The prior action is being vacated.
DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the amendment filed with Terminal Disclaimer (TD) on 02/17/2026 (claimed priority date 10/13/2017):
Claims 1-20 have been examined.
Legend: “Under BRI” = “under broadest reasonable interpretation;”
“[Prior Art/Analogous/Non-Analogous Art Reference] discloses through the invention” means “See/read entire document;” Paragraph [No..] = e.g., Para [0005] = paragraph 5; P = page, e.g., p4 = page 4; C = column, e.g. c3 = column 3;
L = line, e.g., l25 = line 25; l25-36 = lines 25 through 36.
Response to Amendment
Claim Interpretation
1. Applicant appears not to argue, in remarks filed on 02/17/2026, the claim interpretation (invoking 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitations in claims 1, 7, 11 and 13) from the previous office action.
Double Patenting
1. Applicant’s Terminal Disclaimer (TD) filed 02/17/2026 has overcome the nonstatutory double patenting rejection to claims 1-20 from the previous Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Upon Examiner’s reconsideration and conducting updated search, claims 1-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nobrega (US20160033293) in view of Kluge (US20110040438), further in view of Isaac (US20050159889), and further in view of McNew (US20180017398).
As per claims 1 and 11, Nobrega discloses, through the invention (see entire document), a system/method for generating navigation routes for a vehicle, the system/method comprising:
a processor (fig. 1 , Para [0022]);
a memory coupled to the processor, the memory storing instructions that, when executed by the processor (fig. 1, Para [0022]), cause the processor to:
receive an origin position, in a road network (Para [0015, 0018, 0031-0032, 0043] - teaching planning trip, setting trip on vehicle's (or vehicle operator's) GPS device ... to enable the vehicle to be driven along a first planned route of a trip to a selected destination, which inherently teach on receiving/setting origin and destination position of a trip for a vehicle);
receive a destination position, in the road network (Para [0015, 0018, 0031-0032, 0043] – teaching planning trip, setting trip on vehicle's (or vehicle operator's) GPS device ... to enable the vehicle to be driven along a first planned route of a trip to a selected destination, which inherently teach on receiving/setting origin and destination position of a trip for a vehicle);
receive an input from a user interface device, the input corresponding to one of a plurality of tradeoff values representing time efficiency and energy efficiency (Para [0023, 0037-0038, 0047, 0055, 0060], claim 8);
compute a travel time value for each of a plurality of road segments of the road network using a time consumption model (Para [0038, 0047, 0050, 0060], claim 8); and
display identified route of the identified one or more routes on a computing device remote from the vehicle (fig. 1-3, Para [0023-0025, 0027, 0037-0039, 0047, 0051-0052, 0055-0057], claim 8).
Nobrega does not explicitly disclose, through the invention, or is missing, receiving an input from user interface device, the input corresponding to one of a plurality of tradeoff values representing different compromises between time efficiency and energy efficiency, plurality of tradeoff values comprising a first tradeoff value representing a user preference for a fastest route, a second tradeoff value representing a user preference for a most energy efficient route, and a third tradeoff value representing a user preference for an intermediate route between the fastest route and the most energy efficient route; computing an energy consumption for each of the plurality of road segments of the road network using an energy consumption model; identifying one or more weighted routes from the origin position to the destination position based on the travel time value and the energy consumption for the road segments in accordance with the input from the user interface device; remotely controlling a navigation system of a vehicle to navigate the vehicle to drive along an identified weighted route of the identified one or more weighted routes while traveling to the destination position; display identified weighted route of the identified one or more weighted routes on a computing device remote from the vehicle; controlling, by the processor, a navigation system of a vehicle to control an autonomous driving system of the vehicle to drive along an identified weighted route of the identified one or more weighted routes while traveling to the destination position.
However, Kluge teaches, through the invention (see entire document), particularly in abstract, method for estimating a propulsion-related operating parameter of a vehicle for a road segment, and for determining routes based on the estimate; the method employed, for example, in a vehicle navigation system; one example method, in which at least one operating parameter of the vehicle estimated for the road segment based on information corresponding to the road segment; the propulsion-related operating parameter estimated for the road segment using the at least one estimated operating parameter and at least one vehicle specific parameter.
Kluge further teaches, through the invention (see entire document), particularly in fig. 1-9, Para [0024-0025], navigation system configured to determine a fuel or energy efficient route to a destination, or a route with minimal CO.sub.2 emission, which is roughly proportional to the fuel consumption for a vehicle with a combustion engine; navigation system that determines fuel (or energy) efficient routes based on cost values assigned to road segments in map data; the reliability and accuracy of the route determination results that corresponds to the precision with which the costs assigned to the road segments that reflect the fuel consumption predicted for the road segment; with the aim of maximizing this precision, driving data acquired from a plurality of data sources and utilized to estimate the fuel consumption on a road segment.
Kluge further teaches, through the invention (see entire document), particularly in fig. 1-9, Para [0030], estimation of propulsion-related operating parameter 116 of the vehicle, such as fuel consumption, that may be performed using the estimation of the velocity or acceleration profile 108; the estimation of the velocity or acceleration profile 108 that may be based on the vehicle subsystems model 104 and corresponding determined vehicle-specific parameters; the estimation of propulsion-related parameters 116 that may be performed for any road segment in the map data source 112 even if the vehicle has not traveled on the road segment; the expected fuel consumption that may be estimated for a number of road segments included in the map data source 112 on an individual road segment basis, or for certain types or classes of road segments; by estimating fuel consumption for types or classes of road segments, the processing that may be performed faster and the results would occupy less memory space for storing the estimated values; the estimation of the propulsion-related parameters 116 that may also include functions for determining a cost value to assign to the road segment or to the type or class of road segment; using the velocity profile for the road segment determined from estimation of the velocity or acceleration profile 1 08, the estimation of the propulsion-related parameters 116 that may also include functions for determining time to travel the road segment, and a corresponding cost value may be assigned to the road segment.
Kluge further teaches, through the invention (see entire document), particularly in Para [0075], vehicle specific constant, i, proportional to the transmission ratio and that may be determined for each gear k; the constant i(k) that may be determined by acquiring driving data for the velocity and the rotational speed of the motor, and by using a statistical method. such as a least mean squares method using a linear regression.
Kluge further teaches, through the invention (see entire document), particularly in Para [0107], current fuel consumption b.sub.j, current rotational speed n.sub.j, and torque M.sub.j applied by the engine that may be obtained from the vehicle network 202; the vehicle specific parameters x.sub.1 and x.sub.2 that may be defined as following formula, ... wherein ... the vehicle specific parameters x.sub.1 and x.sub.2 may be determined from a linear regression using a least mean squares method.
Kluge further teaches, through the invention (see entire document), particularly in fig. 6, Para [0117], step 612, in which the vehicle navigation system determines a route from the current position to the destination that minimizes the costs associated with the road segments of the route; the route determination that may factor cost relating to fuel consumption as well as time, or distance, or any other cost criterion; routes that may thus be determined based on the most fuel efficient route, the most energy efficient route, the route leading to the least CO.sub.2 emission, or routes that optimize a trade-off between various cost criteria; route determination that may be performed by any suitable technique, such as by a Viterbi search algorithm, an A* algorithm and other techniques; the algorithms used that may be adapted for use with dynamic traffic information.
Kluge further teaches, through the invention (see entire document), particularly in claim 3, estimated operating parameter for the road segment estimated as a function of time or distance with function values variable over the road segment.
Isaac, in turn, teaches, through the invention (see entire document), particularly in Para [0006], many vehicle manufacturers and aftermarket suppliers that offer electronic navigation systems for vehicles; typically, electronic navigation systems that include a memory component to store maps and other data, a global positioning transceiver, and a user interface with a display; many of these navigation systems that employ predetermined algorithms to determine a route between locations; the algorithms that may determine the route between locations based on any number of parameters, such as minimizing fuel consumption, limiting travel time, maximizing average speed, and so forth; to determine the route, the algorithm that may also employ various kinds of dynamic data, such as traffic congestion, road construction, and weather conditions, and the like; in addition, the algorithm that may assign weights to the dynamic and stored data based on the parameters being used to determine the route, and, in response, use the weights to determine a route for a specific user.
Isaac further teaches, through the invention (see entire document), particularly in fig. 1, Para [0019], processor 12 that may utilize the program 18 to perform operations on data to aid the vehicle navigation system 10 in determining a route; the program 18 that may perform specific instructions to assign weights to different types of data based on the parameters defined within an algorithm; by assigning different weights to segments of a specific route between two locations, an optimal route that may be determined; the parameters that are used to assign the weights that may vary depending on the weighting strategies being used by the algorithm.
Isaac further teaches, through the invention (see entire document), particularly in fig. 1, Para [0023], program 18 that may provide different routes that may utilize data from the transceiver module 20, the positioning system 22, and/or the user interface 24; if the algorithm used by the program 18 places different weights on the speed limits associated with a road, then a highway that may be weighted with a different value than a residential street because the highway has a higher speed limit; as a result of this weighting strategy, the highway presented as the better route between the locations; with the addition of the traffic data, the algorithm that may adjust the weights placed on the highway and the residential street; the traffic data that may result in the residential street being a better route because of less traffic congestion; thus, the program 18 that may provide different routes based on the weighting strategies and the associated data utilized by the algorithm to generate an optimal route.
McNew, in turn, teaches, through the invention (see entire document), particularly in abstract, a navigation apparatus (including configurable circuitry) and method for displaying a plurality of control parameters to carry out a process for generating at least one optimum route for use in navigation of an autonomous vehicle, receiving a plurality of weights corresponding to the plurality of control parameters to generate a route score corresponding to the at least one route, transmitting the plurality of control parameters and the plurality of weights to a server implementing an optimization algorithm to calculate the at least one optimum route using the plurality of control parameters and the plurality of weights, receiving the at least one optimum route and the route score generated by the server, and displaying the at least one optimum route and the route score to enable selection of the at least one optimum route for navigation of the autonomous vehicle from the start location to the destination.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, who is also a person of ordinary creativity, not an automation, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Nobrega by incorporating, applying and utilizing the above steps, technique and features as taught by Kluge. A person of ordinary skill, ordinary creativity would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of and/or in order to estimate a propulsion-related operating parameter of a vehicle for a road segment (see Kluge, Para [0009]); and to search, via the algorithm, for the route for which the costs associated with the road segments of the route are minimized (see Kluge, Para [0117]);
by incorporating, applying and utilizing the above steps, technique and features as taught by Isaac. A person of ordinary skill, ordinary creativity would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of and/or in order to assign, via an algorithm, weights to the dynamic and stored data based on the parameters being used to determine the route, and, in response, use the weights to determine a route for a specific user (see Isaac, Para [0006]); and to assign weights to different types of data based on the parameters defined within an algorithm; and determine an optimal route, by assigning different weights to segments of a specific route between two locations (see Isaac, Para [0019]); and
by incorporating, applying and utilizing the above steps, technique and features as taught by McNew. A person of ordinary skill, ordinary creativity would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of and/or in order to receive a start location and a destination, and display a plurality of control parameters to carry out a process for generating at least one optimum route from the start location to the destination; to receive a plurality of weights corresponding to the plurality of control parameters to generate a route score corresponding to the at least one optimum route, and transmit, via a network, the plurality of control parameters and the plurality of weights to a server that implements an optimization algorithm to generate the at least one optimum route using the plurality of control parameters and the plurality of weights; to receive, via the network, the at least one optimum route and the route score corresponding to the at least one optimum route generated by the server, and display the at least one optimum and the route score to enable selection of the at least one optimum route for navigation of the autonomous vehicle from the start location to the destination (see McNew, Para [0005]).
As per claim 2, Nobrega does not explicitly disclose, through the invention, or is missing, navigation system of the vehicle configured to control an autonomous driving system of the vehicle to drive the vehicle along the identified weighted route.
However, McNew teaches, through the invention (see entire document), particularly in abstract, a navigation apparatus (including configurable circuitry) and method for displaying a plurality of control parameters to carry out a process for generating at least one optimum route for use in navigation of an autonomous vehicle, receiving a plurality of weights corresponding to the plurality of control parameters to generate a route score corresponding to the at least one route, transmitting the plurality of control parameters and the plurality of weights to a server implementing an optimization algorithm to calculate the at least one optimum route using the plurality of control parameters and the plurality of weights, receiving the at least one optimum route and the route score generated by the server, and displaying the at least one optimum route and the route score to enable selection of the at least one optimum route for navigation of the autonomous vehicle from the start location to the destination.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, who is also a person of ordinary creativity, not an automation, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Nobrega by incorporating, applying and utilizing the above steps, technique and features as taught by McNew. A person of ordinary skill, ordinary creativity would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of and/or in order to receive a start location and a destination, and display a plurality of control parameters to carry out a process for generating at least one optimum route from the start location to the destination; to receive a plurality of weights corresponding to the plurality of control parameters to generate a route score corresponding to the at least one optimum route, and transmit, via a network, the plurality of control parameters and the plurality of weights to a server that implements an optimization algorithm to generate the at least one optimum route using the plurality of control parameters and the plurality of weights; to receive, via the network, the at least one optimum route and the route score corresponding to the at least one optimum route generated by the server, and display he at least one optimum and the route score to enable selection of the at least one optimum route for navigation of the autonomous vehicle from the start location to the destination (see McNew, Para [0005]).
As per claims 3 and 14, Nobrega further discloses, through the invention (see entire document), at least one of the one or more weighted routes that minimizes a risk of running out of fuel or battery charge while traveling from the origin position to the destination position (Para [0005-0007, 0012, 0023, 0026, 0034-0044] - suggested driving route(s) including refilling stations).
As per claims 4 and 15, Nobrega does not explicitly disclose, through the invention, or is missing, energy consumption model is configured to compute the energy consumption based on energy used by a powertrain type.
However, Kluge teaches, through the invention (see entire document, particularly in Para [0006], average fuel consumption that varies between different makes and models; that even for a given model, the fuel consumption varies for different types of engines, different tires, different vehicle accessories, and other possible variables.
Kluge further teaches, through the invention (see entire document, particularly in fig. 1, Para [0028, 0030, 0065], vehicle models 104, ... and the determined vehicle ... specific parameters that may be utilized with a velocity or acceleration profile 1 08 with which the vehicle is expected to travel on the road segment to estimate the fuel to be consumed for a given road segment; estimation of propulsion-related operating parameter 116 of the vehicle, such as fuel consumption, that may be performed using the estimation of the velocity or acceleration profile 108; the estimation of the velocity or acceleration profile 108 that may be based on the vehicle subsystems model 104 and corresponding determined vehicle-specific parameters; vehicle specific parameters, such as the vehicle weight, and aerodynamic drag coefficient c.sub.x of the vehicle, the air pressure .rho., a projected frontal area A of the vehicle and others.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, who is also a person of ordinary creativity, not an automation, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Nobrega by incorporating, applying and utilizing the above steps, technique and features as taught by Kluge. A person of ordinary skill, ordinary creativity would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of and/or in order to estimate a propulsion-related operating parameter of a vehicle for a road segment (see Kluge, Para [0009]); and to search, via the algorithm, for the route for which the costs associated with the road segments of the route are minimized (see Kluge, Para [0117]).
As per claims 5 and 16, Nobrega does not explicitly disclose, through the invention, or is missing, powertrain type selected from a collection comprising: a combustion engine; a hybrid electric engine; and an electricity-based power source.
However, Kluge teaches, through the invention (see entire document, particularly in Para [0006], average fuel consumption that varies between different makes and models; that even for a given model, the fuel consumption varies for different types of engines, different tires, different vehicle accessories, and other possible variables.
Kluge further teaches, through the invention (see entire document, particularly in fig. 1, Para [0028, 0030, 0065], vehicle models 104, ... and the determined vehicle ... specific parameters that may be utilized with a velocity or acceleration profile 1 08 with which the vehicle is expected to travel on the road segment to estimate the fuel to be consumed for a given road segment; estimation of propulsion-related operating parameter 116 of the vehicle, such as fuel consumption, that may be performed using the estimation of the velocity or acceleration profile 108; the estimation of the velocity or acceleration profile 108 that may be based on the vehicle subsystems model 104 and corresponding determined vehicle-specific parameters; vehicle specific parameters, such as the vehicle weight, and aerodynamic drag coefficient c.sub.x of the vehicle, the air pressure .rho., a projected frontal area A of the vehicle and others.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, who is also a person of ordinary creativity, not an automation, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Nobrega by incorporating, applying and utilizing the above steps, technique and features as taught by Kluge. A person of ordinary skill, ordinary creativity would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of and/or in order to estimate a propulsion-related operating parameter of a vehicle for a road segment (see Kluge, Para [0009]); and to search, via the algorithm, for the route for which the costs associated with the road segments of the route are minimized (see Kluge, Para [0117]).
As per claims 6 and 17, Nobrega further discloses, through the invention (see entire document), identifying the one or more weighted routes further based on locations of refuel stations or recharge stations (Para [0005-0007, 0012, 0023, 0026, 0034-0044] - suggested driving route(s) including refilling stations) in accordance with the energy used by the powertrain type.
Nobrega does not explicitly disclose, through the invention, or is missing, identifying the one or more weighted routes further based on and in accordance with the energy used by the powertrain type.
However, Kluge teaches, through the invention (see entire document, particularly in Para [0006], average fuel consumption that varies between different makes and models; that even for a given model, the fuel consumption varies for different types of engines, different tires, different vehicle accessories, and other possible variables.
Kluge further teaches, through the invention (see entire document, particularly in fig. 1, Para [0028, 0030, 0065], vehicle models 104, ... and the determined vehicle ... specific parameters that may be utilized with a velocity or acceleration profile 1 08 with which the vehicle is expected to travel on the road segment to estimate the fuel to be consumed for a given road segment; estimation of propulsion-related operating parameter 116 of the vehicle, such as fuel consumption, that may be performed using the estimation of the velocity or acceleration profile 108; the estimation of the velocity or acceleration profile 108 that may be based on the vehicle subsystems model 104 and corresponding determined vehicle-specific parameters; vehicle specific parameters, such as the vehicle weight, and aerodynamic drag coefficient c.sub.x of the vehicle, the air pressure .rho., a projected frontal area A of the vehicle and others.
Isaac, in turn, teaches, through the invention (see entire document), particularly in Para [0006], many vehicle manufacturers and aftermarket suppliers that offer electronic navigation systems for vehicles; typically, electronic navigation systems that include a memory component to store maps and other data, a global positioning transceiver, and a user interface with a display; many of these navigation systems that employ predetermined algorithms to determine a route between locations; the algorithms that may determine the route between locations based on any number of parameters, such as minimizing fuel consumption, limiting travel time, maximizing average speed, and so forth; to determine the route, the algorithm that may also employ various kinds of dynamic data, such as traffic congestion, road construction, and weather conditions, and the like; in addition, the algorithm that may assign weights to the dynamic and stored data based on the parameters being used to determine the route, and, in response, use the weights to determine a route for a specific user.
Isaac further teaches, through the invention (see entire document), particularly in fig. 1, Para [0019], processor 12 that may utilize the program 18 to perform operations on data to aid the vehicle navigation system 10 in determining a route; the program 18 that may perform specific instructions to assign weights to different types of data based on the parameters defined within an algorithm; by assigning different weights to segments of a specific route between two locations, an optimal route that may be determined; the parameters that are used to assign the weights that may vary depending on the weighting strategies being used by the algorithm.
Isaac further teaches, through the invention (see entire document), particularly in fig. 1, Para [0023], program 18 that may provide different routes that may utilize data from the transceiver module 20, the positioning system 22, and/or the user interface 24; if the algorithm used by the program 18 places different weights on the speed limits associated with a road, then a highway that may be weighted with a different value than a residential street because the highway has a higher speed limit; as a result of this weighting strategy, the highway presented as the better route between the locations; with the addition of the traffic data, the algorithm that may adjust the weights placed on the highway and the residential street; the traffic data that may result in the residential street being a better route because of less traffic congestion; thus, the program 18 that may provide different routes based on the weighting strategies and the associated data utilized by the algorithm to generate an optimal route.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, who is also a person of ordinary creativity, not an automation, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Nobrega by incorporating, applying and utilizing the above steps, technique and features as taught by Kluge. A person of ordinary skill, ordinary creativity would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of and/or in order to estimate a propulsion-related operating parameter of a vehicle for a road segment (see Kluge, Para [0009]); and to search, via the algorithm, for the route for which the costs associated with the road segments of the route are minimized (see Kluge, Para [0117]); and
by incorporating, applying and utilizing the above steps, technique and features as taught by Isaac. A person of ordinary skill, ordinary creativity would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of and/or in order to assign, via an algorithm, weights to the dynamic and stored data based on the parameters being used to determine the route, and, in response, use the weights to determine a route for a specific user (see Isaac, Para [0006]); and to assign weights to different types of data based on the parameters defined within an algorithm; and determine an optimal route, by assigning different weights to segments of a specific route between two locations (see Isaac, Para [0019]).
As per claims 7 and 13, Nobrega further discloses, through the invention (see entire document), displaying locations of refuel or recharge stations on the one or more weighted routes displayed on the computing device remote from the vehicle; displaying the identified weighted route of the identified one or more weighted routes is displayed on a computing device remote from the vehicle (fig. 1-3, Para [0005-0007, 0012, 0023- 0027, 0034-0044, 0037-0039, 0047, 0051-0052, 0055-0057], claim 8).
As per claims 8 and 18, Nobrega does not explicitly disclose, through the invention, or is missing, plurality of tradeoff values that represent different compromises between time efficiency and vehicle emissions in accordance with energy used by the powertrain type.
However, Kluge teaches, through the invention (see entire document), particularly in Para [0024], teaching claim 3, determine a fuel or energy efficient route to a destination, or a route with minimal CO.sub.2 emission, which is roughly proportional to the fuel consumption for a vehicle with a combustion engine.
Isaac, in turn, teaches, through the invention (see entire document), particularly in Para [0006], many vehicle manufacturers and aftermarket suppliers that offer electronic navigation systems for vehicles; typically, electronic navigation systems that include a memory component to store maps and other data, a global positioning transceiver, and a user interface with a display; many of these navigation systems that employ predetermined algorithms to determine a route between locations; the algorithms that may determine the route between locations based on any number of parameters, such as minimizing fuel consumption, limiting travel time, maximizing average speed, and so forth; to determine the route, the algorithm that may also employ various kinds of dynamic data, such as traffic congestion, road construction, and weather conditions, and the like; in addition, the algorithm that may assign weights to the dynamic and stored data based on the parameters being used to determine the route, and, in response, use the weights to determine a route for a specific user.
Isaac further teaches, through the invention (see entire document), particularly in fig. 1, Para [0019], processor 12 that may utilize the program 18 to perform operations on data to aid the vehicle navigation system 10 in determining a route; the program 18 that may perform specific instructions to assign weights to different types of data based on the parameters defined within an algorithm; by assigning different weights to segments of a specific route between two locations, an optimal route that may be determined; the parameters that are used to assign the weights that may vary depending on the weighting strategies being used by the algorithm.
Isaac further teaches, through the invention (see entire document), particularly in fig. 1, Para [0023], program 18 that may provide different routes that may utilize data from the transceiver module 20, the positioning system 22, and/or the user interface 24; if the algorithm used by the program 18 places different weights on the speed limits associated with a road, then a highway that may be weighted with a different value than a residential street because the highway has a higher speed limit; as a result of this weighting strategy, the highway presented as the better route between the locations; with the addition of the traffic data, the algorithm that may adjust the weights placed on the highway and the residential street; the traffic data that may result in the residential street being a better route because of less traffic congestion; thus, the program 18 that may provide different routes based on the weighting strategies and the associated data utilized by the algorithm to generate an optimal route.
McNew, in turn, teaches, through the invention (see entire document), particularly in abstract, a navigation apparatus (including configurable circuitry) and method for displaying a plurality of control parameters to carry out a process for generating at least one optimum route for use in navigation of an autonomous vehicle, receiving a plurality of weights corresponding to the plurality of control parameters to generate a route score corresponding to the at least one route, transmitting the plurality of control parameters and the plurality of weights to a server implementing an optimization algorithm to calculate the at least one optimum route using the plurality of control parameters and the plurality of weights, receiving the at least one optimum route and the route score generated by the server, and displaying the at least one optimum route and the route score to enable selection of the at least one optimum route for navigation of the autonomous vehicle from the start location to the destination.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, who is also a person of ordinary creativity, not an automation, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Nobrega by incorporating, applying and utilizing the above steps, technique and features as taught by Kluge. A person of ordinary skill, ordinary creativity would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of and/or in order to estimate a propulsion-related operating parameter of a vehicle for a road segment (see Kluge, Para [0009]); and to search, via the algorithm, for the route for which the costs associated with the road segments of the route are minimized (see Kluge, Para [0117]);
by incorporating, applying and utilizing the above steps, technique and features as taught by Isaac. A person of ordinary skill, ordinary creativity would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of and/or in order to assign, via an algorithm, weights to the dynamic and stored data based on the parameters being used to determine the route, and, in response, use the weights to determine a route for a specific user (see Isaac, Para [0006]); and to assign weights to different types of data based on the parameters defined within an algorithm; and determine an optimal route, by assigning different weights to segments of a specific route between two locations (see Isaac, Para [0019]); and
by incorporating, applying and utilizing the above steps, technique and features as taught by McNew. A person of ordinary skill, ordinary creativity would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of and/or in order to receive a start location and a destination, and display a plurality of control parameters to carry out a process for generating at least one optimum route from the start location to the destination; to receive a plurality of weights corresponding to the plurality of control parameters to generate a route score corresponding to the at least one optimum route, and transmit, via a network, the plurality of control parameters and the plurality of weights to a server that implements an optimization algorithm to generate the at least one optimum route using the plurality of control parameters and the plurality of weights; to receive, via the network, the at least one optimum route and the route score corresponding to the at least one optimum route generated by the server, and display the at least one optimum and the route score to enable selection of the at least one optimum route for navigation of the autonomous vehicle from the start location to the destination (see McNew, Para [0005]).
As per claims 9 and 19, Nobrega does not explicitly disclose, through the invention, or is missing, estimating vehicle emissions for each of the plurality of road segments of the road network in accordance with energy used by the powertrain type.
However, Kluge teaches, through the invention (see entire document), particularly in Para [0024], teaching claim 3, determine a fuel or energy efficient route to a destination, or a route with minimal CO.sub.2 emission, which is roughly proportional to the fuel consumption for a vehicle with a combustion engine.
Isaac, in turn, teaches, through the invention (see entire document), particularly in Para [0006], many vehicle manufacturers and aftermarket suppliers that offer electronic navigation systems for vehicles; typically, electronic navigation systems that include a memory component to store maps and other data, a global positioning transceiver, and a user interface with a display; many of these navigation systems that employ predetermined algorithms to determine a route between locations; the algorithms that may determine the route between locations based on any number of parameters, such as minimizing fuel consumption, limiting travel time, maximizing average speed, and so forth; to determine the route, the algorithm that may also employ various kinds of dynamic data, such as traffic congestion, road construction, and weather conditions, and the like; in addition, the algorithm that may assign weights to the dynamic and stored data based on the parameters being used to determine the route, and, in response, use the weights to determine a route for a specific user.
Isaac further teaches, through the invention (see entire document), particularly in fig. 1, Para [0019], processor 12 that may utilize the program 18 to perform operations on data to aid the vehicle navigation system 10 in determining a route; the program 18 that may perform specific instructions to assign weights to different types of data based on the parameters defined within an algorithm; by assigning different weights to segments of a specific route between two locations, an optimal route that may be determined; the parameters that are used to assign the weights that may vary depending on the weighting strategies being used by the algorithm.
Isaac further teaches, through the invention (see entire document), particularly in fig. 1, Para [0023], program 18 that may provide different routes that may utilize data from the transceiver module 20, the positioning system 22, and/or the user interface 24; if the algorithm used by the program 18 places different weights on the speed limits associated with a road, then a highway that may be weighted with a different value than a residential street because the highway has a higher speed limit; as a result of this weighting strategy, the highway presented as the better route between the locations; with the addition of the traffic data, the algorithm that may adjust the weights placed on the highway and the residential street; the traffic data that may result in the residential street being a better route because of less traffic congestion; thus, the program 18 that may provide different routes based on the weighting strategies and the associated data utilized by the algorithm to generate an optimal route.
McNew, in turn, teaches, through the invention (see entire document), particularly in abstract, a navigation apparatus (including configurable circuitry) and method for displaying a plurality of control parameters to carry out a process for generating at least one optimum route for use in navigation of an autonomous vehicle, receiving a plurality of weights corresponding to the plurality of control parameters to generate a route score corresponding to the at least one route, transmitting the plurality of control parameters and the plurality of weights to a server implementing an optimization algorithm to calculate the at least one optimum route using the plurality of control parameters and the plurality of weights, receiving the at least one optimum route and the route score generated by the server, and displaying the at least one optimum route and the route score to enable selection of the at least one optimum route for navigation of the autonomous vehicle from the start location to the destination.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, who is also a person of ordinary creativity, not an automation, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Nobrega by incorporating, applying and utilizing the above steps, technique and features as taught by Kluge. A person of ordinary skill, ordinary creativity would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of and/or in order to estimate a propulsion-related operating parameter of a vehicle for a road segment (see Kluge, Para [0009]); and to search, via the algorithm, for the route for which the costs associated with the road segments of the route are minimized (see Kluge, Para [0117]);
by incorporating, applying and utilizing the above steps, technique and features as taught by Isaac. A person of ordinary skill, ordinary creativity would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of and/or in order to assign, via an algorithm, weights to the dynamic and stored data based on the parameters being used to determine the route, and, in response, use the weights to determine a route for a specific user (see Isaac, Para [0006]); and to assign weights to different types of data based on the parameters defined within an algorithm; and determine an optimal route, by assigning different weights to segments of a specific route between two locations (see Isaac, Para [0019]); and
by incorporating, applying and utilizing the above steps, technique and features as taught by McNew. A person of ordinary skill, ordinary creativity would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of and/or in order to receive a start location and a destination, and display a plurality of control parameters to carry out a process for generating at least one optimum route from the start location to the destination; to receive a plurality of weights corresponding to the plurality of control parameters to generate a route score corresponding to the at least one optimum route, and transmit, via a network, the plurality of control parameters and the plurality of weights to a server that implements an optimization algorithm to generate the at least one optimum route using the plurality of control parameters and the plurality of weights; to receive, via the network, the at least one optimum route and the route score corresponding to the at least one optimum route generated by the server, and display the at least one optimum and the route score to enable selection of the at least one optimum route for navigation of the autonomous vehicle from the start location to the destination (see McNew, Para [0005]).
As per claims 10 and 20, Nobrega does not explicitly disclose, through the invention, or is missing, plurality of tradeoff values represent different compromises between time efficiency and vehicle emissions.
However, Kluge teaches, through the invention (see entire document), particularly in Para [0024], teaching claim 3, determine a fuel or energy efficient route to a destination, or a route with minimal CO.sub.2 emission, which is roughly proportional to the fuel consumption for a vehicle with a combustion engine.
Isaac, in turn, teaches, through the invention (see entire document), particularly in Para [0006], many vehicle manufacturers and aftermarket suppliers that offer electronic navigation systems for vehicles; typically, electronic navigation systems that include a memory component to store maps and other data, a global positioning transceiver, and a user interface with a display; many of these navigation systems that employ predetermined algorithms to determine a route between locations; the algorithms that may determine the route between locations based on any number of parameters, such as minimizing fuel consumption, limiting travel time, maximizing average speed, and so forth; to determine the route, the algorithm that may also employ various kinds of dynamic data, such as traffic congestion, road construction, and weather conditions, and the like; in addition, the algorithm that may assign weights to the dynamic and stored data based on the parameters being used to determine the route, and, in response, use the weights to determine a route for a specific user.
Isaac further teaches, through the invention (see entire document), particularly in fig. 1, Para [0019], processor 12 that may utilize the program 18 to perform operations on data to aid the vehicle navigation system 10 in determining a route; the program 18 that may perform specific instructions to assign weights to different types of data based on the parameters defined within an algorithm; by assigning different weights to segments of a specific route between two locations, an optimal route that may be determined; the parameters that are used to assign the weights that may vary depending on the weighting strategies being used by the algorithm.
Isaac further teaches, through the invention (see entire document), particularly in fig. 1, Para [0023], program 18 that may provide different routes that may utilize data from the transceiver module 20, the positioning system 22, and/or the user interface 24; if the algorithm used by the program 18 places different weights on the speed limits associated with a road, then a highway that may be weighted with a different value than a residential street because the highway has a higher speed limit; as a result of this weighting strategy, the highway presented as the better route between the locations; with the addition of the traffic data, the algorithm that may adjust the weights placed on the highway and the residential street; the traffic data that may result in the residential street being a better route because of less traffic congestion; thus, the program 18 that may provide different routes based on the weighting strategies and the associated data utilized by the algorithm to generate an optimal route.
McNew, in turn, teaches, through the invention (see entire document), particularly in abstract, a navigation apparatus (including configurable circuitry) and method for displaying a plurality of control parameters to carry out a process for generating at least one optimum route for use in navigation of an autonomous vehicle, receiving a plurality of weights corresponding to the plurality of control parameters to generate a route score corresponding to the at least one route, transmitting the plurality of control parameters and the plurality of weights to a server implementing an optimization algorithm to calculate the at least one optimum route using the plurality of control parameters and the plurality of weights, receiving the at least one optimum route and the route score generated by the server, and displaying the at least one optimum route and the route score to enable selection of the at least one optimum route for navigation of the autonomous vehicle from the start location to the destination.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, who is also a person of ordinary creativity, not an automation, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Nobrega by incorporating, applying and utilizing the above steps, technique and features as taught by Kluge. A person of ordinary skill, ordinary creativity would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of and/or in order to estimate a propulsion-related operating parameter of a vehicle for a road segment (see Kluge, Para [0009]); and to search, via the algorithm, for the route for which the costs associated with the road segments of the route are minimized (see Kluge, Para [0117]);
by incorporating, applying and utilizing the above steps, technique and features as taught by Isaac. A person of ordinary skill, ordinary creativity would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of and/or in order to assign, via an algorithm, weights to the dynamic and stored data based on the parameters being used to determine the route, and, in response, use the weights to determine a route for a specific user (see Isaac, Para [0006]); and to assign weights to different types of data based on the parameters defined within an algorithm; and determine an optimal route, by assigning different weights to segments of a specific route between two locations (see Isaac, Para [0019]); and
by incorporating, applying and utilizing the above steps, technique and features as taught by McNew. A person of ordinary skill, ordinary creativity would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of and/or in order to receive a start location and a destination, and display a plurality of control parameters to carry out a process for generating at least one optimum route from the start location to the destination; to receive a plurality of weights corresponding to the plurality of control parameters to generate a route score corresponding to the at least one optimum route, and transmit, via a network, the plurality of control parameters and the plurality of weights to a server that implements an optimization algorithm to generate the at least one optimum route using the plurality of control parameters and the plurality of weights; to receive, via the network, the at least one optimum route and the route score corresponding to the at least one optimum route generated by the server, and display the at least one optimum and the route score to enable selection of the at least one optimum route for navigation of the autonomous vehicle from the start location to the destination (see McNew, Para [0005]).
RELEVANT PRIOR ART THAT WAS CITED BUT NOT APPLIED
The following relevant prior art references that were found, by the Examiner while performing initial and/or additional search, cited but not applied:
Gambera (US20160123755) - (see entire Gambera document, particularly abstract – teaching a fuel saving-aimed motor vehicle driver assistance system configured to receive and process motor vehicle-related data and motor vehicle position-related data to identify recurrent routes of a motor vehicle and to provide a motor vehicle driver, via an automotive human-machine interface, with motor vehicle driving assistance recommendations for fuel saving along the routes; the motor vehicle driver assistance system configured to identify recurrent routes of the motor vehicle by determining a succession of geographic points, referred to as Waypoints, along a route of the motor vehicle, at which values of a series of physical quantities are determined and recorded, which define the attributes of the Waypoints; the Waypoint attributes updated when the vehicle travels through them; for each current motor vehicle position, a search made for the Waypoint spatially closest to the current motor vehicle position and having certain characteristics, such that if such a Waypoint is not found, then a new Waypoint is defined, or else, if such a Waypoint is found, then variable Waypoint attributes are updated; the so-defined Waypoints concatenated so as to form an ordered list of Waypoints belonging to the same recurrent route; the characteristic points of the routes, such as bends, roundabouts and traffic lights, identified and optimal speed profiles and primary controls for the motor vehicle at the characteristic points are computed. Based on the computed optimal speed profiles and primary controls and by means of the automotive human-machine interface, the motor vehicle driver is then provided with motor vehicle driving recommendations for fuel saving along the routes).
Conclusion
/YURI KAN, P.E./Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3662