DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s Amendments, filed March 5, 2026 have been entered. Claims 1, 2, 5, 6, 8, 9, 10 and 11 have been amended, and claims 1-11 are currently pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see , filed February 5, 2025, with respect to the rejections of claims 1-11 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Sata et al. (Patent No. US 8,600,930 B2, hereineafter “Sata”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rachi (Pub. No. US 2016/0085757 A1, hereinafter “Rachi”) in view of Hokuchi (Pub. No. US 2012/0209595 A1, hereinafter “Hokuchi”) further in view of Sata.
Regarding claim 1, Rachi teaches:
causing a display to display a list of index words that have been previously used by a user to search for dictionary contents (Rachi – as shown in Fig. 3, the electronic dictionary 1 includes a display unit 10, an input unit 20, a communication unit 30, a central processing unit (CPU, i.e. control unit), where the display unit 10 includes the main display 2 and the sub-display 4 [0033-0034]. First, the CPU transmits history list 58 of the user’s own electronic dictionary to the other users’ electronic dictionaries and receives the history lists 58 of the other users’ electronic dictionaries [0056]. The CPU then obtains the received history lists 58 of the other users’ electronic dictionaries 1 (Step S2), creates an aggregate list 59 of words/phrases and calculates the degrees of priority based on the obtained history lists 58 of the other users’ electronic dictionaries 1 (Step S3) [0057]. In response to the creation of the aggregate list 59 and the determination of the degrees of priority of the words/phrases included in the aggregate list 59, the CPU waits for a character to be entered for a dictionary search by a user (Step S4). If a character is entered for a dictionary search, the CPU extracts words/phrases (i.e. index words) whose beginning parts match the character entered by the user, from among the words/phrases included in the aggregate list 59 of the user’s own electronic dictionary 1, in a descending order of degree of priority, and displays the extracted words/phrases on the main display 2 as candidates to be searched for (Step S5) [0065]. As shown in Fig. 4C, the history list 58 is a list of search histories of words/phrases [0051].)
index word (Rachi - in response to the creation of the aggregate list 59 and the determination of the degrees of priority of the words/phrases included in the aggregate list 59, the CPU waits for a character to be entered for a dictionary search by a user (Step S4). If a character is entered for a dictionary search, the CPU extracts words/phrases (i.e. index words) whose beginning parts match the character entered by the user, from among the words/phrases included in the aggregate list 59 of the user’s own electronic dictionary 1, in a descending order of degree of priority, and displays the extracted words/phrases on the main display 2 as candidates to be searched for (Step S5) [0065].)
index words (Rachi - in response to the creation of the aggregate list 59 and the determination of the degrees of priority of the words/phrases included in the aggregate list 59, the CPU waits for a character to be entered for a dictionary search by a user (Step S4). If a character is entered for a dictionary search, the CPU extracts words/phrases (i.e. index words) whose beginning parts match the character entered by the user, from among the words/phrases included in the aggregate list 59 of the user’s own electronic dictionary 1, in a descending order of degree of priority, and displays the extracted words/phrases on the main display 2 as candidates to be searched for (Step S5) [0065].)
index word (Rachi - in response to the creation of the aggregate list 59 and the determination of the degrees of priority of the words/phrases included in the aggregate list 59, the CPU waits for a character to be entered for a dictionary search by a user (Step S4). If a character is entered for a dictionary search, the CPU extracts words/phrases (i.e. index words) whose beginning parts match the character entered by the user, from among the words/phrases included in the aggregate list 59 of the user’s own electronic dictionary 1, in a descending order of degree of priority, and displays the extracted words/phrases on the main display 2 as candidates to be searched for (Step S5) [0065].)
index word (Rachi - in response to the creation of the aggregate list 59 and the determination of the degrees of priority of the words/phrases included in the aggregate list 59, the CPU waits for a character to be entered for a dictionary search by a user (Step S4). If a character is entered for a dictionary search, the CPU extracts words/phrases (i.e. index words) whose beginning parts match the character entered by the user, from among the words/phrases included in the aggregate list 59 of the user’s own electronic dictionary 1, in a descending order of degree of priority, and displays the extracted words/phrases on the main display 2 as candidates to be searched for (Step S5) [0065].)
index word (Rachi - in response to the creation of the aggregate list 59 and the determination of the degrees of priority of the words/phrases included in the aggregate list 59, the CPU waits for a character to be entered for a dictionary search by a user (Step S4). If a character is entered for a dictionary search, the CPU extracts words/phrases (i.e. index words) whose beginning parts match the character entered by the user, from among the words/phrases included in the aggregate list 59 of the user’s own electronic dictionary 1, in a descending order of degree of priority, and displays the extracted words/phrases on the main display 2 as candidates to be searched for (Step S5) [0065].)
Rachi does not appear to teach:
when the user selects an [index] word in the list of [index] words that are being displayed in the display, identifying [a plurality of dictionaries that contain] detailed information for the selected [index] word from among a plurality of types of dictionaries
a plurality of dictionaries that contain
and causing the display to display a search result that includes dictionary identification information [indicating the identified plurality of dictionaries] and a dictionary specific [index] word or words corresponding to the selected [index] word that are specifically associated with respective one of the identified plurality of dictionaries
indicating the identified plurality of dictionaries
that are specifically associated with respective one of the identified plurality of dictionaries
However, Hokuchi teaches:
when the user selects an [index] word in the list of [index] words that are being displayed in the display, identifying [a plurality of dictionaries that contain] detailed information for the selected [index] word from among a plurality of types of dictionaries (Hokuchi – in the dictionary database 22b, there are a plurality of types of dictionary data that have been previously stored or downloaded and stored, including [Japanese-language dictionary] 22b1, [English-Japanese dictionary] 22b2, [Japanese-English dictionary] 22b3, and [Encyclopedia] 22b4 [0038-0039]. When the user selects a desired entry word on the entry word list screen, explanatory information corresponding to the selected entry word is read (i.e. identified) from [English-Japanese dictionary] 22b2 [0052]. Examiner interprets that reading from the [English-Japanese dictionary] discloses identifying the [English-Japanese dictionary].)
and causing the display to display a search result that includes dictionary identification information [indicating the identified plurality of dictionaries] and a dictionary specific [index] word or words corresponding to the selected [index] word that are specifically associated with respective one of the identified plurality of dictionaries (Hokuchi – when the user selects a desired entry word on the entry word list screen, explanatory information corresponding to the selected entry word is read from [English-Japanese dictionary] 22b2 and displayed by the main display module 16. In Fig. 6, (A) shows an explanatory information display screen Ga when [break] (i.e. dictionary specific word) has been selected as an entry word [0052]. If there are an example and a description as supplementary information for each word meaning of entry word [break] on the explanatory information list screen Ga, an [Example] icon and a [Description] icon are displayed behind word meaning information. If there is a phrase about the entry word, [Phrase] mark Mp is displayed in the upper part of the explanatory information list screen Ga [0053]. Examiner interprets that the “ENG-JPN DICT” heading discloses dictionary identification information identifying the [English-Japanese dictionary].)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed, having the teachings of Rachi and Hokuchi before them, to modify the system of Rachi with the teachings of Hokuchi, as indicated above. One would have been motivated to make such a modification to retrieve an entry word included in a dictionary and display its explanatory information (Hokuchi - [0003]).
Rachi modified by Hokuchi does not appear to teach:
a plurality of dictionaries that contain
indicating the identified plurality of dictionaries
that are specifically associated with respective one of the identified plurality of dictionaries
However, Sata teaches:
a plurality of dictionaries that contain (Sata – with reference to Fig. 12, the names of contents (e.g., the names of dictionaries) or the names of applications (e.g., conversation assistance headed with a note sign) are displayed in menu screen 1010 [Col. 15 lines 45-48]. Template database includes a plurality of templates for associating a plurality of example sentences described in a plurality of different language with one another. Template database is used when conversation assistance device creates a translation of a user selected example sentence [Col. 7 lines 52-57]. See Fig. 5, where template 500 includes a template number for identifying template 500, typical word sentence (Japanese), category sentence (Japanese), typical word sentence (English), category sentence (English), typical word sentence (Chinese), category sentence (Chinese) and a keyword [Col. 8 lines 13-18].)
indicating the identified plurality of dictionaries (Sata – with reference to Fig. 12, the names of contents (e.g., the names of dictionaries) or the names of applications (e.g., conversation assistance headed with a note sign) are displayed in menu screen 1010 [Col. 15 lines 45-48]. Template database includes a plurality of templates for associating a plurality of example sentences described in a plurality of different language with one another. Template database is used when conversation assistance device creates a translation of a user selected example sentence [Col. 7 lines 52-57]. See Fig. 5, where template 500 includes a template number for identifying template 500, typical word sentence (Japanese), category sentence (Japanese), typical word sentence (English), category sentence (English), typical word sentence (Chinese), category sentence (Chinese) and a keyword [Col. 8 lines 13-18].)
that are specifically associated with respective one of the identified plurality of dictionaries (Sata – with reference to Fig. 12, the names of contents (e.g., the names of dictionaries) or the names of applications (e.g., conversation assistance headed with a note sign) are displayed in menu screen 1010 [Col. 15 lines 45-48]. Template database includes a plurality of templates for associating a plurality of example sentences described in a plurality of different language with one another. Template database is used when conversation assistance device creates a translation of a user selected example sentence [Col. 7 lines 52-57]. See Fig. 5, where template 500 includes a template number for identifying template 500, typical word sentence (Japanese), category sentence (Japanese), typical word sentence (English), category sentence (English), typical word sentence (Chinese), category sentence (Chinese) and a keyword [Col. 8 lines 13-18].)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed, having the teachings of Rachi, Hokuchi, and Sata before them, to modify the system of Rachi and Hokuchi with the teachings of Sata, as indicated above. One would have been motivated to make such a modification to output content corresponding to a keyword, and use an information processing device, such as an electronic dictionary or a translation device, that displays an example sentence and its translation (Sata - [Col. 1 lines 6-14).
Regarding claim 2, Rachi teaches:
index word (Rachi - in response to the creation of the aggregate list 59 and the determination of the degrees of priority of the words/phrases included in the aggregate list 59, the CPU waits for a character to be entered for a dictionary search by a user (Step S4). If a character is entered for a dictionary search, the CPU extracts words/phrases (i.e. index words) whose beginning parts match the character entered by the user, from among the words/phrases included in the aggregate list 59 of the user’s own electronic dictionary 1, in a descending order of degree of priority, and displays the extracted words/phrases on the main display 2 as candidates to be searched for (Step S5) [0065].)
index word (Rachi - in response to the creation of the aggregate list 59 and the determination of the degrees of priority of the words/phrases included in the aggregate list 59, the CPU waits for a character to be entered for a dictionary search by a user (Step S4). If a character is entered for a dictionary search, the CPU extracts words/phrases (i.e. index words) whose beginning parts match the character entered by the user, from among the words/phrases included in the aggregate list 59 of the user’s own electronic dictionary 1, in a descending order of degree of priority, and displays the extracted words/phrases on the main display 2 as candidates to be searched for (Step S5) [0065].)
Rachi does not appear to teach:
wherein, when the user selects a dictionary specific [index] word
that is associated with a particular one of the identified plurality of dictionaries in the displayed search result,
the at least one processor further causes the display to display detailed information contained in the selected particular one
of the identified plurality of dictionaries that is associated with the selected dictionary specific [index] word
However, Hokuchi teaches:
wherein, when the user selects a dictionary specific [index] word (Hokuchi – when the user selects a desired entry word on the entry word list screen, explanatory information corresponding to the selected entry word is read from [English-Japanese dictionary] 22b2 [0052].)
the at least one processor further causes the display to display detailed information contained in the selected particular one (Hokuchi – when the user selects a desired entry word on the entry word list screen, explanatory information corresponding to the selected entry word is read from [English-Japanese dictionary] 22b2 and displayed by the main display module 16. In Fig. 6, (A) shows an explanatory information display screen Ga when [break] has been selected as an entry word [0052]. If there are an example and a description as supplementary information for each word meaning of entry word [break] on the explanatory information list screen Ga, an [Example] icon and a [Description] icon are displayed behind word meaning information. If there is a phrase about the entry word, [Phrase] mark Mp is displayed in the upper part of the explanatory information list screen Ga [0053].)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed, having the teachings of Rachi, Hokuchi and Sata before them, to modify the system of Rachi, Hokuchi, and Sata with the teachings of Hokuchi, as indicate above. One would have been motivated to make such a modification to retrieve an entry word included in a dictionary and display its explanatory information (Hokuchi - [0003]).
Rachi modified by Hokuchi does not appear to teach:
that is associated with a particular one of the identified plurality of dictionaries in the displayed search result,
of the identified plurality of dictionaries that is associated with the selected dictionary specific [index] word
However, Sata teaches:
that is associated with a particular one of the identified plurality of dictionaries in the displayed search result, (Sata – with reference to Fig. 12, the names of contents (e.g., the names of dictionaries) or the names of applications (e.g., conversation assistance headed with a note sign) are displayed in menu screen 1010 [Col. 15 lines 45-48]. Template database includes a plurality of templates for associating a plurality of example sentences described in a plurality of different language with one another. Template database is used when conversation assistance device creates a translation of a user selected example sentence [Col. 7 lines 52-57]. See Fig. 5, where template 500 includes a template number for identifying template 500, typical word sentence (Japanese), category sentence (Japanese), typical word sentence (English), category sentence (English), typical word sentence (Chinese), category sentence (Chinese) and a keyword [Col. 8 lines 13-18].)
of the identified plurality of dictionaries that is associated with the selected dictionary specific [index] word (Sata – with reference to Fig. 12, the names of contents (e.g., the names of dictionaries) or the names of applications (e.g., conversation assistance headed with a note sign) are displayed in menu screen 1010 [Col. 15 lines 45-48]. Template database includes a plurality of templates for associating a plurality of example sentences described in a plurality of different language with one another. Template database is used when conversation assistance device creates a translation of a user selected example sentence [Col. 7 lines 52-57]. See Fig. 5, where template 500 includes a template number for identifying template 500, typical word sentence (Japanese), category sentence (Japanese), typical word sentence (English), category sentence (English), typical word sentence (Chinese), category sentence (Chinese) and a keyword [Col. 8 lines 13-18].)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed, having the teachings of Rachi, Hokuchi, and Sata before them, to modify the system of Rachi, Hokuchi, and Sata with the teachings of Sata, as indicate above. One would have been motivated to make such a modification to output content corresponding to a keyword, and use an information processing device, such as an electronic dictionary or a translation device, that displays an example sentence and its translation (Sata - [Col. 1 lines 6-14).
Regarding claim 3, Rachi teaches:
wherein the list of the index words is a list of index words generated based on a search history that combines the following: a first search history including index words that the user of the search device has used to search for content of the first plurality of types of dictionaries using the search device; a second search history including index words that the user has used to search for content of a second plurality of types of dictionaries using a search device that differs from the search device (Rachi – first, the CPU transmits history list 58 of the user’s own electronic discovery (i.e. a first search history) to the other users’ electronic dictionaries and receives the history lists 58 of the other users’ electronic dictionaries (i.e. second search history) [0056]. The CPU then obtains the received history lists 58 of the other users’ electronic dictionaries 1 (Step S2), creates an aggregate list 59 of words/phrases and calculates the degrees of priority based on the obtained history lists 58 of the other users’ electronic dictionaries 1 (Step S3) [0057]. See Fig. 1, where each student has their own electronic dictionary (i.e. search device) [0025-0026].)
Regarding claim 4, Rachi teaches:
further comprising a memory that stores the contents of the plurality of types of dictionaries, (Rachi – the dictionary databases 55 include a dictionary database 55a of a Japanese dictionary, a dictionary database 55b of a kanji dictionary, and a dictionary database 55c of an English-Japanese dictionary etc. [0046-0047]. See [0033] for memory.)
wherein the list of the index words is a list of index words generated based on a search history that combines a first index word search history including index words that the user has used to search for contents of a plurality of types of dictionaries that differ from the contents of the plurality of types of dictionaries stored in the memory using another search device that differs from the search device, (Rachi – if the aggregate list 59 no longer includes any word/phrase who beginning part matches characters entered by the user as the number of characters entered by the user increases to two, three,…, the CPU performs only a normal search of dictionaries for the headword. The CPU then determines whether the history list 58 has been updated in the user’s own electronic dictionary and whether the history lists of other users’ electronic dictionaries have been updated (Step S6). When a new word/phrase that is not included in a history list is searched for or when a word/phrase that is already included in a history list is searched for again, the word/phrase and the corresponding search date and time, elapsed time, and points are added to the relevant history list 58. In Step S6, the CPU determines existence or non-existence of such added information and thus determines whether each history list 58 has been updated [0072-0073]. See Fig. 1, where each student has their own electronic dictionary (i.e. search device) [0025-0026].)
and a second search history including index words that the user has used to search for the contents of the plurality of types of dictionaries stored in the memory (Rachi – first, the CPU transmits history list 58 of the user’s own electronic discovery (i.e. a first search history) to the other users’ electronic dictionaries and receives the history lists 58 of the other users’ electronic dictionaries (i.e. second search history) [0056]. The CPU then obtains the received history lists 58 of the other users’ electronic dictionaries 1 (Step S2), creates an aggregate list 59 of words/phrases and calculates the degrees of priority based on the obtained history lists 58 of the other users’ electronic dictionaries 1 (Step S3) [0057]. See Fig. 1, where each student has their own electronic dictionary (i.e. search device) [0025-0026].)
Regarding claim 5, Rachi teaches:
comprising a search device and (Rachi – Fig. 2 is a block diagram showing a configuration of the electronic circuitry of the electronic dictionary device (i.e. search device). The electronic dictionary device is composed of a computer which reads programs recorded in various storage mediums and is controlled by the read programs [0032-0033].)
wherein at least one processor of a search device causes a display to display a list of index words that have been previously used by a user to search for dictionary contents, (Rachi – as shown in Fig. 3, the electronic dictionary 1 includes a display unit 10, an input unit 20, a communication unit 30, a central processing unit (CPU, i.e. control unit), where the display unit 10 includes the main display 2 and the sub-display 4 [0033-0034]. First, the CPU transmits history list 58 of the user’s own electronic dictionary to the other users’ electronic dictionaries and receives the history lists 58 of the other users’ electronic dictionaries [0056]. The CPU then obtains the received history lists 58 of the other users’ electronic dictionaries 1 (Step S2), creates an aggregate list 59 of words/phrases and calculates the degrees of priority based on the obtained history lists 58 of the other users’ electronic dictionaries 1 (Step S3) [0057]. In response to the creation of the aggregate list 59 and the determination of the degrees of priority of the words/phrases included in the aggregate list 59, the CPU waits for a character to be entered for a dictionary search by a user (Step S4). If a character is entered for a dictionary search, the CPU extracts words/phrases (i.e. index words) whose beginning parts match the character entered by the user, from among the words/phrases included in the aggregate list 59 of the user’s own electronic dictionary 1, in a descending order of degree of priority, and displays the extracted words/phrases on the main display 2 as candidates to be searched for (Step S5) [0065]. As shown in Fig. 4C, the history list 58 is a list of search histories of words/phrases [0051].)
index word (Rachi - in response to the creation of the aggregate list 59 and the determination of the degrees of priority of the words/phrases included in the aggregate list 59, the CPU waits for a character to be entered for a dictionary search by a user (Step S4). If a character is entered for a dictionary search, the CPU extracts words/phrases (i.e. index words) whose beginning parts match the character entered by the user, from among the words/phrases included in the aggregate list 59 of the user’s own electronic dictionary 1, in a descending order of degree of priority, and displays the extracted words/phrases on the main display 2 as candidates to be searched for (Step S5) [0065].)
index words (Rachi - in response to the creation of the aggregate list 59 and the determination of the degrees of priority of the words/phrases included in the aggregate list 59, the CPU waits for a character to be entered for a dictionary search by a user (Step S4). If a character is entered for a dictionary search, the CPU extracts words/phrases (i.e. index words) whose beginning parts match the character entered by the user, from among the words/phrases included in the aggregate list 59 of the user’s own electronic dictionary 1, in a descending order of degree of priority, and displays the extracted words/phrases on the main display 2 as candidates to be searched for (Step S5) [0065].)
index word (Rachi - in response to the creation of the aggregate list 59 and the determination of the degrees of priority of the words/phrases included in the aggregate list 59, the CPU waits for a character to be entered for a dictionary search by a user (Step S4). If a character is entered for a dictionary search, the CPU extracts words/phrases (i.e. index words) whose beginning parts match the character entered by the user, from among the words/phrases included in the aggregate list 59 of the user’s own electronic dictionary 1, in a descending order of degree of priority, and displays the extracted words/phrases on the main display 2 as candidates to be searched for (Step S5) [0065].)
index word (Rachi - in response to the creation of the aggregate list 59 and the determination of the degrees of priority of the words/phrases included in the aggregate list 59, the CPU waits for a character to be entered for a dictionary search by a user (Step S4). If a character is entered for a dictionary search, the CPU extracts words/phrases (i.e. index words) whose beginning parts match the character entered by the user, from among the words/phrases included in the aggregate list 59 of the user’s own electronic dictionary 1, in a descending order of degree of priority, and displays the extracted words/phrases on the main display 2 as candidates to be searched for (Step S5) [0065].)
Rachi does not appear to teach:
a server communicably connected to the search device,
wherein when the user selects an [index] word in the list of [index] words that are being displayed in the display, the at least one processor of the search device sends the selected [index] word to the server, wherein at least one processor of the server performs the following: identifying [a plurality of dictionaries that contain] detailed information for the selected [index] word received from the search device from among a plurality of types of dictionaries available through the server
a plurality of dictionaries that contain
and sending a search result that includes dictionary identification information [indicating the identified plurality of dictionaries] and an dictionary specific index word or words corresponding to the selected [index] word that are specifically associated with respective one [of the identified plurality of dictionaries], and wherein the at least one processor of the search device further causes the display of the search device to display the search result received from the server
indicating the identified plurality of dictionaries
of the identified plurality of dictionaries
However, Hokuchi teaches:
a server communicably connected to the search device, (Hokuchi - stored as the device control programs 22a in a memory device 22 are a system program that supervises the operation of the entire electronic dictionary device 10 and a communication program for performing data communication with each Web server 30 (i.e. server) on the Internet N via the external interface 25 [0037].)
wherein when the user selects an [index] word in the list of [index] words that are being displayed in the display, the at least one processor of the search device sends the selected [index] word to the server, wherein at least one processor of the server performs the following: identifying [a plurality of dictionaries that contain] detailed information for the selected [index] word received from the search device from among a plurality of types of dictionaries available through the server (Hokuchi – in the dictionary database 22b, there are a plurality of types of dictionary data that have been previously stored or downloaded and stored, including [Japanese-language dictionary] 22b1, [English-Japanese dictionary] 22b2, [Japanese-English dictionary] 22b3, and [Encyclopedia] 22b4 [0038-0039]. When the user selects a desired entry word on the entry word list screen, explanatory information corresponding to the selected entry word is read from [English-Japanese dictionary] 22b2 [0052]. Examiner interprets that reading from the [English-Japanese dictionary] discloses identifying the [English-Japanese dictionary].)
and sending a search result that includes dictionary identification information [indicating the identified plurality of dictionaries] and an dictionary specific index word or words corresponding to the selected [index] word that are specifically associated with respective one [of the identified plurality of dictionaries], and wherein the at least one processor of the search device further causes the display of the search device to display the search result received from the server (Hokuchi – when the user selects a desired entry word on the entry word list screen, explanatory information corresponding to the selected entry word is read from [English-Japanese dictionary] 22b2 and displayed by the main display module 16. In Fig. 6, (A) shows an explanatory information display screen Ga when [break] (i.e. dictionary specific word) has been selected as an entry word [0052]. If there are an example and a description as supplementary information for each word meaning of entry word [break] on the explanatory information list screen Ga, an [Example] icon and a [Description] icon are displayed behind word meaning information. If there is a phrase about the entry word, [Phrase] mark Mp is displayed in the upper part of the explanatory information list screen Ga [0053]. Examiner interprets that the “ENG-JPN DICT” heading discloses dictionary identification information identifying the [English-Japanese dictionary].)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed, having the teachings of Rachi, Hokuchi and Sata before them, to modify the system of Rachi, Hokuchi, and Sata with the teachings of Hokuchi, as indicate above. One would have been motivated to make such a modification to retrieve an entry word included in a dictionary and display its explanatory information (Hokuchi - [0003]).
Rachi modified by Hokuchi does not appear to teach:
a plurality of dictionaries that contain
indicating the identified plurality of dictionaries
of the identified plurality of dictionaries
However, Sata teaches:
a plurality of dictionaries that contain (Sata – with reference to Fig. 12, the names of contents (e.g., the names of dictionaries) or the names of applications (e.g., conversation assistance headed with a note sign) are displayed in menu screen 1010 [Col. 15 lines 45-48]. Template database includes a plurality of templates for associating a plurality of example sentences described in a plurality of different language with one another. Template database is used when conversation assistance device creates a translation of a user selected example sentence [Col. 7 lines 52-57]. See Fig. 5, where template 500 includes a template number for identifying template 500, typical word sentence (Japanese), category sentence (Japanese), typical word sentence (English), category sentence (English), typical word sentence (Chinese), category sentence (Chinese) and a keyword [Col. 8 lines 13-18].)
indicating the identified plurality of dictionaries (Sata – with reference to Fig. 12, the names of contents (e.g., the names of dictionaries) or the names of applications (e.g., conversation assistance headed with a note sign) are displayed in menu screen 1010 [Col. 15 lines 45-48]. Template database includes a plurality of templates for associating a plurality of example sentences described in a plurality of different language with one another. Template database is used when conversation assistance device creates a translation of a user selected example sentence [Col. 7 lines 52-57]. See Fig. 5, where template 500 includes a template number for identifying template 500, typical word sentence (Japanese), category sentence (Japanese), typical word sentence (English), category sentence (English), typical word sentence (Chinese), category sentence (Chinese) and a keyword [Col. 8 lines 13-18].)
of the identified plurality of dictionaries (Sata – with reference to Fig. 12, the names of contents (e.g., the names of dictionaries) or the names of applications (e.g., conversation assistance headed with a note sign) are displayed in menu screen 1010 [Col. 15 lines 45-48]. Template database includes a plurality of templates for associating a plurality of example sentences described in a plurality of different language with one another. Template database is used when conversation assistance device creates a translation of a user selected example sentence [Col. 7 lines 52-57]. See Fig. 5, where template 500 includes a template number for identifying template 500, typical word sentence (Japanese), category sentence (Japanese), typical word sentence (English), category sentence (English), typical word sentence (Chinese), category sentence (Chinese) and a keyword [Col. 8 lines 13-18].)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed, having the teachings of Rachi, Hokuchi, and Sata before them, to modify the system of Rachi, Hokuchi, and Sata with the teachings of Sata, as indicate above. One would have been motivated to make such a modification to output content corresponding to a keyword, and use an information processing device, such as an electronic dictionary or a translation device, that displays an example sentence and its translation (Sata - [Col. 1 lines 6-14).
Regarding claim 6, Rachi teaches:
another search device as a second search device, said search device being referred to as a first search device, the first search device and the second search device existing independently of each other, (Rachi - see Fig. 1, where each student has their own electronic dictionary (i.e. search device) [0025-0026].)
a first search history including index words that have been searched for by the user of the first search device, and user information associated with the user of the first search device and users of the second search device, (Rachi – the history list 58 is a list of search histories of words/phrases (headwords) [0051]. Also see [0079] for user information, such as information on test score of a user, information on whether or not the user is a friend, information on the grade of the user, and/or any other information set as appropriate [0079].)
index word (Rachi - in response to the creation of the aggregate list 59 and the determination of the degrees of priority of the words/phrases included in the aggregate list 59, the CPU waits for a character to be entered for a dictionary search by a user (Step S4). If a character is entered for a dictionary search, the CPU extracts words/phrases (i.e. index words) whose beginning parts match the character entered by the user, from among the words/phrases included in the aggregate list 59 of the user’s own electronic dictionary 1, in a descending order of degree of priority, and displays the extracted words/phrases on the main display 2 as candidates to be searched for (Step S5) [0065].)
index words (Rachi - in response to the creation of the aggregate list 59 and the determination of the degrees of priority of the words/phrases included in the aggregate list 59, the CPU waits for a character to be entered for a dictionary search by a user (Step S4). If a character is entered for a dictionary search, the CPU extracts words/phrases (i.e. index words) whose beginning parts match the character entered by the user, from among the words/phrases included in the aggregate list 59 of the user’s own electronic dictionary 1, in a descending order of degree of priority, and displays the extracted words/phrases on the main display 2 as candidates to be searched for (Step S5) [0065].)
index word (Rachi - in response to the creation of the aggregate list 59 and the determination of the degrees of priority of the words/phrases included in the aggregate list 59, the CPU waits for a character to be entered for a dictionary search by a user (Step S4). If a character is entered for a dictionary search, the CPU extracts words/phrases (i.e. index words) whose beginning parts match the character entered by the user, from among the words/phrases included in the aggregate list 59 of the user’s own electronic dictionary 1, in a descending order of degree of priority, and displays the extracted words/phrases on the main display 2 as candidates to be searched for (Step S5) [0065].)
and a second search history including index words that have been used to search for contents of the second plurality of types of dictionaries, (Rachi – the history list 58 is a list of search histories of words/phrases (headwords) [0051]. Also see [0079] for user information, such as information on test score of a user, information on whether or not the user is a friend, information on the grade of the user, and/or any other information set as appropriate [0079].)
wherein the at least one processor of the server further performs the following: receiving the second search history from the second search device; and updating the first search history including the index words that have been searched by the user of the first search device based on the received second search history and the user information (Rachi – first, the CPU transmits history list 58 of the user’s own electronic dictionary to the other users’ electronic dictionaries and receives the history lists 58 of the other users’ electronic dictionaries (i.e. second search history from the second search device) [0056]. The CPU then obtains the received history lists 58 of the other users’ electronic dictionaries 1 (Step S2), creates an aggregate list 59 of words/phrases and calculates the degrees of priority based on the obtained history lists 58 of the other users’ electronic dictionaries 1 (Step S3) [0057].)
Rachi does not appear to teach:
wherein the server further includes a first memory that stores contents of a first plurality of types of dictionaries,
wherein the at least one processor of the server performs the following: identifying [a plurality of dictionaries containing] detailed information for the [index] word received from the first search device among the first plurality of types of dictionaries stored in the first memory; and deriving a search result that includes dictionary identification information [indicating the identified plurality of dictionaries] and an dictionary specific [index] word or words corresponding to the selected [index] word associated with respective one [of the identified plurality of dictionaries], and sending the search result to the first search device
a plurality of dictionaries containing
indicating the identified plurality of dictionaries
of the identified plurality of dictionaries
wherein the second search device includes a second memory that stores contents of a second plurality of types of dictionaries,
wherein at least one processor of the second search device sends the second search history stored in the second memory to the server,
However, Hokuchi teaches:
wherein the server further includes a first memory that stores contents of a first plurality of types of dictionaries, (Hokuchi – the device control program 22a may be read into the storage device 22 from an external storage medium 23, such as from a Web server 30 on the Internet N via an external interface 25 [0034]. The electronic dictionary device is composed of a computer which reads programs recorded in various storage mediums and is controlled by the read programs [0033]. Dictionary database is stored in storage device 22 [0037], and includes different types of dictionaries [0038-0039]. See [0033] for memory.)
wherein the at least one processor of the server performs the following: identifying [a plurality of dictionaries containing] detailed information for the [index] word received from the first search device among the first plurality of types of dictionaries stored in the first memory; and deriving a search result that includes dictionary identification information [indicating the identified plurality of dictionaries] and an dictionary specific [index] word or words corresponding to the selected [index] word associated with respective one [of the identified plurality of dictionaries], and sending the search result to the first search device (Hokuchi – when the user selects a desired entry word on the entry word list screen, explanatory information corresponding to the selected entry word is read from [English-Japanese dictionary] 22b2 and displayed by the main display module. In Fig. 6 (A) shows an explanatory information display screen Ga when [break] has been selected as an entry word [0052]. If there are an example and a description as supplementary information for each word meaning of entry word [break] on the explanatory information list screen Ga, an [Example] icon and a [Description] icon are displayed behind word meaning information. If there is a phrase about the entry word, [Phrase] mark Mp is displayed in the upper part of the explanatory information list screen Ga [0053]. Examiner interprets that the “ENG-JPN DICT” heading discloses dictionary identification information identifying the [English-Japanese dictionary]. Examiner interprets that reading from the [English-Japanese dictionary] discloses identifying the [English-Japanese dictionary].)
wherein the second search device includes a second memory that stores contents of a second plurality of types of dictionaries, (Hokuchi – the device control program 22a may be read into the storage device 22 from an external storage medium 23, such as from a Web server 30 on the Internet N via an external interface 25 [0034]. The electronic dictionary device is composed of a computer which reads programs recorded in various storage mediums and is controlled by the read programs [0033]. Dictionary database is stored in storage device 22 [0037], and includes different types of dictionaries [0038-0039]. See [0033] for memory.)
wherein at least one processor of the second search device sends the second search history stored in the second memory to the server, (Hokuchi – stored as the device control programs 22a in the memory device 22 are a system program that supervises the operation of the entire electronic dictionary device 10 and a communication program for performing data communication with each Web server 30 on the Internet N via the external interface 25. Further stored as the device control program 22a is a dictionary search program for controlling overall processes, including search, edit, and display, based on the dictionary database 22b stored in the storage device 22 [0037]. The device control program 22a may be read into the storage device 22 from an external medium or from a Web server [0034].)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed, having the teachings of Rachi, Hokuchi, and Sata before them, to modify the system of Rachi, Hokuchi, and Sata with the teachings of Hokuchi, as indicated above. One would have been motivated to make such a modification to retrieve an entry word included in a dictionary and display its explanatory information (Hokuchi - [0003]).
Rachi modified by Hokuchi does not appear to teach:
a plurality of dictionaries containing
indicating the identified plurality of dictionaries
of the identified plurality of dictionaries
However, Sata teaches:
a plurality of dictionaries containing (Sata – with reference to Fig. 12, the names of contents (e.g., the names of dictionaries) or the names of applications (e.g., conversation assistance headed with a note sign) are displayed in menu screen 1010 [Col. 15 lines 45-48]. Template database includes a plurality of templates for associating a plurality of example sentences described in a plurality of different language with one another. Template database is used when conversation assistance device creates a translation of a user selected example sentence [Col. 7 lines 52-57]. See Fig. 5, where template 500 includes a template number for identifying template 500, typical word sentence (Japanese), category sentence (Japanese), typical word sentence (English), category sentence (English), typical word sentence (Chinese), category sentence (Chinese) and a keyword [Col. 8 lines 13-18].)
indicating the identified plurality of dictionaries (Sata – with reference to Fig. 12, the names of contents (e.g., the names of dictionaries) or the names of applications (e.g., conversation assistance headed with a note sign) are displayed in menu screen 1010 [Col. 15 lines 45-48]. Template database includes a plurality of templates for associating a plurality of example sentences described in a plurality of different language with one another. Template database is used when conversation assistance device creates a translation of a user selected example sentence [Col. 7 lines 52-57]. See Fig. 5, where template 500 includes a template number for identifying template 500, typical word sentence (Japanese), category sentence (Japanese), typical word sentence (English), category sentence (English), typical word sentence (Chinese), category sentence (Chinese) and a keyword [Col. 8 lines 13-18].)
of the identified plurality of dictionaries (Sata – with reference to Fig. 12, the names of contents (e.g., the names of dictionaries) or the names of applications (e.g., conversation assistance headed with a note sign) are displayed in menu screen 1010 [Col. 15 lines 45-48]. Template database includes a plurality of templates for associating a plurality of example sentences described in a plurality of different language with one another. Template database is used when conversation assistance device creates a translation of a user selected example sentence [Col. 7 lines 52-57]. See Fig. 5, where template 500 includes a template number for identifying template 500, typical word sentence (Japanese), category sentence (Japanese), typical word sentence (English), category sentence (English), typical word sentence (Chinese), category sentence (Chinese) and a keyword [Col. 8 lines 13-18].)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed, having the teachings of Rachi, Hokuchi, and Sata before them, to modify the system of Rachi, Hokuchi, and Sata with the teachings of Sata, as indicate above. One would have been motivated to make such a modification to output content corresponding to a keyword, and use an information processing device, such as an electronic dictionary or a translation device, that displays an example sentence and its translation (Sata - [Col. 1 lines 6-14).
Regarding claim 7, Rachi teaches:
wherein the at least one processor of the server further performs: generating the list of index words searched by the user of the first search device based on the first search history and sending the list to the first search device, (Rachi – the history list 58 is a list of search histories of words/phrases (headwords). Specifically, in the history list 58, a word/phrase, a search date and time, elapsed time, and points are associated with one another [0051]. In Fig. 4D, the aggregate list 59 is a table in which words/phrases (headwords) and points are associated with each other. The aggregate list 59 is created based on the history lists 58 of all the electronic dictionaries 1 including the electronic dictionaries 1 other than the user’s own electronic dictionary 1 [0052]. When a user enters a character for a dictionary search, the CPU (i.e. control unit) extracts words/phrases whose beginning parts match the character entered by the user, from among the words/phrases included in the aggregate list 59 of the user’s own electronic dictionary [0065].)
index word (Rachi - in response to the creation of the aggregate list 59 and the determination of the degrees of priority of the words/phrases included in the aggregate list 59, the CPU waits for a character to be entered for a dictionary search by a user (Step S4). If a character is entered for a dictionary search, the CPU extracts words/phrases (i.e. index words) whose beginning parts match the character entered by the user, from among the words/phrases included in the aggregate list 59 of the user’s own electronic dictionary 1, in a descending order of degree of priority, and displays the extracted words/phrases on the main display 2 as candidates to be searched for (Step S5) [0065].)
index word (Rachi - in response to the creation of the aggregate list 59 and the determination of the degrees of priority of the words/phrases included in the aggregate list 59, the CPU waits for a character to be entered for a dictionary search by a user (Step S4). If a character is entered for a dictionary search, the CPU extracts words/phrases (i.e. index words) whose beginning parts match the character entered by the user, from among the words/phrases included in the aggregate list 59 of the user’s own electronic dictionary 1, in a descending order of degree of priority, and displays the extracted words/phrases on the main display 2 as candidates to be searched for (Step S5) [0065].)
Rachi does not appear to teach:
wherein the [index] word received from the first search device is an [index]word selected from the list by the user of the first search device
However, Hokuchi teaches:
wherein the [index] word received from the first search device is an [index]word selected from the list by the user of the first search device (Hokuchi – when the user selects a desired entry word on the entry word list screen, explanatory information corresponding to the selected entry word is read from [English-Japanese dictionary] 22b2 and displayed by the main display module 16. In Fig. 6, (A) shows an explanatory information display screen Ga when [break] has been selected as an entry word [0052].)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed, having the teachings of Rachi, Hokuchi, and Sata before them, to modify the system of Rachi, Hokuchi, and Sata with the teachings of Hokuchi, as indicated above. One would have been motivated to make such a modification to retrieve an entry word included in a dictionary and display its explanatory information (Hokuchi - [0003]).
Regarding claim 8, Rachi teaches:
causing a display of the computer to display a list of index words that have been previously used by a user to search for dictionary contents (Rachi – as shown in Fig. 3, the electronic dictionary 1 includes a display unit 10, an input unit 20, a communication unit 30, a central processing unit (CPU, i.e. control unit), where the display unit 10 includes the main display 2 and the sub-display 4 [0033-0034]. First, the CPU transmits history list 58 of the user’s own electronic dictionary to the other users’ electronic dictionaries and receives the history lists 58 of the other users’ electronic dictionaries [0056]. The CPU then obtains the received history lists 58 of the other users’ electronic dictionaries 1 (Step S2), creates an aggregate list 59 of words/phrases and calculates the degrees of priority based on the obtained history lists 58 of the other users’ electronic dictionaries 1 (Step S3) [0057]. In response to the creation of the aggregate list 59 and the determination of the degrees of priority of the words/phrases included in the aggregate list 59, the CPU waits for a character to be entered for a dictionary search by a user (Step S4). If a character is entered for a dictionary search, the CPU extracts words/phrases (i.e. index words) whose beginning parts match the character entered by the user, from among the words/phrases included in the aggregate list 59 of the user’s own electronic dictionary 1, in a descending order of degree of priority, and displays the extracted words/phrases on the main display 2 as candidates to be searched for (Step S5) [0065]. As shown in Fig. 4C, the history list 58 is a list of search histories of words/phrases [0051].)
index word (Rachi - in response to the creation of the aggregate list 59 and the determination of the degrees of priority of the words/phrases included in the aggregate list 59, the CPU waits for a character to be entered for a dictionary search by a user (Step S4). If a character is entered for a dictionary search, the CPU extracts words/phrases (i.e. index words) whose beginning parts match the character entered by the user, from among the words/phrases included in the aggregate list 59 of the user’s own electronic dictionary 1, in a descending order of degree of priority, and displays the extracted words/phrases on the main display 2 as candidates to be searched for (Step S5) [0065].)
index words (Rachi - in response to the creation of the aggregate list 59 and the determination of the degrees of priority of the words/phrases included in the aggregate list 59, the CPU waits for a character to be entered for a dictionary search by a user (Step S4). If a character is entered for a dictionary search, the CPU extracts words/phrases (i.e. index words) whose beginning parts match the character entered by the user, from among the words/phrases included in the aggregate list 59 of the user’s own electronic dictionary 1, in a descending order of degree of priority, and displays the extracted words/phrases on the main display 2 as candidates to be searched for (Step S5) [0065].)
index word (Rachi - in response to the creation of the aggregate list 59 and the determination of the degrees of priority of the words/phrases included in the aggregate list 59, the CPU waits for a character to be entered for a dictionary search by a user (Step S4). If a character is entered for a dictionary search, the CPU extracts words/phrases (i.e. index words) whose beginning parts match the character entered by the user, from among the words/phrases included in the aggregate list 59 of the user’s own electronic dictionary 1, in a descending order of degree of priority, and displays the extracted words/phrases on the main display 2 as candidates to be searched for (Step S5) [0065].)
index words (Rachi - in response to the creation of the aggregate list 59 and the determination of the degrees of priority of the words/phrases included in the aggregate list 59, the CPU waits for a character to be entered for a dictionary search by a user (Step S4). If a character is entered for a dictionary search, the CPU extracts words/phrases (i.e. index words) whose beginning parts match the character entered by the user, from among the words/phrases included in the aggregate list 59 of the user’s own electronic dictionary 1, in a descending order of degree of priority, and displays the extracted words/phrases on the main display 2 as candidates to be searched for (Step S5) [0065].)
index word (Rachi - in response to the creation of the aggregate list 59 and the determination of the degrees of priority of the words/phrases included in the aggregate list 59, the CPU waits for a character to be entered for a dictionary search by a user (Step S4). If a character is entered for a dictionary search, the CPU extracts words/phrases (i.e. index words) whose beginning parts match the character entered by the user, from among the words/phrases included in the aggregate list 59 of the user’s own electronic dictionary 1, in a descending order of degree of priority, and displays the extracted words/phrases on the main display 2 as candidates to be searched for (Step S5) [0065].)
Rachi does not appear to teach:
when the user selects an [index] word in the list of [index] words that are being displayed in the display, identifying [a plurality of dictionaries that contain] detailed information for the selected [index] word from among a plurality of types of dictionaries
a plurality of dictionaries that contain
and causing the display of the computer to display a search result that includes dictionary identification information [indicating the identified plurality of dictionaries] and a dictionary specific [index] word or words corresponding to the selected [index] word that are specifically associated with respective one [of the identified plurality of dictionaries]
indicating the identified plurality of dictionaries
of the identified plurality of dictionaries
However, Hokuchi teaches:
when the user selects an [index] word in the list of [index] words that are being displayed in the display, identifying [a plurality of dictionaries that contain] detailed information for the selected [index] word from among a plurality of types of dictionaries (Hokuchi – in the dictionary database 22b, there are a plurality of types of dictionary data that have been previously stored or downloaded and stored, including [Japanese-language dictionary] 22b1, [English-Japanese dictionary] 22b2, [Japanese-English dictionary] 22b3, and [Encyclopedia] 22b4 [0038-0039]. When the user selects a desired entry word on the entry word list screen, explanatory information corresponding to the selected entry word is read (i.e. identified) from [English-Japanese dictionary] 22b2 [0052]. Examiner interprets that reading from the [English-Japanese dictionary] discloses identifying the [English-Japanese dictionary].)
and causing the display of the computer to display a search result that includes dictionary identification information [indicating the identified plurality of dictionaries] and a dictionary specific [index] word or words corresponding to the selected [index] word that are specifically associated with respective one [of the identified plurality of dictionaries] (Hokuchi – when the user selects a desired entry word on the entry word list screen, explanatory information corresponding to the selected entry word is read from [English-Japanese dictionary] 22b2 and displayed by the main display module 16. In Fig. 6, (A) shows an explanatory information display screen Ga when [break] (i.e. dictionary specific word) has been selected as an entry word [0052]. If there are an example and a description as supplementary information for each word meaning of entry word [break] on the explanatory information list screen Ga, an [Example] icon and a [Description] icon are displayed behind word meaning information. If there is a phrase about the entry word, [Phrase] mark Mp is displayed in the upper part of the explanatory information list screen Ga [0053]. Examiner interprets that the “ENG-JPN DICT” heading discloses dictionary identification information identifying the [English-Japanese dictionary].)0
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed, having the teachings of Rachi and Hokuchi before them, to modify the system of Rachi with the teachings of Hokuchi, as indicated above. One would have been motivated to make such a modification to retrieve an entry word included in a dictionary and display its explanatory information (Hokuchi - [0003]).
Rachi modified by Hokuchi does not appear to teach:
a plurality of dictionaries that contain
indicating the identified plurality of dictionaries
of the identified plurality of dictionaries
However, Sata teaches:
a plurality of dictionaries that contain (Sata – with reference to Fig. 12, the names of contents (e.g., the names of dictionaries) or the names of applications (e.g., conversation assistance headed with a note sign) are displayed in menu screen 1010 [Col. 15 lines 45-48]. Template database includes a plurality of templates for associating a plurality of example sentences described in a plurality of different language with one another. Template database is used when conversation assistance device creates a translation of a user selected example sentence [Col. 7 lines 52-57]. See Fig. 5, where template 500 includes a template number for identifying template 500, typical word sentence (Japanese), category sentence (Japanese), typical word sentence (English), category sentence (English), typical word sentence (Chinese), category sentence (Chinese) and a keyword [Col. 8 lines 13-18].)
indicating the identified plurality of dictionaries (Sata – with reference to Fig. 12, the names of contents (e.g., the names of dictionaries) or the names of applications (e.g., conversation assistance headed with a note sign) are displayed in menu screen 1010 [Col. 15 lines 45-48]. Template database includes a plurality of templates for associating a plurality of example sentences described in a plurality of different language with one another. Template database is used when conversation assistance device creates a translation of a user selected example sentence [Col. 7 lines 52-57]. See Fig. 5, where template 500 includes a template number for identifying template 500, typical word sentence (Japanese), category sentence (Japanese), typical word sentence (English), category sentence (English), typical word sentence (Chinese), category sentence (Chinese) and a keyword [Col. 8 lines 13-18].)
of the identified plurality of dictionaries (Sata – with reference to Fig. 12, the names of contents (e.g., the names of dictionaries) or the names of applications (e.g., conversation assistance headed with a note sign) are displayed in menu screen 1010 [Col. 15 lines 45-48]. Template database includes a plurality of templates for associating a plurality of example sentences described in a plurality of different language with one another. Template database is used when conversation assistance device creates a translation of a user selected example sentence [Col. 7 lines 52-57]. See Fig. 5, where template 500 includes a template number for identifying template 500, typical word sentence (Japanese), category sentence (Japanese), typical word sentence (English), category sentence (English), typical word sentence (Chinese), category sentence (Chinese) and a keyword [Col. 8 lines 13-18].)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed, having the teachings of Rachi, Hokuchi, and Sata before them, to modify the system of Rachi and Hokuchi with the teachings of Sata, as indicated above. One would have been motivated to make such a modification to output content corresponding to a keyword, and use an information processing device, such as an electronic dictionary or a translation device, that displays an example sentence and its translation (Sata - [Col. 1 lines 6-14).
Regarding claim 9, Rachi teaches:
index words (Rachi - in response to the creation of the aggregate list 59 and the determination of the degrees of priority of the words/phrases included in the aggregate list 59, the CPU waits for a character to be entered for a dictionary search by a user (Step S4). If a character is entered for a dictionary search, the CPU extracts words/phrases (i.e. index words) whose beginning parts match the character entered by the user, from among the words/phrases included in the aggregate list 59 of the user’s own electronic dictionary 1, in a descending order of degree of priority, and displays the extracted words/phrases on the main display 2 as candidates to be searched for (Step S5) [0065].)
Rachi does not appear to teach:
wherein the search result further includes a plurality of user selectable buttons respectively associated with the identified [plurality of] dictionaries, and wherein when an user selects one of the buttons that is associated with a particular one of the identified [plurality of] dictionaries, at least one processor further causes the display to display all of the detailed information contained in the selected particular one of the identified [plurality of] dictionaries that is associated with all of the dictionary specific [index] words that are associated with the particular one of the identified [plurality of] dictionaries
However, Hokuchi teaches:
wherein the search result further includes a plurality of user selectable buttons respectively associated with the identified [plurality of] dictionaries, and wherein when an user selects one of the buttons that is associated with a particular one of the identified [plurality of] dictionaries, at least one processor further causes the display to display all of the detailed information contained in the selected particular one of the identified [plurality of] dictionaries that is associated with all of the dictionary specific [index] words that are associated with the particular one of the identified [plurality of] dictionaries (Hokuchi – see [0059] and Fig. 6, where the upper part of the supplementary information list screen Gb, [Phrase] key Kp for making a short list of only phrases, [Example] key Ke for making a short list of only examples, and [Description] key Ke for making a short list of only descriptions are displayed (i.e. user selectable buttons). Also see [0064], where when any one of the narrow-down keys, [Phrase] key Kp, [Example] key Ke, and [Description] key Ke, displayed on the supplementary information list screen Gb of the auxiliary display module has been touched (i.e. selected), data is narrowed down to the items corresponding to the specified key (i.e. detailed information) and displayed.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed, having the teachings of Rachi, Hokuchi, and Sata before them, to modify the system of Rachi, Hokuchi, and Sata with the teachings of Hokuchi, as indicated above. One would have been motivated to make such a modification to retrieve an entry word included in a dictionary and display its explanatory information (Hokuchi - [0003]).
Rachi modified by Hokuchi does not appear to teach:
plurality of dictionaries
plurality of dictionaries
plurality of dictionaries
plurality of dictionaries
However, Sata teaches:
plurality of dictionaries (Sata – with reference to Fig. 12, the names of contents (e.g., the names of dictionaries) or the names of applications (e.g., conversation assistance headed with a note sign) are displayed in menu screen 1010 [Col. 15 lines 45-48]. Template database includes a plurality of templates for associating a plurality of example sentences described in a plurality of different language with one another. Template database is used when conversation assistance device creates a translation of a user selected example sentence [Col. 7 lines 52-57]. See Fig. 5, where template 500 includes a template number for identifying template 500, typical word sentence (Japanese), category sentence (Japanese), typical word sentence (English), category sentence (English), typical word sentence (Chinese), category sentence (Chinese) and a keyword [Col. 8 lines 13-18].)
plurality of dictionaries (Sata – with reference to Fig. 12, the names of contents (e.g., the names of dictionaries) or the names of applications (e.g., conversation assistance headed with a note sign) are displayed in menu screen 1010 [Col. 15 lines 45-48]. Template database includes a plurality of templates for associating a plurality of example sentences described in a plurality of different language with one another. Template database is used when conversation assistance device creates a translation of a user selected example sentence [Col. 7 lines 52-57]. See Fig. 5, where template 500 includes a template number for identifying template 500, typical word sentence (Japanese), category sentence (Japanese), typical word sentence (English), category sentence (English), typical word sentence (Chinese), category sentence (Chinese) and a keyword [Col. 8 lines 13-18].)
plurality of dictionaries (Sata – with reference to Fig. 12, the names of contents (e.g., the names of dictionaries) or the names of applications (e.g., conversation assistance headed with a note sign) are displayed in menu screen 1010 [Col. 15 lines 45-48]. Template database includes a plurality of templates for associating a plurality of example sentences described in a plurality of different language with one another. Template database is used when conversation assistance device creates a translation of a user selected example sentence [Col. 7 lines 52-57]. See Fig. 5, where template 500 includes a template number for identifying template 500, typical word sentence (Japanese), category sentence (Japanese), typical word sentence (English), category sentence (English), typical word sentence (Chinese), category sentence (Chinese) and a keyword [Col. 8 lines 13-18].)
plurality of dictionaries (Sata – with reference to Fig. 12, the names of contents (e.g., the names of dictionaries) or the names of applications (e.g., conversation assistance headed with a note sign) are displayed in menu screen 1010 [Col. 15 lines 45-48]. Template database includes a plurality of templates for associating a plurality of example sentences described in a plurality of different language with one another. Template database is used when conversation assistance device creates a translation of a user selected example sentence [Col. 7 lines 52-57]. See Fig. 5, where template 500 includes a template number for identifying template 500, typical word sentence (Japanese), category sentence (Japanese), typical word sentence (English), category sentence (English), typical word sentence (Chinese), category sentence (Chinese) and a keyword [Col. 8 lines 13-18].)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed, having the teachings of Rachi, Hokuchi, and Sata before them, to modify the system of Rachi and Hokuchi with the teachings of Sata, as indicated above. One would have been motivated to make such a modification to output content corresponding to a keyword, and use an information processing device, such as an electronic dictionary or a translation device, that displays an example sentence and its translation (Sata - [Col. 1 lines 6-14).
Regarding claim 10, Rachi does not appear to teach:
wherein the search result displayed in the display of the search device further includes a plurality of user selectable buttons respectively associated with the identified [plurality of] dictionaries, and wherein when an user selects one of the buttons that is associated with a particular one of the identified [plurality of] dictionaries, at least one processor of the search device further causes the display to display all of the detailed information contained in the selected particular one of the identified [plurality of] dictionaries that is associated with all of the dictionary specific index words that are associated with the particular one of the identified [plurality of] dictionaries
However, Hokuchi teaches:
wherein the search result displayed in the display of the search device further includes a plurality of user selectable buttons respectively associated with the identified [plurality of] dictionaries, and wherein when an user selects one of the buttons that is associated with a particular one of the identified [plurality of] dictionaries, at least one processor of the search device further causes the display to display all of the detailed information contained in the selected particular one of the identified [plurality of] dictionaries that is associated with all of the dictionary specific index words that are associated with the particular one of the identified [plurality of] dictionaries (Hokuchi – see [0059] and Fig. 6, where the upper part of the supplementary information list screen Gb, [Phrase] key Kp for making a short list of only phrases, [Example] key Ke for making a short list of only examples, and [Description] key Ke for making a short list of only descriptions are displayed (i.e. user selectable buttons). Also see [0064], where when any one of the narrow-down keys, [Phrase] key Kp, [Example] key Ke, and [Description] key Ke, displayed on the supplementary information list screen Gb of the auxiliary display module has been touched (i.e. selected), data is narrowed down to the items corresponding to the specified key (i.e. detailed information) and displayed.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed, having the teachings of Rachi, Hokuchi, and Sata before them, to modify the system of Rachi, Hokuchi, and Sata with the teachings of Hokuchi, as indicated above. One would have been motivated to make such a modification to retrieve an entry word included in a dictionary and display its explanatory information (Hokuchi - [0003]).
Rachi modified by Hokuchi does not appear to teach:
plurality of dictionaries
plurality of dictionaries
plurality of dictionaries
plurality of dictionaries
However, Sata teaches:
plurality of dictionaries (Sata – with reference to Fig. 12, the names of contents (e.g., the names of dictionaries) or the names of applications (e.g., conversation assistance headed with a note sign) are displayed in menu screen 1010 [Col. 15 lines 45-48]. Template database includes a plurality of templates for associating a plurality of example sentences described in a plurality of different language with one another. Template database is used when conversation assistance device creates a translation of a user selected example sentence [Col. 7 lines 52-57]. See Fig. 5, where template 500 includes a template number for identifying template 500, typical word sentence (Japanese), category sentence (Japanese), typical word sentence (English), category sentence (English), typical word sentence (Chinese), category sentence (Chinese) and a keyword [Col. 8 lines 13-18].)
plurality of dictionaries (Sata – with reference to Fig. 12, the names of contents (e.g., the names of dictionaries) or the names of applications (e.g., conversation assistance headed with a note sign) are displayed in menu screen 1010 [Col. 15 lines 45-48]. Template database includes a plurality of templates for associating a plurality of example sentences described in a plurality of different language with one another. Template database is used when conversation assistance device creates a translation of a user selected example sentence [Col. 7 lines 52-57]. See Fig. 5, where template 500 includes a template number for identifying template 500, typical word sentence (Japanese), category sentence (Japanese), typical word sentence (English), category sentence (English), typical word sentence (Chinese), category sentence (Chinese) and a keyword [Col. 8 lines 13-18].)
plurality of dictionaries (Sata – with reference to Fig. 12, the names of contents (e.g., the names of dictionaries) or the names of applications (e.g., conversation assistance headed with a note sign) are displayed in menu screen 1010 [Col. 15 lines 45-48]. Template database includes a plurality of templates for associating a plurality of example sentences described in a plurality of different language with one another. Template database is used when conversation assistance device creates a translation of a user selected example sentence [Col. 7 lines 52-57]. See Fig. 5, where template 500 includes a template number for identifying template 500, typical word sentence (Japanese), category sentence (Japanese), typical word sentence (English), category sentence (English), typical word sentence (Chinese), category sentence (Chinese) and a keyword [Col. 8 lines 13-18].)
plurality of dictionaries (Sata – with reference to Fig. 12, the names of contents (e.g., the names of dictionaries) or the names of applications (e.g., conversation assistance headed with a note sign) are displayed in menu screen 1010 [Col. 15 lines 45-48]. Template database includes a plurality of templates for associating a plurality of example sentences described in a plurality of different language with one another. Template database is used when conversation assistance device creates a translation of a user selected example sentence [Col. 7 lines 52-57]. See Fig. 5, where template 500 includes a template number for identifying template 500, typical word sentence (Japanese), category sentence (Japanese), typical word sentence (English), category sentence (English), typical word sentence (Chinese), category sentence (Chinese) and a keyword [Col. 8 lines 13-18].)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed, having the teachings of Rachi, Hokuchi, and Sata before them, to modify the system of Rachi and Hokuchi with the teachings of Sata, as indicated above. One would have been motivated to make such a modification to output content corresponding to a keyword, and use an information processing device, such as an electronic dictionary or a translation device, that displays an example sentence and its translation (Sata - [Col. 1 lines 6-14).
Regarding claim 11, Rachi does not appear to teach:
wherein the search result further includes a plurality of user selectable buttons respectively associated with the identified [plurality of] dictionaries, and wherein the method includes, when an user selects one of the buttons that is associated with a particular one of the identified [plurality of] dictionaries, causing the display to display all of the detailed information contained in the selected particular one of the identified [plurality of] dictionaries that is associated with all of the dictionary specific index words that are associated with the particular one of the identified [plurality of] dictionaries
However, Hokuchi teaches:
wherein the search result further includes a plurality of user selectable buttons respectively associated with the identified [plurality of] dictionaries, and wherein the method includes, when an user selects one of the buttons that is associated with a particular one of the identified [plurality of] dictionaries, causing the display to display all of the detailed information contained in the selected particular one of the identified [plurality of] dictionaries that is associated with all of the dictionary specific index words that are associated with the particular one of the identified [plurality of] dictionaries (Hokuchi – see [0059] and Fig. 6, where the upper part of the supplementary information list screen Gb, [Phrase] key Kp for making a short list of only phrases, [Example] key Ke for making a short list of only examples, and [Description] key Ke for making a short list of only descriptions are displayed (i.e. user selectable buttons). Also see [0064], where when any one of the narrow-down keys, [Phrase] key Kp, [Example] key Ke, and [Description] key Ke, displayed on the supplementary information list screen Gb of the auxiliary display module has been touched (i.e. selected), data is narrowed down to the items corresponding to the specified key (i.e. detailed information) and displayed.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed, having the teachings of Rachi, Hokuchi, and Sata before them, to modify the system of Rachi, Hokuchi, and Sata with the teachings of Hokuchi, as indicated above. One would have been motivated to make such a modification to retrieve an entry word included in a dictionary and display its explanatory information (Hokuchi - [0003]).
Rachi modified by Hokuchi does not appear to teach:
plurality of dictionaries
plurality of dictionaries
plurality of dictionaries
plurality of dictionaries
However, Sata teaches:
plurality of dictionaries (Sata – with reference to Fig. 12, the names of contents (e.g., the names of dictionaries) or the names of applications (e.g., conversation assistance headed with a note sign) are displayed in menu screen 1010 [Col. 15 lines 45-48]. Template database includes a plurality of templates for associating a plurality of example sentences described in a plurality of different language with one another. Template database is used when conversation assistance device creates a translation of a user selected example sentence [Col. 7 lines 52-57]. See Fig. 5, where template 500 includes a template number for identifying template 500, typical word sentence (Japanese), category sentence (Japanese), typical word sentence (English), category sentence (English), typical word sentence (Chinese), category sentence (Chinese) and a keyword [Col. 8 lines 13-18].)
plurality of dictionaries (Sata – with reference to Fig. 12, the names of contents (e.g., the names of dictionaries) or the names of applications (e.g., conversation assistance headed with a note sign) are displayed in menu screen 1010 [Col. 15 lines 45-48]. Template database includes a plurality of templates for associating a plurality of example sentences described in a plurality of different language with one another. Template database is used when conversation assistance device creates a translation of a user selected example sentence [Col. 7 lines 52-57]. See Fig. 5, where template 500 includes a template number for identifying template 500, typical word sentence (Japanese), category sentence (Japanese), typical word sentence (English), category sentence (English), typical word sentence (Chinese), category sentence (Chinese) and a keyword [Col. 8 lines 13-18].)
plurality of dictionaries (Sata – with reference to Fig. 12, the names of contents (e.g., the names of dictionaries) or the names of applications (e.g., conversation assistance headed with a note sign) are displayed in menu screen 1010 [Col. 15 lines 45-48]. Template database includes a plurality of templates for associating a plurality of example sentences described in a plurality of different language with one another. Template database is used when conversation assistance device creates a translation of a user selected example sentence [Col. 7 lines 52-57]. See Fig. 5, where template 500 includes a template number for identifying template 500, typical word sentence (Japanese), category sentence (Japanese), typical word sentence (English), category sentence (English), typical word sentence (Chinese), category sentence (Chinese) and a keyword [Col. 8 lines 13-18].)
plurality of dictionaries (Sata – with reference to Fig. 12, the names of contents (e.g., the names of dictionaries) or the names of applications (e.g., conversation assistance headed with a note sign) are displayed in menu screen 1010 [Col. 15 lines 45-48]. Template database includes a plurality of templates for associating a plurality of example sentences described in a plurality of different language with one another. Template database is used when conversation assistance device creates a translation of a user selected example sentence [Col. 7 lines 52-57]. See Fig. 5, where template 500 includes a template number for identifying template 500, typical word sentence (Japanese), category sentence (Japanese), typical word sentence (English), category sentence (English), typical word sentence (Chinese), category sentence (Chinese) and a keyword [Col. 8 lines 13-18].)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed, having the teachings of Rachi, Hokuchi, and Sata before them, to modify the system of Rachi and Hokuchi with the teachings of Sata, as indicated above. One would have been motivated to make such a modification to output content corresponding to a keyword, and use an information processing device, such as an electronic dictionary or a translation device, that displays an example sentence and its translation (Sata - [Col. 1 lines 6-14).
Conclusion
/RANJIT P DORAISWAMY/ Examiner, Art Unit 2166
/Diedra McQuitery/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2166