DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Japan on 9/25/2023. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the JP2023-159968 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a moving device…to move the feeder in the vertical direction and front-rear direction in claim 10. According to applicant’s disclosure as originally filed, the corresponding structure interpreted as performing the claimed function is a front-rear feed guide, a moving column, a front-rear feed device, a vertical feed guide, and a vertical feed device, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Masuda et al. (JP 2001009486, machine translation referenced herein), and further in view of Kawamori et al. (EP 3760323).
Regarding Claim 1: Masuda teaches a cleaning machine, comprising:
a table (Fig. 1, element 33) rotatable about a table axis extending in a vertical direction;
a feeder arm (not numbered, structure under element 48) extending in a front-rear direction; a nozzle head (element 3) disposed on the feeder; and
a nozzle including an ejection opening (at element 3) facing in a direction different from the table axis, the nozzle on the nozzle head, the nozzle rotatable about a nozzle axis extending in the vertical direction.
Though Masuda teaches that the feeder is movable in the vertical direction (pg. 3 and Fig. 1, element 20), Masuda does not expressly disclose that the feeder is movable in the front-rear directions. However, Kawamori teaches a cleaning device having a nozzle feeder movable in the front-rear direction [0031]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the machine of Masuda such that the feeder is also movable in the front-rear direction, as in Kawamori, in order to enhance the positioning ability of the nozzle.
Regarding Claim 3: Masuda further teaches the nozzle includes a shaft (element 11) extending downward along the nozzle axis, and the ejection opening is located in a lower end portion of the shaft and is directed in a horizontal direction (see Fig. 1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2 and 4-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the reviewed prior art does not anticipate or fairly suggest a cleaning machine having all the features as set forth in the claims. The closest prior art of record is that of Masuda who teaches a cleaning machine having a rotatable table and a nozzle including an ejection opening facing in a direction different from the table axis. However, Masuda does not teach the structural features of the column and beam as defined in claims 2, 8, 9, and 11. Masuda does not teach the structural features of the moving device and cleaning chamber as set forth in claims 4 and 10. Masuda does not teach or suggest the swivel housing connected to the cleaning fluid source and disposed on the nozzle head, as required by claims 6, 12, and 19. Masuda does not teach that the table base is rotatable about a trunnion shaft as required by Claims 7 and 16.
/NATASHA N CAMPBELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1714