DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/14/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In particular, the applicant argues that cited prior arts fail to teach “a plurality of first anode reset lines disposed respectively in each of (2k)th pixel rows (k being a natural number) excluding (2k-1) pixel row; and a plurality of second anode reset lines disposed respectively in each of the (2k-1)th pixel row excluding the (2k)th pixel rows”. The Office respectfully submits that Li (US Pub. 2024/0021149 A1) discloses a display panel comprising a plurality of first anode reset lines Ref2_1 are connected together to form a first grid; and a plurality of second anode reset lines Ref2_2 are connected together to form a second grid. Therefore, a plurality of first anode reset lines Ref2_1 in even-numbered pixel rows (i.e., (2k)th first anode reset lines Ref2_1) are equivalent to “a plurality of first anode reset lines disposed respectively in each of (2k)th pixel rows (k being a natural number) excluding (2k-1) pixel row” as claimed. It is noted that the plurality of first anode reset lines Ref2_1 in even-numbered pixel rows do not include a plurality of first anode reset lines Ref2_1 in odd-numbered pixel rows. In addition, a plurality of second anode reset lines Ref2_2 in odd-numbered pixel rows (i.e., (2k-1)th second anode reset lines Ref2_2) are equivalent to “a plurality of second anode reset lines disposed respectively in each of the (2k-1)th pixel row excluding the (2k)th pixel rows” as claimed. It is noted that the plurality of second anode reset lines Ref2_2 in odd-numbered pixel rows do not include a plurality of second anode reset lines Ref2_2 in even-numbered pixel rows. Therefore, a combination of Lin et al. (US Pub. 2022/0180812 A1) and Li (US Pub. 2024/0021149 A1) still teach all limitations recited in claims 1, 18, and 20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7-11, 16, 18, and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. (US Pub. 2022/0180812 A1) in view of Li (US Pub. 2024/0021149 A1).
Regarding claim 1; Lin teaches a display device (Fig.2, a display 14) comprising:
a substrate (a substrate 24, Fig.2) on which a plurality of pixels is disposed in a column direction and a row direction (para. [0043]), the plurality of pixels including a plurality of first-color pixels, a plurality of second- color pixels, and a plurality of third-color pixels that emit first-color light, second-color light, and third-color light, respectively (para. [0045], a plurality of pixels comprises red, green, and blue pixels);
a plurality of anode reset lines (anode reset lines 309, Fig.17A) disposed respectively in each pixel row in which a first subset of pixels among the plurality of pixels are located (Fig.17A, a pixel circuit 22 comprises an anode reset line 309 configured to supply an anode reset voltage Var to an anode of an OLED 304).
Lin does not teach a plurality of first anode reset lines disposed respectively in each of (2k)th pixel rows (k being a natural number) excluding (2k-1)th pixel rows; and a plurality of second anode reset lines disposed respectively in each of (2k-1)th pixel rows excluding (2k)th pixel rows, wherein a first-color pixel disposed in a corresponding pixel row and a second-color pixel disposed in a next pixel row are both connected to a same one of the plurality of first anode reset lines, and wherein a third-color pixel disposed in the corresponding pixel row and another third-color pixel disposed in the next pixel row are both connected to a same one of the plurality of second anode reset lines.
Li teaches a plurality of first anode reset lines disposed respectively in each of (2k)th pixel rows (k being a natural number) excluding (2k-1)th pixel rows (a plurality of (2k)th first anode reset line Ref2_1 is disposed in (2k)th pixel rows, as annotated in Fig. 16 reproduced below. The plurality of (2k)th first anode reset lines Ref2_1 do not include (2k-1)th first anode reset lines Ref2_1); and a plurality of second anode reset lines disposed respectively in each of (2k-1)th pixel rows excluding (2k)th pixel rows (a plurality of (2k-1)th second anode reset lines Ref2_2, as annotated in Fig. 16 below. The plurality of (2k-1)th second anode reset lines Ref2_2 do not include (2k)th second anode reset lines Ref2_2), wherein a first-color pixel (a blue pixel, Fig. 16) disposed in a corresponding pixel row (e.g., a blue pixel is disposed in a second pixel row, Fig. 16) and a second-color pixel (e.g., a red pixel is disposed on a third row, Fig. 16) disposed in a next pixel row are both connected to a same one of the plurality of first anode reset lines (Fig. 16, the blue pixel on second row and the red pixel on third row are connected to the (2k)th first anode reset lines Ref2_1 through first connections), and wherein a third-color pixel (green pixels, Fig. 16) disposed in the corresponding pixel row and another third-color pixel disposed in the next pixel row are both connected to a same one of the plurality of second anode reset lines (Fig. 16, green pixels is disposed on two adjacent pixel rows (e.g., first row and second row) are connected to the (2k-1)th second anode reset lines Ref2_2 through second connections).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox ((2k-1)th first anode reset lines)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox ((2k)th first anode reset lines)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox ((2k)th second anode reset lines)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Second connections)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (First connections)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox ((2k-1)th second anode reset lines)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
(Fig.16 of Li reproduced)
At the time of invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display panel of Lin to include the teaching of Li of connecting a plurality of first anode reset lines (i.e., connected to red and blue pixels) together to form a first mesh; and connecting a plurality of second anode reset lines (i.e., connected to green pixels) together to form a second mesh. The motivation would have been in order to improve the display quality (Li, para. [0042]).
Regarding claim 7; Lin in view of Li teaches the display device of claim 1 as discussed above. Lin further teaches each of the plurality of pixels comprises one or more transistors (transistors Tdata, Tobs, Tini, Tar, and Toxide; Fig.17A), a driving transistor (a driving transistor Tdrive, Fig.17A), and a storage capacitor (a capacitor Cst, Fig.17A).
Regarding claim 8; Lin in view of Li teaches the display device of claim 7 as discussed above. Lin further teaches a semiconductor layer of each of the driving transistor and the one or more transistors is an oxide semiconductor layer or a low-temperature polysilicon semiconductor layer (para. [0007 and 0055], a semiconducting-oxide transistor).
Regarding claim 9; Lin in view of Li teaches the display device of claim 8 as discussed above. Lin further teaches the driving transistor is connected to a second node (Fig.17A reproduced below, the driving transistor Tdrive is connected to a second node N2), and wherein the one or more transistors comprise: a first transistor (a transistor Toxide) connected between the second node and a third node (Fig.17A, the transistor Toxide is connected between the second node N2 and a third node N3); a second transistor (a transistor Tdata) connected to a first node (Fig.17A, the transistor Tdata is connected to first node N1); a third transistor (a transistor Tem1) connected to the first node (Fig.17A, the transistor Tem1 is connected to the first node N1); a fourth transistor (a transistor Tem2) connected between the third node and a fourth node (Fig.17A, the transistor Tem2 is connected between the third node N3 and a fourth node N4); a fifth transistor (a transistor Tini) connected to the second node (Fig.17A, the transistor Tini is connected to the second node N2); a sixth transistor (a transistor Tar) connected to the fourth node (Fig.17A, the transistor Tar is connected to the fourth node N4); and seventh transistor (a transistor Tobs) connected to the first node (Fig.17A, the transistor Tobs is connected to the first node N1).
[AltContent: textbox (309)][AltContent: textbox (N4[img-media_image2.png])][AltContent: textbox (N3[img-media_image2.png])][AltContent: textbox (N2[img-media_image2.png])][AltContent: textbox (N1)]
(Fig.17A of Lin reproduced)
Regarding claim 10; Lin in view of Li teaches the display device of claim 9 as discussed above. Lin further teaches the storage capacitor (the storage capacitor Cst, Fig.17A) is connected between a high-potential driving voltage terminal (a positive power supply VDDEL) and the second node (the second node N2).
Regarding claim 11; Lin in view of Li teaches the display device of claim 9 as discussed above. Lin further teaches a light-emitting diode (an OLED 304, Fig.17A) connected between the fourth node and a low-potential driving voltage terminal (Fig.17A, the OLED 304 is connected between the fourth node N4 and a ground power supply VSSEL).
Regarding claim 16; Lin in view of Li teaches the display device of claim 1 as discussed above.
Lin does not teach the first anode reset line and another first anode reset line adjacent thereto are connected to each other to form a mesh structure, and wherein the second anode reset line and another second anode reset line adjacent thereto are connected to each other to form the mesh structure.
Li teaches the first anode reset line and another first anode reset line adjacent thereto are connected to each other to form a mesh structure (Fig.16, the plurality of first anode reset lines Ref2_1 are connected together to form a first mesh), and wherein the second anode reset line and another second anode reset line adjacent thereto are connected to each other to form the mesh structure (Fig.16, the plurality of second anode reset lines Red2_2 are connected together to form a second mesh).
At the time of invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display panel of Lin to include the teaching of Li of connecting a plurality of first anode reset lines (i.e., connected to red and blue pixels) together to form a first mesh; and connecting a plurality of second anode reset lines (i.e., connected to green pixels) together to form a second mesh. The motivation would have been in order to improve the display quality (Li, para. [0042]).
Regarding claim 18; Lin teaches a display device comprising:
a substrate (a substrate 24, Fig.2) on which a plurality of pixels is disposed in a column direction and a row direction (para. [0043]), the plurality of pixels including a plurality of first-color pixels, a plurality of second- color pixels, and a plurality of third-color pixels that emit first-color light, second-color light, and third-color light, respectively (para. [0045], a plurality of pixels comprises red, green, and blue pixels);
a plurality of anode reset lines (anode reset lines 309, Fig.17A) disposed respectively in each pixel row in which a first subset of pixels among the plurality of pixels are located (Fig.17A, a pixel circuit 22 comprises an anode reset line 309 configured to supply an anode reset voltage Var to an anode of an OLED 304).
Lin does not teach a plurality of first anode reset lines disposed respectively in each of [[a]] (2k)th pixel rows (k being a natural number) excluding (2k-1)th pixel rows; and a plurality of second anode reset lines disposed respectively in each of (2k-1)th pixel rows excluding (2k)th pixel rows; wherein for each value of k, a first-color pixel disposed in a (2k-1)th pixel row and another first-color pixel disposed in a 2kth pixel row are both connected to a same one of the plurality of second anode reset lines and wherein for each value of k, a second-color pixel disposed in the (2k)th pixel row and a third-color pixel disposed in a (2k+1)th pixel row are both connected to a same one of the plurality of first anode reset lines.
Li teaches a plurality of first anode reset lines disposed respectively in each of (2k)th pixel rows (k being a natural number) excluding (2k-1)th pixel rows (see Fig. 16 reproduced above, (2k)th first anode reset lines Ref2_1); and a plurality of second anode reset lines disposed respectively in each of (2k-1)th pixel rows excluding (2k)th pixel rows (see Fig. 16 reproduced above; (2k-1)th second anode reset lines Ref2_2); wherein for each value of k, a first-color pixel (a green pixel G, Fig.16) disposed in a (2k-1)th pixel row and another first-color pixel (a green pixel G) disposed in a (2k)th pixel row are both connected to a same one of the plurality of second anode reset lines (Fig. 16, para. [0055], a plurality of green pixels on at least two adjacent pixel rows are connected to the same second anode reset lines Ref2_2) and wherein for each value of k, a second-color pixel disposed in the (2k)th pixel row and a third-color pixel disposed in a (2k+1)th pixel row are both connected to a same one of the plurality of first anode reset line (Fig. 16, a red pixel in a first row and a blue pixel in a second row are connected to the same of first anode reset lines Ref2_1).
At the time of invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display panel of Lin to include the teaching of Li of connecting a plurality of first anode reset lines (i.e., connected to red and blue pixels) together to form a first mesh; and connecting a plurality of second anode reset lines (i.e., connected to green pixels) together to form a second mesh. The motivation would have been in order to improve the display quality (Li, para. [0042]).
Regarding claim 20; Lin teaches a display device comprising:
a substrate (a substrate 24, Fig.2) on which a plurality of pixels is disposed in a column direction and a row direction (para. [0043]);
light-emitting diodes (OLED 304, Fig.17A) disposed in the plurality of pixels (Fig.17A);
a plurality of anode reset lines (anode reset lines 309, Fig.17A) disposed respectively in each pixel row (Fig.17A, a pixel circuit 22 comprises an anode reset line 309 configured to supply an anode reset voltage Var to an anode of an OLED 304).
Lin does not teach a plurality of first anode reset lines disposed respectively in each of odd-numbered pixel rows except even-numbered pixel rows; and a plurality of second anode reset lines disposed respectively in each of even-numbered pixel rows except odd-numbered pixel rows, wherein each one of the plurality of first anode reset lines is connected to pixels of different colors disposed in a vertical direction in two adjacent pixel rows, and wherein each one of the plurality of second anode reset lines is connected to pixels of the same color disposed in a vertical direction in two adjacent pixel rows.
Li teaches a plurality of first anode reset lines disposed respectively in each of odd-numbered pixel rows except even-numbered pixel rows (Fig. 16 reproduced above, (2k-1)th first anode reset lines Ref2_1); and a plurality of second anode reset lines disposed respectively in each of even-numbered pixel rows except odd-numbered pixel rows (see Fig. 16 reproduced above, (2k)th second anode reset lines Ref2_2), wherein each one of the plurality of first anode reset lines is connected to pixels of different colors disposed in a vertical direction in two adjacent pixel rows (Fig. 16, each of the first anode reset lines Ref2_1 is connected to a red pixel and a blue pixel in a vertical direction in two adjacent pixel rows. For example, in a first column, a red pixel in the first row and a blue pixel in the second row are connected together), and wherein each one of the plurality of second anode reset lines is connected to pixels of the same color disposed in a vertical direction in two adjacent pixel rows (Fig. 16, each of the second anode reset lines Ref2_2 is connected to green pixels disposed in a vertical direction in two adjacent pixel rows).
At the time of invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display panel of Lin to include the teaching of Li of connecting a plurality of first anode reset lines (i.e., connected to red and blue pixels) together to form a first mesh; and connecting a plurality of second anode reset lines (i.e., connected to green pixels) together to form a second mesh. The motivation would have been in order to improve the display quality (Li, para. [0042]).
Regarding claim 21; Lin in view of Li teaches the display device of claim 20 as discussed above. Lin further teaches each of the plurality of pixels comprises one or more transistors, a driving transistor, and a storage capacitor, and wherein a semiconductor layer of each of the driving transistor and the one or more transistors is an oxide semiconductor layer or a low-temperature polysilicon semiconductor layer (para. [0007 and 0055], a semiconducting-oxide transistor).
Claims 2, 5, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. (US Pub. 2022/0180812 A1) in view of Li (US Pub. 2024/0021149 A1) as applied to claims 1, 16, and 18 above; further in view of Wang et al. (US Pub. 2024/0194134 A1).
Regarding claim 2; Lin in view of Li teaches the display device of claim 1 as discussed above. Lin in view of Li does not teach the corresponding pixel row comprises: a first third-color pixel, a first first-color pixel, a second third-color pixel, a first second-color pixel, a third third-color pixel, and a second first-color pixel, which are disposed in that order in the corresponding pixel row, and wherein the next pixel row comprises: a fourth third-color pixel, a second second-color pixel, a fifth third-color pixel, a third first-color pixel, a sixth third-color pixel, and a third second-color pixel, which are disposed in that order in the next pixel row.
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Second row)][AltContent: rect][AltContent: textbox (First row)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: rect]
(Fig.2 of Wang reproduced)
Wang teaches the corresponding pixel row comprises: a first third-color pixel, a first first-color pixel, a second third-color pixel, a first second-color pixel, a third third-color pixel, and a second first-color pixel, which are disposed in that order in the corresponding pixel row (Fig.2 above, a first pixel row comprises: Green-Red-Green-Blue-Green-Red pixels arranged in a horizontal direction), and wherein the next pixel row comprises: a fourth third-color pixel, a second second-color pixel, a fifth third-color pixel, a third first-color pixel, a sixth third-color pixel, and a third second-color pixel, which are disposed in that order in the next pixel row (Fig.2, a second pixel row comprises: Green-Blue-Green-Red-Green-Blue arranged in the horizontal direction).
At the time of invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display panel of Lin in view of Li to include the pixel arrangement including two green subpixels as taught by Wang. The motivation would have been in order to improve perception of sharpness and resolution because human vision is more sensitive to green light.
Regarding claim 5; Lin in view of Li and Wang teaches the display device of claim 1 as discussed above. Lin does not teach adjacent ones of the plurality of first anode reset lines are connected to each other to have a mesh structure, and wherein adjacent ones of the plurality of second anode reset lines are connected to each other to have a mesh structure.
Li teaches adjacent ones of the plurality of first anode reset lines are connected to each other to have a mesh structure (Fig.16, the first anode reset lines Ref2_1 are connected together to form the first mesh), and wherein adjacent ones of the plurality of second anode reset lines are connected to each other to have a mesh structure (Fig.16, the second anode reset lines Ref2_2 are connected together to form a second mesh).
The motivation is the same as the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 19; Lin in view of Li teaches the display device of claim 18 as discussed above. Lin in view of Li does not teach a first first-color pixel, a first second-color pixel, a second first-color pixel, a first third- color pixel, a third first-color pixel, and a second second-color pixel are disposed in that order in the (2k-1)th pixel row, and wherein a fourth first-color pixel, a second third-color pixel, a fifth first-color pixel, a third second-color pixel, a sixth first-color pixel, and a third third-color pixel are disposed in that order in the (2k)th pixel row.
Wang teaches a first first-color pixel, a first second-color pixel, a second first-color pixel, a first third- color pixel, a third first-color pixel, and a second second-color pixel are disposed in that order in the (2k-1)th pixel row (a first pixel row as shown in Fig.2 reproduced above comprises a Green-Red-Green-Blue-Green-Red pixels in a horizontal direction), and wherein a fourth first-color pixel, a second third-color pixel, a fifth first-color pixel, a third second-color pixel, a sixth first-color pixel, and a third third-color pixel are disposed in that order in the (2k)th pixel row (a second pixel row as shown in Fig.2 reproduced above comprises Green-Blue-Green-Red-Green-Blue pixels in the horizontal direction).
At the time of invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display panel of Lin in view of Li to include the pixel arrangement including two green subpixels as taught by Wang. The motivation would have been in order to improve perception of sharpness and resolution because human vision is more sensitive to green light.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. (US Pub. 2022/0180812 A1) in view of Li (US Pub. 2024/0021149 A1) as applied to claim 1 above; further in view of Han et al. (US Pub. 2022/0208931 A1).
Regarding claim 15; Lin in view of Li teaches the display device of claim 1 as discussed above. Lin in view of Li does not teach each of the plurality of pixels comprises one or more transistors and a driving transistor, and wherein the plurality of first anode reset lines or the plurality of second anode reset lines include the same material as source and drain electrodes of one of the one or more transistors and the driving transistor.
Han teaches each of the plurality of pixels comprises one or more transistors and a driving transistor, and wherein the anode reset lines include the same material as source and drain electrodes of one of the one or more transistors and the driving transistor (Figs. 2-5, para. [0106], an initialization voltage line VIL supplying an initialization voltage Vini to an anode of an OLED is disposed on the second interlayer insulating layer 115. The initialization voltage line VIL can be formed of the same material as the source electrode SE and the drain electrode DE).
At the time of invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display panel of Lin in view of Li to include the teaching of Han of forming an initialization voltage line by the same material as a source and a drain terminals of a transistor. The motivation would have been in order to simplify the manufacturing and to reduce the resistance of the anode reset lines.
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. (US Pub. 2022/0180812 A1) in view of Li (US Pub. 2024/0021149 A1) as applied to claim 20 above; further in view of Lee et al. (US Pub. 2023/0363219 A1).
Regarding claim 22; Lin in view of Li teaches the display device of claim 20 as discussed above. Lin in view of Li does not teach an encapsulation member disposed on the light-emitting diodes; and a touch unit disposed on the encapsulation member.
Lee teaches an encapsulation member (an encapsulation layer 400, Fig.24) disposed on the light-emitting diodes (a light emitting diode LED comprises a cathode, anode, and a light emitting layer EML, Fig.24; and a touch unit (a touch sensing unit comprising sensing electrodes 540 and 541) disposed on the encapsulation member (Fig.24, para. [0205], the plurality of sensing electrodes 540 and 541 are disposed on the encapsulation layer 400).
At the time of invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display panel of Lin in view of Li to include the teaching of Lee of providing a touch sensing unit disposed on an encapsulation layer. The motivation would have been in order to integrate an input device into the display panel.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ka et al. (US Pub. 2024/0203356 A1) discloses a display panel comprising red pixels, green pixels, and blue pixels in which red and blue pixels receive the same initialization voltage. Initialization voltages applied to red and blue pixels are different from an initialization voltage applied to a green pixel.
Inquiries
/NGUYEN H TRUONG/Examiner, Art Unit 2623
/CHANH D NGUYEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2623