DETAILED ACTION
1. Claims 1-19 are presented for examination.
Priority
3. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
4. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 4/25/2025 was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
5. The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
7. Claims 7, 10, and 16 recite the conditional limitation “if.” The use of the conditional term “if” introduces ambiguity regarding the boundaries of the claimed invention. It creates a choice between alternative steps or structural configurations without clearly defining which path is required for infringement. Under MPEP 2111.04, conditional limitations are treated as “contingent limitations.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
10. Claim(s) 1, 3, 5-7, 9,11, 13, and 15-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2022/0295595 A1 by Fan et al. (hereafter referred to as Fan).
Regarding claim 1, Fan teaches A communication method, comprising:
determining, by a first terminal device, that a transmission configuration of a first vehicle to everything (V2X) service in at least two V2X services (see at least ¶ [0256]-[0258]; “The grant-free parameters mainly include a periodicity of a grant-free resource unit and monitoring duration of the grant-free resource unit.”) is a non-discontinuous reception (non-DRX) mode (see at least ¶ [0183]; “510: The second terminal apparatus sends first indication information to the first terminal apparatus, where the first indication information indicates the first terminal apparatus to use a DRX mode or a non-DRX mode.”); and
sending, by the first terminal device, the at least two V2X services based on the non-DRX mode (see at least ¶ [0185] and [0256]-[0258]; “520: The first terminal apparatus uses the DRX mode or the non-DRX mode based on the first indication information.”), wherein the at least two V2X services correspond to a terminal device group (see at least ¶ [0256], [0261], [0262]; “For example, the network device configures two groups of grant-free parameters. In the two groups of grant-free parameters, one group of grant-free parameters corresponds to the DRX mode, and the other group of grant-free parameters corresponds to the non-DRX mode.”).
Regarding claim 3, Fan teaches the method according to claim 1. In addition, Fan teaches wherein the determining, by the first terminal device, that the transmission configuration of the first V2X service in the at least two V2X services is the non-DRX mode comprises:
determining, by a V2X layer of the first terminal device, that the transmission configuration of the first V2X service is the non-DRX mode (see at least ¶ [0185] and [0256]-[0258]; “520: The first terminal apparatus uses the DRX mode or the non-DRX mode based on the first indication information.”).
Regarding claim 5, Fan teaches the method according to claim 1. In addition, Fan teaches wherein the first V2X service corresponds to a first service type (see at least ¶ [0256], [0261], [0262]; “For example, the network device configures two groups of grant-free parameters. In the two groups of grant-free parameters, one group of grant-free parameters corresponds to the DRX mode, and the other group of grant-free parameters corresponds to the non-DRX mode.”).
Regarding claim 6, Fan teaches the method according to claim 1. In addition, Fan teaches wherein the determining, by the first terminal device, that the transmission configuration of the first V2X service in the at least two V2X services is the non-DRX mode comprises:
determining, by the first terminal device based on a service type of the first V2X service, that the transmission configuration of the first V2X service is the non-DRX mode; or
determining, by the first terminal device based on a mapping relationship between the first V2X service and a transmission configuration, that the transmission configuration of the first V2X service is the non-DRX mode (see at least ¶ [0256], [0261], [0262]; “For example, the network device configures two groups of grant-free parameters. In the two groups of grant-free parameters, one group of grant-free parameters corresponds to the DRX mode, and the other group of grant-free parameters corresponds to the non-DRX mode.”).
Regarding claim 7, Fan teaches the method according to claim 6. In addition, Fan teaches wherein the determining, by the first terminal device based on the service type of the first V2X service, that the transmission configuration of the first V2X service is the non-DRX mode comprises:
obtaining, by the first terminal device, configuration information, wherein the configuration information comprises a mapping relationship between a service type and a transmission configuration (see at least ¶ [0256], [0261], [0262]; “For example, the network device configures two groups of grant-free parameters. In the two groups of grant-free parameters, one group of grant-free parameters corresponds to the DRX mode, and the other group of grant-free parameters corresponds to the non-DRX mode.”); and
if no transmission configuration corresponding to the service type of the first V2X service exists in the mapping relationship, determining, by the first terminal device, that the transmission configuration of the first V2X service is the non-DRX mode (see at least ¶ [0256], [0261], [0262]; “For example, the network device configures two groups of grant-free parameters. In the two groups of grant-free parameters, one group of grant-free parameters corresponds to the DRX mode, and the other group of grant-free parameters corresponds to the non-DRX mode.”).
Regarding claim 9, Fan teaches the method according to claim 1. In addition, Fan teaches wherein the transmission configuration is a Tx profile (see at least ¶ [0183]; “510: The second terminal apparatus sends first indication information to the first terminal apparatus, where the first indication information indicates the first terminal apparatus to use a DRX mode or a non-DRX mode.”).
Regarding claim 11, Fan teaches A communication method, comprising:
determining, by a second terminal device, that a transmission configuration of a first vehicle to everything (V2X) service in at least two V2X services is a non-discontinuous reception (non-DRX) mode (see at least ¶ [0183]; “510: The second terminal apparatus sends first indication information to the first terminal apparatus, where the first indication information indicates the first terminal apparatus to use a DRX mode or a non-DRX mode.”); and
receiving, by the second terminal device, the at least two V2X services from a first terminal device based on the non-DRX mode, wherein the at least two V2X services correspond to a terminal device group (see at least ¶ [0256], [0261], [0262]; “For example, the network device configures two groups of grant-free parameters. In the two groups of grant-free parameters, one group of grant-free parameters corresponds to the DRX mode, and the other group of grant-free parameters corresponds to the non-DRX mode.”).
Regarding claim 13, Fan teaches the method according to claim 11. In addition, Fan teaches wherein the first V2X service corresponds to a first service type (see at least ¶ [0256], [0261], [0262]; “For example, the network device configures two groups of grant-free parameters. In the two groups of grant-free parameters, one group of grant-free parameters corresponds to the DRX mode, and the other group of grant-free parameters corresponds to the non-DRX mode.”).
Regarding claim 15, Fan teaches the method according to claim 11. In addition, Fan teaches wherein the determining, by the second terminal device, that the transmission configuration of the first V2X service in the at least two V2X services is the non-DRX mode comprises: determining, by the second terminal device based on a service type of the first V2X service, that the transmission configuration of the first V2X service is the non-DRX mode; or determining, by the second terminal device based on a mapping relationship between the first V2X service and a transmission configuration, that the transmission configuration of the first V2X service is the non-DRX mode (see at least ¶ [0256], [0261], [0262]; “For example, the network device configures two groups of grant-free parameters. In the two groups of grant-free parameters, one group of grant-free parameters corresponds to the DRX mode, and the other group of grant-free parameters corresponds to the non-DRX mode.”).
Regarding claim 16, Fan teaches the method according to claim 15. In addition Fan teaches wherein the determining, by the second terminal device based on the service type of the first V2X service, that the transmission configuration of the first V2X service is the non-DRX mode comprises: obtaining, by the second terminal device, configuration information that comprises a mapping relationship between a service type and the transmission configuration; and if no transmission configuration corresponding to the service type of the first V2X service exists in the mapping relationship, determining, by the second terminal, that the transmission configuration of the first V2X service is the non-DRX mode (see at least ¶ [0256], [0261], [0262]; “For example, the network device configures two groups of grant-free parameters. In the two groups of grant-free parameters, one group of grant-free parameters corresponds to the DRX mode, and the other group of grant-free parameters corresponds to the non-DRX mode.”).
Regarding claim 17, Fan teaches A communication apparatus (see at least Figs. 9-14), comprising:
at least one processor (see at least Figs. 9-14); and
a non-transitory memory storing a computer code for execution by the at least one processor (see at least ¶ [0338]-[0340]), the computer code comprising instructions for:
determining that a transmission configuration of a first vehicle to everything (V2X) service in at least two V2X services (see at least ¶ [0256]-[0258]; “The grant-free parameters mainly include a periodicity of a grant-free resource unit and monitoring duration of the grant-free resource unit.”) is a non-discontinuous reception (non-DRX) mode (see at least ¶ [0183]; “510: The second terminal apparatus sends first indication information to the first terminal apparatus, where the first indication information indicates the first terminal apparatus to use a DRX mode or a non-DRX mode.”); and
sending the at least two V2X services based on the non-DRX mode (see at least ¶ [0185] and [0256]-[0258]; “520: The first terminal apparatus uses the DRX mode or the non-DRX mode based on the first indication information.”), wherein the at least two V2X services correspond to a terminal device group (see at least ¶ [0256], [0261], [0262]; “For example, the network device configures two groups of grant-free parameters. In the two groups of grant-free parameters, one group of grant-free parameters corresponds to the DRX mode, and the other group of grant-free parameters corresponds to the non-DRX mode.”).
Regarding claim 18, Fan teaches the apparatus according to claim 17. In addition, Fan teaches the computer code further comprising instructions for: determining, based on a service type of the first V2X service, that the transmission configuration of the first V2X service is the non-DRX mode; or determining, based on a mapping relationship between the first V2X service and a transmission configuration, that the transmission configuration of the first V2X service is the non-DRX mode (see at least ¶ [0256], [0261], [0262]; “For example, the network device configures two groups of grant-free parameters. In the two groups of grant-free parameters, one group of grant-free parameters corresponds to the DRX mode, and the other group of grant-free parameters corresponds to the non-DRX mode.”).
Regarding claim 19, Fan teaches A communication apparatus (see at least Figs. 9-14), comprising:
at least one processor (see at least Figs. 9-14); and
a non-transitory memory storing computer code for execution by the at least one processor (see at least ¶ [0338]-[0340]), the computer code comprising instructions for:
determining that a transmission configuration of a first vehicle to everything (V2X) service in at least two V2X services (see at least ¶ [0256]-[0258]; “The grant-free parameters mainly include a periodicity of a grant-free resource unit and monitoring duration of the grant-free resource unit.”) is a non-discontinuous reception (non-DRX) mode (see at least ¶ [0183]; “510: The second terminal apparatus sends first indication information to the first terminal apparatus, where the first indication information indicates the first terminal apparatus to use a DRX mode or a non-DRX mode.”); and
receiving the at least two V2X services from a first terminal device based on the non-DRX mode (see at least ¶ [0185] and [0256]-[0258]; “520: The first terminal apparatus uses the DRX mode or the non-DRX mode based on the first indication information.”), wherein the at least two V2X services correspond to a terminal device group (see at least ¶ [0256], [0261], [0262]; “For example, the network device configures two groups of grant-free parameters. In the two groups of grant-free parameters, one group of grant-free parameters corresponds to the DRX mode, and the other group of grant-free parameters corresponds to the non-DRX mode.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
14. Claim(s) 2, 8, 12, 14, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fan as applied to claims 1, 3, 11, and 19 above, in view of US 2022/0060934 A1 by Ying et al. (hereafter referred to as Ying).
Regarding claim 2, Fan teaches the method according to claim 1.
Fan does not appear to specifically disclose wherein the at least two V2X services correspond to a same destination layer 2 address.
In the same field of endeavor, Ying teaches wherein the at least two V2X services correspond to a same destination layer 2 address (see at least Figs. 4, 5A, and 5B; layer-2 address).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Fan with Ying in order to avoid a problem that a V2X service fails to be received or is incorrectly received.
Regarding claim 8, Fan teaches the method according to claim 1.
Fan does not appear to specifically teach wherein the method is applied to a groupcast scenario.
In the same field of endeavor, Ying teaches wherein the method is applied to a groupcast scenario (see at least ¶ [0135]; groupcast).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Fan with Ying in order to avoid a problem that a V2X service fails to be received or is incorrectly received.
Regarding claim 12, Fan teaches the method according to claim 11.
Fan does not appear to specifically teach wherein the method is applied to a groupcast scenario.
In the same field of endeavor, Ying teaches wherein the method is applied to a groupcast scenario (see at least ¶ [0135]; groupcast).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Fan with Ying in order to avoid a problem that a V2X service fails to be received or is incorrectly received.
Regarding claim 14, Fan teaches the method according to claim 11.
Fan does not appear to specifically teach wherein the at least two V2X services correspond to a same destination layer 2 address.
In the same field of endeavor, Ying teaches wherein the at least two V2X services correspond to a same destination layer 2 address (see at least ¶ [0134]-[0138]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Fan with Ying in order to avoid a problem that a V2X service fails to be received or is incorrectly received.
Regarding claim 20, Fan teaches the apparatus according to claim 19.
Fan does not appear to specifically teach wherein the at least two V2X services correspond to a same destination layer 2 address.
In the same field of endeavor, Ying teaches wherein the at least two V2X services correspond to a same destination layer 2 address (see at least ¶ [0134]-[0138]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Fan with Ying in order to avoid a problem that a V2X service fails to be received or is incorrectly received.
Allowable Subject Matter
15. Claims 4 and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/NATASHA W COSME/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465