DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 31, 42, and 43 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by ZAGARS (2020/0014025).
Regarding claim 31, 42, and 43
ZAGARS generally teaches the formation of an semi-solid electrode by disposing a slurry onto a current collector [0106]. The semi-solid electrode is a mixture of active material, conductive carbon, and liquid electrolyte [0039]. A calendaring step to reduce thickness and remove electrolyte can be done [0107] (reduces thickness and volume).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 46 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZAGARS (2020/0014025).
Regarding claim 46,
ZAGARS teaches the finished thickness of the semi solid electrode can be 25-2000µm [0100]. The claimed range is overlapped by the prior art range and is considered prima facie obvious, MPEP 2144.05.I.
Claim(s) 50 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZAGARS (2020/0014025) in view of TAN et al. (US 9,437,864).
Regarding claim 50,
ZAGARS teaches the removal of electrolyte but does not teach the final energy density of the electrode. The reference incorporates slurry compositions from TAN [0039]. TAN teaches using semi-solid electrodes with 150-200 mAh/g and 700-1,200 mAh/g column 7 lines 11-21. Removal of non-active material (electrolyte) according to ZAGARS would only further increase the energy density. At the time of filing the invention it would have been prima facie obvious to use the slurry compositions of TAN because they are specifically incorporated by reference. The compositions will have an energy density that falls within the claimed range before and after removal of a non-active material.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 31, 32, 37-42, 45, 46, 48 and 50 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 31, 32, 37, 42, 45, 46, 48, and 50 are directed to a method of mixing and disposing a semi-solid electrode material followed by extracting some of the liquid electrolyte from the semi-solid electrode material. However, the claim does not limit the way the extraction occurs. The originally filed claims specify that the reduction in volume (extraction of liquid electrolyte) is performed by a compression step with an absorbent and/or semipermeable membrane. By broadening the scope to include extraction of liquid electrolyte by other means the claims incorporate new matter which was not in the original disclosure. In contrast, claims 33-36 reincorporate the compressing step with absorbant/semi permeable membrane which narrows the scope of extraction to what was originally disclosed.
Claims 38-41 similarly broaden the claims by “transferring a volume” of the liquid electrolyte (changing volume and densifying the remaining semi-solid electrode) without requiring the compressing. This language does not require compression and does not even preferentially remove liquid electrolyte.
Double Patenting
Claims 31-50 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5, 7-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,107,252. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the patent fall completely within the scope of the present claims 31-50.
Claims 31-50 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 4, 12-16, 19-22, 24 and 25 of U.S. Patent No. 11,462,722. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the patent fall completely within the scope of the present claims 31-50.
Conclusion
/AUSTIN MURATA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1712