DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: the specification should include that this application is a continuation of SN 17/372,112 which is now US Patent Number 12,101,716.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, and 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Applicant’s submission of prior art, Pelletier et al., US Patent Application Publication Number 2018/0014255 (hereinafter Pelletier).
Regarding claims 1 and 7, Pelletier discloses a communication apparatus, comprising: processing circuitry, which, in operation, determines assistance information to be transmitted to a serving base station of the communication apparatus [paragraphs 0041, 0049-0050]; and a transmitter, which, in operation, transmits the assistance information [paragraphs 0042, 0100]; wherein the assistance information includes a transport block size of a transport block transmitted to the serving base station [paragraph 0063].
Regarding claim 2, Pelletier discloses a receiver, which, in operation, receives from the serving base station a radio resource assignment usable by the communication apparatus to perform an uplink transmission [paragraphs 0042, 0100].
Regarding claim 6, Pelletier discloses wherein the processing circuitry, in operation, determines the assistance information per type of traffic [paragraphs 0028, 0085, 0088].
Regarding claim 8, Pelletier discloses a base station, comprising: processing circuitry, which, in operation, receives, from a communication apparatus served by the base station, assistance information, wherein the assistance information includes a transport block size of a transport block transmitted to the base station [paragraphs 0049-0050, 0100], and determines, based on the received assistance information, radio resources to be assigned to the communication apparatus to perform an uplink transmission [paragraph 0100]; and a transmitter, which, in operation, transmits, to the communication apparatus, a radio resource assignment indicating the determined radio resources [paragraphs 0042, 0100].
Claim(s) 1, 2, 7, and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Applicant’s submission of prior art, Zheng et al., WO 2017/193274 (hereinafter Zheng).
Regarding claims 1 and 7, Zheng discloses a communication apparatus, comprising: processing circuitry, which, in operation, determines assistance information to be transmitted to a serving base station of the communication apparatus [paragraph 0055]; and a transmitter, which, in operation, transmits the assistance information [paragraph 0055]; wherein the assistance information includes a transport block size of a transport block transmitted to the serving base station [paragraph 0055].
Regarding claim 2, Zheng discloses a receiver, which, in operation, receives from the serving base station a radio resource assignment usable by the communication apparatus to perform an uplink transmission [paragraph 0055].
Regarding claim 8, Zheng discloses a base station, comprising: processing circuitry, which, in operation, receives, from a communication apparatus served by the base station, assistance information, wherein the assistance information includes a transport block size of a transport block transmitted to the base station [paragraph 0055], and determines, based on the received assistance information, radio resources to be assigned to the communication apparatus to perform an uplink transmission [paragraph 0055]; and a transmitter, which, in operation, transmits, to the communication apparatus, a radio resource assignment indicating the determined radio resources [paragraph 0055].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng in view of Applicant’s submission of prior art, Koc et al., US Patent Application Publication Number 2014/0056200 (hereinafter Koc).
Regarding claim 3, Zheng does not specifically disclose wherein the assistance information includes a first assistance information type associated with a latency requirement to be fulfilled for an uplink traffic. However, Koc teaches this limitation [paragraph 0023]. Before the effective filing of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Zheng to include the teaching of Koc. The motivation for this modification would have been to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng in view of Davydov, US Patent Application Publication Number 2019/0260440 (hereinafter Davydov).
Regarding claim 4, Zheng does not specifically disclose wherein the processing circuitry, in operation, determines the transport block size of a transport block, based on a modulation order. However, Davydov teaches this limitation [paragraph 0022]. Before the effective filing of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Zheng to include the teaching of Davydov. The motivation for this modification would have been to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng in view of He et al., US Patent Number 12,627,970 (hereinafter He).
Regarding claim 5, Zheng does not specifically disclose wherein the assistance information includes a second assistance information type associated with a frequency bandwidth (BW) used for transmitting from the communication apparatus to the serving base station. However, He teaches this limitation [see claim 1]. Before the effective filing of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Zheng to include the teaching of He. The motivation for this modification would have been to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-8 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4, 6-8, and 10 of U.S. Patent No. 12,101,716. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims are generic to all this is recited in the patented claims and are therefore an obvious variant thereof. Specifically, instant independent claim 1 is taught in patented claim 1 but is broader as it omits the limitation regarding the assistance information type including a number of information bits. Instant independent claim 7 is taught in patented claim 8 but is broader as it omits the limitation regarding the assistance information type including a number of information bits. Instant independent claim 8 is taught in patented claim 10 but is broader as it omits the limitation regarding the assistance information type including a number of information bits. Instant dependent claim 2 is taught in patented claim 2. Instant dependent claim 3 is taught in patented claim 1. Instant dependent claim 4 is taught in patented claim 3. Instant dependent claim 5 is taught in patented claims 6 and7. Instant dependent claim 6 is taught in patented claim 4.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Pan et al., US Patent Application Publication Number 2023/0054063, disclose a method and apparatus of requesting semi-persistent scheduling resource for transmission of data duplication in a wireless communication system.
/EAW/
June 23, 2026
/ERIKA A WASHINGTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2644