DETAILED ACTION
Art Unit- Location
The Art Unit location of your application in the USPTO has changed. To aid in correlating any papers for this application, all further correspondence regarding this application should be directed to Art Unit 2642.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/28/2024 and 12/10/2025 are in compliance with the provision of 37 CFR 1.97, have been considered by the Examiner, and made of record in the application file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 8-11, 13-15, 17-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jayawardene et al Patent Application No. :( US 2019/0320494 A1) hereinafter referred as Jayawardene.
For claim 1, Jayawardene teaches a small cell (fig. 9) (Paragraph [0263]-[0264]) apparatus comprising: a port to interface with a coaxial cable, the coaxial cable configured to transmit a signal from a radio unit (RU) (Paragraphs [0042] and [0051]); an impedance matching component (716) configured to sufficiently match the signal (Paragraph [0212], lines 16-20 ); a diplexer (714) configured to separate the signal into a separated signal (Paragraph [0212], lines 16-20 ); a signal converter (708 and 710) configured to increase and/or decrease the separated signal to an emission signal at an emission frequency (Paragraph [0212], lines 1-16); a transceiver node configured to map the emission signal to two or more multiple-input multiple-output (MIMO) layers(Paragraph [0212], lines 9-16); and an antenna configured to transmit the two or more MIMO layers (Paragraph [0218], lines 1-12).
For claim 2, Jayawardene teaches the apparatus, wherein the RU is a single RU (Paragraph [0253], lines 1-6).
For claim 3, Jayawardene teaches the apparatus, wherein the coaxial cable further comprises a tap (Paragraph [0221], lines 1-9).
For claim 5, Jayawardene teaches the apparatus, further comprising a switch, wherein the switch is configured to activate a path to provide a feedback signal from the antenna through a receiving (Rx) path and to activate a path to provide a transmission signal from the transceiver node to the antenna (Paragraph [0308]-[0309], lines 1-18).
For claim 6, Jayawardene teaches the apparatus, wherein the coaxial cable transmits up to a 2400 MHz wideband spectrum (Paragraph [0198], lines 5-8).
For claim 8, Jayawardene teaches the apparatus, wherein the two or more MIMO layers are mapped based on channel quality feedback from a destination back to the small cell apparatus (Paragraphs [0297], lines 5-8).
For claim 9, Jayawardene teaches a network architecture comprising:
two or more small cell apparatus (same rejection applied above to claim 1);
a single RU configured to transmit a signal over coaxial cable to the two or more small cell apparatus (Paragraphs [0034], lines 1-11).
For claim 10, Jayawardene teaches the network architecture, wherein the two or more small cell apparatus comprise two or more coverage clusters (Paragraphs [0007], lines 13-17).
For claim 11, Jayawardene teaches the network architecture, wherein the two or more coverage clusters each comprise two or more small cell apparatus (Paragraphs [0193], lines 1-13) .
For claim 13, Jayawardene teaches a method of transmitting a signal, the method comprising:
receiving a signal from a coaxial cable at a port of a small cell apparatus from a radio unit (RU) (Paragraphs [0042] and [0051]);
matching an impedance of the signal (716);
separating the signal into a separated signal (Paragraph [0235], lines 1-9);
increasing and/or decreasing the separated signal to an emission signal at an emission frequency(Paragraph [0212], lines 1-16);
mapping the emission signal to two or more multiple-input multiple-output (MIMO) layers (Paragraph [0212], lines 9-16); and
transmitting the two or more MIMO layers from an antenna (Paragraph [0218], lines 1-12).
For claim 14, Jayawardene teaches a method, wherein the RU is a single RU (Paragraph [0253], lines 1-6).
For claim 15, Jayawardene teaches a method, wherein the coaxial cable further comprises a tap (Paragraph [0221], lines 1-9).
For claim 17, Jayawardene teaches a method, activating a path to provide a feedback signal from the antenna through a receiving (Rx) path or activating a path to provide a transmission signal from the antenna (Paragraph [0308]-[0309], lines 1-18).
For claim 18, Jayawardene teaches a method, wherein the coaxial cable transmits up to a 2400 MHz wideband spectrum (Paragraph [0198], lines 5-8).
For claim 20, Jayawardene teaches a method, wherein the two or more MIMO layers are mapped based on channel quality feedback from a destination back to the small cell (Paragraphs [0297], lines 5-8) .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 7, 16 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being un-patentable over Jayawardene et al Patent Application No. :( US 2019/0320494 A1) hereinafter referred as Jayawardene, in view of Ban et al US Patent Application No.:( US 2019/0214733 B1) hereinafter referred as Ban.
For claim 4, Jayawardene disclose all the subject matter of the claimed invention with the exemption of the low noise amplifier (LNA) configured to amplify the separated signal as recited in claim 4.
Ban from the same or analogous art teaches the low noise amplifier (LNA) configured to amplify the separated signal (paragraph [0052], lines 1-5). Therefore, it would have been obvious for the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling to use the low noise amplifier (LNA) configured to amplify the separated signal as taught by Ban into the apparatus and method for enabling mobility of a user device in an enhanced wireless network of Jayawardene.
The low noise amplifier (LNA) configured to amplify the separated signal can be modify/implemented by combining the low noise amplifier (LNA) configured to amplify the separated signal with the device. This process is implemented as a hardware solution or as firmware solutions of Ban into the apparatus and method for enabling mobility of a user device in an enhanced wireless network of Jayawardene. As disclosed in Ban, the motivation for the combination would be to use the unique characteristic of these amplifiers is that they minimize additional noise while amplifying the weak signals. The primary function of an LNA is to decrease the noise figure (NF). The NF is a measure of degradation of the signal-to-noise ratio (SNR), caused by components in a signal chain becoming more efficient and reliable for a better communication.
For claim 7, Jayawardene disclose all the subject matter of the claimed invention with the exemption of the impedance matching component comprises a matching for loads in a 50-75Ω range as recited in claim 7.
Ban from the same or analogous art teaches the impedance matching component comprises a matching for loads in a 50-75Ω range (paragraph [0055], lines 1-5). Therefore, it would have been obvious for the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling to use the impedance matching component comprises a matching for loads in a 50-75Ω range as taught by Ban into the apparatus and method for enabling mobility of a user device in an enhanced wireless network of Jayawardene.
The impedance matching component comprises a matching for loads in a 50-75Ω range can be modify/implemented by combining the impedance matching component comprises a matching for loads in a 50-75Ω range with the device. This process is implemented as a hardware solution or as firmware solutions of Ban into the apparatus and method for enabling mobility of a user device in an enhanced wireless network of Jayawardene. As disclosed in Ban, the motivation for the combination would be to use the impedance matching , transmission line and load impedances are aligned for a maximum power for a better communication becoming more efficient and reliable.
For claim 16, Jayawardene disclose all the subject matter of the claimed invention with the exemption of the amplifying the separated signal via a low noise amplifier (LNA)as recited in claim 16.
Ban from the same or analogous art teaches the amplifying the separated signal via a low noise amplifier (LNA) (paragraph [0052], lines 1-5). Therefore, it would have been obvious for the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling to use the amplifying the separated signal via a low noise amplifier (LNA)as taught by Ban into the apparatus and method for enabling mobility of a user device in an enhanced wireless network of Jayawardene.
The amplifying the separated signal via a low noise amplifier (LNA)can be modify/implemented by combining the amplifying the separated signal via a low noise amplifier (LNA) with the device. This process is implemented as a hardware solution or as firmware solutions of Ban into the apparatus and method for enabling mobility of a user device in an enhanced wireless network of Jayawardene. As disclosed in Ban, the motivation for the combination would be to use the unique characteristic of these amplifiers is that they minimize additional noise while amplifying the weak signals. The primary function of an LNA is to decrease the noise figure (NF). The NF is a measure of degradation of the signal-to-noise ratio (SNR), caused by components in a signal chain becoming more efficient and reliable for a better communication.
For claim 19, Jayawardene disclose all the subject matter of the claimed invention with the exemption of the impedance matching component comprises a matching for loads in a 50-75Ω range as recited in claim 19.
Ban from the same or analogous art teaches the impedance matching component comprises a matching for loads in a 50-75Ω range (paragraph [0055], lines 1-5). Therefore, it would have been obvious for the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling to use the impedance matching component comprises a matching for loads in a 50-75Ω range as taught by Ban into the apparatus and method for enabling mobility of a user device in an enhanced wireless network of Jayawardene.
The impedance matching component comprises a matching for loads in a 50-75Ω range can be modify/implemented by combining the impedance matching component comprises a matching for loads in a 50-75Ω range with the device. This process is implemented as a hardware solution or as firmware solutions of Ban into the apparatus and method for enabling mobility of a user device in an enhanced wireless network of Jayawardene. As disclosed in Ban, the motivation for the combination would be to use the impedance matching , transmission line and load impedances are aligned for a maximum power for a better communication becoming more efficient and reliable.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 12 is objected as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure is shown in the following table:
US-20240056033-A1
PEHLKE; David Richard
US-20220175254-A1
HUI; Xiaonan
US-20170343695-A1
STETSON; John B.
US-20160022146-A1
Piron; Cameron
US-20060232492-A1
Sawatani; Takuma
US-20210153124-A1
PANDEY; Nirmal
US-D512053-S
Smith; Paul
/JOSEPH AREVALO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2642