription drugs (Rx), labs/tests, and reports.),
the tab including the medical image of the patient (Fig. 4C, Paragraph [0053] – TAYLOR discloses referring now to FIG. 4C, it is assumed the third thumbnail 431 from the top (e.g., highlighted image from display area 403), the image of the colon, was clicked. In response to such an action, a larger version of the selected image(s) is displayed in display area 405, which may be displayed within the same window as, or a separate window than, the GUI.)
and a header (Fig. 4A-4C, #410 called patient ID, Paragraph [0051]) on which the identification information of the patient is displayed (Fig. 4A-4C, Paragraph [0051] – TAYLOR discloses the information displayed is related to a particular patient Alfred, who is identified by a patient ID 410 (e.g., 19863-1).).
Regarding claim 17, TAYLOR teaches the information processing method according to claim 16, TAYLOR further teaches wherein the step of causing the display device to display the acquired medical image (Fig. 11, Paragraph [0102] – TAYLOR discloses block 1020, the integrated medical software displays within its GUI both the patient medical information and the one or more medical images.)
includes a process of causing the display device (Fig. 11, #1108 called display device, Paragraph [0103-0104]) to display an application screen including a plurality of tabs corresponding to a plurality of pieces of identification information (Figs. 4A-4C, Paragraph [0052] – TAYLOR discloses there are several tabs across the top which may include, for example, appointments, referrals, insurance claims, notes, prescription drugs (Rx), labs/tests, and reports.)
in a case where the notification includes the plurality of pieces of identification information (Fig. 3, Paragraph [0047] – TAYLOR discloses the user of the integrated medical software executes step (3) by accessing the remote medical imaging processing server 110. Upon successfully being authenticated by the remote medical imaging processing server 110, the user would provide the server with information pertaining to the images that he or she chooses to view.),
the application screen having any one of the plurality of tabs made active (Fig. 4A-4C, Paragraph [0051] – TAYLOR discloses GUI includes a variety of pages such as patient information page 421 having display areas 401-403 [wherein page 421 is shown as active, see Fig. 4A.]. Paragraph [0052] – TAYLOR further discloses there are several tabs across the top which may include, for example, appointments, referrals, insurance claims, notes, prescription drugs (Rx), labs/tests, and reports.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the
differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed
invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the
claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed
invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the
invention was made.
Claims 3, 9, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TAYLOR (US 20170186161 A1), hereinafter referenced as TAYLOR in view of ZHAO (US 20150089365 A1), hereinafter referenced as ZHAO.
Regarding claim 3, TAYLOR teaches the storage medium according to claim 1,
TAYLOR fails to explicitly teach wherein the program causes the computer to further execute an option display process of displaying, on the display device, options as to whether or not to execute the image acquisition process and the image display process if the notification is transmitted after activation of the application, and the computer is caused to execute the image acquisition process and the image display process if selection of execution among the options is detected after the option display process.
However, ZHAO explicitly teaches wherein the program causes the computer (Fig. 12, #1200 called computer system, Paragraph [0147]) to further execute an option display process of displaying (Fig. 12, Paragraph [0145] – ZHAO discloses advanced image processing system 140 and/or automatic image processing system 150 may be loaded in memory 1205 and executed by processor 1203 to perform various operations or processes as described above. See also Fig. 7B, Paragraph [0086].),
on the display device (Fig. 12, #1208 called display device, Paragraph [0147]),
options as to whether or not to execute the image acquisition process (Fig. 7B, Paragraph [0086] – ZHAO discloses user can access the associated medical images by activating (e.g., clicking) the corresponding links or graphical representations. After the user activates on the link to image data (in this example, clicking on an "eye" icon), the user may be brought directly to image processing result stage 723, or may be asked more questions.)
and the image display process (Fig. 8A, Paragraph [0079] – ZHAO discloses user interactions are then interpreted or analyzed by image processing server 110 and in response to the user interaction, image processing server 110 performs proper actions, such as, image processing operations, information retrieval operations, and data processing and/or integration operations, and returns processing results back to the client. The processing results are presented and/or integrated with the existing information at a display device of the client.)
if the notification is transmitted after activation of the application (Fig. 7B, Paragraph [0079] – ZHAO discloses user interactions with the GUIs are captured and transmitted from the client device to image processing server 110. The user interactions are then interpreted or analyzed by image processing server 110 and in response to the user interaction, image processing server 110 performs proper actions, such as, image processing operations, information retrieval operations, and data processing and/or integration operations, and returns processing results back to the client.),
and the computer (Fig. 12, #1200 called computer system, Paragraph [0147]) is caused to execute the image acquisition process (Fig. 7B, Paragraph [0086] – ZHAO discloses user can access the associated medical images by activating (e.g., clicking) the corresponding links or graphical representations.)
and the image display process if selection of execution among the options is detected after the option display process (Fig. 7B, Paragraph [0086] – ZHAO discloses after the user activates on the link to image data (in this example, clicking on an "eye" icon) [wherein user clicking on “eye” icon is selection of execution among the options], the user may be brought directly to image processing result stage 723, or may be asked more questions. See also Fig. 8A, Paragraph [0079].).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of TAYLOR of having a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising a program of an application of an image management system that manages a medical image, stored thereon, which, when executed on at least one processor, causes a computer to execute: an image acquisition process of acquiring the medical image of a patient identified by identification information based on the identification information of the patient included in a notification from a medical application that displays information of the patient, with the teachings of ZHAO having wherein the program causes the computer to further execute an option display process of displaying, on the display device, options as to whether or not to execute the image acquisition process and the image display process if the notification is transmitted after activation of the application, and the computer is caused to execute the image acquisition process and the image display process if selection of execution among the options is detected after the option display process.
Wherein TAYLOR’s non-transitory computer-readable storage medium wherein the program causes the computer to further execute an option display process of displaying, on the display device, options as to whether or not to execute the image acquisition process and the image display process if the notification is transmitted after activation of the application, and the computer is caused to execute the image acquisition process and the image display process if selection of execution among the options is detected after the option display process.
The motivation behind this modification would have been to provide an enhanced medical record management system with superior integration flexibility and a simplified graphical user interface, since both TAYLOR and ZHAO relate to medical image processing, wherein TAYLOR relates to integration of image(s) and/or image processing with medical software; integrating the graphical user interface (GUI) between two web-based software applications provides the most seamless interface for the user, and ZHAO relates to a medical image processing wizard; the wizard automates as many steps as possible, for example, using preferences, assumptions, and/or a set of rules, to process image data, such that the user does not have to know the details of how to operate the advanced image processing tools. Please see TAYLOR (US 20170186161 A1), Paragraph [0039], and ZHAO (US 20150089365 A1), Paragraph [0024].
Regarding claim 9, TAYLOR teaches the information processing device according to claim 7,
TAYLOR fails to explicitly teach wherein the processor is configured to further execute an option display process of displaying, on the display device, options as to whether or not to execute the image acquisition process and the image display process if the notification is transmitted after activation of the application, and the processor is configured to execute the image acquisition process and the image display process if selection of execution among the options is detected after the option display process.
However, ZHAO explicitly teaches wherein the processor (Fig. 12, #1205 called processor, Paragraph [0145]) is configured to further execute an option display process of displaying (Fig. 12, Paragraph [0145] – ZHAO discloses advanced image processing system 140 and/or automatic image processing system 150 may be loaded in memory 1205 and executed by processor 1203 to perform various operations or processes as described above. See also Fig. 7B, Paragraph [0086].),
on the display device (Fig. 12, #1208 called display device, Paragraph [0147]),
options as to whether or not to execute the image acquisition process (Fig. 7B, Paragraph [0086] – ZHAO discloses user can access the associated medical images by activating (e.g., clicking) the corresponding links or graphical representations. After the user activates on the link to image data (in this example, clicking on an "eye" icon), the user may be brought directly to image processing result stage 723, or may be asked more questions.)
and the image display process (Fig. 8A, Paragraph [0079] – ZHAO discloses user interactions are then interpreted or analyzed by image processing server 110 and in response to the user interaction, image processing server 110 performs proper actions, such as, image processing operations, information retrieval operations, and data processing and/or integration operations, and returns processing results back to the client. The processing results are presented and/or integrated with the existing information at a display device of the client.)
if the notification is transmitted after activation of the application (Fig. 7B, Paragraph [0079] – ZHAO discloses user interactions with the GUIs are captured and transmitted from the client device to image processing server 110. The user interactions are then interpreted or analyzed by image processing server 110 and in response to the user interaction, image processing server 110 performs proper actions, such as, image processing operations, information retrieval operations, and data processing and/or integration operations, and returns processing results back to the client.),
and the processor (Fig. 12, #1205 called processor, Paragraph [0145]) is configured to execute the image acquisition process (Fig. 7B, Paragraph [0086] – ZHAO discloses user can access the associated medical images by activating (e.g., clicking) the corresponding links or graphical representations.)
and the image display process if selection of execution among the options is detected after the option display process (Fig. 7B, Paragraph [0086] – ZHAO discloses after the user activates on the link to image data (in this example, clicking on an "eye" icon) [wherein user clicking on “eye” icon is selection of execution among the options], the user may be brought directly to image processing result stage 723, or may be asked more questions. See also Fig. 8A, Paragraph [0079].).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of TAYLOR of having an information processing device in which a program of an application of an image management system that manages a medical image is installed, the information processing device comprising at least one processor, wherein the processor is configured to execute: an image display process of causing a display device to display the acquired medical image of the patient identified by the identification information, with the teachings of ZHAO having wherein the processor is configured to further execute an option display process of displaying, on the display device, options as to whether or not to execute the image acquisition process and the image display process if the notification is transmitted after activation of the application, and the processor is configured to execute the image acquisition process and the image display process if selection of execution among the options is detected after the option display process.
Wherein TAYLOR’s information processing device wherein the processor is configured to further execute an option display process of displaying, on the display device, options as to whether or not to execute the image acquisition process and the image display process if the notification is transmitted after activation of the application, and the processor is configured to execute the image acquisition process and the image display process if selection of execution among the options is detected after the option display process.
The motivation behind this modification would have been to provide an enhanced medical record management system with superior integration flexibility and a simplified graphical user interface, since both TAYLOR and ZHAO relate to medical image processing, wherein TAYLOR relates to integration of image(s) and/or image processing with medical software; integrating the graphical user interface (GUI) between two web-based software applications provides the most seamless interface for the user, and ZHAO relates to a medical image processing wizard; the wizard automates as many steps as possible, for example, using preferences, assumptions, and/or a set of rules, to process image data, such that the user does not have to know the details of how to operate the advanced image processing tools. Please see TAYLOR (US 20170186161 A1), Paragraph [0039], and ZHAO (US 20150089365 A1), Paragraph [0024].
Regarding claim 15, TAYLOR teaches the information processing method according to claim 13, TAYLOR fails to explicitly teach further comprising the step of displaying, on the display device, options as to whether or not to execute the image acquisition process and the image display process if the notification is transmitted after activation of the application, and the step of acquiring the medical image and the step of causing the display device to display the acquired medical image are performed if selection of execution among the options is detected after the option display process.
However, ZHAO explicitly teaches further comprising the step of displaying (Fig. 12, Paragraph [0145] – ZHAO discloses advanced image processing system 140 and/or automatic image processing system 150 may be loaded in memory 1205 and executed by processor 1203 to perform various operations or processes as described above. See also Fig. 7B, Paragraph [0086].),
on the display device (Fig. 12, #1208 called display device, Paragraph [0147]),
options as to whether or not to execute the image acquisition process (Fig. 7B, Paragraph [0086] – ZHAO discloses user can access the associated medical images by activating (e.g., clicking) the corresponding links or graphical representations. After the user activates on the link to image data (in this example, clicking on an "eye" icon), the user may be brought directly to image processing result stage 723, or may be asked more questions.)
and the image display process (Fig. 8A, Paragraph [0079] – ZHAO discloses user interactions are then interpreted or analyzed by image processing server 110 and in response to the user interaction, image processing server 110 performs proper actions, such as, image processing operations, information retrieval operations, and data processing and/or integration operations, and returns processing results back to the client. The processing results are presented and/or integrated with the existing information at a display device of the client.)
if the notification is transmitted after activation of the application (Fig. 7B, Paragraph [0079] – ZHAO discloses user interactions with the GUIs are captured and transmitted from the client device to image processing server 110. The user interactions are then interpreted or analyzed by image processing server 110 and in response to the user interaction, image processing server 110 performs proper actions, such as, image processing operations, information retrieval operations, and data processing and/or integration operations, and returns processing results back to the client.),
and the step of acquiring the medical image (Fig. 7B, Paragraph [0086] – ZHAO discloses user can access the associated medical images by activating (e.g., clicking) the corresponding links or graphical representations.)
and the step of causing the display device to display the acquired medical image are performed if selection of execution among the options is detected after the option display process (Fig. 7B, Paragraph [0086] – ZHAO discloses after the user activates on the link to image data (in this example, clicking on an "eye" icon) [wherein user clicking on “eye” icon is selection of execution among the options], the user may be brought directly to image processing result stage 723, or may be asked more questions. See also Fig. 8A, Paragraph [0079].).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of TAYLOR of having an information processing method performed by at least one processor of an information processing device in which a program of an application of an image management system that manages a medical image is installed, the information processing method comprising the steps of: causing a display device to display the acquired medical image of the patient identified by the identification information, with the teachings of ZHAO having further comprising the step of displaying, on the display device, options as to whether or not to execute the image acquisition process and the image display process if the notification is transmitted after activation of the application, and the step of acquiring the medical image and the step of causing the display device to display the acquired medical image are performed if selection of execution among the options is detected after the option display process.
Wherein TAYLOR’s information processing method wherein further comprising the step of displaying, on the display device, options as to whether or not to execute the image acquisition process and the image display process if the notification is transmitted after activation of the application, and the step of acquiring the medical image and the step of causing the display device to display the acquired medical image are performed if selection of execution among the options is detected after the option display process.
The motivation behind this modification would have been to provide an enhanced medical record management system with superior integration flexibility and a simplified graphical user interface, since both TAYLOR and ZHAO relate to medical image processing, wherein TAYLOR relates to integration of image(s) and/or image processing with medical software; integrating the graphical user interface (GUI) between two web-based software applications provides the most seamless interface for the user, and ZHAO relates to a medical image processing wizard; the wizard automates as many steps as possible, for example, using preferences, assumptions, and/or a set of rules, to process image data, such that the user does not have to know the details of how to operate the advanced image processing tools. Please see TAYLOR (US 20170186161 A1), Paragraph [0039], and ZHAO (US 20150089365 A1), Paragraph [0024].
Claims 6, 12, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TAYLOR (US 20170186161 A1), hereinafter referenced as TAYLOR in view of DE VRIES (US 20240203547 A1), hereinafter referenced as DE VRIES.
Regarding claim 6, TAYLOR teaches the storage medium according to claim 4,
TAYLOR fails to explicitly teach wherein the program causes the computer to further execute a process of closing all tabs included in the application screen based on information instructing to close the tabs included in the notification transmitted from the medical application.
However, DE VRIES explicitly teaches wherein the program causes the computer to further execute (Fig. 1A, Paragraph [0022] – DE VRIES discloses the client system 102, the record management system 104, and the service provider system 106 can include a computing system with specialized software and databases designed to provide graphical user interfaces designed to present interactive visualizations of data to a user.)
a process of closing all tabs included in the application screen based on information instructing to close the tabs (Fig. 3A, Paragraph [0043] – DE VRIES discloses a system (e.g., system 100) can be configured to provide a graphical user interface 300 presenting an interactive visualization of a graphical representation of one or more selected data sets. Paragraph [0045] – DE VRIES discloses the tab modifier 304 can include options to close, hide, or delete the tabs 302 and related content within the GUI 300, move, or reorder the tabs 302 and related content within the GUI 300, and restore, expand, and minimize the tabs 302 and related content within the GUI 300.)
included in the notification transmitted from the medical application (Fig. 6, Paragraph [0090] – DE VRIES discloses if the process 600 involves receiving a selection of a X on a tab modifier to close a tab 302, then that tab 302 and associated data lane 306 can be closed. Paragraph [0066] – DE VRIES further discloses GUI can be provided by a service provider 106 through a web browser 110 or application on a client system 102. See also Fig. 1B, Paragraph [0031].).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of TAYLOR of having a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising a program of an application of an image management system that manages a medical image, stored thereon, which, when executed on at least one processor, causes a computer to execute: an image display process of causing a display device to display the acquired medical image of the patient identified by the identification information, with the teachings of DE VRIES having wherein the program causes the computer to further execute a process of closing all tabs included in the application screen based on information instructing to close the tabs included in the notification transmitted from the medical application.
Wherein TAYLOR’s non-transitory computer-readable storage medium wherein the program causes the computer to further execute a process of closing all tabs included in the application screen based on information instructing to close the tabs included in the notification transmitted from the medical application.
The motivation behind this modification would have been to provide an enhanced medical record management system with superior integration flexibility and improved visualization of data, since both TAYLOR and DE VRIES relate to visualization of medical data, wherein TAYLOR relates to integration of image(s) and/or image processing with medical software; integrating the graphical user interface (GUI) between two web-based software applications provides the most seamless interface for the user, and DE VRIES relates to a method and system for generating a user interface and techniques for the visualization of and interaction with clinical data; a user can access a visualization service providing a customizable and improved visualization of data. Please see TAYLOR (US 20170186161 A1), Paragraph [0039], and DE VRIES (US 20240203547 A1), Paragraph [0035, 0084].
Regarding claim 12, TAYLOR teaches the information processing device according to claim 10,
TAYLOR fails to explicitly teach wherein the processor is configured to further execute a process of closing all tabs included in the application screen based on information instructing to close the tabs included in the notification transmitted from the medical application.
However, DE VRIES explicitly teaches wherein the processor (Fig. 7, #705 called processor, Paragraph [0092]) is configured to further execute (Fig. 7, Paragraph [0092] – DE VRIES discloses processor 705 is configured to execute processor-executable instructions stored in the memory 710 to perform one or more methods according to different examples, such as part or all of the example processes 400, 600 described above with respect to FIGS. 4 and 6.)
a process of closing all tabs included in the application screen based on information instructing to close the tabs (Fig. 3A, Paragraph [0043] – DE VRIES discloses a system (e.g., system 100) can be configured to provide a graphical user interface 300 presenting an interactive visualization of a graphical representation of one or more selected data sets. Paragraph [0045] – DE VRIES discloses the tab modifier 304 can include options to close, hide, or delete the tabs 302 and related content within the GUI 300, move, or reorder the tabs 302 and related content within the GUI 300, and restore, expand, and minimize the tabs 302 and related content within the GUI 300.)
included in the notification transmitted from the medical application (Fig. 6, Paragraph [0090] – DE VRIES discloses if the process 600 involves receiving a selection of a X on a tab modifier to close a tab 302, then that tab 302 and associated data lane 306 can be closed. Paragraph [0066] – DE VRIES further discloses GUI can be provided by a service provider 106 through a web browser 110 or application on a client system 102. See also Fig. 1B, Paragraph [0031].).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of TAYLOR of having an information processing device in which a program of an application of an image management system that manages a medical image is installed, the information processing device comprising at least one processor, wherein the processor is configured to execute: an image display process of causing a display device to display the acquired medical image of the patient identified by the identification information, with the teachings of DE VRIES having wherein the processor is configured to further execute a process of closing all tabs included in the application screen based on information instructing to close the tabs included in the notification transmitted from the medical application.
Wherein TAYLOR’s information processing device wherein the processor is configured to further execute a process of closing all tabs included in the application screen based on information instructing to close the tabs included in the notification transmitted from the medical application.
The motivation behind this modification would have been to provide an enhanced medical record management system with superior integration flexibility and improved visualization of data, since both TAYLOR and DE VRIES relate to visualization of medical data, wherein TAYLOR relates to integration of image(s) and/or image processing with medical software; integrating the graphical user interface (GUI) between two web-based software applications provides the most seamless interface for the user, and DE VRIES relates to a method and system for generating a user interface and techniques for the visualization of and interaction with clinical data; a user can access a visualization service providing a customizable and improved visualization of data. Please see TAYLOR (US 20170186161 A1), Paragraph [0039], and DE VRIES (US 20240203547 A1), Paragraph [0035, 0084].
Regarding claim 18, TAYLOR teaches the information processing method according to claim 16, TAYLOR fails to explicitly teach further comprising the step of closing all tabs included in the application screen based on information instructing to close the tabs included in the notification transmitted from the medical application.
However, DE VRIES explicitly teaches further comprising the step of closing all tabs included in the application screen based on information instructing to close the tabs included in the notification transmitted from the medical application (Fig. 6, Paragraph [0090] – DE VRIES discloses if the process 600 involves receiving a selection of a X on a tab modifier to close a tab 302, then that tab 302 and associated data lane 306 can be closed. Paragraph [0045] – DE VRIES discloses the tab modifier 304 can include options to close, hide, or delete the tabs 302 and related content within the GUI 300, move, or reorder the tabs 302 and related content within the GUI 300, and restore, expand, and minimize the tabs 302 and related content within the GUI 300. Paragraph [0066] – DE VRIES further discloses GUI can be provided by a service provider 106 through a web browser 110 or application on a client system 102. See also Fig. 1B, Paragraph [0031].).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of TAYLOR of having an information processing method performed by at least one processor of an information processing device in which a program of an application of an image management system that manages a medical image is installed, the information processing method comprising the steps of: causing a display device to display the acquired medical image of the patient identified by the identification information, with the teachings of DE VRIES having further comprising the step of closing all tabs included in the application screen based on information instructing to close the tabs included in the notification transmitted from the medical application.
Wherein TAYLOR’s information processing method wherein further comprising the step of closing all tabs included in the application screen based on information instructing to close the tabs included in the notification transmitted from the medical application.
The motivation behind this modification would have been to provide an enhanced medical record management system with superior integration flexibility and improved visualization of data, since both TAYLOR and DE VRIES relate to visualization of medical data, wherein TAYLOR relates to integration of image(s) and/or image processing with medical software; integrating the graphical user interface (GUI) between two web-based software applications provides the most seamless interface for the user, and DE VRIES relates to a method and system for generating a user interface and techniques for the visualization of and interaction with clinical data; a user can access a visualization service providing a customizable and improved visualization of data. Please see TAYLOR (US 20170186161 A1), Paragraph [0039], and DE VRIES (US 20240203547 A1), Paragraph [0035, 0084].
Conclusion
Listed below are the prior arts made of record and not relied upon but are considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
TERAI et al. (US 20230335241 A1) - The medical information processing apparatus includes a processor. Through a channel opened on a chat application and used for discussing a target medical care, the processor obtains a record of messages that have been entered by the channel members. The processor obtains role information, which represents the role of a target member among the channel members. The processor also obtains progress information, which represents the current progress of the target care. The processor identifies one or more candidates for a message to be entered by the target member based on the message record, role information and/or progress information. The processor displays the one or more candidates on an input screen relating to the channel of the target member.....… Fig. 1, Abstract.
RONDEAU et al. (US 20170300619 A1) - A system for transferring patient identification information and medical images within the records system of a healthcare facility is disclosed. A server within the healthcare facility is configured to automatically receive patient information on a regular basis from the healthcare facility's patient information system and to automatically provide that information to any medical equipment connected to the healthcare facility. The operator of the medical equipment selects the information of a patient undergoing a medical imaging procedure........… Fig. 1, Abstract.
ISHIKAWA et al. (US 20180285524 A1) - A method to search, extract, and display medical images and data between a plurality of medical repositories on a plurality of medical servers of healthcare facilities within a network is provided. The plurality of medical servers are connected through a data integration controller and includes a local medical server and two or more remote medical servers. The method causes the local medical server to: transmit a medical data integration request with a search key associated with a predetermined patient to the remote medical servers, receive a medical data associated with the medical data integration request; display the received medical data as an integrated view; perform post-processing on the received medical data; store a condition of the performed post-processing; and apply the same post-processing condition to medical data received from a subsequent medical data integration request associated with the same search key........… Fig. 1, Abstract.
/BEZAWIT NOLAWI SHIMELES/Examiner, Art Unit 2673
/CHINEYERE WILLS-BURNS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2673