Detail Action
This office action is a response to an application filed on 08/28/2024.
Claims 1- 10 are pending for examination.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 09/03/2024. These drawings are acceptable for examination proceedings.
Double Patenting
Claims 1- 10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness- type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5, and 11- 15 of U.S. Patent No. 12120754 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims of the application are an obvious variant of the claims of the Patent. It is clear that all the elements of the application claims 1-10 are to be found in patent claims and recite language that a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize as substantially identical subject matter. The reasons for concluding that the invention defined in the independent claim 1 of application would have been an obvious variation to have modified by claim 1 of conflicting patent application, and thus, it is not patentably distinct from claims of the patent.
Instant Claim 1 of 18/818323
Conflicting Claim 1 of 12/120754 B2
1. A method to execute an automated mitigation for a problematic device, the method comprising:
accessing data, at an assigning authority engine on an on-vehicle device, the data from at least one source of a plurality of sources, the plurality of sources comprising engine data, mobile device data, connected vehicle device (CVD data, location management unit (LMU) data, and hours of service (HOS) data
1. A method for utilizing data from on-vehicle and off-vehicle sources to identify problematic devices and to execute automated mitigations, the method comprising:
accessing data, at an assigning authority for a vehicle, the data from at least one source of a plurality of sources, the plurality of sources comprising engine data, mobile device data, location management unit (LMU) data, and hours of service (HOS) data;
analyzing, at the assigning authority engine, the data based on a plurality of pre-defined patterns to identify a problematic device;
analyzing, at the assigning authority, the data based on a plurality of pre-defined patterns to identify a malfunctioning device;
generating, at the assigning authority engine, a mitigation strategy for the problematic device; and
generating, at the assigning authority, a mitigation strategy for the malfunctioning device; and
transmitting, from the assigning authority engine, the mitigation strategy for the problematic device.
transmitting, from the assigning authority, the mitigation strategy for the malfunctioning device.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1- 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wellman et al. (US 20120046982 A1), hereinafter “Wellman”; and in further view of Nielsen et al. (US 20070173993 A1), hereinafter “Nielsen”.
Regarding claim 1, Wellman teaches A method to execute an automated mitigation for a problematic device, the method comprising [Wellman: Abstract teaches method of implementing an automated diagnostic checklist for materials handling vehicles comprises detecting, by a processor on a materials handling vehicle, an error in operation of the materials handling vehicle and initiating an automated diagnostic check of a component of the materials handling vehicle in response to detecting the error]:
analyzing, at the assigning authority engine, the data based on a plurality of pre-defined patterns to identify a problematic device [Fig. 9, 10; Par. 96- 104 teaches of checking and recording operational items to identify errors (Par. 79, 150) for corrective action (Par. 164); [Wellman: Figs. 6, 7; Par. 6, 59 – 72 teaches of monitoring information across the network vehicle bus for component usage data];
generating, at the assigning authority engine, a mitigation strategy for the problematic device [Par. 160 -165 teaches perform cleanup operations and correcting the condition]; and transmitting, from the assigning authority engine, the mitigation strategy for the problematic device [Par. 5 teaches the method may further comprise transmitting the obtained event information to a third-party computer system associated with the manufacturer of the corresponding materials handling vehicle and receiving a message from the third-party computer system indicating that a service technician has been notified of the error].
However, Wellman does not teach accessing data, at an assigning authority engine on an on-vehicle device, the data from at least one source of a plurality of sources, the plurality of sources comprising engine data, mobile device data, connected vehicle device (CVD data, location management unit (LMU) data, and hours of service (HOS) data
Nevertheless, Nielsen, in the similar field of endeavor, teaches accessing data, at an assigning authority engine on an on-vehicle device, the data from at least one source of a plurality of sources, the plurality of sources comprising engine data, mobile device data, connected vehicle device (CVD data, location management unit (LMU) data, and hours of service (HOS) data [Nielsen: Fig. 4, 13; Par. 43- 46; 06- 108 teaches receiving dataset comprising fleet management data which included diagnostic data, positioning data, etc.].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time when the invention was made to utilize the teachings of Nielsen to receive vehicle data. One in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Nielsen in the Wellman system with a motivation to make this modification in order to receive data to enable conditions identified from vehicle to be classified and provide actionable metrics to inform [Nielsen: Par. 21].
Regarding claim 2, the combined Wellman in view of Nielsen teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 1. Wellman in view of Nielsen further teaches wherein comprising performing the mitigation strategy for the problematic device [Wellman: Par. 172 teaches of updates to a vehicle control program or other software controlled mobile asset feature can be wirelessly transmitted to the asset via the mobile asset information linking device 38. The processor provided within the interface controller 50 or otherwise integrated into the mobile asset may then interact with the appropriate system components via the CAN bus or other suitable network system 68 to implement the software update, e.g., an upgrade, revision, patch or other modification]
Regarding claim 3, the combined Wellman in view of Nielsen teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 1. Wellman in view of Nielsen further teaches wherein the mitigation strategy is a plurality of actions [Wellman: Par. 172]
Regarding claim 4, the combined Wellman in view of Nielsen teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 1. Wellman in view of Nielsen further teaches wherein he mitigation strategy is a single action [Wellman: Par. 172]
Regarding claim 5, the combined Wellman in view of Nielsen teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 1. Wellman in view of Nielsen further teaches wherein the malfunctioning device is an on-vehicle mobile device or a CVD [Wellman: Fig. 5A].
Regarding claim 6, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 1.
Regarding claim 7, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 2.
Regarding claim 8, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 3.
Regarding claim 9, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 4.
Regarding claim 10, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 5.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record (see attached PTO-892) and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/KYAW Z SOE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2412