DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,2.8-10,15, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumoto et al. (US 2022/0149668) in view of Ueda et al. (US 2023/0020224).
Regarding claim 1, Matsumoto teaches a wireless communication apparatus for performing wireless communication (Paragraphs [0024 and 0058]), through an electromagnetic field coupling (See abstract; Paragraphs [0007, 0069, and 0073]), with another wireless communication apparatus, the wireless communication apparatus comprising: at least one communication transmission line (See Fig. 11C, item 120b) comprising a first transmission line formed of a conductor disposed in a circular arc form (Paragraph [0002]……. This apparatus includes two coils of a circular or circular arc shape that perform energy transmission, and two electrical conductors of a circular or circular arc shape that perform data transmission. The two coils are spaced apart in an opposing relationship along the axial direction of the axis of rotation, and perform energy transmission via inductive coupling. The two electrical conductors are disposed so as to be coaxial with the two coils), and a second transmission line (See Fig. 11A-11C, item 120a) formed of a conductor disposed radially inside the first transmission line (See Fig. 11C, the second transmission line 120a formed of a conductor disposed radially inside the first transmission line 120b) and coaxially with the first transmission line 120b, the second transmission line 120a being in a shape along a circular arc shorter than the first transmission line 120b (See Paragraph [0102]); and
a communication unit configured to be connected to the first transmission line and the second transmission line (Paragraphs [0102]…. FIG. 11A is a diagram showing an example connection at both ends of the differential transmission line pair. In this example, the first end 121a of the electrode 120a and the first end 121b of the electrode 120b are connected to a differential driver 142 for transmission purposes, which is in the communication circuit 140) and configured to transmit signals to the first transmission line and the second transmission line or receive signals from the first transmission line and the second transmission line (Paragraphs [0102 and 0105], especially paragraph [0105] ……FIG. 11A to FIG. 11C, one end of each differential transmission line is connected to the differential driver 142, to which a signal for transmission is input. On the other hand, to those differential transmission lines for performing reception, instead of the differential driver 142 shown in FIG. 11A to FIG. 11C, a circuit element 143 for decoding purposes which is shown in FIG. 11D may be connected. Moreover, to those differential transmission lines for performing both of transmission and reception, as shown in FIG. 11E, a communication circuit that includes the differential driver 142 for transmission purposes, the circuit element 143 for reception purposes, and a switch (SW) may be connected. With such a configuration, between the power transmitting module 100 and the power receiving module 200, unidirectional or bidirectional communications can be realized), but does not specifically teach wherein at least a part of the second transmission line is formed in a meander shape.
However, in related art, Ueda teaches wherein at least a part of the second transmission line is formed in a meander shape (Paragraph [0059]…….the length of the second transmission line 22 is increased by forming the second transmission line 22 into a meander shape). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made to use (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use Ueda’s teaching about wherein at least a part of the second transmission line is formed in a meander shape with Matsumoto’s invention in order to so as to compensate for the propagation time differences.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Matsumoto and Ueda teach all the claimed elements in claim 1. In addition, Matsumoto teaches the wireless communication apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the second transmission line (Fig. 11A, item 120a) is disposed in a shape along a circular arc (See Fig. 11A-11C) having a center angle common to the first transmission line 120b.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Matsumoto and Ueda teach all the claimed elements in claim 1. In addition, Matsumoto teaches the wireless communication apparatus according to claim 1, wherein one ends of the first transmission line and the second transmission line are connected to the communication unit (See Fig 11A, item 142), and other ends of the first transmission line and the second transmission line are connected to termination resistors (See Fig. 11A, item Ra and Rb).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Matsumoto and Ueda teach all the claimed elements in claim 1. In addition, Matsumoto teaches the wireless communication apparatus according to claim 1, wherein a first signal transmitted to the first transmission line and a second signal transmitted to the second transmission line are differential signals in reverse phase (Paragraphs [0003, 0063, 0068]).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Matsumoto and Ueda teach all the claimed elements in claim 1. In addition, Matsumoto teaches the wireless communication apparatus according to claim 1, wherein a first signal transmitted to the first transmission line and a second signal transmitted to the second transmission line are different signals input in parallel at the same time (Paragraphs [0003, 0063, 0068]).
Regarding claim 15, Matsumoto teaches a method for controlling a wireless communication apparatus (Paragraphs [0024 and 0058]) comprising a communication transmission line (See Fig. 11C, item 120b) comprising a first transmission line formed of a conductor disposed in a circular arc form (Paragraph [0002]……. This apparatus includes two coils of a circular or circular arc shape that perform energy transmission, and two electrical conductors of a circular or circular arc shape that perform data transmission. The two coils are spaced apart in an opposing relationship along the axial direction of the axis of rotation, and perform energy transmission via inductive coupling. The two electrical conductors are disposed so as to be coaxial with the two coils), and a second transmission line (See Fig. 11A-11C, item 120a) formed of a conductor disposed radially inside the first transmission line (See Fig. 11C, the second transmission line 120a formed of a conductor disposed radially inside the first transmission line 120b) and coaxially with the first transmission line 120b, the second transmission line 120a being formed in a shape along a circular arc shorter than the first transmission line 120b (See Paragraph [0102]), and a communication unit connected to the first transmission line and the second transmission line (Paragraphs [0102]…. FIG. 11A is a diagram showing an example connection at both ends of the differential transmission line pair. In this example, the first end 121a of the electrode 120a and the first end 121b of the electrode 120b are connected to a differential driver 142 for transmission purposes, which is in the communication circuit 140) and configured to communicate with the first transmission line and the second transmission line, , the method comprising: communicating by the communication unit inputting signals to the first transmission line and the second transmission line or receiving signals from the first transmission line and the second transmission line (Paragraphs [0102 and 0105], especially paragraph [0105] ……FIG. 11A to FIG. 11C, one end of each differential transmission line is connected to the differential driver 142, to which a signal for transmission is input. On the other hand, to those differential transmission lines for performing reception, instead of the differential driver 142 shown in FIG. 11A to FIG. 11C, a circuit element 143 for decoding purposes which is shown in FIG. 11D may be connected. Moreover, to those differential transmission lines for performing both of transmission and reception, as shown in FIG. 11E, a communication circuit that includes the differential driver 142 for transmission purposes, the circuit element 143 for reception purposes, and a switch (SW) may be connected. With such a configuration, between the power transmitting module 100 and the power receiving module 200, unidirectional or bidirectional communications can be realized), but does not specifically teach at least a part of the second transmission line being formed in a meander shape.
However, in related art, Ueda teaches at least a part of the second transmission line being formed in a meander shape (Paragraph [0059]…….the length of the second transmission line 22 is increased by forming the second transmission line 22 into a meander shape). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made to use (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use Ueda’s teaching about at least a part of the second transmission line being formed in a meander shape with Matsumoto’s invention so as to compensate for the propagation time differences.
Regarding claim 16, Matsumoto teaches a wireless communication apparatus for performing wireless communication (Paragraphs [0024 and 0058]), through an electromagnetic field coupling (See abstract; Paragraphs [0007, 0069, and 0073]), with another wireless communication apparatus, the wireless communication apparatus comprising: a communication transmission line (See Fig. 11C, item 120b) comprising a first transmission line formed of a conductor disposed in a circular arc form (Paragraph [0002]……. This apparatus includes two coils of a circular or circular arc shape that perform energy transmission, and two electrical conductors of a circular or circular arc shape that perform data transmission. The two coils are spaced apart in an opposing relationship along the axial direction of the axis of rotation, and perform energy transmission via inductive coupling. The two electrical conductors are disposed so as to be coaxial with the two coils), and a second transmission line (See Fig. 11A-11C, item 120a) formed of a conductor disposed radially inside the first transmission line (See Fig. 11C, the second transmission line 120a formed of a conductor disposed radially inside the first transmission line 120b) and coaxially with the first transmission line 120b, the second transmission line 120a being formed in a shape along a circular arc shorter than the first transmission line 120b (See Paragraph [0102]), wherein terminal portions (see fig. 11A, item 122a and 122b) of the first transmission line 120b and the second transmission line 122a are disposed at substantially the same position in a circumferential direction, and wherein an electrical length of the second transmission line 122a is substantially equal to an electrical length of the first transmission line 122b.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumoto et al. (US 2022/0149668) in view of Ueda et al. (US 2023/0020224), and further in view of Thurairajaratnam et al. (US 2013/0098671).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Matsumoto and Ueda fail to teach the wireless communication apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the at least one communication transmission line is configured to have a differential impedance of 100 ohms.
However, in related art, Thurairajarantnam teaches the wireless communication apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the at least one communication transmission line is configured to have a differential impedance of 100 ohms (Paragraph [0046]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made to use (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use Thurairajaratnam’s teaching about wherein the at least one communication transmission line is configured to have a differential impedance of 100 ohms with Matsumoto’s and Ueda’s invention in order to reduce reflections.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumoto et al. (US 2022/0149668) in view of Ueda et al. (US 2023/0020224) in view of Thurairajaratnam et al. (US 2013/0098671), and further in view of Chen et al. (US 2022/0336960).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Matsumoto, Ueda, and Thurairajaratnam fail to teach the wireless communication apparatus according to claim 6, wherein the first transmission line and the second transmission line each have a characteristic impedance of 50 ohms.
However, in related art, Chen teaches the wireless communication apparatus according to claim 6, wherein the first transmission line and the second transmission line each have a characteristic impedance of 50 ohms (Paragraphs [0013, 0019, 0029, 0057 and 0058]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made to use (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use teaching about wherein the at least one communication transmission line is configured to have a differential impedance of 100 ohms with Matsumoto’s, Ueda’s, and Thurairajaratnam’s invention in order to prevent signal reflections in such lines.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumoto et al. (US 2022/0149668) in view of Ueda et al. (US 2023/0020224), and further in view of Kuroda (US Patent #6,241,143).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Matsumoto and Ueda fail to teach the wireless communication apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the at least one communication transmission line is formed in copper patterns on a dielectric substrate.
However, in related art, Kuroda teaches the wireless communication apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the at least one communication transmission line is formed in copper patterns on a dielectric substrate (Col 2, lines 13-28). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made to use (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use Kuroda’s teaching about wherein the at least one communication transmission line is formed in copper patterns on a dielectric substrate with Matsumoto’s and Ueda’s invention so that connection with high reliability may be achieved (See Kuroda, Abstract).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumoto et al. (US 2022/0149668) in view of Ueda et al. (US 2023/0020224), and further in view of Fiederling et al. (US Patent #10,330,527).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Matsumoto and Ueda fail to teach the wireless communication apparatus according to claim 1, wherein a meander width as an amplitude of a meander wiring portion forming the meander shape is 50 to 75% of a width of the second transmission line.
However, in related art, Fiederling teaches the wireless communication apparatus according to claim 1, wherein a meander width as an amplitude of a meander wiring portion forming the meander shape is 50 to 75% of a width of the second transmission line (Claim 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made to use (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use Fiederling’s teaching about wherein a meander width as an amplitude of a meander wiring portion forming the meander shape is 50 to 75% of a width of the second transmission line with Matsumoto’s and Ueda’s invention in order to have higher efficiency in communication.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-5 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 3, the prior art of record fails to teach the wireless communication apparatus according to claim 1, wherein to correct a propagation delay difference from the first transmission line, the second transmission line is configured such that a signal phase difference caused by a difference between an electrical length from one end to another end of the first transmission line and an electrical length from one end to another end of the second transmission line is 90 degrees or less.
Regarding claim 4, the prior art of record fails to teach the wireless communication apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the at least one communication transmission line is at least two communication transmission lines including one communication line including one first transmission line and one second transmission line, and another communication line including another first transmission line and another second transmission line, wherein the at least two communication transmission lines are disposed at predetermined intervals in circumferential directions, and wherein the at least two communication transmission lines are circumferentially adjacent to each other such that one end of the one first transmission line and one end of the one second transmission line closely face another end of the other first transmission line and another end of the other second transmission line in a circumferential direction, respectively, or wherein the at least two communication transmission lines are circumferentially adjacent to each other such that the one end of the one first transmission line and the one end of the one second transmission line closely face the one end of the other first transmission line and the one end of the other second transmission line in a circumferential direction, respectively, or the other end of the one first transmission line and the other end of the one second transmission line face the other end of the other first transmission line and the other end of the other second transmission line in a circumferential direction, respectively.
Regarding claim 5, the prior art of record fails to teach the wireless communication apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the at least one communication transmission line comprises at least one third transmission line formed of a conductor disposed radially inside the second transmission line and coaxially with the second transmission line, the at least one third transmission line being formed in a shape along a circular arc shorter than the second transmission line, and wherein the at least one third transmission line is formed in a meander shape that corrects a propagation delay difference from the first transmission line or the second transmission line.
Claim 13-14 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claim 13, the prior art of record, specifically Matsumoto et al. (US 2022/0149668) teaches a wireless communication system comprising: a first wireless communication apparatus including at least one communication transmission line (Paragraphs [0024 and 0058]) comprising a first transmission line (See Fig. 11C, item 120b) formed of a conductor disposed in a circular arc form(Paragraph [0002]……. This apparatus includes two coils of a circular or circular arc shape that perform energy transmission, and two electrical conductors of a circular or circular arc shape that perform data transmission. The two coils are spaced apart in an opposing relationship along the axial direction of the axis of rotation, and perform energy transmission via inductive coupling. The two electrical conductors are disposed so as to be coaxial with the two coils), and a second transmission line (See Fig. 11A-11C, item 120a) formed of a conductor disposed radially inside the first transmission line (See Fig. 11C, the second transmission line 120a formed of a conductor disposed radially inside the first transmission line 120b) and coaxially with the first transmission line 120b, the second transmission line 120a being in a shape along a circular arc shorter than the first transmission line 120b (See Paragraph [0102]), and wherein the first wireless communication apparatus includes a communication unit configured to be connected to the first transmission line and the second transmission line (Paragraphs [0102]…. FIG. 11A is a diagram showing an example connection at both ends of the differential transmission line pair. In this example, the first end 121a of the electrode 120a and the first end 121b of the electrode 120b are connected to a differential driver 142 for transmission purposes, which is in the communication circuit 140) and configured to transmit signals to the first transmission line and the second transmission line or receive signals from the first transmission line and the second transmission line (Paragraphs [0102 and 0105], especially paragraph [0105] ……FIG. 11A to FIG. 11C, one end of each differential transmission line is connected to the differential driver 142, to which a signal for transmission is input. On the other hand, to those differential transmission lines for performing reception, instead of the differential driver 142 shown in FIG. 11A to FIG. 11C, a circuit element 143 for decoding purposes which is shown in FIG. 11D may be connected. Moreover, to those differential transmission lines for performing both of transmission and reception, as shown in FIG. 11E, a communication circuit that includes the differential driver 142 for transmission purposes, the circuit element 143 for reception purposes, and a switch (SW) may be connected. With such a configuration, between the power transmitting module 100 and the power receiving module 200, unidirectional or bidirectional communications can be realized).
However, as a whole, none of the prior art cited alone or in combination provides the motivation to teach a second wireless communication apparatus including a plurality of transmission lines facing transmission line surfaces of the first transmission line and the second transmission line and wherein the second wireless communication apparatus includes a second communication unit connected to the plurality of the plurality of transmission lines, and configured to transmit signals to the plurality of the transmission lines and receive signals from the plurality of the transmission lines.
Dependent claim 14 is allowed for the same reason.
Conclusion
/DOMINIC E REGO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2648 Tel 571-272-8132