Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 6 objected to because of the following informalities: “senor”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the powder" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the binder jetting" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the powder printing" in lines 5-6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 16 recites the limitation "the binder petting printer" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "the spacing of the binder droplets" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 18 recites the limitation "the spacing of the binder droplets" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by ERICKSON (WO 2019/005048).
Regarding claim 1, ERICKSON discloses a method comprising:
receiving, by the printing system 10 (binder jetting printer) input from a
computing device [0019]-[0020], [0032],
dispensing, by the printing system 10 (binder jetting printer), powder [0037],
pre-wetting, by the printing system 10 (binder jetting printer), the powder with a
liquid [0020], [0035], [0048],
receiving, by the printing system 10 (binder jetting printer), sensor input [0031], [0100] based on pre-wetting the powder such as steel metal powder printing with a binder such as binder 20 including nickel nanoparticles [0037], [0044], and
receiving, by the printing system 10 (binder jetting printer), sensor input based on printing with the fluid or binder 20 [0031], [0087], [0090], and [0100].
Regarding claims 2-3, ERICKSON discloses the moisture delivery unit is a Piezoelectric printhead [0025].
Regarding claims 4-5, ERICKSON discloses the liquid used in the pre-wetting of the powder is a humectant such as triethylene glycol [0053]-[0054].
Regarding claims 6-11, ERICKSON discloses the sensor input is a camera such as high speed thermal imaging or infrared camera [0089], [0096], [0100].
Regarding claims 12 and 16, ERICKSON discloses performing adjustments [0031].
Regarding claim 13, ERICKSON discloses adjusting output of liquid dispensed onto the powder (fluid loading) [0018].
Regarding claim 14, ERICKSON discloses adjustments also include decreasing the time between pre-wetting and printing [0018], [0020], [0033], claim 13.
Regarding claim 15, ERICKSON discloses the time may be increased [0043], [0078], [0080], [0082], [0109].
Regarding claims 17-18, ERICKSON discloses adjusting fluid loading (decreasing or increasing the spacing) to minimize fluid splashing [0066]-[0071].
Regarding claims 19-20, ERICKSON discloses post-procedure imaging such as beam testing [0121].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
a) KLEIN et al. (WO 2016/040453) discloses a method for three-dimensional printing progress verification.
b) BUMGARDNER (US 2015/0273583) discloses layer scanning inspection system for use in conjunction with an additive workpiece fabrication system.
STELLA YI
Examiner
Art Unit 1742
/STELLA K YI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1742