Claims 1-17 are pending.
Claims 1-17 have been examined.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the "rib" must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4, 6, 9, and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites “the squab frame comprises one of a slot and a rib, a slider being received in or on the one of the slot and the rib.” It is understood that the slider can slide in the slot 25, however it is unclear what is “a rib”, and how the slider is attached to a rib.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the stop relief" in –lines 4, 5 and 6--. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 6 recites “then the first and second reliefs are not in contact and when the slider is in contact with the stop relief.” It appears there are only two reliefs, the first and second reliefs, therefore it is not clear what is the “stop relief.”
Claim 9 recites “comprising an actuator for controlling the movement of the second element.” There is only one actuator labeled on the drawings, it is unclear if “an actuator” is the same as the “linear actuator” or a different actuator. For purposes of examination, Examiner will read the limitation to state that “comprising the linear actuator for controlling the movement of the second element” based on the drawings and discussion above.
Claim 14 recites “the method comprising step i) consisting in moving the second element.” It is unclear what is meant by “consisting in.”
Claim 15 recites “preceding step i), consisting in moving the second element.” It is unclear what is meant by “consisting in.”
Claim 13 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 13 recites “wherein the linear actuator is mounted at a second end to pivot about a second axis transverse to a front end of the squab frame,” which is already mentioned in claim 1, “a linear actuator mounted at a first end to pivot about a first axis transverse to the second element of the at least one slideway, the linear actuator being mounted at a second end to pivot about a second axis transverse to the squab frame.”
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, and 7-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roche (US 11850974) in view of Schwartz (US 4720143) and Sivaraj (US 10829014).
As concerns claim 1, Roche teaches A vehicle seat assembly comprising: a squab frame (Roche, fig. 1: 48); at least one slideway (Roche, fig. 1: 16), the slideway (Roche, fig. 1: 16) comprising a first element (Roche, fig. 1: 32) and a second element (Roche, fig. 1: 36) movable relative to the first element (Roche, fig. 1: 32) in the longitudinal direction of the vehicle seat assembly (Roche, fig. 1: 10), at least one connecting rod (Roche, fig. 2: 24); wherein: the squab frame (Roche, fig. 1: 48) is pivotable relative to the second element (Roche, fig. 1: 36) of the slideway (Roche, fig. 1: 16) about a third transverse axis, the third transverse axis being in the vicinity of a front end of the vehicle seat assembly (Roche, fig. 1: 10) opposite a rear end of the vehicle seat assembly (Roche, fig. 1: 10) in the longitudinal direction; a first end of the at least one connecting rod (Roche, fig. 2: 24) is mounted so as to pivot relative to the first element (Roche, fig. 1: 32) of the at least one slideway (Roche, fig. 1: 16), about a fourth transverse axis; the at least one connecting rod (Roche, fig. 2: 24) being pivotable relative to the squab frame (Roche, fig. 1: 48) about a fifth transverse axis; a stop (Roche, fig. 2: 34) limiting the movement of the second end of the at least one connecting rod (Roche, fig. 2: 24) relative to the squab frame (Roche, fig. 1: 48) in the longitudinal direction, towards the rear end of the vehicle seat assembly (Roche, fig. 1: 10); the length of the stroke of the second element (Roche, fig. 2: 36) relative to the first element (Roche, fig. 1: 32) of the at least one slideway (Roche, fig. 1: 16), the length of the at least one connecting rod (Roche, fig. 2: 24) and the position of the stop (Roche, fig. 2: 34) being shaped so that a movement of the second element (Roche, fig. 1: 36) relative to the first element (Roche, fig. 1: 32) of the at least one slideway (Roche, fig. 1: 16) tends to increase the distance between the third transverse axis and the fourth transverse axis, while the second end of the connecting rod (Roche, fig. 2: 24) is in abutment limiting the movement of the second end of the at least one connecting rod (Roche, fig. 2: 24) relative to the squab frame (Roche, fig. 1: 48) in the longitudinal direction, towards the rear end of the vehicle seat assembly (Roche, fig. 1: 10), causes the squab frame (Roche, fig. 1: 48) to rotate about the third transverse axis.
However, Roche does not teach a linear actuator or the second end of the at least one connecting rod is guided in translation relative to the squab frame.
Schwartz teaches a linear actuator (Schwartz, fig. 4: 130) mounted at a first end to pivot about a first axis transverse to the second element of the at least one slideway, the linear actuator (Schwartz, fig. 4: 130) being mounted at a second end to pivot about a second axis transverse to the squab frame.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date to the invention, to modify the vehicle seat assembly as taught by Roche to include a linear actuator as taught by Schwartz in order for the user to move the seat into an easy entry position.
Sivaraj teaches the second end of the at least one connecting rod is guided in translation (Sivaraj, column 6, lines 37-40) relative to the squab frame, in the longitudinal direction.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date to the invention, to modify the vehicle seat assembly as taught by Roche to include the teachings of Sivaraj in order to better move the seat into an easy entry position.
As concerns claim 2, Roche discloses the vehicle seat assembly (Roche, fig. 1: 10) comprises a latch (Roche, fig. 5:38) for selectively attaching a rear end of the squab frame (Roche, fig. 1: 48) to the second element (Roche, fig. 1: 36) of the at least one slideway (Roche, fig. 1: 16).
As concerns claim 3, Roche discloses the vehicle seat assembly (Roche, fig. 1: 10) comprising a device for unlatching (Roche, column 16, lines 33-34) the latch (Roche, fig. 5:38) at least when the second end of the connecting rod (Roche, fig. 2: 24) is in abutment limiting the movement of the second end of the at least one connecting rod (Roche, fig. 2: 24) relative to the squab frame (Roche, fig. 1: 48) in the longitudinal direction, towards the rear end of the vehicle seat assembly (Roche, fig. 1: 10).
As concerns claim 4, Roche discloses wherein the squab frame (Roche, fig. 1: 48) comprises one of a slot (Roche, fig. 5: 30) and a rib, a slider (Roche, fig. 1: 28) being received in or on the one of the slot (Roche, fig. 5: 30) and the rib, sliding in the longitudinal direction, the slider (Roche, fig. 1: 28) being attached in the vicinity of the second end of the at least one connecting rod (Roche, fig. 2: 24), fixed or free to rotate about a transverse axis.
As concerns claim 5, Roche discloses wherein the stop (Roche, fig. 2: 34) is formed by a relief configured to cooperate with the slideway (Roche, fig. 1: 16) to limit movement of the second end of the at least one connecting rod (Roche, fig. 2: 24) relative to the squab frame (Roche, fig. 1: 48) in the longitudinal direction.
As concerns claim 7, Roche discloses wherein the squab frame (Roche, fig. 1: 48) comprises a slot (Roche, fig. 5: 30) and the stop relief (Roche, fig. 2: 34) is a non-opening longitudinal end of the slot (Roche, fig. 5: 30).
As concerns claim 8, Roche teaches the vehicle seat assembly (Roche, fig. 1: 10) comprising two slideways (Roche, fig. 1: 16) spaced apart in a transverse direction of the vehicle seat assembly (Roche, fig. 1: 10), the squab frame (Roche, fig. 1: 48) being fixed to the second element (Roche, fig. 1: 36) of each slideway (Roche, fig. 1: 16) so as to pivot about the same third transverse axis, a connecting rod (Roche, fig. 2: 24) is mounted between the first element (Roche, fig. 1: 32) of each slideway (Roche, fig. 1: 16) and the squab frame (Roche, fig. 1: 48), the two connecting rods (Roche, fig. 2: 24) being connected by means of a cross-member (Roche, fig. 1: 48-3), the first end of each connecting rod (Roche, fig. 2: 24) being mounted so as to pivot relative to the first element (Roche, fig. 1: 32) of a respective slideway (Roche, fig. 1: 16) about the same fourth transverse axis, and the connecting rods (Roche, fig. 2: 24) being pivotable relative to the squab frame (Roche, fig. 1: 48) about the same fifth transverse axis, in the vicinity of their second end.
However, Roche does not teach the second end of each connecting rod being guided in translation (Sivaraj, column 6, lines 37-40) relative to the squab frame, in the longitudinal direction.
Sivaraj teaches the second end of each connecting rod being guided in translation (Sivaraj, column 6, lines 37-40) relative to the squab frame, in the longitudinal direction; and the fifth axis being movable in the longitudinal direction by translation (Sivaraj, column 6, lines 37-40) of the second end of the connecting rods.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date to the invention, to modify the vehicle seat assembly as taught by Roche to include the teachings of Sivaraj in order to better move the seat into an easy entry position.
As concerns claim 9, the Roche as modified by Schwartz as discussed above teaches the actuator for controlling the movement of the second element.
As concerns claim 10, Roche discloses the vehicle seat assembly (Roche, fig. 1: 10) comprising two seats arranged transversely next to each other (Roche, column 4, lines 27-29).
As concerns claim 11, Schwartz teaches the linear actuator (Schwartz, fig. 4: 130) is a cylinder (Schwartz, column 4, lines 61-64 ).
As concerns claim 12, Schwartz teaches the linear actuator (Schwartz, fig. 4: 130) is a gas spring (Schwartz, column 4, lines 61-64 ).
As concerns claim 13, the Roche as modified by Schwartz as discussed above teaches the actuator mounted at a second end to pivot about a second axis transverse to a front end of the squab frame.
As concerns claim 14, Roche discloses a method of operating the vehicle seat assembly (Roche, fig. 1: 10) allowing for switching from a first configuration (Roche, nominal position is shown in fig. 1) suitable for accommodating an occupant, to a second configuration (Roche, easy entry position is shown in fig. 5) of easy entry, the method comprising step i) consisting in moving the second element (Roche, fig. 1: 36) of the at least one slideway (Roche, fig. 1: 16) relative to the associated first element (Roche, fig. 1: 32) in a direction tending to increase the distance between the third transverse axis and the fourth transverse axis while the second end of the at least one connecting rod (Roche, fig. 2: 24) is in abutment limiting the movement of the second end of the at least one connecting rod (Roche, fig. 2: 24) relative to the squab frame (Roche, fig. 1: 48) in the longitudinal direction, towards the rear end of the vehicle seat assembly (Roche, fig. 1: 10).
As concerns claim 15, Roche discloses the method of operating the vehicle seat assembly (Roche, fig. 1: 10) comprising a step ii), preceding step i), consisting in moving the second element (Roche, fig. 1: 36) of the at least one slideway (Roche, fig. 1: 16) relative to the associated first element (Roche, fig. 1: 32), until the second end of the at least one connecting rod (Roche, fig. 2: 24) is in abutment limiting the movement of the second end of the at least one connecting rod (Roche, fig. 2: 24) relative to the squab frame (Roche, fig. 1: 48) in the longitudinal direction, towards the rear end of the vehicle seat assembly (Roche, fig. 1: 10).
As concerns claim 16, Roche discloses the vehicle seat assembly (Roche, fig. 1: 10) comprising a latch (Roche, fig. 5: 38) for selectively attaching a rear end of the squab frame (Roche, fig. 1: 48) to the second element (Roche, fig. 1: 36) of the at least one slideway (Roche, fig. 1: 16), the method comprising a step of unlatching the latch (Roche, fig. 5: 38).
As concerns claim 17, Roche discloses wherein the step of unlatching the latch (Roche, fig. 5: 38) occurs prior to the second end of the at least one connecting rod (Roche, fig. 2: 24) coming into abutment limiting the movement of the second end of the at least one connecting rod (Roche, fig. 2: 24) relative to the squab frame (Roche, fig. 1: 48) in the longitudinal direction, towards the rear end of the vehicle seat assembly (Roche, fig. 1: 10).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art fails to teach:
wherein the squab frame comprises a first relief, the at least one connecting rod comprises a second relief and the first and second reliefs are shaped so that, when the slider is moved without being in contact with the stop relief, then the first and second reliefs are not in contact and when the slider is in contact with the stop relief, then the first and second reliefs are in contact so as to prevent the slider from moving away from the stop relief .
Further, there is no teaching, suggestion or motivation to modify the prior art absent hindsight.
Conclusion
JESSICA K THOMPSON
Examiner
Art Unit 3636
/DAVID R DUNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3636