DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
2. Pursuant to the amendment filed May 8, 2026, claims 1-10 are pending. The applicant has amended claim 10. The applicant has amended claims 1-9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1-4, 6-9, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manci et al. (US 2016/0347248 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Manci discloses:
a safety system for localizing at least one mobile object that has a variable location ([0054]; FIG. 2: 220), comprising at least one control and evaluation unit ([0048]; FIG. 2: 204), comprising at least one radio location system ([0054]; FIG. 2: 220), and comprising at least one safety controller ([0048], [0064]; FIG. 2: 204),
wherein at least one radio transponder is arranged at the at least mobile object ([0054]; FIG. 2: 220) ;
wherein position data of the at least one radio transponder and the at least one mobile object is determined by the at least one radio location system ([0054]; FIG. 2: 220),
wherein the position data is transmitted from the at least one radio location system to the at least one control and evaluation unit ([0054]; FIG. 2: 204, 220),
wherein the at least one control and evaluation unit is configured to cyclically detect the position data of the at least one radio transponder ([0054], [0085]; FIG. 2: 204, 220);
wherein the at least one control and evaluation unit is configured to evaluate the position data of the at least one radio location system ([0048], [0085]; FIG. 2: 204), and
Manci does not explicitly disclose that the radio transponder has respective safe primary signal outputs, and the at least one radio transponder has at least respective one safe secondary signal output, but Manci does disclose that the radio transponder is in electrical communication with the controller ([0048], [0054]; FIG. 2: 204, 220); Manci does disclose that the radio transponder detects geo-features ([0085]); and Manci does disclose that upon the detection of a geo-feature, the controller issues multiple alerts ([0064], [0081], 0111], [0153]), which suggests that the system of Manci comprises that the radio transponder has respective safe primary signal outputs, and the at least one radio transponder has at least respective one safe secondary signal output for the benefit of enabling the safety controller to issue multiple alerts after the transponder detects a geo-feature;
it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to have configured the system of Manci in the foregoing manner because that would have enabled the safety controller to issue multiple alerts after the transponder detects a geo-feature;
with the safe primary signal output being electronically connected to the safety controller ([0081], [0111], [0153]); and
wherein the safe primary signal outputs are electronically connected to the at least one safety controller ([0081], [0111], [0153]), and
wherein the at least one safe secondary signal output is connected to the safety controller ([0081], [0111], [0153]).
Regarding claim 2, Manci discloses that the at least one radio transponder has at least one safe signal input, with the at least one safe signal input being connected to the at least one safety controller. ([0070], [0081], [0111], [0153])
Regarding claim 3, Manci does not explicitly disclose that the at least one radio transponder has at least one trigger signal input, with the at least one trigger signal input being connected to the at least one safety controller, but Manci does disclose that the radio transponder is in electrical communication with the controller ([0048], [0054]; FIG. 2: 204, 220); Manci does disclose that the radio transponder detects geo-features ([0085]); and Manci does disclose that upon the detection of a geo-feature, the controller issues an alert ([0064]), which suggests that the system of Manci comprises that the at least one radio transponder has at least one trigger signal input, with the at least one trigger signal input being connected to the at least one safety controller for the benefit of enabling the safety controller to issue an alert after the transponder detects a geo-feature.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to have configured the system of Manci in the foregoing manner because that would have enabled the safety controller to issue an alert after the transponder detects a geo-feature.
Regarding claim 4, Manci discloses that at least one spatially resolving sensor is provided in a detection zone of the at least one spatially resolving sensor for detection of at least one object. ([0050], [0054], [0109])
Regarding claim 6, Manci discloses that a first inspection unit is provided, with the first inspection unit being connected to the at least one control and evaluation unit, and with the inspection unit being configured to check the at least one control and evaluation unit. ([0048]; FIG. 2: 204)
Regarding claim 7, Manci discloses:
a safety system for localizing at least one mobile object that has a variable location (([0054]; FIG. 2: 220), comprising at least one control and evaluation unit ([0048]; FIG. 2: 204), comprising at least one radio location system ([0054]; FIG. 2: 220), and comprising at least one safety controller ([0048], [0064]; FIG. 2: 204),
wherein at least one radio transponder is arranged at the at least one mobile object ([0054]; FIG. 2: 220),
wherein position data of the at least one radio transponder and the at least one mobile object is determined by the at least one radio location system ([0054]; FIG. 2: 220),
wherein the position data is transmitted from the at least one radio location system to the at least one control and evaluation unit ([0054]; FIG. 2: 204, 220),
wherein the at least one control and evaluation unit is further configured to cyclically detect the position data of the at least one radio transponder ([0054], [0085]; FIG. 2: 204, 220),
wherein the at least one control and evaluation unit is further configured to evaluate the position data of the at least one radio location system ([0048], [0085]; FIG. 2: 204),
Manci does not explicitly disclose that the at least one radio transponder has at least one respective safe bidirectional interface, but Manci does disclose that the radio transponder is in electrical communication with the controller ([0048], [0054]; FIG. 2: 204, 220); Manci does disclose that the radio transponder detects geo-features ([0085]); and Manci does disclose that upon the detection of a geo-feature, the controller issues an alert ([0064]), which suggests that the system of Manci comprises that the at least one radio transponder has at least one respective safe bidirectional interface for the benefit of enabling the safety controller to issue an alert after the transponder detects a geo-feature,
it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to have configured the system of Manci in the foregoing manner because that would have enabled the safety controller to issue an alert after the transponder detects a geo-feature;
wherein the at least one safe bidirectional interface is electronically connected to the at least one safety controller ([0081], [0111], [0153]),
wherein respective safe primary output signals are transmitted over at least one the safe bidirectional interface ([0081], [0111], [0153]), and
wherein at least one respective safe secondary output signal is transmitted over the at least one safe bidirectional interface ([0081], [0111], [0153]).
Regarding claim 8, Manci does not explicitly disclose that at least one safe input signal is transmitted over the at least one safe bidirectional interface, but Manci does disclose that the radio transponder is in electrical communication with the controller ([0048], [0054]; FIG. 2: 204, 220); Manci does disclose that the radio transponder detects geo-features ([0085]); and Manci does disclose that upon the detection of a geo-feature, the controller issues an alert ([0064]), which suggests that the system of Manci comprises that at least one safe input signal is transmitted over the at least one safe bidirectional interface for the benefit of enabling the safety controller to issue an alert after the transponder detects a geo-feature.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to have configured the system of Manci in the foregoing manner because that would have enabled the safety controller to issue an alert after the transponder detects a geo-feature.
Regarding claim 9, Manci does not explicitly disclose that at least one trigger signal input signal is transmitted over the at least one safe bidirectional interface, but Manci does disclose that the radio transponder is in electrical communication with the controller ([0048], [0054]; FIG. 2: 204, 220); Manci does disclose that the radio transponder detects geo-features ([0085]); and Manci does disclose that upon the detection of a geo-feature, the controller issues an alert ([0064]), which suggests that the system of Manci comprises that that at least one trigger signal input signal is transmitted over the at least one safe bidirectional interface for the benefit of enabling the safety controller to issue an alert after the transponder detects a geo-feature.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to have configured the system of Manci in the foregoing manner because that would have enabled the safety controller to issue an alert after the transponder detects a geo-feature.
Regarding claim 10, Manci discloses that the at least one safe secondary signal output indicates to the at least one safety controller whether the safe primary signal outputs control a state of the at least one safety controller or whether a safety sensor controls the state of the at least one safety controller. ([0085], [0142], [0143], [0150]; FIG. 7A: 708; FIG. 7B)
5. Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manci in view of Hammes (US 2022/0189274 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Manci does not disclose that the at least one radio location system is an ultrawideband radio location system, with a frequency used being in a range from 3.1 GHz to 10.6 GHz.
Hammes, in the same field of safety systems for localizing a mobile object, teaches a safety system for localizing at least one object in a monitored zone ([0001]), comprising a radio location system that is an ultrawideband radio location system, with the frequency used being in the range from 3.1 GHz to 10.6 GHz ([0095]) for the benefit that the radio location system only transmits radio waves having a low energy, can be used very flexibly, and has no interference ([0098]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to have combined the teachings of Hammes with the system of Manci because that would have enabled the system only to transmit radio waves having a low energy, to be used very flexibly, and to have no interference.
Response to Arguments
6. The applicant's arguments filed, May 8, 2026, have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive.
The applicant traverses the rejection of clams 1-9.
The applicant's arguments fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because they amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references.
Conclusion
7. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOHN F MORTELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2689