DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the filing of 8/29/24. Claims 1-20 are pending and have been considered below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 10-13, 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Che Hao (CN1093248610(A) 2019-02-12.)
Claim 1, 10, 17: Che Hao discloses a message processing method, comprising:
receiving a first input of a user for a first message in a session interface (par. 43, when the user needs to view a reference relationship between a message and other messages, the user may select the message);
in response to the first input, determining a target reference path associated with the first message, wherein each of the target reference paths comprises at least two messages, the at least two messages are in a reference and referenced relationship, and one message in each of the target reference paths is the first message (Fig. 2: showing an association structure between messages (along with their paths); par. 44, in the message reference structure shown in FIG. 2, if the message B is a specified message, since the message A is a message directly referred to by the message B, the messages D and E are messages referring to the message B, and the message C is shared with the message B. Referring to the message A of the message A, the message F, G refers to the message C, and the message C has a reference relationship with the message A referenced by the message B, so the messages A, C, D, E, F, G are all related to the message B); and
displaying messages that are in the target reference path (par. 67, the association structure may be presented on the user client upon receiving a triggering command from the user for the specified message.)
Claim 2, 11, 18: Che Hao discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein in a case that there are at least two target reference paths, after the determining a target reference path associated with the first message, the method further comprises: displaying the target reference paths; and the displaying the target reference paths comprises: displaying messages in different target reference paths in different display manners for differentiation; or displaying a reference path graph comprising all the target reference paths; or displaying messages in a same target reference path within a same thumbnail (Fig. 2: showing an association structure between messages (along with their paths.))
Claim 3, 12, 19: Che Hao discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein before the displaying messages that are in the target reference path, the method further comprises: receiving a second input of the user for configuring a quantity of displayed messages in the target reference path; and the displaying messages that are in the target reference path comprises: displaying a first target message in the target reference path, wherein the first target message is a first quantity of consecutive messages starting from the first message, and the first quantity is determined based on the second input (par. 67, the display of the association structure may be combined with the user operation, for example, determining the specified message selected by the user according to the operation of the user, and then the client displays one or more levels of the parent node and the child node message of the specified message; when the user needs to view more.)
Claim 4, 13, 20: Che Hao discloses the method according to claim 2, wherein in a case that there are at least two target reference paths, after the displaying the target reference paths, the method further comprises: receiving a third input of the user for a first target reference path; and displaying messages that are in the first target reference path in response to the third input (par. 67, the display of the association structure may be combined with the user operation, for example, determining the specified message selected by the user according to the operation of the user, and then the client displays one or more levels of the parent node and the child node message of the specified message; when the user needs to view more.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-6, 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Che Hao in view of Gutierrez (2022/0309037.)
Claim 5, 14: Che Hao discloses the method according to claim 2, wherein after the displaying the target reference paths, the method further comprises: receiving a fourth input of the user for a second target message in a second target reference path (par. 43, when the user needs to view a reference relationship between a message and other messages, the user may select the message.)
However, Che Hao does not explicitly disclose: adding note information to the second target message and saving the second target reference path and the note information in response to the fourth input.
Gutierrez discloses a similar method for searchable actions and data, including: adding note information to the second target message and saving the second target reference path and the note information in response to the fourth input (par. 434, the user viewing the graphical component 2702 may interact with the displayed data by adding notes and/or revising, adding, or deleting any of the identified context data. For instance, the user may add customized notes. The analytics server may revise the nodal data structure accordingly. Therefore, the analytics server may, for example, display the user's note when the same message appears in future search results, or when the user is viewing the message elsewhere (e.g., in a message client, in the original service/website, etc.).)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Che Hao with Gutierrez so as to allow users to return to marked portions of content in the future.
Claim 6, 15: Che Hao and Gutierrez disclose the method according to claim 5, wherein after the adding note information to the second target message and saving the second target reference path and the note information in response to the fourth input, the method further comprises: receiving a fifth input of the user for searching a search bar in the session interface for the note information; and displaying messages in the second target reference path in response to the fifth input (Gutierrez par. 434, the user viewing the graphical component 2702 may interact with the displayed data by adding notes and/or revising, adding, or deleting any of the identified context data. For instance, the user may add customized notes. The analytics server may revise the nodal data structure accordingly. Therefore, the analytics server may, for example, display the user's note when the same message appears in future search results, or when the user is viewing the message elsewhere (e.g., in a message client, in the original service/website, etc.).)
Claim(s) 7-9, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Che Hao in view of Chaudhri (2020/0034033.)
Claim 7, 16: Che Hao discloses the method according to claim 4. However, Che Hao does not explicitly disclose wherein after the displaying messages that are in the first target reference path, the method further comprises: receiving a sixth input of the user, wherein the sixth input comprises a first sub-input for any message in the first target reference path and a second sub-input for editing and sending a second message in an input box in the session interface; and sending the second message in response to the sixth input, wherein the second message references first referenced content, and the first referenced content comprises all messages in the first target reference path
Chaudhri discloses a similar method for a chat interface with grouping messages, including, wherein after the displaying messages that are in the first target reference path, the method further comprises: receiving a sixth input of the user, wherein the sixth input comprises a first sub-input for any message in the first target reference path and a second sub-input for editing and sending a second message in an input box in the session interface; and sending the second message in response to the sixth input, wherein the second message references first referenced content, and the first referenced content comprises all messages in the first target reference path (Fig. 72EF-72ER, par. 1781-1784 In response to lift off of the contact, in accordance with a determination that grouping criteria have been met, message bubble 72246 is added to a group with message bubble 72218 and 72224, as indicated by grouping indicator 72236.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Che Hao with Chaudhri so as to add messages to an ongoing conversation.
Claim 8: Che Hao discloses the method according to claim 1. However, Che Hao does not explicitly disclose further comprising: receiving a seventh input of the user, wherein the seventh input comprises a third sub-input for a target text fragment in at least one message in the session interface and a fourth sub-input for editing and sending a third message in an input box in the session interface; and sending the third message in response to the seventh input, wherein the third message references second referenced content, and the second referenced content comprises the target text fragment in the at least one message.
Chaudhri discloses a similar method for a chat interface with grouping messages, including, further comprising: receiving a seventh input of the user, wherein the seventh input comprises a third sub-input for a target text fragment in at least one message in the session interface and a fourth sub-input for editing and sending a third message in an input box in the session interface; and sending the third message in response to the seventh input, wherein the third message references second referenced content, and the second referenced content comprises the target text fragment in the at least one message (Fig. 72EF-72ER, par. 1781-1784 In response to lift off of the contact, in accordance with a determination that grouping criteria have been met, message bubble 72246 is added to a group with message bubble 72218 and 72224, as indicated by grouping indicator 72236.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Che Hao with Chaudhri so as to add messages to an ongoing conversation.
Claim 9: Che Hao discloses the method according to claim 1. However, Che Hao does not explicitly disclose, further comprising: receiving an eighth input of the user for dragging a fourth message in the session interface to a location of a sent fifth message; and using the fourth message as third referenced content of the fifth message and resending the fifth message and the third referenced content in response to the eighth input.
Chaudhri discloses a similar method for a chat interface with grouping messages, including, further comprising: receiving an eighth input of the user for dragging a fourth message in the session interface to a location of a sent fifth message (Fig. 72EA-72EC: 72232, par. 1779, illustrate a grouping selection input that includes a swipe input from a first message bubble 72218 to a second message bubble 72224); and using the fourth message as third referenced content of the fifth message and resending the fifth message and the third referenced content in response to the eighth input (Fig. 72EF-72ER, par. 1781-1784 In response to lift off of the contact, in accordance with a determination that grouping criteria have been met, message bubble 72246 is added to a group with message bubble 72218 and 72224, as indicated by grouping indicator 72236.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Che Hao with Chaudhri so as to allow users to group messages together that are connected.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Chen (2022/0391058) displaying target interaction messages.
/Andrey Belousov/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2172
6/12/26