DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of invention I in the reply filed on 6/25/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 21-34 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 6/25/2026.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because:
In Figure 2A, “113” should be replaced with --103--.
In Figure 2A, “122” should be deleted.
In Figure 3A, “342” (on the upper right side) should be deleted.
In Figure 5A, “119” should be replaced with --117--.
In Figure 7, “502 AND 504” should be replaced with --SP AND SD--.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In par. [0037], line 3, “404” should be replaced with --402--.
In par. [0041], line 4, “throughs” should be replaced with --troughs--.
In par. [0041], line 5, “through” should be replaced with --trough--.
In par. [0053], line 3, “through” should be replaced with --trough--.
In par. [0053], line 4, “throughs” should be replaced with --troughs--.
In par. [0072], line 5, “throughs” (both occurrences) should be replaced with --troughs--.
In par. [0072], line 6, “throughs” should be replaced with --troughs--.
In par. [0078], lines 1, 5, and 11, “through” should be replaced with --trough--.
In par. [0080], line 1, “119” should be replaced with --117--.
In par. [0093], line 1, “390, 392, and 394” should be replaced with --708, 710, and 712--.
In par. [0093], lines 3 and 4, “300E” should be replaced with --700--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 9-13, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Narayanasamy et al. (US 10,317,453).
Regarding claims 1 and 11, Narayanasamy et al. discloses a system and method, comprising: a peak detector that is configured to generate a comparison signal (element 518, Fig. 5) by comparing a coil current (element 526, Fig. 5) of a relay against a dynamic threshold (element 522, Fig. 5), the comparison signal having a first value when the coil current is above the dynamic threshold, the comparison signal having a second value when the coil current is below the dynamic threshold, wherein generating the comparison signal includes causing the dynamic threshold to track the coil current until a positive peak in the coil current is reached that has a value PP (see col. 3, line 61 through col. 4, line 33 and Figs. 5 and 10), and setting the dynamic threshold to a rebound value R in response to detecting that a negative peak in the coil current is reached, the rebound value R being based on the value PP (see col. 3, line 61 through col. 4, line 33 and Figs. 5 and 10); and a processing circuitry (i.e., monitoring circuit) that is configured to detect whether the relay is in a faulty state based on the comparison signal, and generate an indication of a fault when the relay is detected to be in a faulty state (see col. 6, lines 1-23). Further, the device of Narayanasamy et al. can be assumed to inherently perform the claimed method. Under the principles of inherency, if a prior art device, in its normal and usual operation, would necessarily perform the method claimed, then the method claimed will be considered to be anticipated by the prior art device. When the prior art device is the same as a device described in the specification for carrying out the claimed method, it can be assumed the device will inherently perform the claimed process (see MPEP § 2112.02).
Regarding claims 2 and 12, Narayanasamy et al. discloses a system and method, wherein the peak detector is further configured to set the dynamic threshold based on a difference between the value PP and a value M in response to detecting the positive peak (see col. 3, line 61 through col. 4, line 33 and Figs. 5 and 10).
Regarding claims 3 and 13, Narayanasamy et al. discloses a system and method, wherein the rebound value R is equal to the value PP (see col. 3, line 61 through col. 4, line 33 and Figs. 5 and 10).
Regarding claims 9 and 19, Narayanasamy et al. discloses a system and method, wherein the detecting of whether the relay is in a faulty state is performed further based on at least one metric value that is adjusted based on temperature (see col. 3, lines 49-60).
Regarding claims 10 and 20, Narayanasamy et al. discloses a system and method, wherein the peak detector is configured to set the dynamic threshold based, at least in part, on temperature (see col. 3, lines 49-60).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6, 11-13, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over O'Leyar et al. (US 6,326,898) in view of Khan (US 10,854,407).
Regarding claims 1 and 11, O'Leyar et al. discloses a system and method, comprising: a peak detector that is configured to generate a comparison signal by comparing a coil current (i.e., measured current waveform 45) (see Fig. 7) of a solenoid actuator against a dynamic threshold (i.e., predetermined current waveform 61) (see Fig. 7), the comparison signal having a first value when the coil current is above the dynamic threshold, the comparison signal having a second value when the coil current is below the dynamic threshold (see col. 6, line 36 through col. 7, line 59 and Figs. 7 and 8), wherein generating the comparison signal includes causing the dynamic threshold to track the coil current until a positive peak in the coil current is reached that has a value PP, and setting the dynamic threshold to a rebound value R in response to detecting that a negative peak in the coil current is reached, the rebound value R being based on the value PP (see col. 6, line 36 through col. 7, line 59 and Figs. 7 and 8); and a processing circuitry (element 54, Fig. 3) that is configured to detect whether the solenoid is in a faulty state based on the comparison signal, and generate an indication of a fault when the solenoid is detected to be in a faulty state (see col. 6, line 36 through col. 7, line 59 and Figs. 7 and 8). Further, the device of O'Leyar et al. can be assumed to inherently perform the claimed method. Under the principles of inherency, if a prior art device, in its normal and usual operation, would necessarily perform the method claimed, then the method claimed will be considered to be anticipated by the prior art device. When the prior art device is the same as a device described in the specification for carrying out the claimed method, it can be assumed the device will inherently perform the claimed process (see MPEP § 2112.02).
Although O'Leyar et al. does not appear to disclose the solenoid actuator being part of a relay, Khan shows that this feature is well known in the art. Khan discloses monitoring a state of a relay device (element 4, Fig. 1A) including a solenoid (element 6, Fig. 1A) for actuation of the relay device. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results, such as detecting whether the relay device is in a fault state.
Regarding claims 2 and 12, O'Leyar et al. discloses a system and method, wherein the peak detector is further configured to set the dynamic threshold based on a difference between the value PP and a value M in response to detecting the positive peak (see col. 6, line 36 through col. 7, line 59 and Figs. 7 and 8).
Regarding claims 3 and 13, O'Leyar et al. discloses a system and method, wherein the rebound value R is equal to the value PP (see col. 6, line 36 through col. 7, line 59 and Figs. 7 and 8).
Regarding claims 6 and 16, O'Leyar et al. discloses a system and method, wherein the detecting of whether the solenoid is in a faulty state is further performed based on a slope of a portion of a waveform of the coil current (see col. 6, line 36 through col. 7, line 59 and Figs. 7 and 8).
Claims 4, 5, 7, 8, 14, 15, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Narayanasamy et al. (US 10,317,453) in view of Ho et al. (US 9,476,943).
Regarding claims 4 and 14, although Narayanasamy et al. does not appear to disclose detecting whether the relay is in a faulty state includes identifying a count of artifacts of back electromotive force (BEMF) action in the comparison signal, Ho et al. shows that this feature is well known in the art. Ho et al. discloses a system and method, wherein detecting whether the relay is in a faulty state includes identifying a count of artifacts (i.e., a dip) of back electromotive force (BEMF) action in the comparison signal and determining that the relay is in a faulty state in response to the count being less than or greater than one (i.e., does not exhibit a dip) (see col. 4, lines 29-35 and Fig. 6). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results, such as improved range of fault detection.
Regarding claims 5 and 15, Narayanasamy et al. discloses a system and method, wherein detecting whether the relay is in a faulty state further includes identifying a difference between the positive peak and the negative peak, and determining that the relay is in a faulty state when the difference is greater than a threshold (see col. 7, lines 9-23 and Fig. 12).
Although Narayanasamy et al. does not appear to disclose determining that the relay is in a faulty state when the difference is less than a threshold, Ho et al. shows that this feature is well known in the art. Ho et al. discloses a system and method, wherein detecting whether the relay is in a faulty state further includes identifying a difference between the positive peak and the negative peak (see col. 4, lines 21-28 and Figs. 4 and 5), and determining that the relay is in a faulty state when the difference is less than a first threshold (i.e., Tmin) (see Fig. 5) and/or greater than a second threshold (i.e., Tbad) (see Fig. 4), the second threshold being greater than the first threshold (see col. 4, lines 21-28 and Figs. 4 and 5). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results, such as improved range of fault detection.
Regarding claims 7, 8, 17, and 18, Narayanasamy et al. discloses a system and method, wherein detecting whether the relay is in a faulty state includes identifying a measure of a duration of a dip in the coil current, wherein the measure is identified based on the comparison signal, and determining that the relay is in a faulty state when the measure is greater than a threshold (see col. 7, lines 9-23 and Fig. 12).
Although Narayanasamy et al. does not appear to disclose determining that the relay is in a faulty state when the measure is less than a threshold, Ho et al. shows that this feature is well known in the art. Ho et al. discloses a system and method, wherein detecting whether the relay is in a faulty state includes identifying a measure of a duration of a dip in the coil current, wherein the measure is identified based on the comparison signal (see col. 4, lines 21-28 and Figs. 4 and 5), and determining that the relay is in a faulty state when the measure is less than a first threshold (i.e., Tmin) (see Fig. 5) and/or greater than a second threshold (i.e., Tbad) (see Fig. 4), the second threshold being greater than the first threshold (see col. 4, lines 21-28 and Figs. 4 and 5). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results, such as improved range of fault detection.
Contact Information
/WALTER L LINDSAY JR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2852
/M.G/Examiner, Art Unit 2852
8/22/2026