DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “129a” has been used to designate both discharge hole and pump discharge space. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference characters "129a" and "129b" have both been used to designate pump discharge surface. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference characters "129a" and "129c" have both been used to designate discharge hole. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the claimed first side, second side in claim 1 and the claimed features in claim 5 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kitayama et al. (IS 10,526,746 B2).
Kitayama et al. discloses a laundry treatment apparatus D (Fig. 1) comprising: a cabinet 1 that defines an external appearance of the laundry treatment apparatus; a drum 4 rotatably located in the cabinet 1; a driver (col. 6, lines 47-52, motor) configured to rotate the drum; a base (Fig. 1) disposed below the drum 4 including a duct 6 defines a circulation passage (Fig. 1, A1, A2, A3) configured to communicate with the drum 4; a heat pump 9 (Fig. 3) comprising a heat exchanger 9a, 9b that is located in the duct 6 and configured to heat air; a discharge unit 6a, 6b, 11, 19 (Fig. 7) configured to discharge water condensed by the heat exchanger 9a; and a water pump 19 disposed at the base and disposed outside the duct 6 and configured to provide the water condensed by the heat exchanger 9a to the discharge unit, wherein the base comprises: a water collection chamber (Fig. 6, formed between bottom of 9a and portion of 6a under 9a) that is defined at a bottom of the duct 6 and configured to collect the water condensed by the heat exchanger 9a, and a discharge hole 6b that passes through a first side of the duct 6 and fluidly connects the water collection chamber (Fig. 6), and wherein the water collection chamber comprises: a guide discharge surface 6a (Fig. 6, col. 8, lines 23-32) extended from a second side of the duct facing the first side toward the discharge hole 6b to guide water to the discharge hole 6b.
Regarding claim 2, Kitayama et al. discloses wherein one end of the guide discharge surface 6a that connects to the second side is disposed either forward or backward relative to another end of the guiding discharge surface 6a that connects to the first side (Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 3, Kitayama et al. discloses wherein the guide discharge surface 6a is extended in a curve from the second side of the duct to the discharge hole 6b (Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 4, Kitayama et al. discloses wherein the guide discharge surface 6a defines a curve that bends away from the discharge hole 6b (Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 5, Kitayama et al. discloses wherein a portion of the guide discharge surface 6a overlaps with the discharge hole 6b in a direction from the first side toward the second side (Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 6, Kitayama et al. discloses wherein the guide discharge surface 6a protrudes from a bottom of the water collection chamber (Fig. 6, portion of 6a at left and right of 9a).
Regarding claim 7, Kitayama et al. discloses wherein a top of the guide discharge surface 6a is disposed higher than the discharge hole 6b (Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 8, Kitayama et al. discloses wherein the water collection chamber further comprises a first discharge surface (Fig. 6, portion of 6a upstream and downstream of heat exchanger 9a respectively) disposed in front or rear of the guide discharge surface 6a, and wherein the first discharge surface is configured to guide water to the guide discharge surface (Fig. 6, guide discharge surface 6a at 6b).
Regarding claim 9, Kitayama et al. discloses wherein the first discharge surface is disposed to slope toward the guide discharge surface (Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 10, Kitayama et al. discloses wherein the first discharge surface is disposed to slope toward the discharge hole 6b (Fig. 6).
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3, 6-7 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims1, 8-9 of U.S. Patent No. 12,104,313. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because in the patent, claim 9 is dependent on claim 8, which is in turn dependent on claim 1. Claim 1 recites an “a laundry treatment apparatus” (see line 1 of claim 1 of the patent), “a cabinet” (see line 2 of claim 1 of the patent), “a drum” (see line 4 of claim 1 of the patent), “a driver” (see line 5 of claim 1 of the patent), “ a base” (see line 15 of claim 1 of the patent), “a duct” (see line 6 of claim 1 of the patent), “a heat pump” (see line 8 of claim 1 of the patent), “a discharge unit” (see line 10 of claim 1 of the patent), “a water pump” (see line 12 of claim 1 of the patent), “a water collection chamber” (see line 19 of claim 1 of the patent), “a discharge hole” (see line 22 of claim 1 of the patent) and “a guide discharge surface” (see line 26 of claim 1 and claims 8-9 of the patent). It is clear that all the elements of claim 1 are to be found in claim 9 (as it encompasses claims 8 and 1). The difference between claim 1 of the application and claim 9 of the patent lies in the fact that the patent claim includes many more elements and is thus much more specific. Thus the invention of claim 9 of the patent is in effect a “species” of the “generic” invention of claim 1. It has been held that the generic invention is “anticipated” by the “species”. See In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Since claim 1 is anticipated by claim 9 of the patent, it is not patentably distinct from claim 9.
As to claim 3, see claim 8 of the patent.
As to claim 6, see claim 8 of the patent.
As to claim 7, see past paragraph of claim 1 of the patent.
Conclusion
/Jessica Yuen/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3762
JY