Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by ERICKSON (WO 2019/005048).
Regarding claim 1, ERICKSON discloses a method comprising:
receiving, by a printing system (10) input from a
computing device [0019]-[0020], [0032],
dispensing, by a build material distributor (18) (binder jetting printer), powder
[0020],
pre-wetting, by inkjet applicator (24) (a mechanism of the binder jetting printer
system that is separate from the binder printer), the powder with a
liquid [0020], [0026], [0035], [0048],
receiving, by the printing system 10 (binder jetting printer system), sensor input [0031], [0100] based on pre-wetting the powder such as steel metal powder printing with a binder such as binder 20 including nickel nanoparticles [0037], [0044], and
receiving, by the printing system 10 (binder jetting printer system), sensor input based on printing with the fluid or binder 20 [0031], [0087], [0090], and [0100].
Regarding claims 2-3, ERICKSON discloses the moisture delivery unit is a Piezoelectric printhead [0025].
Regarding claims 4-5, ERICKSON discloses the liquid used in the pre-wetting of the powder is a humectant such as triethylene glycol [0053]-[0054].
Regarding claims 6-11, ERICKSON discloses the sensor input is a camera such as high speed thermal imaging or infrared camera [0089], [0096], [0100].
Regarding claims 12 and 16, ERICKSON discloses performing adjustments [0031].
Regarding claim 13, ERICKSON discloses adjusting output of liquid dispensed onto the powder (fluid loading) [0018].
Regarding claim 14, ERICKSON discloses adjustments also include decreasing the time between pre-wetting and printing [0018], [0020], [0033], claim 13.
Regarding claim 15, ERICKSON discloses the time may be increased [0043], [0078], [0080], [0082], [0109].
Regarding claims 17-18, ERICKSON discloses adjusting fluid loading (decreasing or increasing the spacing) to minimize fluid splashing [0066]-[0071].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues the liquid application mechanism in Erickson is not separate
from the binder printer.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. As mentioned above, Erickson discloses dispensing, by a build material distributor (18) (binder jetting printer), powder
[0020] and
pre-wetting, by inkjet applicator (24) (a mechanism of the binder jetting printer
system that is separate from the binder printer), the powder with a
liquid [0020], [0026], [0035], [0048].
Applicant argues Erickson does not disclose applying any separate, non-binder liquid to the powder prior to, or independent of, the single fluid-application step.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Erickson discloses the fluid (20) is selectively deposited at a fluid loading that wets the portion 46 of the layer 30 through the predetermined height H without saturating the portion 46. The fluid at least partially penetrates the voids between the build material particles 16 throughout the entire height [0064]. Furthermore, Erickson discloses the selective application of the fluid is separated into multiple events (e.g., with delay time between the applications/events) and that multiple applications may be used [0069].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 19-20 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
a) KLEIN et al. (WO 2016/040453) discloses a method for three-dimensional printing progress verification.
b) BUMGARDNER (US 2015/0273583) discloses layer scanning inspection system for use in conjunction with an additive workpiece fabrication system.
STELLA YI
Examiner
Art Unit 1742
/STELLA K YI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1742