DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-14 are pending and claims 15-20 have been cancelled.
Election/Restriction
Applicant's election with traverse of group I in the reply filed on 9/11/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there is no undue burden to search both the inventions (group I and II). Although the argument is not persuasive, since a different search, such as a different search query is required for group II, and the Inventions are related as apparatus and product made, (MPEP § 806.05(g)), for the purposes of this action, the restriction is withdrawn.
Drawings
Color photographs and color drawings are not accepted in utility applications unless a petition filed under 37 CFR 1.84(a)(2) is granted. Any such petition must be accompanied by the appropriate fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(h), one set of color drawings or color photographs, as appropriate, if submitted via the USPTO patent electronic filing system or three sets of color drawings or color photographs, as appropriate, if not submitted via the via USPTO patent electronic filing system, and, unless already present, an amendment to include the following language as the first paragraph of the brief description of the drawings section of the specification:
The patent or application file contains at least one drawing executed in color. Copies of this patent or patent application publication with color drawing(s) will be provided by the Office upon request and payment of the necessary fee.
Color photographs will be accepted if the conditions for accepting color drawings and black and white photographs have been satisfied. See 37 CFR 1.84(b)(2).
Photographs.—
(1) Black and white. Photographs, including photocopies of photographs, are not ordinarily permitted in utility and design patent applications. The Office will accept photographs in utility and design patent applications, however, if photographs are the only practicable medium for illustrating the claimed invention. For example, photographs or photomicrographs of: electrophoresis gels, blots (e.g., immunological, western, Southern, and northern), auto- radiographs, cell cultures (stained and unstained), histological tissue cross sections (stained and unstained), animals, plants, in vivo imaging, thin layer chromatography plates, crystalline structures, and, in a design patent application, ornamental effects, are acceptable. If the subject matter of the application admits of illustration by a drawing, the examiner may require a drawing in place of the photograph. The photographs must be of sufficient quality so that all details in the photographs are reproducible in the printed patent.
(2) Color photographs. Color photographs will be accepted in utility and design patent applications if the conditions for accepting color drawings and black and white photographs have been satisfied. See paragraphs (a)(2) and (b)(1) of this section 37 CFR 1.84.
New corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in this application because of the clarity of the “drawings”.
The drawings are objected to because; the lines and numbers have poor quality, see 37CFR 1.84. (l) Character of lines, numbers, and letters. All drawings must be made by a process which will give them satisfactory reproduction characteristics. Every line, number, and letter must be durable, clean, black (except for color drawings), sufficiently dense and dark, and uniformly thick and well-defined. The weight of all lines and letters must be heavy enough to permit adequate reproduction. This requirement applies to all lines however fine, to shading, and to lines representing cut surfaces in sectional views. Lines and strokes of different thicknesses may be used in the same drawing where different thicknesses have a different meaning. (p)(3) Numbers, letters, and reference characters must measure at least .32 cm. (1/8 inch) in height. They should not be placed in the drawing so as to interfere with its comprehension. Therefore, they should not cross or mingle with the lines. They should not be placed upon hatched or shaded surfaces. When necessary, such as indicating a surface or cross section, a reference character may be underlined and a blank space may be left in the hatching or shading where the character occurs so that it appears distinct.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims, due to the clarity of the drawings these features are not seen. Therefore, the first valve and second valve (claims 4,5), and the scale attached to the refrigerant supply for measuring an amount of refrigerant (claim 10), must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: the specification must include a section regarding related applications if in fact this is a continuation of a previous application.
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: the limitations in claim 10, of, “a scale attached to the refrigerant supply for measuring an amount of refrigerant” are not provided in the specification. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 4,5 and 8 are objected to because of the following informalities: the limitations; in claim 4, “operative ”, should be changed to, - -operatively - -;
in claim 5, “connect”, should be changed to, - -connected - -;
in claim 8, “and hose attached to the device”, should be changed to, - - and the vacuum hose attached to the device - -. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, regards as the invention. Claim 14 recites the limitation "the fitting/tool device".
There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Prescott et al. (US 20180073647).
Regarding claim 1, Prescott et al. disclose a device (60, see Fig. 15) comprising: a body portion (the portion having the gages and connections) having a fluid passageway therethrough; a first fitting (right bottom fitting) at a first end (the right end) of the body portion, wherein the first fitting is adapted to connect to a quick connect AC line; a second fitting (middle bottom fitting) at a second end (from the middle to the left end) of the body portion, wherein the second fitting is adapted to connect to a vacuum hose.
Regarding claim 2, Prescott et al. disclose a third fitting (top right) on the body portion, wherein the third fitting (top right fitting with gage) is adapted to connect to a micron gauge.
Regarding claim 3, Prescott et al. disclose a fourth fitting (Bottom left fitting) on the body portion, wherein the fourth fitting is adapted to connect to a refrigerant line (52 or the line from 15 to 10C).
Regarding claim 4, Prescott et al. disclose the second fitting is operative connected to a first valve (right valve 54).
Regarding claim 5, Prescott et al. disclose the third fitting is operatively connect to a second valve (left valve 54).
Regarding claim 6, Prescott et al. disclose the fourth fitting (bottom left fitting) is adapted to connect to a refrigerant line (the line between 15 to 10C) having a valve (10C).
Regarding claim 7, Prescott et al. disclose the second fitting is further adapted to connect to a refrigerant line (the line between 18 and the second fitting).
Claim(s) 8,9 and 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Mock (US 4881961).
Regarding claim 8, Mock discloses a system device “for converting an AC unit having an evaporator and two AC lines into a quick connect AC unit”, comprising in combination:
a device (the assembly of 20 with gages and valves) having a body portion (20, 5,5’) having a fluid passageway therethrough,
a first fitting (at 5) at a first end (bottom end) of the body portion, wherein the first fitting is adapted to connect to a quick connect AC line,
a second fitting (at 5’) at a second end (right end) of the body portion, wherein the second fitting is adapted to connect to a vacuum hose (as shown below 5’ is connected to 36); a vacuum pump (30) and hose (36) attached to the device; a refrigerant supply (32) and supply line (37) attached to the device; and a micron gauge (26) attached to the device.
Regarding " for converting an AC unit having an evaporator and two AC lines into a quick connect AC unit", a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Regarding claim 9, Mock discloses the device has at least three fittings (as shown above there are 9 fittings).
Regarding claim 11, Mock discloses one of the at least three fittings has a valve (valve marked as “V” above, four valves are shown).
Regarding claim 12, Mock discloses two of the at least three fittings have a valve (valve marked as “V” above, four valves are shown).
Regarding claim 13, Mock discloses the refrigerant supply line has a valve (at 11).
Regarding claim 14, Mock discloses, as best understood, the fitting tool/device has at least four fittings (as shown above there are 9 fittings).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mock ‘961 in view of Manz et al. (US 5005375).
Regarding claim 10, Mock discloses all of the features of the claimed invention, although is silent that a scale attached to the refrigerant supply for measuring an amount of refrigerant.
Manz et al. teach the use of a scale (90) attached to the refrigerant supply for measuring an amount of refrigerant.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ a scale as taught by Manz et al. into the device of Mock to have a scale attached to the refrigerant supply for measuring an amount of refrigerant, in order to alert a user that the weight of the tank is at a condition where it needs to be replaced.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/uspto-automated-interview-request-air-form.
/CRAIG J PRICE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753