DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on August 08, 2025 is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: Applicant is required to insert the Patent No. 12/104,926 onto the specification.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 18 are objected to because of the following informalities:
As per claim 1, Applicant claimed for “one or more processor” but not including its functions and how it ties to the rest of other modules.
As per claim 18, applicant is required to clarify what is the differences between the “one or more processors” and “sensor module processor”?
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 19, recites the limitation "the group" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,104,926. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they all disclosed the same subject matter. The corresponding claims that contain the same subject matter are mapped below:
Patent No. 12,104,926
Application No. 18/818,023
1. A system comprising:
a sensor module comprising a plurality of sensors configured to produce measurements of discrete characteristics of an environment in which the sensor module is located, and wherein the sensor module includes an audio indicator and a module processor; and
one or more processors configured to:
receive a set of sensor data produced by the plurality of sensors over a period of time, wherein the set of sensor data comprises a plurality of discrete characteristic measurements;
create a fused sensor dataset that identifies one or more
correspondences between the plurality of discrete characteristic measurements during the period of time; and
determine whether an emergency scenario exists based upon the fused sensor dataset and,
where the emergency scenario exists, provide an emergency notification, and
wherein the module processor is configured to:
in response to the set of sensor data being produced,
perform a local analysis of the set of sensor data to determine whether the emergency scenario exists prior to or in parallel with providing the set of sensor data to the one or more processors; and
where the emergency scenario exists based on the local analysis, provide a local emergency notification via the audio indicator.
1. A system comprising:
a sensor module comprising a plurality of sensors configured to produce measurements of discrete characteristics of an environment in which the sensor module is located, and wherein the sensor module includes an audio indicator and a module processor; and
one or more processors; and wherein the module processor is configured to:
2. The system of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are configured to:
receive the set of sensor data,
wherein the set of sensor data comprises a plurality of discrete characteristic measurement;
create a fused sensor dataset that identifies one or more correspondences between the plurality of discrete characteristic measurements;
determine whether a false alarm scenario exists based upon the fused sensor dataset and, where the false alarm scenario exists, provide a false alarm notification.
in response to a set of sensor data produced by the plurality of sensors over a period of time, perform a local analysis of the set of sensor data to determine whether an emergency scenario exists prior to or in parallel with providing the set of sensor data to the one or more processors; and
where the emergency scenario exists based on the local analysis, provide a local emergency notification via the audio indicator.
2. The system of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to determine whether a false alarm scenario exists based upon the fused sensor dataset and, where the false alarm scenario exists, provide a false alarm notification.
3. The system of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to, when providing the emergency notification, cause the audio indicator of the sensor module to emit an audible alert.
3. The system of claim 2, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: determine whether the emergency scenario exists based upon the fused sensor dataset and, where the emergency scenario exists, provide an emergency notification; and
when providing the emergency notification, cause the audio indicator of the sensor module to emit an audible alert.
4. The system of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to, after determining that the emergency scenario does not exist based on the fused sensor dataset:
cause the sensor module to cease providing the local emergency notification; and
provide a false alarm notification.
4. The system of claim 3, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to, after determining that the emergency scenario does not exist based on the fused sensor dataset:
cause the sensor module to cease providing the local emergency notification; and
provide a false alarm notification.
12. A method comprising configuring a sensor module that comprises an audio indicator, a module processor, and a plurality of sensors configured to produce measurements of discrete characteristics of an environment and, with one or more processors:
receiving a set of sensor data produced by the plurality of sensors over a period of time, wherein the set of sensor data comprises a plurality of discrete characteristic measurements;
creating a fused sensor dataset that identifies one or more correspondences between the plurality of discrete characteristic measurements during the period of time; and
determining whether an emergency scenario exists based upon the fused sensor dataset and, where the emergency scenario exists, providing an emergency notification;
wherein the module processor is configured, in response to the set of sensor date being produced,
to performs a local analysis of the set of sensor date to determine whether the emergency scenario exists prior to or in parallel with providing a set of sensor data to the one or more processors, and where the emergency scenario exists based on the local analysis, the module processor provides a local emergency notification via the audio indicator.
12. A method comprising configuring a sensor module that comprises an audio indicator, a module processor, and a plurality of sensors configured to produce measurements of discrete characteristics of an environment and,
wherein the module processor is configured, in response to a set of sensor data being produced by the plurality of sensors over a period of time, to perform a local analysis of the set of sensor data to determine whether an emergency scenario exists prior to or in parallel with providing a set of sensor data to the one or more processors, and where the emergency scenario exists base on the local analysis, the module processor provides a local emergency notification via the audio indicator.
13. The method of claim 12, further comprising, with the one or more processors:
storing, on a database, a plurality of sensor fusion fingerprints, wherein each of the plurality of sensor fusion fingerprints:
identifies a pattern of correspondence between pluralities of discrete characteristic measurements over time; and
is associated with a particular scenario;
creating the fused sensor dataset based on at least the plurality of discrete characteristic measurements and the plurality of sensor fusion fingerprints; and
providing a subset of the plurality of fusion fingerprints to the sensor module, wherein the module processor is further configured to perform the local analysis of the set of sensor data based upon the subset of the plurality of fusion fingerprints prior to or in parallel with providing the set of sensor data to the one or more processors.
13. The method of claim 12, further comprising, with the one or more processors:
receiving the set of sensor data, wherein the set of sensor data comprises a plurality of discrete characteristic measurements; and
storing, on a database, a plurality of sensor fusion fingerprints, wherein each of the plurality of sensor fusion fingerprints:
identifies a pattern of correspondence between pluralities of discrete characteristic measurements over time; and
is associated with a particular scenario;
creating a fused sensor dataset based on at least the plurality of discrete characteristic measurements and the plurality of sensor fusion fingerprints; and
providing a subset of the plurality of fusion fingerprints to the sensor module, wherein the module processor is further configured to perform the local analysis of the set of sensor data based upon the subset of the plurality of fusion fingerprints prior to or in parallel with providing the set of sensor data to the one or more processors.
14. The method of claim 12, wherein the plurality of discrete characteristic measurements includes two or more of chemical content, humidity, temperature, and particulate content, the method further comprising, when creating the fused sensor dataset:
identifying a first change in a first characteristic of the plurality of discrete characteristic measurements at a first time in a time index of the time period;
identifying a corresponding second change in a second characteristic of the plurality of discrete characteristic measurements at a second time in the time index; and
where the first change, the second change, and an intervening time between the first time and the second time correspond to a first configured scenario pattern, determining whether the emergency scenario exists based on the first configured scenario pattern.
14. The method of claim 13, wherein the plurality of discrete characteristic measurements includes two or more of chemical content, humidity, temperature, and particulate content, the method further comprising, when creating the fused sensor dataset:
identifying a first change in a first characteristic of the plurality of discrete characteristic measurements at a first time in a time index of the time period;
identifying a corresponding second change in a second characteristic of the plurality of discrete characteristic measurements at a second time in the time index; and
where the first change, the second change, and an intervening time between the first time and the second time correspond to a first configured scenario pattern, determining whether the emergency scenario exists based on the first configured scenario pattern.
15. The method of claim 14, wherein the plurality of discrete characteristic measurements includes three or more of chemical content, humidity, temperature, and particulate content, the method further comprising, when creating the fused sensor dataset:
identifying a corresponding third change in a third characteristic of the plurality of discrete characteristic measurements at a third time in the time index; and
where the first change, the second change, the third change, and a set of intervening times between the first time, the second time, and the third time correspond to a second configured scenario pattern, determining whether the emergency scenario exists based on the second configured scenario pattern.
15. The method of claim 14, wherein the plurality of discrete characteristic measurements includes three or more of chemical content, humidity, temperature, and particulate content, the method further comprising, when creating the fused sensor dataset:
identifying a corresponding third change in a third characteristic of the plurality of discrete characteristic measurements at a third time in the time index; and
where the first change, the second change, the third change, and a set of intervening times between the first time, the second time, and the third time correspond to a second configured scenario pattern, determining whether the emergency scenario exists based on the second configured scenario pattern.
16. The method of claim 14, wherein:
the first change to the first characteristic is a rise in particulate content at the first time;
the second change to the second characteristic is a corresponding rise in chemical content at the second time, wherein the second time occurs prior to the first time; and
the method further comprising where the rise in particular content, the corresponding rise in chemical content, and the intervening time correspond to a configured fire emergency pattern, determining that the emergency scenario exists.
16. The method of claim 14, wherein:
the first change to the first characteristic is a rise in particulate content at the first time;
the second change to the second characteristic is a corresponding rise in chemical content at the second time, wherein the second time occurs prior to the first time; and
the method further comprising where the rise in particular content, the corresponding rise in chemical content, and the intervening time correspond to a configured fire emergency pattern, determining that the emergency scenario exists.
17. The method of claim 14, wherein:
the first change to the first characteristic is a rise in particulate content at the first time;
the second change to the second characteristic is a corresponding rise in humidity at the second time, wherein the first time and the second time occur at substantially similar times within the time index; and
the method further comprising where the rise in particular content, the corresponding rise in humidity, and the intervening time correspond to a configured false alarm pattern, determining that the emergency scenario does not exist.
17. The method of claim 14, wherein:
the first change to the first characteristic is a rise in particulate content at the first time;
the second change to the second characteristic is a corresponding rise in humidity at the second time, wherein the first time and the second time occur at substantially similar times within the time index; and
the method further comprising where the rise in particular content, the corresponding rise in humidity, and the intervening time correspond to a configured false alarm pattern, determining that the emergency scenario does not exist.
18. A sensor module comprising:
a housing;
a plurality of sensors located within the housing and configured to produce measurements of discrete characteristics of the environment;
an emergency indicator operable to provide an emergency notification; and
one or more processors configured to:
receive a set of sensor data produced by the plurality of sensors over a period of time, wherein the set of sensor data comprises a plurality of discrete characteristic measurements;
create a fused sensor dataset that identifies one or more correspondences between the plurality of discrete characteristic measurements during the period of time; and
determine whether an emergency scenario exists based upon the fused sensor dataset and, where the emergency scenario exists, cause the emergency indicator to provide the emergency notification; and
a sensor module processor configured to:
in response to the set of sensor data being produced, perform a local analysis of the set of sensor data to determine whether the emergency scenario exists prior to or in parallel with providing the set of sensor data to the one or more processors; and
where the emergency scenario exists based on the local analysis, provide a local emergency notification via the emergency indicator.
18. A sensor module comprising:
a housing;
a plurality of sensors located within the housing and configured to produce measurements of discrete characteristics of the environment;
an emergency indicator operable to provide an emergency notification; and
one or more processors; and
a sensor module processor configured to:
in response to a set of sensor data produced by the plurality of sensors over a period of time, perform a local analysis of the set of sensor data to determine wherein the emergency scenario exists prior to or in parallel with providing the set of sensor data to the one or more processors; and
where the emergency scenario exists based on the local analysis, provide a local emergency notification via the emergency indicator.
19. The sensor module of claim 18 further comprising a power source selected from the group consisting of replaceable batteries, rechargeable batteries, solar power sources, or a combination thereof.
19. The sensor module of claim 18, further comprising a power source selected from the group consisting of replaceable batteries, rechargeable batteries, solar power sources, or a combination thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 12 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Guttmann (US 2019/0294999).
As per claim 1, Guttmann discloses a system (figures 1) comprising:
a sensor module (200a, 200b, figure 1, paragraph 0050) comprising a plurality of sensors (250, 260, 265, 270 and 275) paragraph 0054) configured to produce measurements of discrete characteristics of an environment in which the sensor module is located (paragraphs 0057-0064), and wherein the sensor module includes an audio indicator (paragraphs 0071-0072) and a module processor (220, figure 2B); and
one or more processors (300a, 300b); and
wherein the module processor being configured to:
in response to a set of sensor data produced by the plurality of sensors over a period of time, perform a local analysis of the set of sensor data to determine whether an emergency scenario exists prior to or in parallel with providing the set of sensor data to the one or more processors (paragraphs 0058-0062); and
where the emergency scenario exists based on the local analysis, provide a local emergency notification via the audio indicator (paragraphs 0071-0072).
As per claim 12, The method of claim 12 is essentially the same in scope as system claim 1 above and is rejected similarly.
As per claim 18, refer to claim 1 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guttmann in view of Morehead (US 10,403,126).
As per claim 19, Guttmann further discloses a power source (240, figure 2B) but fails to disclose the power source being selected from a group consisting of replaceable batteries, rechargeable batteries, solar power sources, or a combination thereof. Morehead discloses a security alarm system (10, figure 1) being operated under electrical power which can come from a standard plug being supplied AC (i.e., 110 v, 60 Hz; 220 V, 50 Hz, among others). Morehead further disclose the system may be powered by a battery or may include a standby batter that can supply power to the system in the event that AC power has been disrupted. In other embodiments, the battery may be the only source, wherein the battery is recharged through any number of different means, including, but not limited to generators, wind towers and solar cells, among others (col 6, lines 47-63). Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to utilize the rechargeable or solar batteries as taught by Morehead in a system as disclosed by Guttmann for the purpose of providing alternative power to the sensor module in order to minimize successful sabotage.
Conclusion
/TAI T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2685 December 10, 2025