DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-8 and 10-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 2-8 and 10-14 are directed to “The line pre-filtration assembly of claim 1…” and “The liner pre-filtration assembly of claim 9…” respectively. However, both claims 1 and 9 are directed to “A pre-filtration assembly…” It is unclear if the claims are further limiting the assembly of claims 1 or 9 or some other assembly.
Claims 7 and 12 recite, “…a gravel guard formed in a bracket or crescent shape…” It is unclear what a bracket shape is. A bracket is not an art recognized shape or structure and therefore one of ordinary skill in the art would be unable to determine the precise metes and bounds of the claim. For examination purposes any shape for the gravel guard is assumed to meet the limitations of the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mokrzycki 2003/0141230 in view of Orozco et al. US 2004/0232057.
Claim 1, Mokrzycki teaches a pre-filtration assembly comprising: a mounting wall (34) having an opening therethrough and mounting brackets (at 82), the mounting wall further having a basin (28) extending perpendicularly from a front side of the mounting wall, the basing having a lip (the upper edge) extending perpendicularly therefrom, a liner box (100) disposed within the mounting wall mounting brackets, the liner box having a filter media (50) disposed therein, and a pre-filter grating (44) disposed on the mounting wall front side over the opening (fig. 1-6). Mokrzycki does not teach a pre-filter material between the pre-filter grating and the mounting wall opening.
Orozco teaches a pre-filtration assembly comprising: a mounting wall (66) having an opening (at 67) therethrough, the mounting wall further having a basin (60) extending from a front side of the mounting wall, the basin having a lip extending perpendicularly therefrom, a liner box (67) disposed within the mounting wall, the liner box having a filter media (30) disposed therein and a pre-filter grating (68) disposed on the mounting wall front side over the opening, the pre-filter grating further securing a pre-filter material between the pre-filter grating and the mounting wall opening (fig. 3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the pre-filter material of Orozco because it allows for an attractant to be used to restrict the flow of heavy metals and oils through the system (par 45-46).
Claims 2 and 7-8, Mokrzycki further teaches knobs (bolts) disposed near the peripheral edges of the mounting wall brackets, the knobs having posts which push or pull into or away from the mounting wall upon rotation of the knobs (fig. 1-6, par 39); and a gravel guard/permeable grate (the grating on the top of 28) in a bracket shape disposed around the outside of the mounting wall basin over the mounting wall opening (fig. 1-6).
Claims 3-4, Mokrzycki does not teach the liner box being angled 10-30 degrees or 20 degrees with respect to the mounting wall. The recitation of the angle between the liner box and the mounting wall is a recitation of a change in the shape of the apparatus. Additionally, the prior art to Orozco teaches an angled liner box with respect to the mounting wall and providing a particular angle is merely a change in the shape of the apparatus. The configuration of the apparatus is a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration is significant, In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (1966).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-14 are allowed.
Claims 5-6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 5, the prior art to Mokrzycki in view of Orozco teaches the assembly of claim 1 but does not teach a non-permeable liner secured onto the basin lip and the mounting wall and batten strips disposed over the lip of the basin further securing the non-permeable liner between the basin line and the mounting wall nor would it have been obvious to modify the prior art to arrive at the claimed invention.
Claim 6 is allowable as depending from claim 5.
Claim 9 is allowable for the same reasons as claim 5 as claim 9 recites the combined limitations of claim 1, 2 and 5.
The additional claims are allowable as depending from claim 9.
Conclusion
/BENJAMIN M KURTZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1779