DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites the limitation “partially rigid in nature or fully rigid” and "rigid" is a relative term. It is unclear what constitutes a “partially rigid in nature or fully rigid” material since such relative value or comparisons or frame of reference are unknown in the claims. For the purpose of examination, a closure that has a shape and generally capable of maintaining that shape is considered to be “rigid.” Clarification is respectfully requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 10, and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Agarwal et al. (Agarwal US 2021/0077242) in view of Tarlow (US 2007/0163608).
1, 4: Agarwal teaches a cigarette packaging closure (container 10, capable of accommodating a tobacco product, see Figures 5-6), comprising: an outer tube (tube generally indicated as 11, Figure 6) comprising a first open end (end at 11c), and an opposingly configured second open end (end at 11d, which open below 11d into a cavity, see Figure 2); an inner tube (inner tube 20) comprising a tubular space (space within 20) for retaining at least one cigarette there inside (capable of retaining a cigarette within 20); wherein the outer tube is held against the inner tube by the frictional force between the outer tube (see Figure 6) and the inner tube and wherein the inner tube can slidably move within the outer tube; and a top cap (wherein the cigarette packaging closure (100) is non-cylindrical shaped;) configured to removably mate with the first open end of the outer tube (mated with the end of 11c), thereby closing the first open end of the outer tube (see Figure 6).
Agarwal teaches the claimed invention as discussed above except for the explicit teaching of the cigarette packaging closure is non-cylindrical shaped; the non-cylindrical shape for the cigarette packaging closure is selected from a group of shapes consisting of an octagon, a heptagon, a hexagon, a pentagon, a rectangle, a square, an oval, a triangle.
Tarlow teaches that the container may be constructed in a variety of sizes and shapes to accommodate a variety of item, Abstract and Figures 7-8 (which shows an oval shape).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Agarwal such that the teaching of a cigarette packaging closure is non-cylindrical shaped, such as an oval, is applied to Agarwal, since a change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results. In re Dailey et al., 149 USPQ 47.
2: Agarwal-Tarlow teaches the claimed invention as discussed above for Claim 1 and Agarwal further teaches that the inner tube comprising a closed end, and an opposing open end (inner tube 20, having a closed at the bottom of 20 and open at the top of 21, Figures 5-6).
3: Agarwal-Tarlow teaches the claimed invention as discussed above for Claim 1 and Agarwal further teaches that the inner tube and outer tube are non-cylindrically shaped and have dimensions to allow the inner tube to slidably move within the outer tube (20 is capable of slidably moving relative to 10, Figures 5-6).
5: Agarwal-Tarlow teaches the claimed invention as discussed above for Claim 1 and the modified Agarwal-Tarlow further teaches that the top cap is noncylindrical in shape that conforms to the shape of the first open end of the outer tube (noncylindrical in shape, see claim 3, and cap 14 conforms to the shape of the open end of 11, see Figure 1 of Agarwal).
6-7: Agarwal-Tarlow teaches the claimed invention as discussed above for Claim 1 and Agarwal further teaches that the outer tube and the inner tube are formed of a flexible material partially rigid in nature or fully rigid to define the overall shape of the outer tube and the inner tube; the material of the outer tube and the inner tube is selected from the group of material consisting of plastic, carbon fiber, rubber, cellulose paper, metals, wood, ceramic, glass, renewable materials of plant origin, biodegradable material (resilient material such as plastic, paragraph 0037).
10: Agarwal-Tarlow teaches the claimed invention as discussed above for Claim 1 and Agarwal further teaches that the outer tube comprises one or more design features provided on the exterior surface for aesthetic appeal and/or decorative effect (the exterior of 11 and 14 provides a "clean" feature/aesthetic (see Figure 1)).
17, 18: Agarwal teaches a cigarette packaging closure (container 10, capable of accommodating a tobacco product, see Figures 5-6), comprising: an outer tube (tube generally indicated as 11, Figure 6); an inner tube (inner tube 20) comprising a tubular space (space within 20) for retaining at least one cigarette there inside (capable of retaining an unclaimed cigarette); wherein the outer tube is held against the inner tube by a connection means (connection means at 11e, interpreted as friction connection, sliding connection or the equivalence thereof, paragraph 0030 of Applicant’s specification); and a top cap (top cap of 10, 14, Figure 3) configured to removably mate with the first open end (mated with the end of 11c) of the outer tube, thereby closing the first open end of the outer tube; and wherein the top cap is configured to be lifted off the first open end of the outer tube when the outer tube is slidably moved relative to the inner tube (top cap 14 is capable of being lifted off the open end when the outer tube 11 is moved relative to 20, when pressure is relieved from 22) except wherein the inner tube and the outer tube are non-cylindrical shaped; the non-cylindrical shape for the inner tube and the outer tube is selected from a group of shapes consisting of an octagon, a heptagon, a hexagon, a pentagon, a rectangle, a square, an oval, a triangle.
Agarwal teaches the claimed invention as discussed above except for the explicit teaching of the cigarette packaging closure is non-cylindrical shaped; the non-cylindrical shape for the cigarette packaging closure is selected from a group of shapes consisting of an octagon, a heptagon, a hexagon, a pentagon, a rectangle, a square, an oval, a triangle.
Tarlow teaches that the container may be constructed in a variety of sizes and shapes to accommodate a variety of item, Abstract and Figures 7-8 (which shows an oval shape).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Agarwal such that the teaching of a cigarette packaging closure is non-cylindrical shaped, such as an oval, is applied to Agarwal, since a change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results. In re Dailey et al., 149 USPQ 47.
19: Agarwal-Tarlow teaches the claimed invention as discussed above for Claim 17 and the modified Agarwal-Tarlow further teaches that the top cap is noncylindrical in shape that conforms to the shape of the first open end of the outer tube (noncylindrical in shape, see claim 3, and cap 14 conforms to the shape of the open end of 11, see Figure 1 of Agarwal).
20: Agarwal-Tarlow teaches the claimed invention as discussed above for Claim 17 and the modified Agarwal-Tarlow further teaches that the connection means is at least a friction connection, and a sliding connection (11e permits both sliding and friction connection, see Figure 6).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Agarwal et al. (Agarwal US 2021/0077242) in view of Tarlow (US 2007/0163608) and further in view of Sebastiani (US 5,816,264).
8: Agarwal-Tarlow teaches the claimed invention as discussed above for Claim 1 except the outer tube and the inner tube are made transparent to allow a user to visually see the at least one cigarette stored inside the cigarette packaging closure.
Sebastiani teaches that the tube (20) can be made with transparent material, col. 3, ll. 13-22.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Agarwal-Tarlow such that the teaching of outer tube and the inner tube are made transparent to allow a user to visually see the at least one cigarette stored inside the cigarette packaging closure were applied, in order to permit contents within the container of Agarwal-Tarlow to be inspected or for aesthetic purposes.
Claim(s) 9 and 13-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Agarwal et al. (Agarwal US 2021/0077242) in view of Tarlow (US 2007/0163608) and further in view of Lara, JR (Lara US 2018/0035709).
9: Agarwal-Tarlow teaches the claimed invention as discussed above for Claim 1 except that the inner tube and the outer tube are magnetically connected to each other such as to enable the inner tube to slidably move inside the outer tube.
Lara teaches that the detent 150 of the inner tube is attached to the outer tube via magnetic means (paragraph 0070).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Agarwal-Tarlow such that the teaching of the inner tube is attached to the outer tube via magnetic means is applied to Agarwal-Tarlow in order to permit non-permanent engagement between the inner and outer tube and also permitting the inner and outer tubes to be held in place during use or storage.
13: Agarwal-Tarlow teaches the claimed invention as discussed above for Claim 1 except the top cap is magnetically connected to the first open end of the outer tube.
Lara teaches that the detent (150) of the inner tube is attached to the outer tube via magnetic means (paragraph 0070).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Agarwal-Tarlow such that the teaching of Lara of magnetically connecting the inner tube to the outer tube at the top cap of Agarwal in order to permit non-permanent engagement between the inner and outer tube and also permitting the inner and outer tubes to be held in place during use or storage.
14, 16: Agarwal teaches a cigarette packaging closure (container 10, capable of accommodating a tobacco product, see Figures 5-6), comprising: an outer tube (tube generally indicated as 11, Figure 6) comprising a first open end, and an opposingly configured second open end (end at 11c end at 11d, which open below 11d into a cavity, see Figure 2); an inner tube (inner tube 20) comprising a tubular space (space within 20) configured to removably retain at least one cigarette there inside (capable of retaining an unclaimed cigarette); the inner tube (110) to slidably move inside the outer tube (see Figure 6); a top cap (top cap of 10, 14, Figure 3) configured to removably mate with the first open end (mated with the end of 11c) of the outer tube, thereby closing the first open end of the outer tube; and wherein the top cap is configured to be lifted off the first open end (14 off of 11) of the outer tube to allow access to the at least one cigarette retained inside the tubular space (capable of providing access within 11) of the inner tube except wherein the inner tube and the outer tube are non-cylindrically shaped and magnetically connected such as to enable the inner tube to slidably move inside the outer tube; the non-cylindrical shape for the cigarette packaging closure is selected from a group of shapes consisting of an octagon, a heptagon, a hexagon, a pentagon, a rectangle, a square, an oval, a triangle.
Tarlow teaches that the container may be constructed in a variety of sizes and shapes to accommodate a variety of item, Abstract and Figures 7-8 (which shows an oval shape).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Agarwal such that the teaching of a cigarette packaging closure is non-cylindrical shaped, such as an oval, is applied to Agarwal, since a change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results. In re Dailey et al., 149 USPQ 47.
Agarwal-Tarlow teaches the claimed invention as discussed above for Claim 1 except the inner tube and the outer tube are magnetically connected.
Lara teaches that the detent (150) of the inner tube is attached to the outer tube via magnetic means (paragraph 0070).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Agarwal-Tarlow such that the teaching of Lara of the inner tube and the outer tube are magnetically connected in order to permit non-permanent engagement between the inner and outer tube and also permitting the inner and outer tubes to be held in place during use or storage.
15: Agarwal-Tarlow-Lara teaches the claimed invention as discussed above for Claim 14 and the modified Agarwal-Tarlow-Lara teaches that the top cap is non-cylindrical (modified in claim 14) and is slidably connected to the first open end of the outer tube (slide via 11c, g, f).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Agarwal et al. (Agarwal US 2021/0077242) in view of Tarlow (US 2007/0163608) and further in view of Bryer (US 6,070,591).
11: Agarwal-Tarlow teaches the claimed invention as discussed above for Claim 1 except the outer tube comprises one or more design features provided on the exterior surface for aesthetic appeal and/or decorative effect; the one or more design features comprise at least stickers, color patterns, three-dimensional designs, glossy design, photographs, paintings, artistic work, metal finish, tattoo, wooden pattern, textile/fabric design, and sewing patterns.
Bryer teaches a case can be made with a different finish or different finishes for the purpose of aesthetic and to appeal to various users, col. 4, ll. 51-64.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Agarwal-Tarlow such that the teaching of a case can be made with a different finish or different finishes for the purpose of aesthetic and to appeal to various users were applied to the modified Agarwal-Tarlow in order to provide aesthetic appeal for the container/case.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,103,761. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both inventions are directed to a cigarette packaging closure, comprising: an outer tube comprising a first open end, and an opposingly configured second open end; an inner tube comprising a closed end and an opposing open end, the inner tube comprises a tubular space configured to removably retain at least one cigarette there inside; wherein the outer tube is held against the inner tube by the frictional force between the outer tube and the inner tube and wherein the inner tube is able to slidably move within the outer tube; a top cap configured to removably mate with the first open end of the outer tube, thereby closing the first open end of the outer tube; and wherein the top cap is configured to be lifted off the first open end of the outer tube when the outer tube is slidably moved relative to the inner tube except that the cigarette packaging closure is non-cylindrical.
Tarlow (US 2007/0163608) teaches that the container may be constructed in a variety of sizes and shapes to accommodate a variety of item, Abstract and Figures 7-8 (which shows an oval shape).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Agarwal such that the teaching of a cigarette packaging closure is non-cylindrical shaped, such as an oval, is applied to Agarwal, since a change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results. In re Dailey et al., 149 USPQ 47.
Conclusion
/King M Chu/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3735