Applicant’s IDS filed on 08/28/2024 has been entered and considered.
Claims 1-11 are currently pending.
Please refer to the action below.
Examiner Notes
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, and 6-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being unpatentable over Nagami et al. (US 2013/0194602, A1).
Regarding claim 1, Nagami teaches at least in Figs. 1-2 an electronic apparatus 2/3 comprising:
a first substrate on which a first central processing unit (CPU) is mounted (para. 0013 and Fig. 1-2 further illustrates at least a main board 10 comprises a first substrate and a second substrate respectively mounting a first central processing unit (CPU) 11, and a second central processing unit (CPU) 12);
a second substrate on which a second CPU is mounted and a specific function is mountable (cited main board 10 of further para. 0013 and Fig. 1-2 mounts second CPU 12 on which further mounted as noted further in para. 0027-0034 a specific user input detection means function for detecting user input operations either at the operation panel or from an external source to return the device from a power saving state to a normal mode);
and a power supply control unit configured to control power supply from a power source (the CPU 22 of Figs. 1-2 serves as the main power supply control unit configured to control power to at least power control unit 14 to bring the devices from a normal mode to a low power saving state or vice versa source 30/60),
wherein the power supply control unit controls the power supply to the second CPU when the electronic apparatus shifts to a power saving state depending on a determination result of whether the power supply to the second CPU is required in a case where the electronic apparatus is in the power saving state based on whether the specific function is mounted on the second substrate (a case is illustrated at least in para. 0027-0034 and 0047-0051 where power supply control unit controls the power supply to the second CPU 12 when the electronic apparatus and CPU 11 shifts to a power saving state depending on a determination result of whether the power supply to the second CPU 12 is required such when a condition is satisfied that elapsed time has passed since a last received operation or a case where the electronic apparatus is in the power saving state based on whether the specific user input detection function is mounted on the second substrate).
Regarding claim 3 (according to claim 1), Nagami further teaches wherein the power saving state is a state where the power supply to the first CPU is interrupted (para. 0027-0034 and 0047-0051 further teaches said power saving state is a state where the power supply to the first CPU 11 is interrupted or cutoff).
Regarding claim 6 (according to claim 1), Nagami further teaches wherein the power supply control unit is mounted on the first substrate (the device 14 of further Figs. 1-2 further serve as one of a power supply control unit mounted on the board 10 comprising said first substrate).
Regarding claim 7 (according to claim 1), Nagami further teaches wherein the power supply control unit is mounted on the second substrate (the device 14 of further Figs. 1-2 further serve as one of a power supply control unit mounted on the board 10 comprising said second substrate).
Regarding claim 8 (according to claim 1), Nagami further teaches wherein a shift to the power saving state is a shift from a state where power is supplied to the first CPU to a state where power is not supplied at least to the first CPU (the power supply shifts of further para. 0027-0034 and 0047-0051 further comprises a shift to the power saving state or low power consumption mode as a shift from a state where power is supplied to the first CPU 11 to a state where power is not supplied at least to the first CPU 11).
Regarding claim 9 (according to claim 1), Nagami further teaches wherein the power source used by the second CPU is generated in the second substrate (para. 0027-0034 and 0047-0051 further illustrates power source used by the second CPU 12 is generated in the second substrate 10).
Regarding claim 10 (according to claim 1), Nagami further teaches wherein each of the first and second substrates is a printed circuit board (Figs. 1-2 and para. 0058 further illustrates the board 10 mount the first substrate mounting the first CPU 11 and second substrate mounting CPU 12, said board understoodly comprise in the art a printed circuit board).
Regarding claim 11, Nagami teaches a control method for an electronic apparatus including a first substrate on which a first CPU is mounted, a second substrate on which a second CPU is mounted and a specific function is mountable (para. 0013 and Fig. 1-2 further illustrates at least a CPU 22 serving as the control means to control power supply to at least a main board 10 comprises a first substrate and a second substrate respectively mounting a first central processing unit (CPU) 11, and a second central processing unit (CPU) 12 on which further mounted as noted further in para. 0027-0034 a specific user input detection means function for detecting user input operations either at the operation panel or from an external source to return the device from a power saving state to a normal mode); and a power supply control unit configured to control power supply from a power source (the CPU 22 of further Figs. 1-2 further control power to power device 14
mounted on the board 10 to control supply of power from a power source 30/60),
the control method comprising: controlling the power supply to the second CPU when the electronic apparatus shifts to a power saving state depending on a determination result of whether the power supply to the second CPU is required in a case where the electronic apparatus is in the power saving state based on whether the specific function is mounted on the second substrate (a case is illustrated at least in para. 0027-0034 and 0047-0051 where power supply control unit controls the power supply to the second CPU 12 when the electronic apparatus and CPU 11 shifts to a power saving state depending on a determination result of whether the power supply to the second CPU 12 is required such when a condition is satisfied that elapsed time has passed since a last received operation or a case where the electronic apparatus is in the power saving state based on whether the specific user input detection function is mounted on the second substrate).
Claim(s) is/are 1-3, and 6-11 further rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being unpatentable over Kataoka et al. (US 5602975, A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kataoka teaches an electronic apparatus (Figs. 10-12 and 7 teaches an image forming apparatus as the claimed electronic apparatus configured with a control section 80/100 including an inherent mounting means to mount at least a first central processing unit (CPU) 10 and a further second inherent mounting means to mount a disclosed second CPU 1 of Fig. 8 to control the power supply to the second CPU 1 when the electronic apparatus shifts to a power saving state) comprising:
a first substrate on which a first central processing unit (CPU) is mounted (the laser beam printer of at least Figs. 1, 7, and 10 comprises a print controller 10/80/100 comprises inherent mount means or said first substrate on which a first central processing unit (CPU) 10 is mounted);
a second substrate on which a second CPU is mounted and a specific function is mountable (the laser beam printer of at least Figs. 1, 7, and 10 and the disclosure further comprises a print engine section comprises second inherent mount means or said second substrate on which a second central processing unit (CPU) 1 is mounted and on which a specific function indicative of a human detection sensor is provided “on…. the printer and an infrared ray emitted from a body of a user when the user approaches the printer may be detected to conduct the recovery…… As a trigger to recover from the sleep mode to the normal mode, an infrared ray sensor may be provided on an outer case of the printer to sense an infrared ray emitted from a body of a user when the user approaches the printer”); and a power supply control unit configured to control power supply from a power source (Fig. 10, 12 as further supported by Figs. 2 and 5 illustrates a power source control circuit 63/300 configured to control power supply from a power source),
wherein the power supply control unit controls the power supply to the second CPU when the electronic apparatus shifts to a power saving state depending on a determination result of whether the power supply to the second CPU is required in a case where the electronic apparatus is in the power saving state based on whether the specific function is mounted on the second substrate (the system of further Figs. 8 as further supported by at least Figs. 2 and 5 further adapted for controlling the power supply to the second CPU 1 when the electronic apparatus and the CPU 10 shifts to a power saving state depending on a determination result of whether the power supply to the second CPU 1 continues to be required in a case where the electronic apparatus is in the power saving state in such a case where or whether the specific human detection sensor mounted on the said second substrate detects approaching of a human corresponding to the image forming apparatus).
Regarding claim 2 (according to claim 1), Kataoka further teaches wherein the specific function is a human detection sensor (Kataoka further cites at least in the disclosure human detection sensor function serving in a case as a trigger or interrupt signal to recover the device from a power saving state to a normal operating mode such as “on…. the printer and an infrared ray emitted from a body of a user when the user approaches the printer may be detected to conduct the recovery…… As a trigger to recover from the sleep mode to the normal mode, an infrared ray sensor may be provided on an outer case of the printer to sense an infrared ray emitted from a body of a user when the user approaches the printer”).
Regarding claim 3 (according to claim 1), Kataoka further teaches wherein the power saving state is a state where the power supply to the first CPU is interrupted (the CPU 10 and the image forming apparatus of further at least Figs. 1, 7, and 10-12 further adapted to shift or switch to a power saving state as said state where the power supply to the first CPU 10 is cutoff or interrupted).
Regarding claim 6 (according to claim 1), Kataoka further teaches wherein the power supply control unit is mounted on the first substrate (power supply to at least the first CPU 10 of Figs. 9-10 further supply by at least a power supply source 103 mounted on an inherent first substrate means of controller section 10).
Regarding claim 7 (according to claim 1), Kataoka further teaches wherein the power supply control unit is mounted on the second substrate (Fig. 8 teaches at least a case where the second CPU 1 is configured to receive power supply from at least a power source 2/3 mounted on the inherent print engine second substrate).
Regarding claim 8 (according to claim 1), Kataoka further teaches wherein a shift to the power saving state is a shift from a state where power is supplied to the first CPU to a state where power is not supplied at least to the first CPU (Kataoka further teaches wherein a shift to the power saving state of the CPU 10 and the image forming apparatus of at least Figs. 1, 7, and 10-12 is a shift from a state where power is supplied to the first CPU 10 to a state where power is not supplied to the at least to the first CPU).
Regarding claim 9 (according to claim 1), Kataoka further teaches wherein the power source used by the second CPU is generated in the second substrate (a case exists when the main power source is cutoff, a power source 103 used by the second CPU 10 is generated in an inherent second substrate of controller section 100 of at least Figs. 10-12).
Regarding claim 10 (according to claim 1), Kataoka further teaches wherein each of the first and second substrates is a printed circuit board (one skill in the art would appreciate the CPU 10 and CPU 1 of the image forming apparatus further comprises inherent mounting first and second substrates for mounting said respective CPUs as an understood printed circuit board).
Regarding claim 11, Kataoka teaches a control method for an electronic apparatus including a first substrate on which a first CPU is mounted, a second substrate on which a second CPU is mounted and a specific function is mountable (Figs. 10-12 and 7 teaches an image forming system comprising said control method configured with a control section 80/100 including an inherent mounting means to mount at least a first central processing unit (CPU) 10 and a further second inherent mounting means to mount a disclosed second CPU 1 of Fig. 8 to control the power supply to the second CPU 1 when the electronic apparatus shifts to a power saving state, the second CPU1 further munts and provides a specific function indicative of a human detection sensor such as “on…. the printer and an infrared ray emitted from a body of a user when the user approaches the printer may be detected to conduct the recovery…… As a trigger to recover from the sleep mode to the normal mode, an infrared ray sensor may be provided on an outer case of the printer to sense an infrared ray emitted from a body of a user when the user approaches the printer”); and
a power supply control unit configured to control power supply from a power source (Fig. 10, 12 as further supported by Figs. 2 and 5 illustrates a power source control circuit 63/300 configured to control power supply from a power source),
the control method comprising: controlling the power supply to the second CPU when the electronic apparatus shifts to a power saving state depending on a determination result of whether the power supply to the second CPU is required in a case where the electronic apparatus is in the power saving state based on whether the specific function is mounted on the second substrate (the system of further Figs. 8 as further supported by at least Figs. 2 and 5 further adapted for controlling the power supply to the second CPU 1 when the electronic apparatus and the CPU 10 shifts to a power saving state depending on a determination result of whether the power supply to the second CPU 1 continues to be required in a case where the electronic apparatus is in the power saving state in such a case where or whether the specific human detection sensor mounted on the said second substrate detects approaching of a human corresponding to the image forming apparatus).
Claims Standings
Claims 4-5 are objected to over the prior arts of record, as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, and any intervening claims. The prior arts do not appear to teach: claim 4. The electronic apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising a transmission line connecting the first substrate and the second substrate, wherein the power supply control unit determines whether the specific function is mounted on the second substrate using a potential on the transmission line.
5. The electronic apparatus according to claim 4, wherein a determination using the potential is performed using only one signal on the transmission line.
Conclusion
/MARCELLUS J AUGUSTIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2682 07/21/2026