DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 6-8, 11, 12, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Langer (Pub. No.: US 2017/0094608 A1).
With respect to claim 1:
Langer discloses a transmitter (fig. 2, item 240), comprising: a power control circuitry configured to generate a first signal and perform a closed-loop power control according to the first signal to adjust a power of the first signal (fig. 2, item 230 is a power control circuitry); and a front-end circuitry configured to amplify the first signal to generate a second signal (fig.1, item 108 is a front end with power amplify as in parag. 0036) and output the second signal via an antenna (fig. 1, item 110 which is the antenna).
With respect to claims 2, 12:
Langer discloses the transmitter of claim 1, wherein when the power control circuitry performs the closed-loop power control, the power control circuitry does not adjust an amplification gain of the front-end circuitry (parag. 0007-0009, 0039).
With respect to claims 6, 16:
Langer discloses the transmitter of claim 1, wherein the closed-loop power control is independent of the front-end circuitry (parag. 0061).
With respect to claim 7:
Langer discloses a power control circuitry, comprising: a transmitter circuit configured to output a first signal (fig. 2, item 240), wherein the first signal is further amplified by a front-end circuitry to generate a second signal (fig.1, item 108 is a front end with power amplify that amplify first signal as in parag. 0036); and a closed-loop power control circuit configured to detect a power of the first signal and perform a closed-loop power control according to the power of the first signal to adjust the power of the first signal (fig. 2, item 230 is a power control circuitry that perform closed loop power control), wherein the closed-loop power control is independent of the front-end circuitry (parag. 0061).
With respect to claim 8:
Langer discloses the power control circuitry of claim 7, wherein the closed-loop power control circuit does not receive a signal from the front-end circuitry (fig. 2 shows that the closed loop does not receive from front end).
With respect to claim 11:
Langer discloses a power control method, comprising: amplifying, by a front-end circuitry, a first signal to generate a second signal (fig.1, item 108 is a front end with power amplify that amplify first signal as in parag. 0036); and outputting the second signal via an antenna; and generating, by a power control circuitry, the first signal and performing a closed-loop power control according to the first signal to adjust a power of the first signal (fig. 2, item 230 is a power control circuitry that adjust the power of the first signal).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Langer (Pub. No.: US 2017/0094608 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Rahman (Pub. No.: US 2006/0170499A1).
With respect to claims 3, 13:
The rejection of claim 1 is incorporated; Langer does not explicitly disclose wherein the power control circuitry is configured to detect the power of the first signal, generate a digital code according to the power of the first signal, and perform the closed-loop power control according to the digital code.
Rahman discloses power control circuitry is configured to detect the power of the first signal, generate a digital code according to the power of the first signal, and perform the closed-loop power control according to the digital code (parag. 0003 and 0023). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Rahman into the teaching of Langer in order to provide a gain compensated detected signal.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 5, 9, 10, 14, 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/AJIBOLA A AKINYEMI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2649