DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The status of the claims as filed in the submission dated 8/28/2024 are as follows:
Claims 1-14 are pending and are being examined.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: “Vehicle Coolant System With Multi-way Valve Control Through Chiller”, or something similarly descriptive.
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it does not adequately describe the structure of the invention. The use of “component” is overly broad and not reflective of the actual invention, wherein the component is actually just the chiller. The abstract should recite chiller to more accurately align with the actual invention. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 1 line 1 recites “cooland”, which appears to be a typo for “coolant”. Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because:
The submitted drawings are misleading in how the two circuits are interconnected. As currently drawn, it would appear that circuit 4 is isolated from circuit 10. However, circuit 10 actually interconnects with circuit 4 via chiller 22 and condenser 34. Therefore, the drawing of the two circuits being isolated from each other is misleading. Corrected drawings in which circuit 10 connects to circuit 4 via 22 and 34 should be submitted.
The circled box in the figures is unlabeled, thus it is unclear what the element is. The element should have a reference number and the specification should be accordingly updated.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“Component” in claim 1. The limitation of “component” is a generic placeholder that is coupled with the functional language of “through with coolant is adapted to flow”, without reciting sufficient structure for performing the function. Thus, “component” invokes 112(f). Based on the applicants’ disclosure, component is interpreted as “a coolant pump, a battery, a chiller, a coolant heater, a powertrain with an electric motor and power electronics for the electric motor, a cooling air radiator for heat exchange with free surroundings, or a condenser”, and equivalent structure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 2-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites “the at least two components are at least one subset of the following components of a cooling system: a coolant pump, a battery, a chiller, a coolant heater, a powertrain with an electric motor and power electronics for the electric motor, a cooling air radiator for heat exchange with free surroundings, or a condenser”. The phrase “the at least two components are at least one subset of the following components” is awkward, rendering the claim unclear. It is unclear if the limitation requires that the two components to be the same element from the list so as to form a single subset, or rather that the two elements can be any element from the list. Since the metes and bounds of the limitation cannot be ascertained, the claim is indefinite. For examination purposes, the limitation has been interpreted as a list of alternative elements that either component can be.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the plurality of components" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 1 recites “at least two components”, but neither claim 1 or claim 2 recites “a plurality of components”.
Claim 3 lines 1-2 recite “wherein the plurality of components has a chiller”. It is unclear if this limitation is requiring that each component is a chiller (i.e. two chillers) or rather that one of the two components must be a chiller or rather that each component is coupled to a chiller (i.e. a first device coupled to a chiller and a second device coupled to a second chiller). Since the metes and bounds of the limitation cannot be ascertained, the claim is indefinite.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the plurality of components" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 1 recites “at least two components”, but claim 1 fails to recite “a plurality of components”.
Claim 4 recites “the plurality of components are arranged distributed over at least two coolant circuits of the coolant system, wherein the at least two coolant circuits are interconnectable via the multi-way valve so as to conduct coolant, wherein a first coolant pump and/or a battery and/or a chiller and/or a coolant heater are arranged in a first coolant circuit and/or, wherein, a second coolant pump and/or a powertrain and/or a cooling air radiator and/or a condenser are arranged in a second coolant circuit”. The use of multiple “and/or” renders the claim indefinite since it is unclear which combination of elements is actually required of the claim. Since the metes and bounds of the limitation cannot be ascertained, the claim is indefinite.
The remaining claims are rejected as being dependent upon an indefinite claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 and 9-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by He (US2023/0076418A1).
Re Claim 1. He teaches a coolant system (210) for an electric vehicle (Paragraph 1 teaches electric vehicle) for circulating a liquid coolant, the coolant system comprising:
at least one valve (250), the at least one valve being a single multi-way valve (250) (Figures 18-19, 21-22; Paragraphs 69-71);
at least two components (220, 230, PWT) through which the coolant is adapted to flow, the at least two components being interconnectable via the at least one valve and coolant lines (Figures 18-19, 21-22 illustrates coolant lines that interconnect the components to the valve 250), so as to conduct coolant, at least in at least one subset (Figures 18-19, 21-22; Paragraphs 69-71); and
a component bypass line (one of the lines connected to 250) of the coolant system is arranged with respect to at least one of the components through which the coolant flows such that this component is connectable, via the component bypass line, to the multi-way valve so as to conduct coolant such that, in a first switching state of the multi-way valve, the coolant flows both through the component bypass line in a first flow direction and through this component (Figure 18 or 21), and, in a second switching state of the multi-way valve, the coolant flows through the component bypass line in a second flow direction, opposite to the first flow direction, in the bypass to this component (Figure 19) (Figure 18 or 21 illustrates a clockwise circulation of coolant through the components and Figure 19 illustrates a reverse flow through the ESS. Figures 21 and 22 illustrates the valve forms a bypass line of the HCS; Paragraphs 69-71).
Re Claim 2. He teaches the at least two components are at least one subset of the following components of a cooling system: a coolant pump, a battery (ESS is a battery), a chiller (HCS is a chiller), a coolant heater (HCS contains heat source 222, which can be a heater), a powertrain with an electric motor and power electronics for the electric motor (PWT is a powertrain), a cooling air radiator (PWT contains radiator 244) for heat exchange with free surroundings, or a condenser (HCS contains heat source 222, which can be a condenser) (Figure 9, 15, 17-23; Paragraph 2, 41, 56, 66-71).
Re Claim 3. As best understood in view of the indefiniteness, He teaches the plurality of components has a chiller (34), wherein the component bypass line is designed as a chiller bypass line and the chiller is designed as the component that can be flowed around in the bypass in the second switching state of the multi-way valve by means of the component bypass line, and wherein a component outlet designed as a chiller outlet is connectable to the multi-way valve via the component bypass line so as to conduct coolant (Figure 9, 15, 17-23; Paragraph 2, 41, 56, 66-71. The HCS comprises the chiller, and thus the bypass line is a chiller bypass line).
Re Claim 4. As best understood in view of the indefiniteness, He teaches the plurality of components are arranged distributed over at least two coolant circuits of the coolant system, wherein the at least two coolant circuits are interconnectable via the multi-way valve so as to conduct coolant, wherein a first coolant pump and/or a battery and/or a chiller and/or a coolant heater are arranged in a first coolant circuit and/or, wherein, a second coolant pump and/or a powertrain and/or a cooling air radiator and/or a condenser are arranged in a second coolant circuit (Figure 9, 15, 17-23; Paragraph 2, 41, 56, 66-71; Figures 17-23 illustrate three coolant circuits interconnected via the valve 250).
Re Claim 5. He teaches the first coolant circuit is designed as a battery subcircuit, with the chiller (224), the first coolant pump (226), the battery (232) arranged downstream of the first coolant pump in a direction of flow, with respect to a flow of the coolant through the first coolant pump, and wherein the second coolant circuit is designed as a drivetrain subcircuit (PWM), with the second coolant pump (246) and the powertrain arranged downstream of the second coolant pump in a direction of flow, with respect to a flow of the coolant through the second coolant pump, and cooling air radiator (244) for cooling the coolant flowing in the drivetrain subcircuit with ambient air (Figure 9, 15, 17-23; Paragraph 2, 41, 56, 66-71).
Re Claim 6. He teaches the multi-way valve is designed such that the coolant flows through the drivetrain subcircuit without interruption in all possible switching states of the multi-way valve and when the multi-way valve is transferred from one of these switching states to another of these switching states (Figure 9, 15, 17-23; Paragraph 2, 41, 56, 66-71; Figures 17-21 illustrates coolant flows continuously through the PWT circuit).
Re Claim 7. He teaches one end of the chiller bypass line is arranged downstream of the chiller outlet and upstream of an inlet of the first coolant pump in the direction of flow, with respect to a flow of coolant through the chiller and the first coolant pump, so as to conduct coolant (Figure 9, 15, 17-23; Paragraph 2, 41, 56, 66-71).
Re Claim 9. He teaches the battery subcircuit additionally has a coolant heater (222) for heating the battery as needed, wherein the coolant heater is arranged downstream of the multi-way valve and upstream of the chiller in the direction of flow, with respect to a flow of the coolant through the chiller, wherein the chiller and the coolant heater are arranged in a common coolant line of the battery subcircuit, and wherein the coolant heater is an electric heater (Figure 9, 15, 17-23; Paragraph 2, 41, 56, 66-71).
Re Claim 10. He teaches the coolant system is designed such that, depending on the switching state of the multi-way valve, the following coolant-conducting connections are realized at least in one subset via the multi-way valve: a) coolant-conducting connection of the chiller to the battery (Figure 18, 19); b) coolant-conducting connection of the chiller to the power electronics and the electric motor (Figure 22); c) coolant-conducting connection of the chiller to the cooling air radiator, the power electronics, and the electric motor (Figure 22); and d) coolant-conducting connection of the chiller to the battery, the power electronics, and the electric motor (Figure 23); and e) coolant-conducting connection of the chiller to the battery, the cooling air radiator, the power electronics, and the electric motor (Figure 23) (Figure 9, 15, 17-23; Paragraph 2, 41, 56, 66-71).
Re Claim 11. He teaches a cooling system for an electric vehicle (Paragraph 1), the cooling system comprising: the coolant system according to claim 1 (see above); and a refrigerant circuit (Figure 9, 15, 18, 19; Paragraph 56, 69-71).
Re Claim 12. He teaches the refrigerant circuit is designed to air-condition a passenger compartment of the electric vehicle and/or to control the temperature of a coolant flowing in the coolant circuit (Figure 9, 15, 18, 19; Paragraph 2, 41, 56, 69-71).
Re Claim 13. He teaches the cooling system is designed such that a heat transfer connection between the coolant system on one side and the refrigerant circuit on the other side are established as needed via a chiller (224) (Figure 9, 15, 18, 19; Paragraph 2, 41, 56, 69-71).
Re Claim 14. He teaches the cooling system is designed such that a heat transfer connection between the coolant system on one side and the refrigerant circuit on the other side is established as needed via a condenser (222), and wherein the condenser is arranged in a drivetrain subcircuit so as to conduct coolant (Figure 9, 15, 18, 19; Paragraph 2, 41, 56, 69-71).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He (US2023/0076418A1).
Re Claim 8. He teaches the coolant system (see above) but fails to specifically teach a check valve is additionally arranged in the battery subcircuit downstream of the battery in the direction of flow, with respect to a flow of the coolant through the battery, in such a way that the check valve only enables the coolant to flow from the battery in the direction of the multi-way valve. However, the Examiner takes Official Notice of the ubiquitous and well-known use of check valves in fluid circuits. Check-valves are a common engineering design device to prevent backflow of fluids in an unwanted direction. Thus, it would only require ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to add check-valves as desired in a fluid circuit. Therefore, it would have been obvious to have a check valve is additionally arranged in the battery subcircuit downstream of the battery in the direction of flow, with respect to a flow of the coolant through the battery, in such a way that the check valve only enables the coolant to flow from the battery in the direction of the multi-way valve.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached PTO-892 for other relevant prior art.
/TRAVIS RUBY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763