DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Otsuka et al, US 2014/0197394 (listed in IDS filed on 04/28/2025).
In re Claim 1, Otsuka discloses an OLED chip comprising: a light emitting region 11 (Fig, 1A) where a plurality of light emitting devices (marked as (LED1, LED2) in Fig. A) is two-dimensionally arranged on a surface of a substrate 10; and a contact region (12, 13) disposed outside the light emitting region 11, wherein each of the plurality of light emitting devices (LED1, LED2) includes a first electrode 21, an organic layer 23, and a second electrode 26 on a light emitting side (an upper side of 10), the second electrode 26 is a common electrode of the plurality of light emitting devices (LED1, LED2), in plan view to the surface, the light emitting region 11 has a long side LS extending in a first direction 1D and a short side SS extending in a second direction 2D intersecting the first direction 1D, and in the plan view, an end EP (Fig. B) of the second electrode 26 in the first direction 1D has a portion non-parallel PNP to a third direction 3D perpendicular to the first direction 1D. (Figa. 1, 2, A and B; [0003 – 0068]).
Fig. A. Otsuka’s Fig. 1A annotated to show the details cited
Fig. A. Otsuka’s Fig. 1B annotated to show the details cited
In Re Claim 3, Otsuka discloses the OLED chip according to Claim 1, wherein in the plan view, the end EP of the second electrode 26 has a curve (Fig. B).
In re Claim 8, Otsuka discloses the OLED chip according to Claim 1, wherein the substrate 10 is a silicon substrate ([0054]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 4, and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Otsuka as applied to claim 1 above.
In Re Claim 2, Otsuka discloses all limitations of Claim 2 except for that in the plan view, a length of the long side LS of the light emitting region 11 is greater than or equal to five times a length of the short side SS. (Fig. A). It is known in the art that the length of the long side and short side is a result effective variable – because a volume of the light emitting region 11 depends on it. Due to high level of knowledge and skills of personal capable to operate very sophisticated and expensive equipment in semiconductor technology, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice of one of ordinary skill in the semiconductor art to use the length of the long side LS of the light emitting region 11 is greater than or equal to five times a length of the short side SS, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. In Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984) (MPEP2144.04.IV.A).
In Re Claim 4, Otsuka discloses all limitations of Claim 4 except for that in the plan view, in the plan view, a length in the third direction 3D of the portion non-parallel PNP to the third direction 3D is longer than 1/3 a distance from an end EP of the second electrode 26 in the third direction 3D to a portion at which the second electrode 26 is in contact with wiring. It is known in the art that the length of the portion non-parallel PNP is a result effective variable – because mass of the end depends on it. Due to high level of knowledge and skills of personal capable to operate very sophisticated and expensive equipment in semiconductor technology, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice of one of ordinary skill in the semiconductor art to use length in the third direction 3D of the portion non-parallel PNP to the third direction 3D is longer than 1/3 a distance from an end EP of the second electrode 26 in the third direction 3D to a portion at which the second electrode 26 is in contact with wiring since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. In Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984) (MPEP2144.04.IV.A).
In re Claim 9, Otsuka discloses all limitations of Claim 9 except for that the substrate 10 has a thickness of 200 μm to 700 μm. It is known in the art that the thickness of the substrate is a result effective variable – because its mass depends on it. Due to high level of knowledge and skills of personal capable to operate very sophisticated and expensive equipment in semiconductor technology, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice of one of ordinary skill in the semiconductor art to use the substrate 10 with a thickness of 200 μm to 700 μm, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (MPEP2144.04).
In re Claim 10, Otsuka discloses all limitations of Claim 10 except for that the substrate has a thickness of 200 μm to 408 μm. It is known in the art that the thickness of the substrate is a result effective variable – because its mass depends on it. Due to high level of knowledge and skills of personal capable to operate very sophisticated and expensive equipment in semiconductor technology, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice of one of ordinary skill in the semiconductor art to use the substrate 10 with a thickness of 200 μm to 408 μm, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (MPEP2144.04).
In re Claim 11, Otsuka discloses all limitations of Claim 11 except for that the substrate 10 has a thickness of 378 μm to 408 μm. It is known in the art that the thickness of the substrate is a result effective variable – because its mass depends on it. Due to high level of knowledge and skills of personal capable to operate very sophisticated and expensive equipment in semiconductor technology, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice of one of ordinary skill in the semiconductor art to use the substrate 10 with a thickness of 378 μm to 408 μm, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (MPEP2144.04).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-7 and 12-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Reason for indicating allowable subject matter
In re Claim 5: The prior art of record cited by the current office action, alone or in combination, fail to anticipate or render obvious such limitation of claim 5 as: “the color filter includes the contact region in the plan view, and an opening is provided at a position overlapping the light emitting region”, in combination with limitations of Claim 1 on which it depends.
In re Claim 6: The prior art of record cited by the current office action, alone or in combination, fail to anticipate or render obvious such limitation of claim 6 as: “a first color filter overlapping the contact region in the plan view; and a second color filter overlapping the light emitting region in the plan view, wherein a color of light transmitted through the second color filter is different from a color of light transmitted through the first color filter”, in combination with limitations of Claim 1 on which it depends.
In re Claim 12: The prior art of record cited by the current office action, alone or in combination, fail to anticipate or render obvious such limitation of claim 12 as: “a plurality of OLED chips disposed on a head substrate”, in combination with limitations of Claim 1 on which it depends.
In re Claim 14: The prior art of record cited by the current office action, alone or in combination, fail to anticipate or render obvious such limitation of claim 12 as: “a lens array disposed at a position opposed to the head substrate”, in combination with limitations of Claim 1 on which it depends.
In re Claim 16: The prior art of record cited by the current office action, alone or in combination, fail to anticipate or render obvious such limitation of claim 16 as: “photoconductor drum; an exposure head that is disposed to be opposed to the photoconductor drum and is arranged to expose the photoconductor drum to form a latent image on the photoconductor drum; and a developing unit that is arranged to develop, with toner, the latent image formed on the photoconductor drum”, in combination with limitations of Claims 1 and 12 on which it depends.
Claim 17 is allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
In re Claim 17, prior-art fails to disclose a method of manufacturing an OLED chip, comprising “arranging a vapor deposition mask having a plurality of openings to be opposed to a substrate in which a first electrode and an organic layer are disposed; positioning the substrate with respect to the vapor deposition mask; and forming a second electrode by depositing a vapor deposition material on the substrate through the openings of the vapor deposition mask, wherein the openings of the vapor deposition mask have a long side extending in a first direction, a short side extending in a second direction intersecting the first direction, and a portion at an end in the first direction, the portion being non-parallel to a third direction perpendicular to the first direction.” Therefore, the claimed method differs from prior art methods on this point and there is no evidence it would have been obvious to make this change.
Conclusion
/NIKOLAY K YUSHIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893