DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities: In line 1, the recitation “joining beam” should be “first”. In line 2, the recitation “foam body density” should be “density of the insulating foam”.
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities: In line 1, the recitation “foam material” should be “insulating foam”.
Claim 30 is objected to because of the following informalities: In line 2, the recitation “body. The” should be “body, the”.
Claim 32 is objected to because of the following informalities: In line 1, the recitation “embedded” should be “second”.
Claim 33 is objected to because of the following informalities: In line 1, the recitation “embedded” should be “second”.
Claim 34 is objected to because of the following informalities: In line 1, the recitation “embedded” should be “second”.
Claim 35 is objected to because of the following informalities: In line 1, the recitation “embedded” should be “second”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7-8, 13, 18, and 21-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
With respect to claim 7: In line 1, the recitation “the second joining beam profile” lacks antecedent basis.
With respect to claim 8: In line 1, the recitation “the second joining beam” lacks antecedent basis.
With respect to claim 13: In line 1, the recitation “the panel of the ceiling” lacks antecedent basis. In lines 1-2, the recitation “the panel of the wall” lacks antecedent basis.
With respect to claim 18: In lines 1-2, the recitation “the metal sheet surface” lacks antecedent basis. In line 2, the recitations “the first panel”, “the metal sheet surface”, and “the second panel” all lack antecedent basis.
With respect to claim 21: In line 3, the recitation “the locking mechanism” lacks antecedent basis.
With respect to claim 22: In line 2, the recitation “the insulation foam” lacks antecedent basis. In lines 2-3, the recitation “the first and second panel” lacks antecedent basis.
With respect to claim 23: In line 6, the recitation “the panel insulation form body of the panel” lacks antecedent basis.
With respect to claims 24-28: The claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) via dependency.
With respect to claim 29: The phrase "other suitable" renders the claim indefinite because the claim includes elements not actually disclosed (those encompassed by "other suitable"), thereby rendering the scope of the claim unascertainable. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). The disclosure provides no standard or definition by which the claim limitation “other suitable” may be interpreted.
With respect to claim 30: The claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) via dependency.
With respect to claim 31: In line 1, the recitation “the second joining beam” lacks antecedent basis.
With respect to claims 32-35: The claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) via dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 6-7, 23-24, and 29-31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KR 10-2016-0123474 A (Lee).
With respect to claim 1: Lee discloses an enclosure for use as a walk-in refrigerator, freezer, or other controlled environment space (Background Art: refrigerating and freezing storage for warehouses, marts, restaurants, distributors, etc.), where the enclosure comprises: a wall (not numbered wall in at least Figs. 2 and 5a-5b) including a first panel (panel 103), and a second panel (panel 101) connected to the first panel, each of the first and second panels comprising: a body (not numbered main body) having a first end and a second end (left and right ends); and an embedded joining beam (one side fixing frame 120) coupled to at least one of the first and second ends of the body (Figs. 2-3 and 5a-5b: each panel 101, 103 has a side fixing frame 120 coupled to at least one of the left and right sides thereof) and comprising: a beam (main body of fixing frame 120) of a first material (fixing frame 120 is inherently made of some material that is the claimed “first material”); a body of insulating foam (heat insulator 130) encapsulating the joining beam on two or more sides (rear side, left side, and right side); an interior edge (edge of fixing frame 120 against heat insulator 130) of the joining beam adjacent to the foam body and an exterior edge (edge of fixing frame 120 facing away from heat insulator 130 and coupling to a second one of the fixing frames 120) opposite the interior edge and defining a panel joining profile (Figs. 5a-5b: two connected fixing frames 120 form the “panel joining profile”); wherein the embedded joining beam exterior profile of the first panel defines a groove (Fig. 3: left/upper fixing frame 120 forms “a groove” in portion 121; Figs. 5a-5b: the left side of panel 103 has said “groove”), and the embedded joining beam exterior profile of the second panel defines a protrusion (Fig. 3: right/lower fixing frame 120 has “a protrusion” on portion 122; Figs. 5a-5b: the right side of panel 101 has said “protrusion”) extending from the exterior edge of the embedded joining beam and adapted to engage the groove of the embedded joining beam member of the first panel (Figs. 5a-5b: the “protrusion” of panel 101 engages the “groove” of panel 103).
With respect to claim 2: Lee discloses wherein the embedded joining beam exterior profile of the first panel and the embedded joining beam exterior profile of the second panel are coupled by interference fit to form a panel joint (Figs. 2 and 5a-5b; pages 3-5 of the translation).
With respect to claim 6: Lee discloses wherein the first panel (panel 103) further comprises a second embedded joining beam coupled to the second end of the body (Figs. 5a-5B: the fixing frame 120 on the right side of panel 103), the second joining beam is arranged to engage an embedded joining beam of a different panel (side fixing frame 120 of panel 102).
With respect to claim 7: Lee discloses wherein the profile of the second joining beam profile (the fixing profile 120 on the right side of panel 103 in Figs. 5a-5b) defines a protrusion extending from an exterior surface of the joining beam (Fig. 3: right/lower fixing frame 120 has “a protrusion” on portion 122; Figs. 5a-5b: the right side of panel 103 has said “protrusion”).
With respect to claim 23: Lee discloses a panel (supporting panel 100) for a freezer, refrigerator, or other controlled environment enclosure (Background Art: refrigerating and freezing storage for warehouses, marts, restaurants, distributors, etc.), the panel comprising: a body (not numbered in at least Figs. 2-3) having a first end and a second end (left and right ends); a joining beam (one of the side fixing frames 120) operably coupled to the first end of the body, the joining beam comprising: an embedment (identified in the annotated image below, shown embedded in Figs. 5a-5b) into the panel insulation foam body of the panel (inner heat insulator 130); an interior edge (edge of fixing frame 120 against heat insulator 130) coupled to the first end of the body and an exterior edge (edge of fixing frame 120 facing away from heat insulator 130 and coupling to a second one of the fixing frames 120) defining a joining profile (Figs. 5a-5b: two connected fixing frames 120 form the “joining profile”), the joining beam profile arranged to engage with a second joining beam profile (the second said fixing frame 120) to define a panel joint (joint connecting two said panels 100).
With respect to claim 24: Lee discloses wherein the joining beam is embedded into the body of the panel insulating foam (at least Figs. 2-3 and 5).
With respect to claim 29: Lee discloses metal sheets or other suitable sheathing for the application (front and rear fixing frames 110), enclosing the panel body and at least partially enclosing the joining beam.
With respect to claim 30: Lee discloses a second joining beam coupled to the second end of the body (the second fixing frame 120 attached to panel 130), the second joining beam comprising: a structural beam (body of fixing frame 120) embedded into the panel insulation foam body of the panel (at least Figs. 5a-5b); an interior edge coupled to the first end of the body (edge of fixing frame 120 against heat insulator 130); an exterior edge (edge of fixing frame 120 facing away from heat insulator 130 and coupling to a second one of the fixing frames 120) defining a joining profile (connects to the fixing frame 120 of panel 101 or 102); a joining profile arranged to engage with a second joining beam joining profile (said fixing frame 120 of said panel 101 or 102) to define a panel joint (the joint between panel 103 and said panel 101 or 102).
With respect to claim 31: Lee discloses wherein the second joining beam is at least partially embedded into the body of the panel insulating foam (at least Figs. 2-3 and 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10, 14-25, 27-32, and 34-35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2018/0073797 A1 (Taqi) in view of US 2015/0137670 A1 (Chikkakalbalu).
With respect to claim 1: Taqi discloses an enclosure for use as a walk-in refrigerator, freezer, or other controlled environment space (“walk-in refrigerator and freezer spaces” @ Taqi [0003]), where the enclosure comprises: a wall (wall 10) including a first panel (a first of the panels 20), and a second panel (a second of the panels 20) connected to the first panel, each of the first and second panels comprising: a body (main body) having a first end and a second end (left and right ends); and an embedded joining beam (structural members 22, embedded in the panel 20 between the sheathing 26) coupled to at least one of the first and second ends of the body and comprising: a beam (body of member 22) of a first material ([0027]: “wood, a composite, metal, or any other suitable structural material as would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art”); a body of insulating foam (polyurethane foam 28); an interior edge of the joining beam adjacent to the foam body (interior edge/side of member 22 that faces/contacts foam 28) and an exterior edge opposite the interior edge (exterior edge/side of member 22 that engages another said member 22 of another said panel 20) and defining a panel joining profile (two associated members 22 form a “panel joining profile” between two adjacent panels 20); wherein the embedded joining beam exterior profile of the first panel defines a groove (Fig. 1A: the members 22 on the right sides of panels 20 each define “a groove” as claimed; the “groove” of the “tongue-in-groove” design disclosed at [0027]), and the embedded joining beam exterior profile of the second panel defines a protrusion extending from the exterior edge of the embedded joining beam (Fig. 1A: the members 22 on the left sides of panels 20 each define “a protrusion” as claimed; the “tongue” of the “tongue-in-groove” design disclosed at [0027]) and adapted to engage the groove of the embedded joining beam member of the first panel (as in Fig. 1B).
Taqi does not disclose the foam 28 meets “encapsulating the joining beam on two or more sides” as claimed, in that foam 28 is not shown as encapsulating two or more side of the structural members 22.
Taqi [0027] states, “The insulated structural panel is primarily assembled by virtue of the closed-cell polyurethane foam 28 acting as an adhesive to hold the sheathing and structural members in place.”
Chikkakalbalu Fig. 3 shows polyurethane foam 120 encapsulating a support rail 130 on two or more sides. Chikkakalbalu [0039] states:
The first liner flange 160 may be sized to accommodate the thickness of the liner 150 therein. One or both ends of the support rail 130 also may include a reinforcement plate flange 180 and a second liner flange 190 on a second side 200 thereof. The reinforcement plate flange 180 may be sized to accommodate the reinforcement plate 140 while the second liner flange 190 may be sized to accommodate the liner 150. Specifically, the respective flanges 160, 180, 190 may be sized to accommodate the liners 150 and the reinforcement plate 140 along with an amount of the polyurethane foam 120 so as to provide good sealing and structural support. The overall profile of the support rails 130 thus allows liner tolerance and the flow of the foam between the support rails 130 and the liners 150 to provide bondage therein.
Chikkakalbalu [0041] states:
The insulated foam panel 100 described herein thus uses the high density polystyrene 135 as the support rails 130, the scrap metal 145 as the reinforcement plates 140, and the thin metal 155 as the liners 150 positioned about the polyurethane foam 120 of the foam core 110. The polyurethane foam 120 provides good foam flow for better integrity, high thermal resistance values, and structural strength. Specifically, the flow of the polyurethane foam 120 over the liners 150, the reinforcement plates 140, and the other components ensures a strong bond between all of the components of the panel 100. The use of the support rails 130 with the high density polystyrene 135 allows for the positive placement of the liners 150 therein. Moreover, the high density polystyrene 135 may be compressed so as to provide better sealing at the joints thereof. The scrap metal as the reinforcement plate 140 provides increased structural strength with a further reduction in costs. The insulated foam panel 100 thus may provide high energy efficiency but with lower costs and improved processing.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Taqi’s panels 20 and/or members 22 to have the structural members 22 mounted in the panels 20 in the same way that Chikkakalbalu’s support rail 130 is mounted in Chikkakalbalu’s panel, because Chikkakalbalu discloses this provides good sealing and structural support. This also ensures a strong bond between all of the components of the panel 20, similarly to what is disclosed at Chikkakalbalu [0041].
With respect to claim 2: Taqi, as modified, meets wherein the embedded joining beam exterior profile of the first panel and the embedded joining beam exterior profile of the second panel are coupled by interference fit to form a panel joint (as in Taqi Fig. 1B; the “tongue-in-groove design” of Taqi [0027] is an interference fit).
With respect to claim 3: MPEP § 2131.03 (I) states that if the prior art discloses a point within the claimed range, the prior art meets the claimed range.
Taqi, as modified, meets wherein the panel joint of the first and second panels has a thickness in a range of approximately 3 inches to approximately 6 inches (Taqi [0028] discloses 3 to 6 inches) and an overall insulative value in a range of approximately R10 to approximately R40 (Taqi [0028] discloses R24 to R48).
With respect to claim 4: Taqi, as modified, meets wherein the embedded joining beam exterior profile of the first panel and the embedded joining beam exterior profile of the second panel form an environmental seal when the embedded joining beam of the first panel is coupled to the embedded joining beam of the second panel (Taqi [0029] discloses sealing between two panels 20).
With respect to claim 5: Taqi, as modified, meets a locking assembly (Taqi’s latch 30 and latch-bar 32) arranged to couple the panel to the second panel from an unlocked configuration (unlocked in Figs. 1A and 1D) to a locked configuration (locked in Figs. 1B-1C), the locking assembly including a hook (latch 30) attached to one of the embedded joining beams of the first and second panels and a pin (latch-bar 32) attached to the other embedded joining beams of the first and second panels, and wherein the embedded joining beam profile of the first panel and the embedded joining beam profile of the second panel engage when the locking assembly is in the locked configuration (Taqi [0027]).
With respect to claim 6: Taqi, as modified, meets wherein the first panel (Fig. 1A: one of the panels 20) further comprises a second embedded joining beam coupled to the second end of the body (the structural member 22 on the left side of the left panel 20 or the structural member 22 on the right side of the right panel 20), the second joining beam is arranged to engage an embedded joining beam of a different panel (is configured to engage another structural member 22).
With respect to claim 7: Taqi, as modified, meets wherein the profile of the second joining beam profile defines a protrusion extending from an exterior surface of the joining beam (Fig. 1A: the member 22 on the left side of the left panel 20 defines a protrusion).
With respect to claim 8: Taqi, as modified, meets wherein the profile of the second joining beam defines a groove on the exterior surface of the joining beam (Fig. 1A: the member 22 on the right side of the right panel 20 defines a groove).
With respect to claim 9: Taqi, as modified, does not disclose “wherein the joining beam material has a greater density than the foam body density” as claimed.
Taqi [0005] discloses the flanges of a male locking insert may be a dual-density material, thereby showing that Taqi is aware of density. Taqi [0027] discloses the foam 28 made of polyurethane, and the structural member 22 made of wood, composite, metal, or any other suitable material. Taqi [0027] describes the members 22 creating a rigid structural panel 20.
OFFICIAL NOTICE is taken that one of ordinary skill in the art would be aware of wood, composite, metal, or other materials suitable for member 22 having a greater density than polyurethane foam insulation.
Chikkakalbalu [0037] discloses the use of high density polystyrene for support rails 130, in order to have good thermal resistance.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the material of the members 22 to be of a higher density than that of the polyurethane foam 28, as a natural result of selecting a wood, composite, metal, or other suitable material for the members 22. This is desirable in order to provide rigidity and/or thermal resistance.
With respect to claim 10: Taqi, as modified, meets metal sheeting (sheathing 26, see [0027] for steel or aluminum for sheathing 26) adjacent to the foam material of the body.
With respect to claim 14: Taqi, as modified, meets a gasket or sealant (Taqi’s gasket 16) disposed within the panel joint of the first panel and the second panel.
With respect to claim 15: By making the same combinations and modifications as in the rejections above, Taqi in view of Chikkakalbalu meets a panel joint for a freezer, refrigerator, or other controlled environment enclosure (“walk-in refrigerator and freezer spaces” @ Taqi [0003]), the panel joint comprising: a first joining beam (structural member 22, as modified) of an insulated panel (a first of Taqi’s panels 20, as modified), the first joining beam at least partially embedded into the panel insulating foam (as in Chikkakalbalu’s invention); a second joining beam (structural member 22, as modified) of an insulated panel (a second of Taqi’s panels 20, as modified), the second joining beam arranged to couple to the first joining beam (as in Taqi Fig. 1B), the second joining beam embedded at least partially into the panel insulating foam (as in Chikkakalbalu’s invention, see at least Fig. 3 and [0039]-[0041]) such that: a joining profile defined in the first joining beam (the profile of the modified member 22 attached to the first modified panel 20); a joining profile defined in the second joining beam (the profile of the modified member 22 attached to the second modified panel 20); an average R-value of at least R2 per inch thickness when the joining profile of the first joining beam is fastly coupled to the joining profile of the second joining beam (Taqi [0028] discloses R8 per inch thickness).
With respect to claim 16: Taqi, as modified, meets wherein the joining profile of the first joining beam defines a groove (Taqi Fig. 1A: the right member 22 of the left panel 20 defines a groove), and the joining profile of the second joining beam defines a protrusion (Taqi Fig. 1A: the left member 22 of the right panel 20 defines a protrusion).
With respect to claim 17: Taqi, as modified, meets wherein the first joining beam and the second joining beam are co-linear (as in Taqi Fig. 1B).
With respect to claim 18: Taqi, as modified, meets a gasket (Taqi’s gasket 16) disposed between the metal sheet surface of the first panel and the metal sheet surface of the second panel.
With respect to claim 19: Taqi, as modified, meets wherein the first joining beam and the second joining beam are coupled by interference fit (as in Taqi Fig. 1B; the “tongue-in-groove design” of Taqi [0027] is an interference fit).
With respect to claim 20: MPEP § 2131.03 (I) states that if the prior art discloses a point within the claimed range, the prior art meets the claimed range.
Taqi, as modified, meets wherein the first and second joining beams have a thickness in a range of approximately 3 inches to approximately 6 inches (Taqi [0028] discloses 3 to 6 inches) and a total insulative value in a range of approximately R10 to approximately R40 when the first joining beam and the second joining beams are coupled (Taqi [0028] discloses R24 to R48).
With respect to claim 21: Taqi, as modified, meets wherein the joining profile of the first joining beam and the joining profile of the second joining beam form an environmental seal when the first joining beam and the second joining beam are coupled via the locking mechanism (using latch 30 and latch-bar 32, see Taqi [0027]-[0029]).
With respect to claim 22: Taqi, as modified, does not meet “wherein the joining beams of the first and second panel have a flexural strength greater than the flexural strength of the insulation foam in the first and second panel” as claimed.
Taqi [0027] discloses the foam 28 made of polyurethane, and the structural member 22 made of wood, composite, metal, or any other suitable material. Taqi [0027] describes the members 22 creating a rigid structural panel 20.
OFFICIAL NOTICE is taken that one of ordinary skill in the art would be aware of wood, composite, metal, or other materials suitable for member 22 having a greater flexural strength than polyurethane foam insulation.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the material of the members 22 to be of a greater flexural strength than that of the polyurethane foam 28, as a natural result of selecting a wood, composite, metal, or other suitable material for the members 22. This is desirable in order to provide rigidity.
With respect to claim 23: By making the same combinations and modifications as in the rejections above, Taqi in view of Chikkakalbalu meets a panel (Taqi’s panel 20, as modified) for a freezer, refrigerator, or other controlled environment enclosure (“walk-in refrigerator and freezer spaces” @ Taqi [0003]), the panel comprising: a body (main body of the modified panel 20) having a first end and a second end (left and right ends); a joining beam (one of the structural members 22, as modified) operably coupled to the first end of the body, the joining beam comprising: an embedment into the panel insulation foam body (foam 28, as modified) of the panel (in the modification, a portion of Taqi’s member 22 is embedded in foam 28 similarly to Chikkakalbalu Fig. 3 showing a portion of support rail 130 embedded in polyurethane foam 120); an interior edge (interior edge/side of member 22 that faces/contacts foam 28) coupled to the first end of the body and an exterior edge (exterior edge/side of member 22 that engages another said member 22 of another said panel 20) defining a joining profile (the tongue or the groove of the “tongue-in-groove” connection), the joining beam profile arranged to engage with a second joining beam profile to define a panel joint (one member 22 of a first panel 20 joins to another member 22 on a second panel 20).
With respect to claim 24: Taqi, as modified, meets wherein the joining beam is embedded into the body of the panel insulating foam (in the modification, a portion of Taqi’s member 22 is embedded in foam 28 similarly to Chikkakalbalu Fig. 3 showing a portion of support rail 130 embedded in polyurethane foam 120).
With respect to claim 25: Taqi, as modified, meets wherein the embedded joining beam is a wood member (Taqi [0027]).
With respect to claim 27: Taqi, as modified, meets wherein the embedded joining beam is a metal profile (Taqi [0027]).
With respect to claim 28: Taqi, as modified, meets wherein the embedded joining beam is a composite material (Taqi [0027]).
With respect to claim 29: Taqi, as modified, meets metal sheets or other suitable sheathing for the application (sheathing 26 - see [0027] for steel, aluminum, or other suitable material for sheathing 26), enclosing the panel body and at least partially enclosing the joining beam.
With respect to claim 30: Taqi, as modified, meets a second joining beam coupled to the second end of the body (the second modified member 22 of the panel 20), the second joining beam comprising: a structural beam (member 22, as modified) embedded into the panel insulation foam body of the panel (in the modification, a portion of Taqi’s member 22 is embedded in foam 28 similarly to Chikkakalbalu Fig. 3 showing a portion of support rail 130 embedded in polyurethane foam 120); an interior edge (interior edge/side of member 22 that faces/contacts foam 28) coupled to the first end of the body; an exterior edge (exterior edge/side of member 22 that is configured to engage another said member 22 of another said panel 20) defining a joining profile (profile of member 22, forms the tongue or the groove of the “tongue-in-groove” configuration); a joining profile (the “tongue-in-groove” joint) arranged to engage with a second joining beam joining profile to define a panel joint (two members 22 join two adjacent panels 20).
With respect to claim 31: Taqi, as modified, meets wherein the second joining beam is at least partially embedded into the body of the panel insulating foam (in the modification, a portion of Taqi’s member 22 is embedded in foam 28 similarly to Chikkakalbalu Fig. 3 showing a portion of support rail 130 embedded in polyurethane foam 120).
With respect to claim 32: Taqi, as modified, meets wherein the embedded joining beam is a wood member (Taqi [0027]).
With respect to claim 34: Taqi, as modified, meets wherein the embedded joining beam is a metal profile (Taqi [0027]).
With respect to claim 35: Taqi, as modified, meets wherein the embedded joining beam is a composite material (Taqi [0027]).
Claim(s) 11-13, 22, 26, and 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2018/0073797 A1 (Taqi) in view of US 2015/0137670 A1 (Chikkakalbalu) as applied to claims 1, 15, and 23 above, and further in view of US 2020/0096251 (Costanza).
With respect to claims 11-13: Taqi, as modified, does not meet “a ceiling coupled to the wall, the ceiling including a different panel comprising a body having a first end and a second end; and an embedded joining beam coupled to the first end of the body and at least partially enclosed by the panel insulation foam” as recited in claim 11.
Taqi, as modified, does not meet “a floor coupled to the wall, the floor including a different panel comprising a body having a first end and a second end; and an embedded joining beam coupled to the first end of the body and at least partially enclosed by the panel insulation foam” as recited in claim 12.
Taqi, as modified, does not meet “wherein the panel of the ceiling is perpendicular to the panel of the wall” as recited in claim 13.
Costanza discloses a ceiling panel 184 (at least Fig. 7 and [0053]) and a floor panel 130 (at least Fig. 6 and [0053]) comprised in an enclosure 110 that is functionally equivalent and/or analogous to Taqi’s refrigerated space. Costanza’s ceiling panel 184 is perpendicular to the wall panel 112 (at least Fig. 7).
Costanza’s panels each have a body defining a first end and a second end, and a joining beam coupled to the first end of the body. The panels have foam. Costanza’s panels are functionally equivalent and/or analogous to Taqi’s panels 20.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Taqi’s wall to be connected to Costanza’s wall and ceiling panels, in order to form a fully-enclosed and fully-insulated storage space.
With respect to claim 22: Taqi, as modified, does not meet “wherein the joining beams of the first and second panel have a flexural strength greater than the flexural strength of the insulation foam in the first and second panel” as claimed.
Taqi [0027] discloses the foam 28 made of polyurethane, and the structural member 22 made of wood, composite, metal, or any other suitable material. Taqi [0027] describes the members 22 creating a rigid structural panel 20.
Costanza [0005] shows it is known in the art to use a first material and a second material of differing flexural strength in a single insulating panel. The first material may be wood, and the second material may be foam (Costanza [0031]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the members 22 to have a flexural strength greater than that of the foam 28, as a natural result of selecting a wood, composite, metal, or other suitable material for the members 22. This is desirable in order to provide rigidity.
With respect to claims 26 and 33: Taqi, as modified, does not meet “wherein the embedded joining beam is a plastic resin profile” as claimed.
Taqi [0027] discloses the structural member 22 made of wood, composite, metal, or any other suitable material.
Costanza [0050] discloses a beam 154 made of fiberglass reinforced plastic resin, in lieu of wood.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Taqi’s member 22 to be made of fiberglass reinforced plastic resin, because Costanza shows that is a known material in the art. This material is desirable for the strength provided by the fiberglass reinforcement.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/ANDREW ROERSMA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3637