DETAILED ACTION
1. This is in response to the amendment filed on 02 February 2026.
2. Claims 1, 6-8 and 13-37 are pending in the application.
3. Claims 1, 6-8 and 13-37 have been rejected.
4. Claims 2-5 and 9-12 have been cancelled.
Response to Arguments
5. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 6-8 and 13-37 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Objections
6. Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informalities: misspelling. The word “acquired” has been misspelled as “acquqired”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
7. Claims 1, 6-8 and 13-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Independent claims 1, 19 and 20 have been amended to include the limitation of “wherein the first screen includes guidance to cause a second screen provided by the second application to be displayed, and the second screen is a screen with respect to a password which is managed by the second application and which is for the access point outside the information processing apparatus”. After a review of the applicant’s specification the examiner has not found support for the newly added limitation. The specification fails to teach how to make and use the claimed invention without undue experimentation, or that the scope of an enablement provided to one skilled in the art is not commensurate with the scope of protection sought by the claims.
Any claims not directly addressed are rejected on the virtue of their dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claim(s) 1, 14, 19, 20, 27, 28, 31 and 33-37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adib et al US 2016/0007387 A1 (hereinafter Adib) in view of Ergen et al US 2021/0298095 A1 (hereinafter Ergen).
As to claim 1, Adib discloses a control method for an information processing apparatus on which a first application for transmitting, to a communication apparatus outside the information processing apparatus, setting information for connecting to an access point outside the information processing apparatus, and a second application for managing a password of the access point outside the information processing apparatus are able to operate, comprising:
performing control to display a first screen provided by the first application (i.e. instruction screen displayed by first app) [0078], wherein the first screen includes guidance to cause a second screen provided by the second application (i.e. settings app) to be displayed (i.e. by selecting open settings) [0078], and the second screen is a screen with respect to a password which is managed by the second application (i.e. paste the password from the clipboard) [0079] and which is for the access point outside the information processing apparatus (i.e. based on the selected Wi-Fi) [0079].
Adib does not teach that after the guidance is displayed, performing, by the first application, control to transmit to the communication apparatus, the setting information for connecting to the access point outside the information processing apparatus, wherein the setting information includes a password which is acquired by the first application.
Ergen teaches that after the guidance is displayed, performing, by the first application, control to transmit to the communication apparatus, the setting information for connecting to the access point outside the information processing apparatus, wherein the setting information includes a password which is acquired by the first application (i.e. sharing credentials and settings associated with the Wi-Fi access point through a mobile application installed on a mobile device) [0027].
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have modified Adib so that after the guidance was displayed, performing, by the first application, control to transmit to the communication apparatus, the setting information for connecting to the access point outside the information processing apparatus, wherein the setting information would have included a password which was acquired by the first application.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have modified Adib by the teaching of Ergen because it provides authentication-free network login for registered users away from the home network and Wi-Fi access point sharing, and enabling significant flexibility to mobility and offloading considering the current and future demands [0007].
As to claim 14, Adib teaches that the first screen includes a button for activating the second application (i.e. the “open settings” button) [figure 4A-1].
As to claim 19, Adib discloses an information processing apparatus on which a first application for transmitting, to a communication apparatus outside the information processing apparatus, setting information for connecting to an access point outside the information processing apparatus, and a second application for managing a password of the access point outside the information processing apparatus are able to operate, comprising:
at least one processor and at least a memory coupled to the at least one processor and having instructions stored thereon, and when executed by the at least one processor [0104], cause the at least one processor to:
perform control to display a first screen provided by the first application (i.e. instruction screen displayed by first app) [0078], wherein the first screen includes guidance to cause a second screen provided by the second application (i.e. settings app) to be displayed (i.e. by selecting open settings) [0078], and the second screen is a screen with respect to a password which is managed by the second application (i.e. paste the password from the clipboard) [0079] and which is for the access point outside the information processing apparatus (i.e. based on the selected Wi-Fi) [0079].
Adib does not teach that after the guidance is displayed, performing, by the first application, control to transmit to the communication apparatus, the setting information for connecting to the access point outside the information processing apparatus, wherein the setting information includes a password which is acquired by the first application.
Ergen teaches that after the guidance is displayed, performing, by the first application, control to transmit to the communication apparatus, the setting information for connecting to the access point outside the information processing apparatus, wherein the setting information includes a password which is acquired by the first application (i.e. sharing credentials and settings associated with the Wi-Fi access point through a mobile application installed on a mobile device) [0027].
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have modified Adib so that after the guidance was displayed, performing, by the first application, control to transmit to the communication apparatus, the setting information for connecting to the access point outside the information processing apparatus, wherein the setting information would have included a password which was acquired by the first application.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have modified Adib by the teaching of Ergen because it provides authentication-free network login for registered users away from the home network and Wi-Fi access point sharing, and enabling significant flexibility to mobility and offloading considering the current and future demands [0007].
As to claim 20, Adib discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium that stores a predetermined application program including instructions for controlling an information processing apparatus on which a first application for transmitting, to a communication apparatus outside the information processing apparatus, setting information for connecting to an access point outside the information processing apparatus, and a second application for managing a password of the access point outside the information processing apparatus are able to operate and which includes one or more processors, wherein the instructions, when executed by one or more processors of the information processing apparatus, cause the information processing apparatus to perform a method, the method comprising:
performing control to display a first screen provided by the first application (i.e. instruction screen displayed by first app) [0078], wherein the first screen includes guidance to cause a second screen provided by the second application (i.e. settings app) to be displayed (i.e. by selecting open settings) [0078], and the second screen is a screen with respect to a password which is managed by the second application (i.e. paste the password from the clipboard) [0079] and which is for the access point outside the information processing apparatus (i.e. based on the selected Wi-Fi) [0079].
Adib does not teach that after the guidance is displayed, performing, by the first application, control to transmit to the communication apparatus, the setting information for connecting to the access point outside the information processing apparatus, wherein the setting information includes a password which is acquired by the first application.
Ergen teaches that after the guidance is displayed, performing, by the first application, control to transmit to the communication apparatus, the setting information for connecting to the access point outside the information processing apparatus, wherein the setting information includes a password which is acquired by the first application (i.e. sharing credentials and settings associated with the Wi-Fi access point through a mobile application installed on a mobile device) [0027].
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have modified Adib so that after the guidance was displayed, performing, by the first application, control to transmit to the communication apparatus, the setting information for connecting to the access point outside the information processing apparatus, wherein the setting information would have included a password which was acquired by the first application.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have modified Adib by the teaching of Ergen because it provides authentication-free network login for registered users away from the home network and Wi-Fi access point sharing, and enabling significant flexibility to mobility and offloading considering the current and future demands [0007].
As to claim 27, Adib teaches the method according to claim 21, further comprising acquiring as a second acquiring process, the password of the access point saved in the clipboard after the first screen is displayed, wherein the setting information transmitted to the communication apparatus includes the password of the access point acquired by the second acquiring process (i.e. pasting the password that has been put into the clipboard) [0074].
As to claim 28, Adib teaches the method according to claim 27, wherein based on a fact that a password of an access point outside the information processing apparatus is saved in the clipboard by the predetermined function after the first screen is displayed, the password saved in the clipboard is acquired (i.e. pasting the password that has been put into the clipboard) [0074].
As to claim 31, Adib does not teach the method according to claim 1, further comprising establishing a connection between an access point outside the information processing apparatus and the information processing apparatus after the setting information is transmitted to the communication apparatus.
Ergen teaches establishing a connection between an access point outside the information processing apparatus and the information processing apparatus (i.e. connection is established) [0065] after the setting information is transmitted to the communication apparatus (i.e. sharing credentials and settings associated with the Wi-Fi access point through a mobile application installed on a mobile device) [0027].
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have modified Adib so that a connection would have been established between an access point outside the information processing apparatus and the information processing apparatus after the setting information was transmitted to the communication apparatus.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have modified Adib by the teaching of Ergen because it provides authentication-free network login for registered users away from the home network and Wi-Fi access point sharing, and enabling significant flexibility to mobility and offloading considering the current and future demands [0007].
As to claim 33, Adib teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein a connection, used for a transmission of the setting information between the information processing apparatus and the communication apparatus is a connection is a connection in accordance with Bluetooth [0092], Bluetooth Classic, or Bluetooth Low Energy.
As to claim 34, Adib teaches the method according to claim 1, further comprising performing control to display, by the first application, a text field for accepting an input of a password from a user (i.e. pasting the password into the text field) [0074],
wherein the setting information including the password inputted on the text field (i.e. pasting the password into the text field) [0074].
As to claim 35, Adib teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the second application includes a function of managing predetermined information which is information of an access point to which the information processing apparatus is being connected (i.e. managing copy and paste of password) [as shown in figure 4A-2].
As to claim 36, Adib teaches the method according to claim 35, wherein the predetermined information is displayed on the second screen [as shown in figure 4A-2].
As to claim 37, Adib teaches the method according to claim 36, wherein the predetermined information includes at least one of a Service Set Identifier (SSID), a password, an encryption method, or an authentication method (i.e. managing copy and paste of a password) [as shown in figure 4A-2].
9. Claim(s) 6 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adib et al US 2016/0007387 A1 (hereinafter Adib) and Ergen et al US 2021/0298095 A1 (hereinafter Ergen) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Karaki et al US 2020/0077252 A1 (hereinafter Karaki).
As to claim 6, the Adib-Ergen combination does not teach accepting, from a user, a specific operation for specifying, as a predetermined access point to be connected to the communication apparatus, the access point outside the information processing apparatus. The Adib-Ergen combination does not teach that in a case where the specific operation is accepted from the user, the first screen is displayed. The Adib-Ergen combination does not teach the setting information transmitted to the communication apparatus is information for connection to the predetermined access point.
Karaki teaches accepting, from a user, a specific operation for specifying, as a predetermined access point to be connected to the communication apparatus, the access point outside the information processing apparatus (i.e. one of the access points in the list is selected) [0098]. Karaki teaches that in a case where the specific operation is accepted from the user, the first screen is displayed [0098]. Karaki teaches the setting information transmitted to the communication apparatus is information for connection to the predetermined access point (i.e. transmit the setting information to the device) [0098].
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have modified the Adib-Ergen combination so that it would have been accepted, from a user, a specific operation for specifying, as a predetermined access point to be connected to the communication apparatus, the access point outside the information processing apparatus. In a case where the specific operation was accepted from the user, the first screen would have been displayed. The setting information transmitted to the communication apparatus would have been information for connection to the predetermined access point.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have modified the Adib-Ergen combination by the teaching of Karaki because it provides a more user-friendly setting mechanism [0004].
As to claim 7, the Adib-Ergen combination does not teach acquiring in a first acquiring process, from the communication apparatus, information of a list of access points outside the information processing apparatus found by a search executed by the communication apparatus. The Adib-Ergen combination does not teach that the specific operation is selection of one access point from the list of the access points found by the search executed by the communication apparatus.
Karaki teaches acquiring in a first acquiring process, from the communication apparatus, information of a list of access points outside the information processing apparatus found by a search executed by the communication apparatus (i.e. list based on search for access points) [0052]. Karaki teaches that the specific operation is selection of one access point from the list of the access points found by the search executed by the communication apparatus (i.e. one of the access points in the list is selected) [0098].
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have modified the Adib-Ergen combination so that it would have been acquired in a first acquiring process, from the communication apparatus, information of a list of access points outside the information processing apparatus found by a search executed by the communication apparatus. The specific operation would have been selection of one access point from the list of the access points found by the search executed by the communication apparatus.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have modified the Adib-Ergen combination by the teaching of Karaki because it provides a more user-friendly setting mechanism [0004].
10. Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adib et al US 2016/0007387 A1 (hereinafter Adib) and Ergen et al US 2021/0298095 A1 (hereinafter Ergen) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Gallagher et al US 2020/0257576 A1 (hereinafter Gallagher).
As to claim 8, the Adib-Ergen combination does not teach that based on a fact that the user executes a predetermined operation after the first screen is displayed, control is executed so that an input screen for accepting a password input from the user is displayed by the first application.
Gallagher teaches based on a fact that the user executes a predetermined operation after the first screen is displayed (i.e. executing copy function) [0034], control is executed so that an input screen for accepting a password input from the user is displayed by the first application (i.e. input the copied password into the paste field of the web page) [0066].
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have modified the Adib-Ergen combination so that based on a fact that the user executed a predetermined operation after the first screen was displayed, control would have been executed so that an input screen for accepting a password input from the user would have been displayed by the first application.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have modified the Adib-Ergen combination by the teaching of Gallagher because it verifies the data that is transferred [0003].
11. Claim(s) 13 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adib et al US 2016/0007387 A1 (hereinafter Adib) and Ergen et al US 2021/0298095 A1 (hereinafter Ergen) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kim et al US 2016/0139766 A1 (hereinafter Kim).
As to claim 13, the Adib-Ergen combination does not teach that the first screen is a screen for displaying an operation method for copying the password of the access point, that is executed on the second screen.
Kim teaches that the first screen is a screen for displaying an operation method (i.e. display a screen associated with a first application for saving a clipboard memory content designated by a user) [abstract] for copying the password of the access point (i.e. saving in clipboard memory) [abstract], that is executed on the second screen (i.e. screen associated with a second application) [abstract].
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have modified the Adib-Ergen combination so that the first screen would have been a screen for displaying an operation method for copying the password of the access point, that was executed on the second screen.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have modified the Adib-Ergen combination by the teaching of Kim because it provides a control method for effectively performing a copy and paste operation on various kinds of contents [0008].
As to claim 21, the Adib-Ergen combination does not teach that wherein the first screen is a screen with respect to a predetermined function of storing, in a clipboard, a password of an access point outside the information processing apparatus.
Kim teaches the first screen is a screen with respect to a predetermined function of storing, in a clipboard, a password of an access point outside the information processing apparatus (i.e. a screen associated with a first application to save in clipboard memory) [abstract].
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have modified the Adib-Ergen combination so that the first screen would have been a screen with respect to a predetermined function of storing, in a clipboard, a password of an access point outside the information processing apparatus.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have modified the Adib-Ergen combination by the teaching of Kim because it provides a control method for effectively performing a copy and paste operation on various kinds of contents [0008].
12. Claim(s) 15 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adib et al US 2016/0007387 A1 (hereinafter Adib) and Ergen et al US 2021/0298095 A1 (hereinafter Ergen) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sekiguchi US 2020/0169953 A1.
As to claim 15, the Adib-Ergen combination does not teach establishing connection between the access point corresponding to the password acquired by the first application and the information processing apparatus after the setting information is transmitted to the communication apparatus. The Adib-Ergen combination does not teach searching for the communication apparatus on a network of the access point corresponding to the password acquired by the first application. The Adib-Ergen combination does not teach displaying, by the first application, based on a fact that the communication apparatus is not found on the network of the access point corresponding to the password acquired by the first application, a screen corresponding to the fact that the communication apparatus is not found on the network of the access point corresponding to the password acquired by the first application.
Sekiguchi teaches establishing connection between the access point corresponding to the password acquired by the first application and the information processing apparatus after the setting information is transmitted to the communication apparatus (i.e. establishing a connection by the predetermined access point transmitting connection information for connecting to the predetermined access point) [abstract]. Sekiguchi teaches searching for the communication apparatus on a network of the access point corresponding to the password acquired by the first application (i.e. finding a communication apparatus through searching) [0055]. Sekiguchi teaches displaying, by the first application, based on a fact that the communication apparatus is not found on the network of the access point corresponding to the password acquired by the first application, a screen corresponding to the fact that the communication apparatus is not found on the network of the access point corresponding to the password acquired by the first application (i.e. display connection failure screen) [0078].
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have modified the Adib-Ergen combination so that a connection would have been established between the access point corresponding to the password acquired by the first application and the information processing apparatus after the setting information was transmitted to the communication apparatus. The communication apparatus would have been searched for on a network of the access point corresponding to the password acquired by the first application. The first application would have displayed based on a fact that the communication apparatus was not found on the network of the access point corresponding to the password acquired by the first application, a screen corresponding to the fact that the communication apparatus was not found on the network of the access point corresponding to the password acquired by the first application.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have modified the Adib-Ergen combination by the teaching of Sekiguchi because it improves the convenience of establishing a connection through the simple connection processing [0005].
As to claim 16, Sekiguchi teaches that the screen corresponding to the fact that the communication apparatus is not found on the network of the access point corresponding to the password acquired by the first application includes same content as the guidance (i.e. prompting the user to perform an operation) [0071].
13. Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adib et al US 2016/0007387 A1 (hereinafter Adib) and Ergen et al US 2021/0298095 A1 (hereinafter Ergen) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Suzuki US 2012/0174211 A1.
As to claim 17, the Adib-Ergen combination does not teach the method according to claim 1, further comprising transmitting, to the communication apparatus, one of a print job for causing the communication apparatus to execute printing and a scan job for causing the communication apparatus to execute a scan, by communication between the information processing apparatus and the communication apparatus via the connection established by transmitting the setting information.
Suzuki teaches transmitting, to the communication apparatus, one of a print job for causing the communication apparatus to execute printing and a scan job (i.e. printing and scanning) [0042, 0048] for causing the communication apparatus to execute a scan, by communication between the information processing apparatus and the communication apparatus via the connection established by transmitting the setting information [0048-0049].
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have modified the Adib-Ergen combination so that one of a print job would have been transmitted to the communication apparatus for causing the communication apparatus to execute printing and a scan job for causing the communication apparatus to execute a scan, by communication between the information processing apparatus and the communication apparatus via the connection established by transmitting the setting information.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have modified the Adib-Ergen combination by the teaching of Suzuki because it provides an information processing device which is able to use a one-time password for a variety of applications without separately preparing a dedicated hardware, software or web service module [0017].
14. Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adib et al US 2016/0007387 A1 (hereinafter Adib) and Ergen et al US 2021/0298095 A1 (hereinafter Ergen) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chhabra et al US 2020/0356656 A1 (hereinafter Chhabra).
As to claim 18, the Adib-Ergen combination does not teach that the second application is a system setting application of operating system (OS) standard of the information processing apparatus.
Chhabra teaches that the second application is a system setting application of operating system (OS) standard of the information processing apparatus (i.e. settings of an OS for another application) [0063].
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have modified the Adib-Ergen combination so that the second application would have been a system setting application of operating system (OS) standard of the information processing apparatus.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have modified the Adib-Ergen combination by the teaching of Chhabra because it helps a user to find and manage an analogous feature at the application level [0003].
15. Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adib et al US 2016/0007387 A1 (hereinafter Adib), Ergen et al US 2021/0298095 A1 (hereinafter Ergen) and Kim et al US 2016/0139766 A1 (hereinafter Kim) as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of Xu US 2013/0326371 A1.
As to claim 22, the Adib-Ergen-Kim combination does not teach that first screen is a screen for prompting a user to execute the predetermined function.
Xu teaches that a first screen is a screen for prompting a user to execute the predetermined function (i.e. menu to copy to clipboard) [0037].
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have modified the Adib-Ergen-Kim combination so that first screen was a screen for prompting a user to execute the predetermined function.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have modified the Adib-Ergen-Kim combination by the teaching of Xu because it helps share information between terminals [0006].
16. Claim(s) 29 and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adib et al US 2016/0007387 A1 (hereinafter Adib) and Ergen et al US 2021/0298095 A1 (hereinafter Ergen) as applied to claim 27 above, and further in view of Kim et al US 2021/0271774 A1 (hereinafter Kim).
As to claim 29, the Adib-Ergen combination does not teach that based on a fact that there is a difference between a state of the clipboard at a first timing and a state of the clipboard at a second timing which is after the first timing and after the first screen is displayed, a password of an access point outside the information processing apparatus saved in the clipboard is acquired.
Kim teaches that based on a fact that there is a difference between a state of the clipboard at a first timing and a state of the clipboard at a second timing which is after the first timing and after the first screen is displayed, a password of an access point outside the information processing apparatus saved in the clipboard is acquired (i.e. information in clipboard match each other in the interval time) [0090].
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have modified the Adib-Ergen combination so that based on a fact that there is a difference between a state of the clipboard at a first timing and a state of the clipboard at a second timing which would have been after the first timing and after the first screen is displayed, a password of an access point outside the information processing apparatus saved in the clipboard is acquired.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have modified the Adib-Ergen combination by the teaching of Kim because it ensures the content is not tampered with [0003].
As to claim 30, Kim teaches that the first timing is a timing before the first screen is displayed [0090].
17. Claim(s) 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adib et al US 2016/0007387 A1 (hereinafter Adib) and Ergen et al US 2021/0298095 A1 (hereinafter Ergen) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Smedman et al US 2015/0124966 A1 (hereinafter Smedman).
As to claim 32, the Adib-Ergen combination does not teach that a connection, used for a transmission of the setting information between the information processing apparatus and the communication apparatus is a connection in accordance with standard of IEEE 802.11 series.
Smedman teaches that a connection, used for a transmission of the setting information between the information processing apparatus and the communication apparatus is a connection in accordance with standard of IEEE 802.11 series [abstract].
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have modified the Adib-Ergen combination so that a connection, used for a transmission of the setting information between the information processing apparatus and the communication apparatus would have been a connection in accordance with standard of IEEE 802.11 series.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have modified the Adib-Ergen combination because this standard ensures a secure connection between devices [0009].
Allowable Subject Matter
18. Claims 23-26 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
As to claim 23, the prior art does not disclose, teach or fairly suggest the method according to claim 22, further comprising determining whether an operating system (OS) of the information processing apparatus is an OS supporting the predetermined function, wherein based on a fact that the OS of the information processing apparatus is the OS supporting the predetermined function, the first screen is displayed by the first application.
Any claims not directly addressed are objected to on the virtue of their dependency.
Relevant Prior Art
19. The following references have been considered relevant by the examiner:
A. Granbery US 2015/0289295 A1 directed to facilitating wireless connections using a Bluetooth low energy (BLE) beacon installed at a location [abstract].
B. Gatewood et al US 2014/0026192 A1 directed to a server system that transfers display data for presentation to a user who selects multiple geographically-distributed WiFi access system and a password [abstract].
C. Lang et al US 2013/0173702 A1 directed to a client application on a computing device to perform a configuration process with a wireless access point [abstract].
Conclusion
20. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ARAVIND K MOORTHY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2407