DETAILED ACTION
This is the first office action for application number 18/818,697, Stabilizing a Table, filed on August 29, 2024. This application is a continuation of application number 18/390,394 filed on December 20, 2023, now U.S. Patent No. 12,096,853 issued September 24, 2024.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: on page 8, paragraph [0035] in line 1, "160" appears to be incorrect and should be --162--.
Appropriate correction is required.
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: "braking force" in line 5 of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 11, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent No. 5,533,457 to Cox. In regards to claims 1 and 3-5, Cox inherently discloses a method, comprising: attaching a moveable wedge (1) to a table leg (11) so as to allow the moveable wedge to translate on a surface between a first position and a second position to raise and lower a loading bearing point on the table leg relative to the surface; and generating a braking force (through element 60) on the moveable wedge to prevent the moveable wedge from moving from the first position or the second position in response to load on the moveable wedge at the load bearing point; further comprising using a resilient member (60) to generate the braking force; further comprising using a spring-loaded knob (45) to generate the braking force; and further comprising providing a knob to move the moveable wedge between the first position and the second position.
In regards to claims 11 and 14, Cox discloses a table (T), comprising: a table top (6); a pedestal (7) extending longitudinally from the table top; a table leg (11) extending laterally from the pedestal; a moveable wedge (1) resident under the table leg; and a friction brake (45, 60, 33) attached to the moveable wedge; and further comprising a spring-loaded knob (45) attaching the moveable wedge to the table leg.
Claim(s) 1, 3, 8, 10, 11, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent No. 8,632,038 to Christian et al., hereinafter, Christian. In regards to claims 1, 3, 6, 8, and 10, Christian inherently discloses a method, comprising: attaching a moveable wedge (150, 154) to a table leg (108) so as to allow the moveable wedge to translate on a surface between a first position and a second position to raise and lower a loading bearing point (@204 or 214) on the table leg relative to the surface; and generating a braking force (via elements 150 & 152) on the moveable wedge to prevent the moveable wedge from moving from the first position or the second position in response to load on the moveable wedge at the load bearing point; further comprising using a resilient member to generate the braking force; further locating the moveable wedge at an end of a flexible (based on the material of the member, Col. 7, lines 55ff) member (130); further comprising locating the moveable wedge on an end of a slider (130) that is configured to maintain the moveable wedge on the surface in both the first position and the second position; and further comprising locating the moveable wedge on an end of a slider that fits into a hollow portion (202) of the table leg.
In regards to claims 11 and 13, Christian discloses a table (102), comprising: a table top (106); a pedestal (104) extending longitudinally from the table top; a table leg (108) extending laterally from the pedestal; a moveable wedge (100) resident under the table leg; and a friction brake (120) attached to the moveable wedge; and further comprising a flexible slider (130) attaching the moveable wedge to the table leg.
Claim(s) 1, 3, 7, 11, and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2003/0230681 to Gwynneth. In regards to claims 1, 3, and 7, Gwynneth inherently discloses a method, comprising: attaching a moveable wedge (60) to a table leg so as to allow the moveable wedge to translate on a surface between a first position and a second position to raise and lower a loading bearing point (Fig. 31) on the table leg relative to the surface; and generating a braking force (via elements 66 and 68) on the moveable wedge to prevent the moveable wedge from moving from the first position or the second position in response to load on the moveable wedge at the load bearing point; further comprising using a resilient member (66) to generate the braking force; and further comprising locating the moveable wedge at an end of a linkage (69, 70, 78, & 82).
In regards to claims 11 and 12, Gwynneth discloses a table, comprising a table (Fig. 55) top; a pedestal extending longitudinally from the table top; a table leg extending laterally from the pedestal; a moveable wedge (60) resident under the table leg; and a friction brake (66 & 68) attached to the moveable wedge; and further comprising a linkage (69, 70, 78, & 82) attaching the moveable wedge to the table leg.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 9, and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. U.S. Patent No. 8,651,441 to Brooke is directed to a support assembly for an item of furniture having a pair of feet and being self-stabilizing. U.S. Patent No. 7,784,751 to Bellows is directed to a stabilization device having a resilient body having a filler material of magnetic qualities. U.S. Patent No. 7,520,483 to Rand et al. is directed to a leveling assembly having at least two leveling elements, the element are generally wedge-shaped and are for seating a free-standing object. U.S. Patent No. 7,328,879 to Plangetis is directed to an adjustable positioning and support of equipment on a foundation by used of tapered wedges. U.S. Patent No. 5,492,292 to Richards is directed to a device for supporting and stabilizing furniture using wedge-shaped members. U.S. Patent No. 4,858,865 to Schrepfer is directed to a wedge leveling mounting device for supporting machines or the like.
/ANITA M KING/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3632 January 10, 2026