DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
With respect to claim 1, the recitation of a “straddle-type” vehicle renders the claims indefinite because the claim(s) include(s) elements not actually disclosed (those encompassed by "type"), thereby rendering the scope of the claim(s) unascertainable. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nakata et al. (USPub 2017/0183994).
With respect to claim 1, Nakata et al. disclose an engine (10) to be mounted on a straddle vehicle (Fig 1), the engine comprising: a cylinder (42, 43) and a cylinder head (42b, 43b) stacked on an upper portion of a crank case (41); an exhaust pipe (52L, 52R, 53L, 53R) extending from the cylinder head and passing through a lateral side of the cylinder (Figs 2-4); an exhaust gas sensor (81, 111) attached to the exhaust pipe (Figs 2-7), on the lateral side of the cylinder (Figs 2-7); and a radiator (55, 56) positioned in front of the cylinder head, wherein the exhaust gas sensor is covered by the radiator from a front side (Fig 1).
With respect to claim 3, wherein the exhaust gas sensor is positioned between the cylinder head and the radiator, in a side view (Figs 2-4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakata et al. in view of Takiguchi (EP 3524502A1).
With respect to claim 2, Nakata et al. disclose the claimed invention discussed above but do not disclose wherein the radiator includes: a radiator core configured to radiate heat of cooling water into air; and tanks located on both upper and lower sides of the radiator core, and the exhaust gas sensor is covered by the lower tank from a front side. Takiguchi, however, discloses a radiator that includes: a radiator core (107) configured to radiate heat of cooling water into air; and tanks located on both upper (105) and lower (106) sides of the radiator core, and the exhaust gas sensor (141) is covered by the lower tank from a front side (Fig 16). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was filed to modify the invention of Nakata et al. in view of the teachings of Takiguchi to have a radiator core with upper and lower tanks in order to guide the coolant and spread it out. This shape forces the hot liquid to break into thin streams so the wind can easily cool it down. While Nakata et al. disclose a radiator and an oil filter with the radiator above the oil cooler, it would have been obvious to switch the location of the radiator and oil cooler, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art.
With respect to claim 6, Takiguchi discloses wherein a cooling water hose (83) extends from the lower tank (Fig 6). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was filed to have the exhaust gas sensor be covered by the cooling water hose from above, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-5 and 7 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
DREW BROWN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3616
/DREW J BROWN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3617