DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 9-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected Group II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 5/15/2026.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 2/4/2026, 8/28/2025, 8/28/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1/2) as being anticipated by Luginbuhl et al. (US 6523762 B1).
Regarding claim 1:
Luginbuhl discloses a laminated substrate comprising:
a silicon substrate (1); and
a silicon compound film (any of 2, 3, or 12) stacked on the silicon substrate (Fig. 1),
wherein the silicon compound film has a through hole (Fig. 1),
wherein the silicon substrate has a hole (Fig. 1) communicating with the through hole (Fig. 1), and wherein either a diameter of the hole is smaller at least at a portion in a depth direction of the hold than a diameter of the through hole on a surface in contact with the silicon substrate, or a cross sectional area of the hole is smaller at least at a portion in a depth direction of the hole than a cross sectional area of the through hole on a surface in contact with the silicon substrate (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 2:
Luginbuhl discloses all the limitations of claim 1, and also that the hole is a through hole penetrating the silicon substrate (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 3:
Luginbuhl discloses all the limitations of claim 1, and also that the silicon compound film contains one or more of SiO, SiO2, Si3N4, SiN, SiC, SiON, SiOC, SiCN, and SiOCN (col. 2, lines 1-5).
Regarding claim 4:
Luginbuhl discloses all the limitations of claim 1, and also that the silicon compound film is a silicon oxide film (col. 2, lines 1-5).
Regarding claim 5:
Luginbuhl discloses all the limitations of claim 1, and also that the diameter of the hole is smaller over an entire area in the depth direction of the hole than the diameter of the through hole on the surface in contact with the silicon substrate (at least when the silicon substrate “hole” is the hole corresponding to nozzle 22: Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 6:
Luginbuhl discloses all the limitations of claim 1, and also that the diameter of the hole is smaller at a portion in the depth direction of the hole than the diameter of the through hole on the surface in contact with the silicon substrate (at least when the silicon substrate “hole” is the hole corresponding to the entire depth of the silicon substrate: Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 7:
Luginbuhl discloses all the limitations of claim 1, and also that a cross-sectional area of the hole is smaller at least at a portion in a depth direction of the hole than a cross-sectional area of the through hole on a surface in contact with the silicon substrate (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 8:
Luginbuhl discloses a liquid discharge head comprising:
a silicon substrate (1); and
a silicon compound film (any of 2, 3, or 12) stacked on the silicon substrate (Fig. 1),
wherein the silicon compound film has a through hole (Fig. 1),
wherein the silicon substrate has a hole (Fig. 1) communicating with the through hole (Fig. 1), and wherein either a diameter of the hole is smaller at least at a portion in a depth direction of the hold than a diameter of the through hole on a surface in contact with the silicon substrate, or a cross sectional area of the hole is smaller at least at a portion in a depth direction of the hole than a cross sectional area of the through hole on a surface in contact with the silicon substrate (Fig. 1).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
The following prior art reference (not exhaustive) represent known relative laminated substrates:
US 2013/0244352 A1 disclose a silicon substrate (13) having a hole (12) and a silicon compound film (51) having a through hole (83);
US 2020/0122465 A1 disclose a silicon substrate (1) having a hole (13) and a silicon compound film (15) having a through hole (12);
US 2019/0270307 A1 disclose a silicon substrate (25/21) having a hole (47/26) and a silicon compound film (30) having a through hole (71/26); and
US 2020/0215819 A1 disclose a silicon substrate (51) having a hole (512) and a silicon compound film (52,53) having a through hole (Fig. 8).
Communication with the USPTO
SHELBY L. FIDLER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2853
/SHELBY L FIDLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853