DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 8, 12, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vitale et al. (US 20130241236 A1) in view of Hedderly (US 20080168644 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Vitale discloses a joint structure of a vehicle body (Vitale, Fig. 19-20, joint between bodies 414 and 416), the joint structure comprising: a front body module (Vitale, 416 in Fig. 19) comprising a fixed part fixed to a front part of an under body (Vitale, paragraph 48 and Fig. 17 and 19, fixed to front part of chassis 445 at 447); a rear body module (Vitale, 414 in Fig. 19) comprising a variable part (Vitale, variable since it is attachable and detachable) that is attachable (Vitale, Fig. 19-20) and detachable (Vitale, paragraph 52) to a rear part (Vitale, 449 in Fig. 19) of the under body and a rear part of the front body module (Vitale, Fig. 20, attached to rear end of front body module 416), the rear body module having a predetermined shape (Vitale, Fig. 18); a plurality of fixed part joints (Vitale, 48 in Fig. 19 and additional joints 48 can be on 440, which also forms rear edge of the front body module) mounted at a rear edge (Vitale, Fig. 19-20) of the front body module; and a variable part joint (Vitale, 52 in Fig. 19) connected to a front edge (Vitale, Fig. 19, 52 on front edge) of the rear body module, wherein the variable part joint is connected with the fixed part joint (Vitale, Fig. 19-20, 52 at front edge connected with 48 at rear edge).
Vitale Fig. 19-20 embodiment fails to disclose a plurality of variable part joints mounted on a variable part roof rail and a variable part center pillar connected to the front edge of the rear body module, wherein the variable part joints are connected with the fixed part joints.
Vitale Fig. 5-6 embodiment teaches a plurality of variable part joints (Vitale, 52 in Fig. 6, plurality as they are on both side pillars); a variable part roof rail and a variable part center pillar (Vitale, see annotated Fig. 6) connected to the front edge of the rear body module (Vitale, see annotated Fig. 6), wherein the variable part joints are connected with the fixed part joints (Vitale, after combination as shown in Fig. 19-20, 52 on both pillars and join with 48 on the front body similar to Fig. 5-6).
The two embodiments of Vitale are considered to be analogous arts because they are in the same field of modular vehicle with a front body module and a rear body module.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the structure as taught by the embodiment of Vitale Fig. 19-20 to incorporate the teachings of the embodiment of Vitale Fig. 5-6 with a reasonable expectation of success and have a variable part roof rail, a variable part center pillar, and a plurality of variable part joints. Doing so provides additional structural integrity to the vehicle rear body module and increases connection strength between the front and the rear body modules.
Figure 1 Annotated Fig. 6 from Vitale
Hedderly teaches variable part joints mounted on a variable part roof rail (Hedderly, joints in Fig. 31, 33, or 34, joints can be used as shown Fig. 21 between a front body module and a rear body module).
Hedderly is considered to be analogous art because it is in the same field of modular vehicle with a front body module and a rear body module as Vitale.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the structure as taught by Vitale to incorporate the teachings of Hedderly with a reasonable expectation of success and have joints on the roof rail. Doing so ensure the top joining interface between the body modules are secure and reduces the likelihood of unintentional detachment.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Vitale in view of Hedderly teaches the joint structure of claim 1, wherein the front body module comprises: a fixed part roof rail (Vitale, see annotated Fig. 5; forms a roof rail in Fig. 5 and 11 position) and a fixed part center pillar (Vitale, see annotated Fig. 5) connected to the rear edge of the front body module; a fixed part roof panel (Vitale, see annotated Fig. 5) connected to the fixed part roof rail; and a fixed part cover panel (Vitale, window of 40 in Fig. 11) connected to the fixed part roof rail, the fixed part roof panel, and the fixed part center pillar (Vitale, Fig. 11 and annotated Fig. 5, at least indirectly).
Figure 2 Annotated Fig. 5 from Vitale
The two embodiments of Vitale are considered to be analogous arts because they are in the same field of modular vehicle with a front body module and a rear body module.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the structure as taught by the embodiment of Vitale Fig. 19-20 to incorporate the teachings of the embodiment of Vitale Fig. 5 and 11 with a reasonable expectation of success and have a fixed part roof rail, a fixed part center pillar, a fixed part roof panel, and a fixed part cover panel. Doing so provides additional structural integrity to the front module and allows rear visibility for safety or top visibility for scenic views.
Regarding claim 12, Vitale discloses a joint structure of a vehicle body (Vitale, Fig. 19-20, joint between bodies 414 and 416), the joint structure comprising: a front body module (Vitale, 416 in Fig. 19) comprising a fixed part fixed to a front part of an under body (Vitale, paragraph 48 and Fig. 17 and 19, fixed to front part of chassis 445 at 447); a rear body module (Vitale, 414 in Fig. 19) comprising a variable part (Vitale, variable since it is attachable and detachable) attachable (Vitale, Fig. 19-20) and detachable (Vitale, paragraph 52) to a rear part (Vitale, 449 in Fig. 19) of the under body and a rear part of the front body module (Vitale, Fig. 20, attached to rear end of front body module 416), the rear body module having a predetermined shape (Vitale, Fig. 18); a plurality of fixed part joints (Vitale, 48 in Fig. 19 and additional joints 48 can be on 440, which also forms rear edge of the front body module) mounted at a rear edge (Vitale, Fig. 19-20) of the front body module; a variable part joint (Vitale, 52 in Fig. 19) connected to a front edge (Vitale, Fig. 19, 52 on front edge) of the rear body module, wherein the variable part joint is connected with the fixed part joint (Vitale, Fig. 19-20, 52 at front edge connected with 48 at rear edge).
Vitale Fig. 19-20 embodiment fails to disclose a plurality of variable part joints mounted on a variable part roof rail and a variable part center pillar connected to the front edge of the rear body module, wherein the variable part joints are connected with the fixed part joints; a variable part reinforcement unit connected to the variable part roof rail and the variable part center pillar.
Vitale Fig. 5-6 embodiment teaches a plurality of variable part joints (Vitale, 52 in Fig. 6, plurality as they are on both side pillars); a variable part roof rail and a variable part center pillar (Vitale, see annotated Fig. 6) connected to the front edge of the rear body module (Vitale, see annotated Fig. 6), wherein the variable part joints are connected with the fixed part joints (Vitale, after combination as shown in Fig. 19-20, 52 on both pillars and join with 48 on the front body similar to Fig. 5-6); and a variable part reinforcement unit (Vitale, see annotated Fig. 6, providing reinforcement by connecting both the rail and the pillar and provides protection from a side of the vehicle) connected to the variable part roof rail and the variable part center pillar.
The two embodiments of Vitale are considered to be analogous arts because they are in the same field of modular vehicle with a front body module and a rear body module.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the structure as taught by the embodiment of Vitale Fig. 19-20 to incorporate the teachings of the embodiment of Vitale Fig. 5-6 with a reasonable expectation of success and have a variable part roof rail, a variable part center pillar, a plurality of variable part joints; and a reinforcement unit. Doing so provides additional structural integrity to the vehicle rear body module and increases connection strength between the front and the rear body modules.
Hedderly teaches variable part joints mounted on a variable part roof rail (Hedderly, joints in Fig. 31, 33, or 34, joints can be used as shown Fig. 21 between a front body module and a rear body module).
Hedderly is considered to be analogous art because it is in the same field of modular vehicle with a front body module and a rear body module as Vitale.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the structure as taught by Vitale to incorporate the teachings of Hedderly with a reasonable expectation of success and have joints on the roof rail. Doing so ensure the top joining interface between the body modules are secure and reduces the likelihood of unintentional detachment.
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Vitale in view of Hedderly teaches the joint structure of claim 12, further comprising: a fixed part joint reinforcement unit (Vitale, see annotated Fig. 5, can be the fixed part roof rail) mounted on the rear edge of the front body module; and a variable part joint reinforcement unit (Vitale, 182 in Fig. 3 or 188 in Fig. 4, provides reinforcement by ensuring the coupling between the joints and protecting the joints from outside elements) mounted on the front edge of the rear body module.
The two embodiments of Vitale are considered to be analogous arts because they are in the same field of modular vehicle with a front body module and a rear body module.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the structure as taught by the embodiment of Vitale Fig. 19-20 to incorporate the teachings of the embodiment of Vitale Fig. 4-5 with a reasonable expectation of success and have a fixed part roof rail as reinforcement. Doing so provides additional structural integrity to the front module.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 18-20 allowed.
Claims 2-7, 9-11, 13-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The primary reason for the allowance of the claims is the inclusion in the claims of the limitations directed to a variable part roof panel connected to the variable part roof rail; and a variable part cover panel connected to the variable part roof rail, the variable part roof panel, and the variable part center pillar as claimed in claims 2 and 18; the fixed part joints are mounted on the fixed part cover panel on an outside of a fixed part closed-section defined by the fixed part roof rail, the fixed part roof panel, the fixed part center pillar, and the fixed part cover panel as claimed in claim 9; and the variable part reinforcement unit comprises: a main rail extension member connected to both ends of the variable part roof rail in a vehicle width direction and connected to the variable part center pillar; a roof side member connected to the main rail extension member along a front and back direction of the vehicle body; and a sub-rail extension member connected to the main rail extension member, the roof side member, and the variable part center pillar as claimed in claim 13. Such limitations, in combination with the rest of the limitations of the claims, are not disclosed or suggested by the prior art of record.
Hedderly teaches a variable part roof panel (400 in Fig. 21), but fails to teach the cover panel as required in claims 2 and 18. Cudden (US 5301997 A) teaches reinforcement units 26 and 68 in Fig. 5, but those reinforcement units fail to meet the limitations in claim 13.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The cited references that are not relied upon all disclose modular vehicles with a fixed front body module and a variable rear body module.
/WENWEI ZHUO/Examiner, Art Unit 3612