Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 8/29/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 17, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Grauzinis et. al. (United States Patent Application Publication US 2021/0041371 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Grauzinis et. al. discloses a system for scanning an exterior of a vehicle, comprising (Grauzinis et. al. Abstract, Figure 1 component 10): a support structure that is disposed so that the vehicle enters a front thereof and exits a rear thereof and that includes a left support portion vertically extending on a left side based on a direction of travel of the vehicle, a right support portion vertically extending on a right side based on the direction of travel of the vehicle, and an upper support portion supported by the left support portion and the right support portion on an upper side of the vehicle and extending in a left-right direction (Grauzinis et. al. [0051]-[0052], Fig. 1-3: tunnel rig structure with a set of motorized wheeled assemblies 20 each assembled and operatively coupled at the foot of a respective corner leg, which provides controlled locomotion/movement of the scanning booth 12 over the vehicle V under inspection); a vehicle position detection device including one or more sensors for detecting a position of the vehicle entering the front of the support structure or exiting the rear of the support structure; a left photographing device disposed on the left support portion to photograph the vehicle; a right photographing device disposed on the right support portion to photograph the vehicle; an upper photographing device disposed on the upper support portion to photograph the vehicle; and a controller configured to control the left photographing device, the right photographing device, and the upper photographing device based on detection information from the vehicle position detection device to acquire a plurality of vehicle exterior images (Grauzinis et. al. [0052], Figs. 4-5: the present vehicle surface scanning system 10 further comprises a plurality of scanner modules 30, ten (10) in number shown in the preferred embodiment, each separately mounted in place upon the rig structure 14 about the opposite ends of the scanning booth 12. The scanner modules are fixed in their mounted positions and are directed to face the interior chamber from opposite ends of the booth 12 wherein the vehicle V under inspection is stationed for intended scanning. [0054]: Together with the stereo camera pair 32 and the secondary random pattern projection 36, the primary digital projector 34 is contained and mounted to a common module chassis 40 on each scanner module 30.).
Regarding claim 2, Grauzinis et. al. discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the controller determines whether the exterior of the vehicle is damaged by analyzing the plurality of vehicle exterior images (Grauzinis et. al. [0058]-[0059]: Fig. 9-10, the incremental measurement data acquired during the mobile scanning is processed in accordance with the present invention and furthermore combined to produce accurate reports of the damage surfaces and estimates of associated repair costs).
Regarding claim 3, Grauzinis et. al. discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the left photographing device includes a first left camera disposed to face a front left side based on the support structure, a second left camera disposed to face the right support portion, and a third left camera disposed to face a rear left side based on the support structure (Grauzinis et. al. [0054], Figs. 1-3: Together with the stereo camera pair 32 and the secondary random pattern projector 36, the primary digital projector is contained and mounted to a common module chassis 40 on each scanner module).
Regarding claim 4, Grauzinis et. al. discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the right photographing device includes a first right camera disposed to face a front right side based on the support structure, a second right camera disposed to face the left support portion, and a third right camera disposed to face a rear right side based on the support structure (Grauzinis et. al. [0054], Figs. 1-3: Together with the stereo camera pair 32 and the secondary random pattern projector 36, the primary digital projector is contained and mounted to a common module chassis 40 on each scanner module).
Regarding claim 5, Grauzinis et. al. discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the upper photographing device includes a first upper camera disposed to face a front lower side based on the support structure, a second upper camera disposed to face a vertical lower side, and a third upper camera disposed to face a rear lower side based on the support structure (Grauzinis et. al. [0054], Figs. 1-3: Together with the stereo camera pair 32 and the secondary random pattern projector 36, the primary digital projector is contained and mounted to a common module chassis 40 on each scanner module).
Regarding claim 17, Grauzinis et. al. discloses a method of scanning an exterior of a vehicle, comprising: detecting a vehicle entering a position separated in front of a support structure; acquiring a plurality of vehicle exterior images while the vehicle proceeds by entering a front of the support structure and exiting a rear; and determining whether the exterior of the vehicle is damaged by analyzing the plurality of vehicle exterior images (Grauzinis et. al. [0058]-[0059]: Fig. 9-10, the incremental measurement data acquired during the mobile scanning is processed in accordance with the present invention and furthermore combined to produce accurate reports of the damage surfaces and estimates of associated repair costs).
Regarding claim 20, which recites a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium claim corresponding to apparatus claim 1. Thus, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. (See also Figs. 9-10 which depict microprocessor based algorithm; also par. 0059).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-16, 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grauzinis et. al. (United States Patent Application Publication US 2021/0041371 A1) in view of Zylstra et. al. (International Patent Publication WO 2022226636 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Grauzinis et. al. discloses the system of claim 1. However, Grauzinis et. al. fails to disclose wherein the controller is configured to: determine the position of the vehicle based on the detection information from the vehicle position detection device while the vehicle enters the support structure from the front of the support structure and exits the rear of the support structure; and operate the left photographing device depending on the position of the vehicle to acquire a left front image of the vehicle, a front left side image of the vehicle, a rear left side image of the vehicle, or a left rear image of the vehicle.
Zylstra et. al. teaches wherein the controller is configured to: determine the position of the vehicle based on the detection information from the vehicle position detection device while the vehicle enters the support structure from the front of the support structure and exits the rear of the support structure; and operate the left photographing device depending on the position of the vehicle to acquire a left front image of the vehicle, a front left side image of the vehicle, a rear left side image of the vehicle, or a left rear image of the vehicle (Zylstra et. al. [0146], The imaging system can begin to scan the damaged vehicle once the vehicle information is entered into the software and images can be taken either manually, automatically, or a combination thereof to collect reference loci to build the point cloud; [0148] Figure 15, The image processing system will then calculate the angles and measurements needed to repair the vehicle back to its original state based on x, y, z coordinate measurements and the recommended tooling and jig anchoring points will be provided by the system). Grauzinis et. al. provides that primary rig structure that serves as the support structure, while Zylstra et. al. teaches the more sophisticated detection information system with cameras and imaging technology. The positioning of the vehicle inside the support structure is important as the vehicle moves incrementally through, so that there is a reference point from which the images were taken on the vehicle. Thus, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teachings of Grauzinis et. al. and Zylstra et. al. so that the support structure of Grauzinis et. al. is combined with the imaging and vehicle scanning system of Zylstra et. al. which produces the solution of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 7, Grauzinis et. al. discloses the system of claim 1. However, Grauzinis et. al. fails to disclose wherein the controller is configured to: determine the position of the vehicle based on the detection information from the vehicle position detection device while the vehicle enters the support structure from the front of the support structure and exits the rear of the support structure; and operate the right photographing device depending on the position of the vehicle to acquire a right front image of the vehicle, a front right side image of the vehicle, a rear right side image of the vehicle, or a right rear image of the vehicle
Zylstra et. al. teaches wherein the controller is configured to: determine the position of the vehicle based on the detection information from the vehicle position detection device while the vehicle enters the support structure from the front of the support structure and exits the rear of the support structure; and operate the right photographing device depending on the position of the vehicle to acquire a right front image of the vehicle, a front right side image of the vehicle, a rear right side image of the vehicle, or a right rear image of the vehicle (Zylstra et. al. [0146], The imaging system can begin to scan the damaged vehicle once the vehicle information is entered into the software and images can be taken either manually, automatically, or a combination thereof to collect reference loci to build the point cloud). Grauzinis et. al. provides that primary rig structure that serves as the support structure, while Zylstra et. al. teaches the more sophisticated detection information system with cameras and imaging technology. The positioning of the vehicle inside the support structure is important as the vehicle moves incrementally through, so that there is a reference point from which the images were taken on the vehicle. Thus, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teachings of Grauzinis et. al. and Zylstra et. al. so that the support structure of Grauzinis et. al. is combined with the imaging and vehicle scanning system of Zylstra et. al. which produces the solution of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 8, Grauzinis et. al. discloses the system of claim 1. However, Grauzinis et. al. fails to disclose wherein the controller is configured to: determine the position of the vehicle based on the detection information from the vehicle position detection device while the vehicle enters the support structure from the front of the support structure and exits the rear of the support structure; and operate the upper photographing device depending on the position of the vehicle to acquire a front upper image of the vehicle or a rear upper image of the vehicle
Zylstra et. al. teaches wherein the controller is configured to: determine the position of the vehicle based on the detection information from the vehicle position detection device while the vehicle enters the support structure from the front of the support structure and exits the rear of the support structure; and operate the upper photographing device depending on the position of the vehicle to acquire a front upper image of the vehicle or a rear upper image of the vehicle (Zylstra et. al. [0146], The imaging system can begin to scan the damaged vehicle once the vehicle information is entered into the software and images can be taken either manually, automatically, or a combination thereof to collect reference loci to build the point cloud; [0148] Figure 15, The image processing system will then calculate the angles and measurements needed to repair the vehicle back to its original state based on x, y, z coordinate measurements and the recommended tooling and jig anchoring points will be provided by the system.
Grauzinis et. al. provides that primary rig structure that serves as the support structure, while Zylstra et. al. teaches the more sophisticated detection information system with cameras and imaging technology. The positioning of the vehicle inside the support structure is important as the vehicle moves incrementally through, so that there is a reference point from which the images were taken on the vehicle. Thus, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teachings of Grauzinis et. al. and Zylstra et. al. so that the support structure of Grauzinis et. al. is combined with the imaging and vehicle scanning system of Zylstra et. al. which produces the solution of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 9, Zylstra et. al. further discloses the system of claim 8, wherein the controller operates the upper photographing device depending on the position of the vehicle to further acquire a front image of the vehicle or a rear image of the vehicle (Zylstra et. al. [0146], The imaging system can begin to scan the damaged vehicle once the vehicle information is entered into the software and images can be taken either manually, automatically, or a combination thereof to collect reference loci to build the point cloud; [0148] Figure 15, The image processing system will then calculate the angles and measurements needed to repair the vehicle back to its original state based on x, y, z coordinate measurements and the recommended tooling and jig anchoring points will be provided by the system).
Regarding claim 10, Zylstra et. al. further discloses the system of claim 9, wherein the controller operates the upper photographing device depending on the position of the vehicle to further acquire a middle upper image of the vehicle (Zylstra et. al. [0146], The imaging system can begin to scan the damaged vehicle once the vehicle information is entered into the software and images can be taken either manually, automatically, or a combination thereof to collect reference loci to build the point cloud; [0148] Figure 15, The image processing system will then calculate the angles and measurements needed to repair the vehicle back to its original state based on x, y, z coordinate measurements and the recommended tooling and jig anchoring points will be provided by the system).
Regarding claim 11, Grauzinis et. al. discloses the system of claim 1. However, Grauzinis et. al. fails to disclose wherein the vehicle position detection device includes a light sensor configured to detect emitted light
Zylstra et. al. teaches wherein the vehicle position detection device includes a light sensor configured to detect emitted light (Zylstra et. al. [0051]: the 3D scanner is one or more of a LASER triangulation 3D scanner, structured light 3D scanner, contact-based 3D scanner, time-of-flight 3D laser scanner, modulated light 3D scanner, LASER pulse-based 3D scanner, and laser-based 3D scanner; [0146], The imaging system can begin to scan the damaged vehicle once the vehicle information is entered into the software and images can be taken either manually, automatically, or a combination thereof to collect reference loci to build the point cloud). This is important to the claimed invention because the various scanners need to be equipped with sensors to detect the light from the sources of the laser-based 3D scanner. Thus, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teachings of Grauzinis et. al. and Zylstra et. al. so that these sensor features are captured in the solution of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 12, Grauzinis et. al. discloses the system of claim 1. However, Grauzinis et. al. fails to disclose wherein the vehicle position detection device includes a lidar sensor disposed on the upper support portion of the support structure
Zylstra et. al. teaches wherein the vehicle position detection device includes a lidar sensor disposed on the upper support portion of the support structure (Zylstra et. al. [0051]: the 3D scanner is one or more of a LASER triangulation 3D scanner, structured light 3D scanner, contact-based 3D scanner, time-of-flight 3D laser scanner, modulated light 3D scanner, LASER pulse-based 3D scanner, and laser-based 3D scanner; [0146], The imaging system can begin to scan the damaged vehicle once the vehicle information is entered into the software and images can be taken either manually, automatically, or a combination thereof to collect reference loci to build the point cloud). This is important to the claimed invention because the lidar sensor provides more accurate images to be captured and identify the damage on the vehicle. Thus, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teachings of Grauzinis et. al. and Zylstra et. al. so that this type of sensor is included.
Regarding claim 13, Grauzinis et. al. discloses the system of claim 1. However, Grauzinis et. al. fails to disclose wherein the controller operates one or more of the left photographing device, the right photographing device, or the upper photographing device at a point in time when it is determined that the vehicle reaches each of a first position where the vehicle is separated in front of the support structure, a second position between the first position and the support structure, a third position between the second position and the support structure, a fourth position separated in the rear of the support structure, or a fifth position separated further rearward from the support structure than the fourth position based on the detection information from the vehicle position detection device
Zylstra et. al. teaches wherein the controller operates one or more of the left photographing device, the right photographing device, or the upper photographing device at a point in time when it is determined that the vehicle reaches each of a first position where the vehicle is separated in front of the support structure, a second position between the first position and the support structure, a third position between the second position and the support structure, a fourth position separated in the rear of the support structure, or a fifth position separated further rearward from the support structure than the fourth position based on the detection information from the vehicle position detection device (Zylstra et. al. [0149] The system provides the location and coordinates of the external tower position, and can optionally recommend a particular tower configuration using known parts of the jig system, Figure 16). This is important to the claimed invention because the system of Zylstra can accurately determine the location and coordinates of the support structure. The vehicle moves incrementally a certain distance and it is important the controller has the cameras capturing images of the vehicle at certain points in time. Thus, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teachings of Grauzinis et. al. and Zylstra et. al.
Regarding claim 14, Grauzinis et. al. discloses the system of claim 1. However, Grauzinis et. al. fails to disclose wherein the controller operates one or more of the left photographing device, the right photographing device, or the upper photographing device at a point in time when it is determined that the vehicle passes each of a first position separated in front of the support structure, a second position between the first position and the support structure, a third position between the second position and the support structure, a fourth position separated in the rear of the support structure, or a fifth position separated further rearward from the support structure than the fourth position based on the detection information from the vehicle position detection device
Zylstra et. al. teaches wherein the controller operates one or more of the left photographing device, the right photographing device, or the upper photographing device at a point in time when it is determined that the vehicle passes each of a first position separated in front of the support structure, a second position between the first position and the support structure, a third position between the second position and the support structure, a fourth position separated in the rear of the support structure, or a fifth position separated further rearward from the support structure than the fourth position based on the detection information from the vehicle position detection device (Zylstra et. al. [0149] The system provides the location and coordinates of the external tower position, and can optionally recommend a particular tower configuration using known parts of the jig system, Figure 16).
This is important to the claimed invention because the system of Zylstra can accurately determine the location and coordinates of the support structure. The vehicle moves incrementally a certain distance and it is important the controller has the cameras capturing images of the vehicle at certain points in time. Thus, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teachings of Grauzinis et. al. and Zylstra et. al.
Regarding claim 15, Grauzinis et. al. discloses the system of claim 1. However, Grauzinis et. al. fails to disclose further comprising one or more lighting devices disposed on the support structure to emit lighting light
Zylstra et. al. teaches further comprising one or more lighting devices disposed on the support structure to emit lighting light (Zylstra et. al. [0051]: the 3D scanner is one or more of a LASER triangulation 3D scanner, structured light 3D scanner, contact-based 3D scanner, time-of-flight 3D laser scanner, modulated light 3D scanner, LASER pulse-based 3D scanner, and laser-based 3D scanner; [0146], The imaging system can begin to scan the damaged vehicle once the vehicle information is entered into the software and images can be taken either manually, automatically, or a combination thereof to collect reference loci to build the point cloud). This is important to the claimed invention because the lighting affects the quality of the captured images. Thus, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teachings of Grauzinis et. al. and Zylstra et. al.
Regarding claim 16, Grauzinis et. al. discloses the system of claim 1. However, Grauzinis et. al. fails to disclose further comprising a vehicle number recognition device configured to recognize a vehicle number written on a license plate of the vehicle
Zylstra et. al. teaches further comprising a vehicle number recognition device configured to recognize a vehicle number written on a license plate of the vehicle (Zylstra et. al. [0146] Figure 14A, alternative the VIN number or OEM specific barcode on the vehicle can be scanned and the software can automatically decode and fill in the year make and model of the damaged vehicle). This is important to the claimed invention because the vehicle number recognition device identifies the vehicle based on the license plate. Thus, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teachings of Grauzinis et. al. and Zylstra et. al.
Regarding claim 18, Grauzinis et. al. discloses the method of claim 17. However, Grauzinis et. al. fails to disclose wherein the acquiring of the plurality of vehicle exterior images includes: acquiring a front image of the vehicle at a point in time when the vehicle reaches a first position separated in front of the support structure; acquiring a left front image of the vehicle and a right front image of the vehicle at a point in time when the vehicle reaches a second position between the first position and the support structure; acquiring a front upper image of the vehicle at a point in time when the vehicle reaches a third position between the second position and the support structure; acquiring a front left side image of the vehicle and a front right side image of the vehicle at a point in time when the vehicle reaches a fourth position separated in the rear of the support structure; and acquiring a middle upper image of the vehicle at a point in time when the vehicle reaches a fifth position separated further rearward from the support structure than the fourth position
Zylstra et. al. teaches wherein the acquiring of the plurality of vehicle exterior images includes: acquiring a front image of the vehicle at a point in time when the vehicle reaches a first position separated in front of the support structure; acquiring a left front image of the vehicle and a right front image of the vehicle at a point in time when the vehicle reaches a second position between the first position and the support structure; acquiring a front upper image of the vehicle at a point in time when the vehicle reaches a third position between the second position and the support structure; acquiring a front left side image of the vehicle and a front right side image of the vehicle at a point in time when the vehicle reaches a fourth position separated in the rear of the support structure; and acquiring a middle upper image of the vehicle at a point in time when the vehicle reaches a fifth position separated further rearward from the support structure than the fourth position (Zylstra et. al. [0149] The system provides the location and coordinates of the external tower position, and can optionally recommend a particular tower configuration using known parts of the jig system, Figure 16).
This is important to the claimed invention because the system of Zylstra can accurately determine the location and coordinates of the support structure. The vehicle moves incrementally a certain distance and it is important the controller has the cameras capturing images of the vehicle at certain points in time. Thus, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teachings of Grauzinis et. al. and Zylstra et. al.
Regarding claim 19, Zylstra et. al. further discloses the method of claim 18, wherein the acquiring of the plurality of vehicle exterior images further includes: acquiring a rear left side image of the vehicle and a rear right side image of the vehicle at a point in time when the vehicle passes the second position; acquiring a rear upper image of the vehicle at a point in time when the vehicle passes the third position; acquiring a rear left side image of the vehicle and a rear right side image of the vehicle at a point in time when the vehicle passes the fourth position; and acquiring a rear image of the vehicle at a point in time when the vehicle passes the fifth position (Zylstra et. al. [0149] The system provides the location and coordinates of the external tower position, and can optionally recommend a particular tower configuration using known parts of the jig system, Figure 16).
Conclusion
/JESSICA YIFANG LIN/Examiner, Art Unit 2668 May 29, 2026
/VU LE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2668