DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 06 June 2025 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(3)(i) because it does not include a concise explanation of the relevance, as it is presently understood by the individual designated in 37 CFR 1.56(c) most knowledgeable about the content of the information, of each reference listed that is not in the English language. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. § 112(f) because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. § 112(f), it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claims 23 and 32
Claims 23 and 32 are interpreted under 35 U.S.C. § 112(f).
Regarding claims 23 and 32, the limitation “acousto-optic device” uses the generic placeholder “device” that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function, and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Accordingly, this limitation is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. § 112(f) as corresponding to:
a 100 MHz acousto-optic deflector (AOD) driven by a comb of radiofrequencies produced by a direct digital synthesis (DDS) radiofrequency (RF) comb generator, wherein the comb is phase-engineered to minimize peak-to-average power ratio, wherein the AOD produces multiple deflected optical beams with a range of both output angles and frequency shifts, wherein the AOD produces a single diffracted first-order beam for each radiofrequency comb frequency; or
an acousto-optic frequency shifter, driven by a single radiofrequency tone produced by a DDS RF tone generator, which proves a local oscillator beam; (Applicant’s specification, ¶ 39-40, fig. 1); and
equivalents thereof. Regarding the interpretations of claims using generic placeholders, see MPEP § 2181(I)(A).
Claim Rejections — 35 U.S.C. § 102
Claims 21-22 and 29-31
Claims 21-22 and 29-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Choi (US 2009/0125242 A1).
Claim 21
Regarding claim 21, Choi discloses an apparatus (cytometry platform; claim 131) comprising: a flow channel (inherent to flow cell; ¶ 100); a light beam generator (12, 18) configured to excite a sample in the flow channel (¶¶ 37, 100; Fig. 1; from ¶ 37: “the laser beam passes through two acousto-optic modulators 28 (AOMs) which shift the frequency of the laser beam by 1250 Hz”); a photodetector (42) configured to measure a fluorescence of the excited sample (¶¶ 37, 100); and a computer-readable memory having instructions to: receive the measured fluorescence; segment the measured fluorescence into a plurality of frames; perform a Fourier transform on at least a portion of the plurality of frames; and generate an image of a phenomena (fluorescence) of the sample based on the transformed frames (¶¶ 37, 94, 101-104, Fig. 1).
Claim 22
Regarding claim 22, Choi discloses the apparatus according to claim 21, wherein the light beam generator comprises a laser (¶ 37).
Claim 29
Regarding claim 29, Choi discloses the apparatus according to claim 21, further comprising a flow cell for propagating the sample through a flow stream (see rejection of claim 21 above).
Claims 30-31
Regarding claims 30-31, see the rejections of claims 21-22 above, mutatis mutandis.
Claim Rejections — 35 U.S.C. § 103
Claims 24-28 and 33-37
Claims 24-28 and 33-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Choi as applied to claims 21 and 30 above, and further in view of Ragan (US 2011/0320174 A1).
Claim 24
Regarding claim 24, Choi discloses the apparatus according to claim 21, wherein the photodetector comprises a CMOS camera (¶ 37). Choi does not expressly disclose the photodetector comprises a photomultiplier tube (PMT).
Ragan discloses a cytometry platform (¶ 22) and a method including generating a data signal (time traces) comprising a temporal component and applying a Fourier transform to the data signal to generate a waveform (¶ 41, Fig. 9), wherein a photodetector can be a CMOS camera or a PMT (¶ 23).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the invention of Choi in view of the further teachings of Ragan so use a PMT with the predictable result of detecting light with the PMT instead of the CMOS camera because the simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results has been held to be obvious. See MPEP § 2143.
One would have been motivated to use a PMT to use a detector with relatively less noise as compared to CMOS detectors.
Claim 25
Regarding claim 25, Choi modified teaches the apparatus according to claim 24, wherein photodetector is configured to detect fluorescence from the sample in a plurality of pixels across the irradiated sample (Choi, ¶ 74, claim 54).
Claim 26
Regarding claim 26, Choi modified teaches the apparatus according to claim 25, wherein the memory comprises instructions to determine a temporal component for generating the image (Ragan, ¶ 41, Fig. 9, also disclosing applying a Fourier transform).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have further modified the invention of Choi in view of the further teachings of Ragan with the predictable result of generating a data signal comprising a temporal component and applying a Fourier transform to the data signal to generate waveform.
One would have been motivated to use perform temporal Fourier transform processing to gain an advantage recited in Ragan of obtaining information about “photon migration, fluorescence lifetime, or other time-resolved spectroscopy experiment” (Ragan, ¶ 65).
Claim 27
Regarding claim 27, Choi modified teaches the apparatus according to claim 26, wherein memory comprises instructions to generate a color-mapped image from the plurality of frames (Choi, ¶¶ 29-30; Figs. 13A-14M).
Claim 28
Regarding claim 28, Choi modified teaches the apparatus according to claim 26, wherein the memory comprises instructions to generate an image comprising spatial information based on the transformed frames (Choi, ¶¶ 21-22, 54-62, Figs. 5A-6G).
Claims 33-37
Regarding claims 33-37, see the rejections of claims 24-28 above, respectively, mutatis mutandis.
Claim Rejections — Double Patenting
Claims 21-37
Claims 21-37 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 21-23, 28-34, and 39-42 of copending U.S. patent application 19/021,025 in view of Choi (US 2009/0125242 A1) and Ragan (US 2011/0320174 A1). This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 21-29
Regarding claims 21-29, reference claims 21-23 and 28-31 anticipate or render obvious instant claims 21-29, as necessary in view of Choi and Ragan as described in the 35 U.S.C. §§ 102-103 rejections above, as follows:
Instant claims
Reference claims
21. An apparatus comprising:
a flow channel;
a light beam generator configured to excite a sample in the flow channel;
a photodetector configured to measure a fluorescence of the excited sample; and
a computer-readable memory having instructions to:
receive the measured fluorescence;
segment the measured fluorescence into a plurality of frames;
perform a Fourier transform on at least a portion of the plurality of frames; and
generate an image of a phenomena of the sample based on the transformed frames.
21. A cytometry platform comprising:
[see rejection above]
a light beam generator configured to illuminate a particle in a flow stream;
a detector configured to measure an emission of the illuminated particle [see also rejection above];
a computer-readable storage medium comprising instructions that, when executed by one or more processing devices:
receive the measured emission;
generate a data signal from the illuminated particle comprising a temporal component [see also rejection above];
apply a Fourier transform to a reference component from illumination of the particle; apply a Fourier transform to the data signal [see also rejection above; and
generate a waveform based on the Fourier transform of the data signal and the Fourier transform of the reference component [see also rejection above]
22. The apparatus according to claim 21,
wherein the light beam generator comprises a laser.
22. The cytometry platform according to claim 21,
wherein the light beam generator comprises a laser.
23. The apparatus according to claim 21,
wherein the light beam generator comprises an acousto-optic device.
23. The cytometry platform according to claim 21,
wherein the light beam generator comprises: a first acousto-optic device for generating a first frequency shifted beam of light; and a second acousto-optic device for generating a second frequency shifted beam of light.
24. The apparatus according to claim 21,
wherein the photodetector comprises a photomultiplier tube (PMT).
28. The cytometry platform according to claim 21,
wherein the photodetector comprises a photomultiplier tube (PMT).
25. The apparatus according to claim 24,
wherein photodetector is configured to detect fluorescence from the sample in a plurality of pixels across the irradiated sample.
29. The cytometry platform according to claim 21,
wherein the photodetector is configured to detect fluorescence from the sample [see also rejection above].
26. The apparatus according to claim 25,
wherein the memory comprises instructions to determine a temporal component for generating the image.
21. … generate a data signal from the illuminated particle comprising a temporal component [see also rejection above]
27. The apparatus according to claim 26,
wherein memory comprises instructions to generate a color-mapped image from the plurality of frames.
31. The cytometry platform according to claim 21,
wherein the instructions further form an image from the waveform [see also rejection above]
28. The apparatus according to claim 26,
wherein the memory comprises instructions to generate an image comprising spatial information based on the transformed frames.
31. The cytometry platform according to claim 21,
wherein the instructions further form an image from the waveform [see also rejection above]
29. The apparatus according to claim 21, further comprising
a flow cell for propagating the sample through a flow stream.
30. The cytometry platform according to claim 21, further comprising
a flow cell for propagating the sample through a flow stream.
Claims 30-37
Regarding claims 30-37, see the rejections of claims 21-28 above, respectively, mutatis mutandis with respect to reference claims 32-34, and 39-42.
Claim Considerations — 35 USC §§ 102-103
Claims 23 and 32
Regarding claims 23 and 32, with reference to representative claim 23, the cited prior art does not expressly disclose or suggest the particularly acousto-optic device, as interpreted under 35 U.S.C. § 112(f) as described above.
Choi (US 2009/0125242 A1) discloses an apparatus (10; ¶ 37, fig. 1) comprising: a light beam generator (12, 28) configured to generate a frequency shifted beam of light (¶ 37, fig. 1; from ¶ 37: “the laser beam passes through two acousto-optic modulators 28 (AOMs) which shift the frequency of the laser beam by 1250 Hz”), an optical component (29, 40, and intervening mirror in fig. 1) for conveying the frequency shifted beam of light to a photodetector 42, means for irradiating a particle in a sample in a flow stream, the photodetector 42 configured to detect light from the irradiated particle in the sample and generate a data signal comprising a temporal component; and a processor 100 comprising memory operably coupled to the processor wherein the memory comprises instructions stored thereon, which when executed by the processor, cause the processor 100 to form an image from the generated data signal (¶ 37, 94, fig. 1). In particular, the frequency shifted beam of light is used as a reference beam and is not used to irradiate a sample in a flow stream. Choi further discloses first and second acousto-optic devices (acousto-optic modulators; ¶ 37).
MacPherson (US 6,396,069) discloses an apparatus (Fig. 4) comprising: a light beam generator component (141); a first optical apparatus (151) configured to direct a first beam along a first optical path and to direct a second beam along a second path; a second optical apparatus (157) configured to combine and direct the first beam with the second beam; and a photodetector (164).
While various systems for flow cytometry were generally known in the art, as were acousto-optic devices, the cited prior art does not expressly disclose or suggest Applicant’s particularly claimed configuration. Accordingly, claims 23 and 34 are not rejected under 35 U.S.C. §§ 102-103.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yamashita (US 2007/0272885 A1) discloses an apparatus including a laser beam source for stimulation that emits a laser beam for stimulation for applying photostimulation to a sample, and an acoustooptic device (Abstract).
Fukumoto (US 2011/0192991 A1) discloses an apparatus including a light source configured to irradiate a microparticle with light; and an acousto-optic modulator configured to diffract fluorescence generated from the microparticle due to the light irradiation (Abstract).
Blake C. Riddick, Ph.D.
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2884
/BLAKE C RIDDICK/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2884