Election/Restrictions
2. Applicant’s election without traverse of Species A in the reply filed on 2/6/26 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
3. Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. Claim 3 recites “carrier bar system” at the end of the claim. This limitation lacks proper antecedent basis. For the purpose of examination, it is assumed that “carrier bar system” refers to the entire claimed system as a whole.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(b) the invention was patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country or in public use or on sale in this country, more than one year prior to the date of application for patent in the United States.
6. Claims 1, 3, 7, 9, 13, and 15 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(b) as being anticipated by Anton (US 6,752,302 B2).
Regarding claims 1, 7, and 13, Figure 13 of Anton shows a receiver unit (605/610); transitional carrier bar (635); and cargo carrier bar (630) as claimed.
Regarding claims 3, 9, and 15, Figure 13 of Anton shows a standardized peg system (625) as so broadly claimed.
7. Claims 1-18 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(b) as being anticipated by Biondo (US 5,593,076 A).
Regarding claims 1, 7, and 13, Biondo discloses a receiver unit (32/28); transitional carrier bar (30/40); and cargo carrier bar (42) as claimed.
Regarding claims 2, 8, and 14, Biondo discloses a support structure (“reinforcing bars 56 located inside the car trunk” in col. 3 lines 30-31).
Regarding claims 3, 9, and 15, Biondo shows a standardized peg system (38) as so broadly claimed.
Regarding claims 4, 10, and 16, Biondo discloses a cradle system (100) as claimed.
Regarding claims 5, 11, and 17, Biondo discloses a lock and key system (80/84) as broadly claimed. Bolt (80) is a “key” fitted into hole (84) for the purpose of locking the transitional carrier bar (30/40) within the receiver (32/38).
Regarding claims 6, 12, and 18, Biondo discloses a “storage pod” as so broadly claimed (see car trunk, Figure 1).
Double Patenting
11. Claims 1-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 9,290,132 and claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 9,713,989. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all of the presently recited structure is also recited in the patented claims.
12. Claims 1-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. 10,077,005 in view of Biondo (US 5,593,076 A). The patented claims recite a receiver unit, a transitional carrier bar as claimed, a cargo carrier bar as claimed, a support structure as claimed, a storage pod as claimed, and a lock and key system as claimed. The patented claims fail to recite a standardized peg system. Biondo teaches that it was already known in the art for a carrier rack like that of the patented claims to include a standardized peg system (38) as so broadly claimed for mounting to the rear of a vehicle. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time Applicant’s invention was filed to have used pegs like those of Biondo to attach the rack of the patented claims to the rear of the vehicle as here is no inventive step in simply choosing between known mounting means.
Conclusion
13. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JUSTIN MATTHEW LARSON whose telephone number is (571)272-8649. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday, 7am-3pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Nathan Newhouse can be reached on (571)272-4544. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/JUSTIN M LARSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3734 2/24/26