DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cao (CN 111342784 A1).
Regarding claim 1: Cao, Fig. 10, discloses a Doherty amplification circuit comprising (RF power amplifier): a first carrier amplifier (first-stage amplifying circuit B/Q1); a first peak amplifier (second-stage amplifying circuit D/Q2); a first phase shift circuit (capacitor C5; a capacitor provides a frequency-dependent phase shift); a second phase shift circuit (capacitor C6; a capacitor provides a frequency-dependent phase shift) connected to an output end of the first peak amplifier (D/Q2 ); a first transformer (T1) including an input terminal (terminal 1 of T1) connected to an output end (collector/output of Q1/first-stage amplifying circuit B) of the first carrier amplifier (B/Q1), a first output terminal (Terminal 4 of T1), and a second output terminal (Terminal 3 of T1); and a second transformer (T2) including a first input terminal (Terminal 2 of T2) and a second input terminal (Terminal 1 of T2), which are respectively connected to the first output terminal (Terminal 4 of T1) and the second output terminal (Terminal 3 of T1) of the first transformer (T1), and an output terminal (terminals 3 and 4 of T2) connected to a first antenna connection terminal (RF output via second output matching circuit F), wherein the first phase shift circuit (C5) is connected between the first output terminal (Terminal 4 of T1) of the first transformer (T1) and the first input terminal (Terminal 2 of T2) of the second transformer (T2), and the first peak amplifier (D/Q2) and the second phase shift circuit (C6) are connected between the second output terminal (Terminal 3 of T1) of the first transformer (T1) and the second input terminal (Terminal 1 of T2) of the second transformer (T2).
Regarding claim 2: Cao, Fig. 10, discloses wherein the first transformer (T1) includes a first input side coil (the input terminal side of an input-side coil) having the input terminal of the first transformer (T1) at one end, a second input side coil (the other side of the input-side coil) having one end connected to another end of the first input side coil ( the input terminal side of an input-side coil) of the first transformer (T1), a first output side coil (Q3 side of the output-side coil to T1) having the first output terminal of the first transformer (T1) at one end and configured to couple with the first input side coil (the input terminal side of an input-side coil) of the first transformer (T1), and a second output side coil (Q2 side of the output-side coil to T1) having the second output terminal of the first transformer (T1) at one end and configured to couple with the second input side coil of the first transformer (T1), and the second transformer (T2) includes an input side coil (the input terminal side of an input-side coil) having the first input terminal and the second input terminal of the second transformer (T2) at both ends, and an output side coil (output-side coil of T2 ) having the output terminal of the second transformer (T2) at one end and configured to couple with the input side coil of the second transformer (T2).
Regarding claim 13: Cao, Fig. 10, discloses a Doherty amplification circuit comprising (RF power amplifier): a carrier amplifier (first-stage amplifying circuit B/Q1) configured to amplify an input signal (RF input signal); a first transformer (T1) configured to split the input signal amplified by the carrier amplifier (first-stage amplifying circuit B/Q1) into a first split signal (signal from a first output/path of T1 through C5) and a second split signal (signal from a second output/path of T1 through C4); a first phase shift circuit (capacitor C5; a capacitor provides a frequency-dependent phase shift) configured to adjust a phase of the first split signal (signal through C5); a peak amplifier (DQ2) configured to amplify the second split signal (signal from the second output/path of T1 through C4 to Q2); a second phase shift circuit (capacitor C6; a capacitor provides a frequency-dependent phase shift) configured to adjust a phase of the second split signal (signal from a second output/path of T1 through C4) amplified by the peak amplifier (D/Q2), (C6 is coupled across the input-side terminals 1 and 2 of T2 receiving the amplified differential signals from D/Q2 and Q3; the capacitive coupling provides a frequency-dependent phase shift); and a second transformer (T2; under broadest reasonable interpretation, receives the respective signal paths at its input-side terminals and combines/transforms them to the RF output path through output matching circuit F) configured to combine the first split signal (signal provided through C5 path to T2) having the phase adjusted by the first phase shift circuit (C5) and the second split signal (signal provided through D/Q2 path to T2) having the phase adjusted by the second phase shift circuit (C6).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11 and 12 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 11: Cao (CN 111342784 A1), Fig. 10, discloses a Doherty amplification circuit comprising (RF power amplifier): a carrier amplifier (first-stage amplifying circuit B/Q1); a first peak amplifier (second-stage amplifying circuit D/Q2); a first phase shift circuit (C5) and a second phase shift circuit (C6); a first transformer (T1) including an input terminal (terminal 1 of T1) connected to an output end of the carrier amplifier (first-stage amplifying circuit B/Q1), a first output terminal (Terminal 4 of T1) , and a second output terminal (Terminal 3 of T1); a second transformer (T2) including an input terminal connected to the second output terminal (Terminal 3 of T1) of the first transformer (T1), a first output terminal (terminal 4 of T2), and a second output terminal (terminal 3 of T2); the first peak amplifier (second-stage amplifying circuit D/Q2) is connected between the second output terminal (Terminal 3 of T1) of the first transformer (T1) and the input terminal (terminal 1 of T1) of the second transformer (T2).
However, Coa does not teach a second peak amplifier, a third phase shift circuit connected to an output end of the second peak amplifier, or a third transformer including a first input terminal, a second input terminal, and a third input terminal, which are respectively connected to the first output terminal of the first transformer and the first output terminal and the second output terminal of the second transformer, and an output terminal connected to an antenna connection terminal. Cao further does not disclose the connections to the third transformer, wherein, the second phase shift circuit is connected between the first output terminal of the second transformer and the second input terminal of the third transformer, and the second peak amplifier and the third phase shift circuit are connected between the second output terminal of the second transformer and the third input terminal of the third transformer.
Ghannouchi et al. (US 2022/0077825 A1), Fig. 2, teaches the second peak amplifier (50), (¶[0056], lines 1-3).
Cao and Ghannouchi do not disclose a third phase shift circuit connected to an output end of the second peak amplifier, or a third transformer including a first input terminal, a second input terminal, and a third input terminal, which are respectively connected to the first output terminal of the first transformer and the first output terminal and the second output terminal of the second transformer, and an output terminal connected to an antenna connection terminal. Cao further does not disclose the connections to the third transformer, wherein, the second phase shift circuit is connected between the first output terminal of the second transformer and the second input terminal of the third transformer and the second peak amplifier and the third phase shift circuit are connected between the second output terminal of the second transformer and the third input terminal of the third transformer.
The prior art of record, individually or in combination, does not teach or suggest the foregoing claimed arrangement. It would not have been obvious to combine with any other prior art to meet the missing limitations.
Regarding claim 12: depend therefrom claim 11 and include the same allowable features.
Claims 3-10, 14-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim 2, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 3: none of the references teach the Doherty amplification circuit further includes a first switch connected between another end of the output side coil of the second transformer and the output terminal of the fourth transformer, a second switch connected between the other end of the output side coil of the second transformer and a ground, and a third switch connected between the output terminal of the fourth transformer and a second antenna connection terminal.
Regarding claims 4-9 and 14-20: depend therefrom claim 3 and include the same allowable features.
Regarding claim 10: none of the references teach a third transformer including an input terminal connected to another end of the second input side coil of the first transformer, and the output terminal of the fourth transformer is connected to another end of the output side coil of the second transformer.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Mishra (US 2021/0105047 A1) teaches transformer-based antenna switching networks including multiple transformers and power amplifiers, switches coupled to transformer secondary-winding terminals and ground, and selectable antenna outputs.
Kim et al. (US-20120176194-A1) teaches a Doherty power amplifier including a carrier amplifier, a peaking amplifier, phase-shifting transmission lines, and an output combiner configured to combine the outputs of the carrier amplifier and the peaking amplifier.
/NATASHA Y MARANO/Examiner, Art Unit 2843
/Jessica Han/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2843