2. EXAMINER’S NOTE: The claims have been reviewed and considered under the new guidance pursuant to the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance (PEG 2019) issued January 7, 2019.
3. This communication is in response to Applicant’s claims filed on 28 August 2024. Claims 1-20 remain pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
4. The Information Disclosure Statement respectfully submitted on 28 August 2024 has been considered by the Examiner.
Continued Prosecution Application
5. This application is a continuation-in-part of Serial No. 17/673,310 filed on 16 February 2022, which is now, US Patent No. 12,160,452, issued on 03 December 2024.
Double Patenting
Instant Application 18/817,942
Issued Application 12,160,452
1. A method comprising: obtaining, at a wireless station device operating in a wireless network, a default score relating to a level of security for one or more of a plurality of Media Access Control (MAC) addresses that may be used by the wireless station device, the default score relating to the level of security being specific to an access network provider for the wireless network and the default score being obtained via a wireless access point device to which the wireless station device is wirelessly connected; based at least in part on the default score, determining, at the wireless station device, when or how frequently the wireless station device is to rotate between addresses of the plurality of MAC addresses; and based on determining when or how frequently to rotate between addresses of the plurality of MAC addresses, rotating from a first address of the plurality of MAC addresses used by the wireless station device to a second address of the plurality of MAC addresses.
2. The method of claim 1, further comprising the wireless station device modifying the default score to produce a modified score related to the level of security of the plurality of MAC addresses, and wherein determining is performed based on the modified score.
3. The method of claim 2, wherein rotating from the first address of the plurality of MAC addresses used by the wireless station device to the second address of the plurality of MAC addresses comprises: based on the modified score, determining a number of bits of the first address of the plurality of MAC addresses to rotate; and generating the second address of the plurality of MAC addresses by rotating the number of bits of the first address of the plurality of MAC addresses.
4. The method of claim 2, further comprising: reporting the modified score as data relating to a level of security for one or more other MAC addresses of one or more other wireless station devices.
5. The method of claim 1, wherein determining when or how frequently to rotate between the addresses of the plurality of MAC addresses includes: determining a given window within which to rotate between the addresses of the plurality of MAC addresses; and selecting, from within the given window, a time at which to rotate between the addresses of the plurality of MAC addresses.
6. The method of claim 1, wherein obtaining further includes: obtaining an indication of whether the wireless network is public or private.
7. The method of claim 1, wherein the default score has been generated by a score assessment service for the access network provider for the wireless network.
8. The method of claim 1, wherein obtaining further includes: obtaining an indication of a number of other wireless station devices and/or a number of other wireless networks that are in proximity to the wireless station device.
9. The method of claim 1, further comprising: computing a score related to the level of security of the plurality of MAC addresses after rotating from the first address to the second address.
10. An apparatus comprising: a wireless network interface configured to wirelessly communicate with a wireless network on behalf of a wireless station device operating in the wireless network; and one or more processors coupled to the wireless network interface, wherein the one or more processors are configured to perform operations including: obtaining a default score relating to a level of security for one or more of a plurality of Media Access Control (MAC) addresses that may be used by the wireless station device, the default score relating to the level of security being specific to an access network provider for the wireless network and the default score being obtained via a wireless access point device to which the wireless station device is wirelessly connected; based at least in part on the default score, determining, when or how frequently to rotate between addresses of the plurality of MAC addresses; and based on determining when or how frequently to rotate between addresses of the plurality of MAC addresses, rotating from a first address of the plurality of MAC addresses to a second address of the plurality of MAC addresses.
11. The apparatus of claim 10, wherein the one or more processors are configured to modify the default score to produce a modified score related to the level of security of the plurality of MAC addresses, and wherein determining is performed based on the modified score.
12. The apparatus of claim 11, wherein the one or more processors are configured to perform rotating from the first address of the plurality of MAC addresses used by the wireless station device to the second address of the plurality of MAC addresses by: based on the modified score, determining a number of bits of the first address of the plurality of MAC addresses to rotate; and generating the second address of the plurality of MAC addresses by rotating the number of bits of the first address of the plurality of MAC addresses.
13. The apparatus of claim 11, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to perform: reporting the modified score as data relating to a level of security for one or more other MAC addresses of one or more station devices.
14. The apparatus of claim 10, wherein the one or more processors are configured to perform determining when or how frequently to rotate between the addresses of the plurality of MAC addresses by: determining a given window within which to rotate between the addresses of the plurality of MAC addresses; and selecting, from within the given window, a time at which to rotate between the addresses of the plurality of MAC addresses.
15. The apparatus of claim 10, wherein the one or more processors are configured to perform: obtaining an indication of whether the wireless network is public or private.
16. The apparatus of claim 10, wherein the default score has been generated by a score assessment service for the access network provider for the wireless network.
17. One or more non-transitory computer readable storage media encoded with instructions that, when executed by a processor of a wireless station device configured to wirelessly communicate in a wireless network, cause the processor to perform operations including: obtaining a default score relating to a level of security for one or more of a plurality of Media Access Control (MAC) addresses that may be used by the wireless station device, the default score relating to the level of security being specific to an access network provider for the wireless network and the default score being obtained via a wireless access point device to which the wireless station device is wirelessly connected; based at least in part on the default score, determining when or how frequently the wireless station device is to rotate between addresses of the plurality of MAC addresses; and based on determining when or how frequently to rotate between addresses of the plurality of MAC addresses, rotating from a first address of the plurality of MAC addresses used by the wireless station device to a second address of the plurality of MAC addresses.
18. The one or more non-transitory computer readable storage media of claim 17, further comprising instructions that cause the processor to perform: modifying the default score to produce a modified score related to the level of security of the plurality of MAC addresses, and wherein determining is performed based on the modified score.
19. The one or more non-transitory computer readable storage media of claim 18, wherein the instructions cause the processor to perform rotating from the first address of the plurality of MAC addresses used by the wireless station device to the second address of the plurality of MAC addresses by: based on the modified score, determining a number of bits of the first address of the plurality of MAC addresses to rotate; and generating the second address of the plurality of MAC addresses by rotating the number of bits of the first address of the plurality of MAC addresses.
20. The one or more non-transitory computer readable storage media of claim 17, wherein the default score has been generated by a score assessment service for the access network provider for the wireless network.
1. A method comprising: providing data from a wireless station device to a wireless access point in a wireless network using a first address of a plurality of Media Access Control (MAC) addresses of the wireless station device; obtaining, at the wireless station device, data relating to a level of security for one or more of the plurality of MAC addresses of the wireless station device; based on the data, computing, at the wireless station device, a score that represents the level of security for the one or more of the plurality of MAC addresses; using the score, determining, at the wireless station device, when or how frequently for the wireless station device to rotate between addresses of the plurality of MAC addresses; based on determining when or how frequently to rotate between addresses of the plurality of MAC addresses, rotating from the first address of the plurality of MAC addresses used by the wireless station device to a second address of the plurality of MAC addresses; providing data from the wireless station device to the wireless access point in the wireless network using the second address of the plurality of MAC addresses; obtaining, at the wireless station device, further data relating to the level of security for the one or more of the plurality of MAC addresses; and re-computing, at the wireless station device, the score that represents the level of security for the one or more of the plurality of MAC addresses.
2. The method of claim 1, wherein: obtaining the data includes: obtaining a default score that represents an estimated level of security for the one or more of the plurality of MAC addresses; and computing the score includes modifying the default score.
3. The method of claim 1, wherein rotating from the first address of the plurality of MAC addresses used by the wireless station device to the second address of the plurality of MAC addresses comprises: based on the score, determining a number of bits of the first address of the plurality of MAC addresses to rotate; and generating the second address of the plurality of MAC addresses by rotating the number of bits of the first address of the plurality of MAC addresses.
4. The method of claim 1, further comprising: reporting the score as data relating to a level of security for one or more other MAC addresses of one or more other wireless station devices.
5. The method of claim 1, wherein determining when or how frequently to rotate between the addresses of the plurality of MAC addresses includes: determining a given window within which to rotate between the addresses of the plurality of MAC addresses; and selecting, from within the given window, a time at which to rotate between the addresses of the plurality of MAC addresses.
6. The method of claim 1, wherein obtaining the data includes: obtaining an indication of whether the wireless network is public or private.
7. The method of claim 1, wherein obtaining the data includes: obtaining an indication of a type of authentication used in the wireless network.
8. The method of claim 1, wherein obtaining the data includes: obtaining an indication of a number of other wireless station devices and/or a number of other wireless networks that are in proximity to the wireless station device.
9. The method of claim 1, further comprising: in response to re-computing the score, changing when or how frequently to rotate between the addresses of the plurality of MAC addresses.
10. An apparatus comprising: a network interface configured to wirelessly communicate with a wireless network; and one or more processors coupled to the network interface, wherein the one or more processors are configured to perform operations on behalf of a wireless station device configured to wirelessly communicate with the wireless network via one or more wireless access points, the operations comprising: providing data from the wireless station device to the one or more wireless access points using a first address of a plurality of Media Access Control (MAC) addresses of the wireless station device; obtaining, at the wireless station device, data relating to a level of security for one or more of the plurality of MAC addresses of the wireless station device; based on the data, computing, at the wireless station device, a score that represents the level of security for the one or more of the plurality of MAC addresses; using the score, determining, at the wireless station device, when or how frequently to rotate between addresses of the plurality of MAC addresses; based on determining when or how frequently to rotate between addresses of the plurality of MAC addresses, rotating from the first address of the plurality of MAC addresses to a second address of the plurality of MAC addresses; providing data from the wireless station device to the one or more wireless access points in the wireless network using the second address of the plurality of MAC addresses; obtaining, at the wireless station device, further data relating to the level of security for the one or more of the plurality of MAC addresses; and re-computing, at the wireless station device, the score that represents the level of security for the one or more of the plurality of MAC addresses.
11. The apparatus of claim 10, wherein the operation of rotating from the first address of the plurality of MAC addresses used by the wireless station device to the second address of the plurality of MAC addresses comprises: obtaining a default score that represents an estimated level of security for the one or more of the plurality of MAC addresses; and modifying the default score.
12. The apparatus of claim 10, wherein the operations further comprise: based on the score, determining a number of bits of the first address of the plurality of MAC addresses to rotate; and generating the second address of the plurality of MAC addresses by rotating the number of bits of the first address of the plurality of MAC addresses.
13. The apparatus of claim 10, wherein the operations further comprise: reporting the score as data relating to a level of security for one or more other MAC addresses of one or more wireless station devices configured to wirelessly communicate with the wireless network.
14. The apparatus of claim 10, wherein the operations further comprise: determining a given window within which to rotate between the plurality of MAC addresses; and selecting, from within the given window, a time at which to rotate between the plurality of MAC addresses.
15. The apparatus of claim 10, wherein the operations further comprise: in response to re-computing the score, changing when or how frequently to rotate between the plurality of MAC addresses.
16. One or more non-transitory computer readable storage media encoded with instructions that, when executed by a processor of a wireless station device configured to wirelessly communicate with a wireless network via one or more wireless access points, cause the processor to: provide data from the wireless station device to the one or more wireless access points using a first address of a plurality of Media Access Control (MAC) addresses of the wireless station device; obtain, at the wireless station device, data relating to a level of security for one or more of the plurality of MAC addresses of the wireless station device; based on the data, compute, at the wireless station device, a score that represents the level of security for the one or more of the plurality of MAC addresses; using the score, determine, at the wireless station device, when or how frequently for the wireless station device to rotate between addresses of the plurality of MAC addresses; based on determining when or how frequently to rotate between addresses of the plurality of MAC addresses, rotate from the first address of the plurality of MAC addresses used by the wireless station device to a second address of the plurality of MAC addresses; provide data from the wireless station device to the one or more wireless access points in the wireless network using the second address of the plurality of MAC addresses; obtain, at the wireless station device, further data relating to the level of security for the one or more of the plurality of MAC addresses; and re-compute, at the wireless station device, the score that represents the level of security for the one or more of the plurality of MAC addresses.
17. The one or more non-transitory computer readable storage media of claim 16, wherein the instructions cause the processor to: obtain a default score that represents an estimated level of security for the one or more of the plurality of MAC addresses; obtain further data relating to the level of security for the one or more of the plurality of MAC addresses; and modify the default score based on the further data.
18. The one or more non-transitory computer readable storage media of claim 16, wherein the instructions further cause the processor to: based on the score, determine a number of bits of the first address of the plurality of MAC addresses to rotate; and generate the second address of the plurality of MAC addresses by rotating the number of bits of the first address of the plurality of MAC addresses.
19. The one or more non-transitory computer readable storage media of claim 16, wherein the instructions further cause the processor to: report the score as data relating to a level of security for one or more other MAC addresses of one or more other wireless station devices.
20. The one or more non-transitory computer readable storage media of claim 16, wherein the instructions further cause the processor to: determine a given window within which to rotate between the addresses of the plurality of MAC addresses; and select, from within the given window, a time at which to rotate between the addresses of the plurality of MAC addresses.
7. Claims 1-20 is rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,160,452. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because in both instances, the claims are drawn towards client-driven randomized and changing media access control (MAC) address (RCM) mechanism. The omission of re-computing at the wireless station device, the score that represents the level of security for the one or more of the plurality of MAC addresses” does not change the scope of the claims for the instant application and the issued application. Similarly, in both instances, a similarity measure may be attained wherein the RCM techniques can help prevent unauthorized tracking/fingerprinting of wireless clients is being performed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
10. Applicant has provided a submission in this file that the claimed invention and the subject matter disclosed in the prior art reference were owned by, or subject to an obligation of assignment to, the same entity as Cisco Technology not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, or the subject matter disclosed in the prior art reference was developed and the claimed invention was made by, or on behalf of one or more parties to a joint research agreement not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention. However, although subject matter disclosed in the reference Henry et al. (Pub No. 2021/0360465) has been excepted as prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2), it is still applicable as prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) that cannot be excepted under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C).
Applicant may overcome this rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) by a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application, and is therefore, not prior art as set forth in 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(1)(A). Alternatively, applicant may rely on the exception under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(1)(B) by providing evidence of a prior public disclosure via an affidavit or declaration under 37 CFR 1.130(b).
11. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Henry et al. (Pub No. 2021/0360465) in view of Reddy et al. (Pub No. 2018/0115982).
Referring to the rejection of claims 1, Henry et al. discloses a method comprising:
obtaining, at a wireless station device operating in a wireless network, a default score relating to a level of security for one or more of a plurality of Media Access Control (MAC) addresses that may be used by the wireless station device, (See Henry et al., para. 41-49 and 98, i.e., data relating to a level of security for MAC addresses is based on the type of authentication used in a wireless network, i.e. IEEE 802.11 station used to compute a similarity score disclosed as the default score) the default score relating to the level of security being specific to an access network provider for the wireless network, (See Henry et al., para. 98 and 108-110, based on the data computing a score between the two OTA station addresses based on the network traffic associated with the MAC address) and the default score being obtained via a wireless access point device to which the wireless station device is wirelessly connected; (See Henry et al., para. 36 and 136-138, wireless client disclosed as a wireless station device, item 102A configured to wirelessly communicate with a wireless network via one or more wireless access points, disclosed as access point, item 103A and providing data at a first wireless station device to a wireless access point using a first MAC address (M1) of the wireless station device to calculate a similarity score disclosed as a default score)
based at least in part on the default score, determining, at the wireless station device, when or how frequently the wireless station device is to rotate between addresses of the plurality of MAC addresses; (See Henry et al., para. 49-52 and 58-60, using the score will help determine when to rotate the MAC addresses based on rotating a selected number of bits of its MAC addresses)
However, Henry et al. fail to explicitly disclose based on determining when or how frequently to rotate between addresses of the plurality of MAC addresses, rotating from a first address of the plurality of MAC addresses used by the wireless station device to a second address of the plurality of MAC addresses.
Reddy et al. discloses techniques for reliable multicast in WLAN.
Reddy et al. discloses and based on determining when or how frequently to rotate between addresses of the plurality of MAC addresses, rotating from a first address of the plurality of MAC addresses used by the wireless station device to a second address of the plurality of MAC addresses. (See Reddy et al., para. 37-38 and 47-51, i.e. the rotation schedule specifies how frequently each MAC address respond back to each of the plurality of multicast frames, wherein rotating the first MAC address (M1) used by the wireless station device to a second MAC address (M2) based on the one or more multicast frames broadcasted by the transmitting device)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date the claimed invention was made to combine Henry et al.’s dynamic media access control addresses in a wireless network modified with Reddy et al.’s techniques for reliable multicast in WLAN.
Motivation for such an implementation would enable a secure method to select a plurality of leader wireless station devices to respond with an ACK message to a plurality of multicast frames broadcasted by a plurality of wireless access points on a rotational basis. (See Reddy et al., Abstract)
Referring to the rejection of claim 2, (Henry et al. modified by Reddy et al.) discloses further comprising the wireless station device modifying the default score to produce a modified score related to the level of security of the plurality of MAC addresses, and wherein determining is performed based on the modified score. (See Henry et al., para. 37 and 106-110)
Referring to the rejection of claim 3, (Henry et al. modified by Reddy et al.) discloses wherein rotating from the first address of the plurality of MAC addresses used by the wireless station device to the second address of the plurality of MAC addresses comprises: based on the modified score, determining a number of bits of the first address of the plurality of MAC addresses to rotate; and generating the second address of the plurality of MAC addresses by rotating the number of bits of the first address of the plurality of MAC addresses. (See Henry et al., para. 41-52 and 108-110)
Referring to the rejection of claim 4, (Henry et al. modified by Reddy et al.) discloses further comprising: reporting the modified score as data relating to a level of security for one or more other MAC addresses of one or more other wireless station devices. (See Henry et al. para. 108-110)
Referring to the rejection of claim 5, (Henry et al. modified by Reddy et al.) discloses wherein determining when or how frequently to rotate between the addresses of the plurality of MAC addresses includes: determining a given window within which to rotate between the addresses of the plurality of MAC addresses; and selecting, from within the given window, a time at which to rotate between the addresses of the plurality of MAC addresses. (See Reddy et al., para. 37-38 and 85-86)
The rationale for combining Henry et al. in view of Reddy et al. is the same as claim 1.
Referring to the rejection of claim 6, (Henry et al. modified by Reddy et al.) discloses wherein obtaining further includes: obtaining an indication of whether the wireless network is public or private. (See Henry et al., para. 35 and 71)
Referring to the rejection of claim 7, (Henry et al. modified by Reddy et al.) discloses wherein the default score has been generated by a score assessment service for the access network provider for the wireless network. (See Henry et al., para. 145)
Referring to the rejection of claim 8, (Henry et al. modified by Reddy et al.) discloses wherein obtaining further includes: obtaining an indication of a number of other wireless station devices and/or a number of other wireless networks that are in proximity to the wireless station device. (See Reddy et al., para. 59)
The rationale for combining Henry et al. in view of Reddy et al. is the same as claim 1.
Referring to the rejection of claim 9, (Henry et al. modified by Reddy et al.) discloses further comprising: computing a score related to the level of security of the plurality of MAC addresses after rotating from the first address to the second address. (See Henry et al., para. 136-137)
Referring to the rejection of claim 10, (Henry et al. modified by Reddy et al.) discloses an apparatus comprising: (See Fig. 19, computing device, item 1900 is disclosed as an apparatus)
a wireless network interface configured to wirelessly communicate with a wireless network on behalf of a wireless station device operating in the wireless network; (See Fig. 19, network interface disclosed as network input/output interface, item 1912 configured to wirelessly communicate with a wireless network)
and one or more processors coupled to the wireless network interface, wherein the one or more processors are configured to perform operations including: (See Fig. 19, one or more processors disclosed as processor, item 1902 coupled to the network interface)
obtaining a default score relating to a level of security for one or more of a plurality of Media Access Control (MAC) addresses that may be used by the wireless station device, (See Henry et al., para. 41-49 and 98, i.e., data relating to a level of security for MAC addresses is based on the type of authentication used in a wireless network, i.e. IEEE 802.11 station used to compute a similarity score disclosed as the default score) the default score relating to the level of security being specific to an access network provider for the wireless network (See Henry et al., para. 98 and 108-110, based on the data computing a score between the two OTA station addresses based on the network traffic associated with the MAC address)
and the default score being obtained via a wireless access point device to which the wireless station device is wirelessly connected; (See Henry et al., para. 36 and 136-138, wireless client disclosed as a wireless station device, item 102A configured to wirelessly communicate with a wireless network via one or more wireless access points, disclosed as access point, item 103A and providing data at a first wireless station device to a wireless access point using a first MAC address (M1) of the wireless station device to calculate a similarity score disclosed as a default score)
based at least in part on the default score, determining, when or how frequently to rotate between addresses of the plurality of MAC addresses; (See Henry et al., para. 49-52 and 58-60, using the score will help determine when to rotate the MAC addresses based on rotating a selected number of bits of its MAC addresses)
However, Henry et al. fail to explicitly disclose based on determining when or how frequently to rotate between addresses of the plurality of MAC addresses, rotating from a first address of the plurality of MAC addresses used by the wireless station device to a second address of the plurality of MAC addresses.
Reddy et al. discloses techniques for reliable multicast in WLAN.
Reddy et al. discloses and based on determining when or how frequently to rotate between addresses of the plurality of MAC addresses, rotating from a first address of the plurality of MAC addresses to a second address of the plurality of MAC addresses. (See Reddy et al., para. 37-38 and 47-51, i.e. the rotation schedule specifies how frequently each MAC address respond back to each of the plurality of multicast frames, wherein rotating the first MAC address (M1) used by the wireless station device to a second MAC address (M2) based on the one or more multicast frames broadcasted by the transmitting device)
The rationale for combining Henry et al. in view of Reddy et al. is the same as claim 1.
Referring to the rejection of claim 11, (Henry et al. modified by Reddy et al.) discloses wherein the one or more processors are configured to modify the default score to produce a modified score related to the level of security of the plurality of MAC addresses, and wherein determining is performed based on the modified score. (See Henry et al., para. 37 and 106-110)
Referring to the rejection of claim 12, (Henry et al. modified by Reddy et al.) discloses wherein the one or more processors are configured to perform rotating from the first address of the plurality of MAC addresses used by the wireless station device to the second address of the plurality of MAC addresses by: based on the modified score, determining a number of bits of the first address of the plurality of MAC addresses to rotate; and generating the second address of the plurality of MAC addresses by rotating the number of bits of the first address of the plurality of MAC addresses. (See Henry et al., para. 41-52 and 108-110)
Referring to the rejection of claim 13, (Henry et al. modified by Reddy et al.) discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to perform: reporting the modified score as data relating to a level of security for one or more other MAC addresses of one or more station devices. (See Henry et al. para. 108-110)
Referring to the rejection of claim 14, (Henry et al. modified by Reddy et al.) discloses wherein the one or more processors are configured to perform determining when or how frequently to rotate between the addresses of the plurality of MAC addresses by: determining a given window within which to rotate between the addresses of the plurality of MAC addresses; and selecting, from within the given window, a time at which to rotate between the addresses of the plurality of MAC addresses. (See Reddy et al., para. 37-38 and 85-86)
The rationale for combining Henry et al. in view of Reddy et al. is the same as claim 1.
Referring to the rejection of claim 15, (Henry et al. modified by Reddy et al.) discloses wherein the one or more processors are configured to perform: obtaining an indication of whether the wireless network is public or private. (See Henry et al., para. 35 and 71)
Referring to the rejection of claim 16, (Henry et al. modified by Reddy et al.) discloses wherein the default score has been generated by a score assessment service for the access network provider for the wireless network. (See Henry et al., para. 145)
Referring to the rejection of claim 17, (Henry et al. modified by Reddy et al.) discloses one or more non-transitory computer readable storage media encoded with instructions that, (See Fig. 19, storage, item 1906 is discloses as non-transitory computer readable storage media) when executed by a processor of a wireless station device configured to wirelessly communicate in a wireless network, cause the processor to perform operations including: (See Fig. 1A and para. 36, wireless client disclosed as a wireless station device, item 102A configured to wirelessly communicate with a wireless network via one or more wireless access points, disclosed as access point, item 103A)
obtaining a default score relating to a level of security for one or more of a plurality of Media Access Control (MAC) addresses that may be used by the wireless station device, (See Henry et al., para. 41-49 and 98, i.e., data relating to a level of security for MAC addresses is based on the type of authentication used in a wireless network, i.e. IEEE 802.11 station used to compute a similarity score disclosed as the default score) the default score relating to the level of security being specific to an access network provider for the wireless network (See Henry et al., para. 98 and 108-110, based on the data computing a score between the two OTA station addresses based on the network traffic associated with the MAC address) and the default score being obtained via a wireless access point device to which the wireless station device is wirelessly connected; (See Henry et al., para. 36 and 136-138, wireless client disclosed as a wireless station device, item 102A configured to wirelessly communicate with a wireless network via one or more wireless access points, disclosed as access point, item 103A and providing data at a first wireless station device to a wireless access point using a first MAC address (M1) of the wireless station device to calculate a similarity score disclosed as a default score)
based at least in part on the default score, determining when or how frequently the wireless station device is to rotate between addresses of the plurality of MAC addresses; (See Henry et al., para. 49-52 and 58-60, using the score will help determine when to rotate the MAC addresses based on rotating a selected number of bits of its MAC addresses)
However, Henry et al. fail to explicitly disclose based on determining when or how frequently to rotate between addresses of the plurality of MAC addresses, rotating from a first address of the plurality of MAC addresses used by the wireless station device to a second address of the plurality of MAC addresses.
Reddy et al. discloses techniques for reliable multicast in WLAN.
Reddy et al. discloses and based on determining when or how frequently to rotate between addresses of the plurality of MAC addresses, rotating from a first address of the plurality of MAC addresses used by the wireless station device to a second address of the plurality of MAC addresses. (See Reddy et al., para. 37-38 and 47-51, i.e. the rotation schedule specifies how frequently each MAC address respond back to each of the plurality of multicast frames, wherein rotating the first MAC address (M1) used by the wireless station device to a second MAC address (M2) based on the one or more multicast frames broadcasted by the transmitting device)
The rationale for combining Henry et al. in view of Reddy et al. is the same as claim 1.
Referring to the rejection of claim 18, (Henry et al. modified by Reddy et al.) discloses further comprising instructions that cause the processor to perform: modifying the default score to produce a modified score related to the level of security of the plurality of MAC addresses, and wherein determining is performed based on the modified score. (See Henry et al., para. 37 and 106-110)
Referring to the rejection of claim 19, (Henry et al. modified by Reddy et al.) discloses wherein the instructions cause the processor to perform rotating from the first address of the plurality of MAC addresses used by the wireless station device to the second address of the plurality of MAC addresses by: based on the modified score, determining a number of bits of the first address of the plurality of MAC addresses to rotate; and generating the second address of the plurality of MAC addresses by rotating the number of bits of the first address of the plurality of MAC addresses. (See Henry et al., para. 41-52 and 108-110)
Referring to the rejection of claim 20, (Henry et al. modified by Reddy et al.) discloses wherein the default score has been generated by a score assessment service for the access network provider for the wireless network. (See Henry et al., para. 145)
Conclusion
/COURTNEY D FIELDS/Examiner, Art Unit 2436 December 31, 2025
/SHEWAYE GELAGAY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2436