DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 12 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Guttmann (US 2019/0294999).
As per claim 1, Guttmann discloses a system (figures 1) comprising:
a sensor module (200a, 200b, figure 1, paragraph 0050) comprising a plurality of
sensors (250, 260, 265, 270 and 275) paragraph 0054) configured to produce
measurements of discrete characteristics of an environment in which the sensor module
is located (paragraphs 0057-0064), and wherein the sensor module includes an audio
indicator (paragraphs 0071-0072) and a module processor (220, figure 2B); and
wherein the module processor (220) configured to receive a set of sensor data produced by the plurality of sensors and being configured to:
in response to the set of sensor data produced by the plurality of sensors
over a period of time, perform a local analysis of the set of sensor data to
determine whether an emergency scenario exists prior to or in parallel with
providing the set of sensor data to the one or more processors (paragraphs
0058-0062); and
where the emergency scenario exists based on the local analysis, provide
a local emergency notification via the audio indicator (paragraphs 0071-0072).
As per claim 12, The method of claim 12 is essentially the same in scope as
system claim 1 above and is rejected similarly.
As per claim 18, refer to claim 1 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guttmann in view of Morehead (US 10,403,126).
As per claim 19, Guttmann further discloses a power source (240, figure 2B) but
fails to disclose the power source being selected from a group consisting of replaceable
batteries, rechargeable batteries, solar power sources, or a combination thereof.
Morehead discloses a security alarm system (10, figure 1) being operated under
electrical power which can come from a standard plug being supplied AC (i.e., 110 V, 60 Hz; 220 V, 50 Hz, among others). Morehead further disclose the system may be
powered by a battery or may include a standby batter that can supply power to the
system in the event that AC power has been disrupted. In other embodiments, the
battery may be the only source, wherein the battery is recharged through any number of
different means, including, but not limited to generators, wind towers and solar cells,
among others (col 6, lines 47-63). Therefore, it would have been obvious before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to
utilize the rechargeable or solar batteries as taught by Morehead in a system as
disclosed by Guttmann for the purpose of providing alternative power to the sensor
module in order to minimize successful sabotage.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-11 and 13-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed April 15, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Guttmann fails to disclose “the module processor configured to receive the set of sensor data”. Examiner does not agree. Guttmann clearly disclose the processor (220) receive sensor data from the audio sensor (250), the image sensor (260), the motion sensor (270) and the position sensor (275, paragraphs 0056-0058).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TAI T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2685 May 21, 2026