DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to application 18/818,235 filed on 08/28/2024.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (“Chen”) (US Pub. No.: 2024/0357122 A1) in view of Zhou et al. (“Zhou”) (US Pub. No.: 2018/0152670 A1).
In regards to claims [1], [10], [19], and [23], Chen discloses a method of decoding (see fig. 3A unit 300A) and encoding video data (see fig. 2A unit 200A); and a device for decoding (see paragraphs [0063-0064]) and encoding video data (see paragraphs [0041-0042]), the device comprising: a memory (see fig. 4 unit 404) configured to store video data (see paragraph [0072]); one or more processors (see fig. 4 unit 402) implemented in circuitry (see paragraphs [0071] and [0074]) and configured to: derive an initial motion vector (see fig. 6, e.g., “MV0 or MV1”) for a current block (see fig. 6, e.g., “subblock of current picture”) of the video data (see paragraphs [0033-0034]; determine to apply one-pass bi-directional optical flow (BDOF) to the initial motion vector (see fig. 10 unit 1030, paragraph [0154], e.g., “first pass of BDOF motion vector refinement process”) based on a size of the current block (see fig. 10 unit 1030, paragraph [0154], e.g., “MxM sub-block”); in response to determining to apply the one-pass BDOF to the initial motion vector (see fig. 10 unit 1030, paragraph [0154], e.g., “first pass of BDOF motion vector refinement process”), determine a modified motion vector for the current block (see fig. 10 unit 1030, paragraph [0154], e.g., “motion vector refinement on coding block”) using the one-pass BDOF (see fig. 10 unit 1030, paragraph [0154], e.g., “first pass of BDOF motion vector refinement process”); determine a prediction block (see fig. 6, e.g., “predicted subblock from refPic in List L0 or predicted subblock from refPic in List L1”), for the current block (see fig. 6, e.g., “subblock of current picture”), corresponding to the modified motion vector (see fig. 6, paragraphs [0016] and [0110], e.g., “motion vector refinement in bi-prediction”); use the prediction block (see fig. 6, e.g., “predicted subblock from refPic in List L0 or predicted subblock from refPic in List L1”) to determine a decoded version (see fig. 6, e.g., “decoder-side motion vector refinement DMVR in bi-prediction operation”, paragraphs [0110] and [0131]) of the current block (see fig. 6, e.g., “subblock in current picture”); and predict a subsequent block of the video data (see fig. 6, e.g., “predicted subsequent subblock from refPic in List L1” paragraph [0070]).
Yet, Chen fails to explicitly disclose store, in a decoded picture buffer, a copy of a decoded picture of video data as claimed.
However, Zhou teaches the well-known concept of store (see paragraph [0047]), in a decoded picture buffer (see fig. 3 unit 312), a copy (see fig. 3 unit 308a) of a decoded picture (see fig. 3 unit 308) of video data (see fig. 3 unit 208).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains could recognize the advantage of modifying the proposed teachings of Chen above by incorporating the proposed teachings of Zhou above to perform such a modification to provide an system and method for encoding and decoding video data that implements store, in a decoded picture buffer, a copy of a decoded picture of video data as well as to the solve the problem in a case where recording video data directly at the bitstream level, presents a number of implementation challenges as taught by Zhou et al. (see Zhou, paragraph [0003]), thus improving video recording and compression efficiency.
As per claim [2], most of the limitations have been noted in the above rejection of claim 1. In addition, Chen discloses the method of claim 1 (see the above rejection of claim 1), wherein determining to apply the one-pass BDOF to the initial motion vector (see fig. 10 unit 1030, paragraph [0154], e.g., “first pass of BDOF motion vector refinement process”) based on the size of the current block (see paragraph [0079]) comprises: determining whether to apply multi-iterative BDOF or the one-pass BDOF to the initial motion vector (see fig. 10 unit 1030, paragraph [0154], e.g., “first pass of BDOF motion vector refinement process”) based on the size of the current block (see paragraph [0079]); and determining to apply the one-pass BDOF to the initial motion vector (see fig. 10 unit 1030, paragraph [0154], e.g., “first pass of BDOF motion vector refinement process”) in response to a width of the block not being an integer multiple of 8 (see paragraph [0079] and [0152]).
As per claim [3], most of the limitations have been noted in the above rejection of claim 1. In addition, Chen discloses the method of claim 1 (see the above rejection of claim 1), wherein determining to apply the one-pass BDOF to the initial motion vector (see fig. 10 unit 1030, paragraph [0154], e.g., “first pass of BDOF motion vector refinement process”) based on the size of the current block (see paragraph [0079]) comprises: determining whether to apply multi-iterative BDOF or the one-pass BDOF to the initial motion vector (see fig. 10 unit 1030, paragraph [0154], e.g., “first pass of BDOF motion vector refinement process”) based on the size of the current block (see paragraph [0079]); and determining to apply the one-pass BDOF to the initial motion vector (see fig. 10 unit 1030, paragraph [0154], e.g., “first pass of BDOF motion vector refinement process”) in response to a height of the block not being an integer multiple of 8 (see paragraph [0079] and [0152]).
As per claim [4], most of the limitations have been noted in the above rejection of claim 1. In addition, Chen discloses the method of claim 1 (see the above rejection of claim 1), wherein determining to apply the one-pass BDOF to the initial motion vector (see fig. 10 unit 1030, paragraph [0154], e.g., “first pass of BDOF motion vector refinement process”) based on the size of the current block (see paragraph [0079] and [0089]) comprises: determining whether to apply multi-iterative BDOF or the one-pass BDOF to the initial motion vector (see fig. 10 unit 1030, paragraph [0154], e.g., “first pass of BDOF motion vector refinement process”) based on the size of the current block (see paragraph [0079] and [0089]); and determining to apply the one-pass BDOF to the initial motion vector (see fig. 10 unit 1030, paragraph [0154]), e.g., “first pass of BDOF motion vector refinement process”) in response to a width of the block being equal to 4 (see paragraph [0079] and [0089]).
As per claim [5], most of the limitations have been noted in the above rejection of claim 1. In addition, Chen discloses the method of claim 1 (see the above rejection of claim 1), wherein determining to apply the one-pass BDOF to the initial motion vector (see fig. 10 unit 1030, paragraph [0154], e.g., “first pass of BDOF motion vector refinement process”) based on the size of the current block (see paragraph [0079] and [0089]) comprises: determining whether to apply multi-iterative BDOF or the one-pass BDOF to the initial motion vector (see fig. 10 unit 1030, paragraph [0154], e.g., “first pass of BDOF motion vector refinement process”) based on the size of the current block (see paragraph [0079] and [0089]); and determining to apply the one-pass BDOF to the initial motion vector (see fig. 10 unit 1030, paragraph [0154]), e.g., “first pass of BDOF motion vector refinement process”) in response to a height of the block being equal to 4 (see paragraph [0079] and [0089]).
As per claim [6], most of the limitations have been noted in the above rejection of claim 1. In addition, Chen discloses the method of claim 1 (see the above rejection of claim 1), wherein determining to apply the one-pass BDOF to the initial motion vector (see fig. 10 unit 1030, paragraph [0154], e.g., “first pass of BDOF motion vector refinement process”) based on the size of the current block (see paragraph [0079] and [0089]) comprises: determining whether to apply multi-iterative BDOF or the one-pass BDOF to the initial motion vector (see fig. 10 unit 1030, paragraph [0154], e.g., “first pass of BDOF motion vector refinement process”) based on the size of the current block (see paragraph [0079] and [0089]); and determining to apply the one-pass BDOF to the initial motion vector (see fig. 10 unit 1030, paragraph [0154]), e.g., “first pass of BDOF motion vector refinement process”) in response to a size of the current block being one of 4×4, 4×8 or 8×4 (see paragraph [0079] and [0089]).
As per claim [7], most of the limitations have been noted in the above rejection of claim 1. In addition, Chen discloses the method of claim 1 (see the above rejection of claim 1), further comprising: storing (see fig. 4 unit 404) the modified motion vector (see paragraphs [0089] and [0110]) for use in decoding (see fig. 6) a subsequent block of video data (see fig. 6, e.g., “predicted subsequent subblock from refPic in List L1” paragraph [0070]).
As per claim [8], most of the limitations have been noted in the above rejection of claim 1. In addition, Chen discloses the method of claim 1 (see the above rejection of claim 1), wherein the current block comprises an affine coded block (see paragraph [0035] and [0080]).
As per claim [9], most of the limitations have been noted in the above rejection of claim 1. In addition, Chen discloses the method of claim 1 (see the above rejection of claim 1), wherein the method of decoding (see fig. 3A unit 300A) is performed as part of a video encoding process (see fig. 2A unit 200A).
As per claim [11], the device of claim 10, is analogous to claim 2, which is performed by claim 11.
As per claim [12], the device of claim 10, is analogous to claim 3, which is performed by claim 12.
As per claim [13], the device of claim 10, is analogous to claim 4, which is performed by claim 13.
As per claim [14], the device of claim 10, is analogous to claim 5, which is performed by claim 14.
As per claim [15], the device of claim 10, is analogous to claim 6, which is performed by claim 15.
As per claim [16], the device of claim 10, is analogous to claim 7, which is performed by claim 16.
As per claim [17], the device of claim 10, is analogous to claim 8, which is performed by claim 17.
As per claim [18], most of the limitations have been noted in the above rejection of claim 10. In addition, Chen discloses the device of claim 10 (see the above rejection of claim 10), wherein the device comprises one or more of a camera (see paragraph [0030]), a computer (see fig. 4 unit 400, paragraph [0146]), a mobile device, a broadcast receiver device (see paragraph [0030]), or a set-top box.
As per claim [20], the method of claim 19, is analogous to claim 2, which is performed by claim 20.
As per claim [21], the method of claim 19, is analogous to claim 4, which is performed by claim 21.
As per claim [22], the method of claim 19, is analogous to claim 6, which is performed by claim 22.
As per claim [24], the device of claim 23, is analogous to claim 2, which is performed by claim 24.
As per claim [25], the device of claim 23, is analogous to claim 3, which is performed by claim 25.
As per claim [26], the device of claim 23, is analogous to claim 4, which is performed by claim 26.
As per claim [27], the device of claim 23, is analogous to claim 5, which is performed by claim 27.
As per claim [28], the device of claim 23, is analogous to claim 6, which is performed by claim 28.
As per claim [29], the device of claim 23, is analogous to claim 8, which is performed by claim 29.
As per claim [30], the device of claim 23, is analogous to claim 18, which is performed by claim 30.
Conclusion
5. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lai et al. (US Pub. No.: 2025/0119572 A1) discloses multi-pass decoder-side motion vector refinement.
Lim et al. (US Patent No.: 11,272,193 B2) discloses method and apparatus for estimating optical flow for motion compensation.
/R.B.C/Examiner, Art Unit 2485
/JAYANTI K PATEL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2485
December 31, 2025